DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, term, “a second opening for …the first insertion direction” is unclear as to how terminal module 30 is inserted in opening 61B into for operation position as shown in figure 7. The position of part 30 shown in figure 9 is not on operation position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2020126713.
Regarding claim 1, JP discloses a connector 10, comprising: a terminal module 61 including a pair of terminal fittings (near to the leadline 61) to be connected to cable W and a housing 21 for accommodating the terminal module 61, cable being routed in parallel in the housing 21 and drawn out from the housing 21, and the housing 21 being provided with an expansion preventing wall for sandwiching the differential pair cable from outer sides in an array direction. JP discloses the claimed invention except for a different pair of cable for communication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify JP to provide such features so as to provide for better electrical connector.
Regarding claim 3, JP discloses the housing 21 includes: a housing body 21 having an accommodation space 23 for accommodating the terminal module 61; and a cover 40 for covering the accommodation space 23, a routing space for routing the differential pair cable being provided between the cover 40 and the housing body 21, the differential pair cable routed in the routing space is drawn out from the housing 21, and the housing body 21 and the cover 40 are provided with a strain relief portion 33 for sandwiching the differential pair cable W in the routing space in a bent state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP in view of MacKay (U. S. Patent 5,217,389).
Regarding claim 4, JP discloses the claimed invention except for the strain relief portion includes a routing portion for bending the differential pair cable, and an expansion preventing portion for preventing expansion of the differential pair cable is constituted by the expansion preventing wall and the routing portion. MacKay discloses strain relief 40 to bent cable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify JP to provide such features as taught by MacKay so as to provide to hole cable to prevent cable pull out.
/PHUONG K DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831