DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a, 1) as being anticipated by JP 126713.
Regarding claim 1, JP discloses a connector, comprising: a terminal module (near to the leadline 20) including a terminal fitting to be connected to a wire T; and a housing 21, 40 for accommodating the terminal module (near to the leadline 20), the housing 21, 40 including: a housing body 21 having an accommodation space 23 for accommodating the terminal module (near to the leadline 20); and a cover 40 for covering the accommodation space 23, the housing body 21 being provided with a lock portion 24 for restricting separation of the terminal module (near to the leadline 20) from the accommodation space 23, and the cover 40 being provided with a holding projection 43 for restricting deflection and deformation of the lock portion 24.
Regarding claim 2, JP discloses the lock portion 24 is provided with a tapered surface (near to the leadline 24B) inclined to protrude toward an entrance path for the holding projection 43 toward a front side in an assembly direction of the cover 40 with the housing body 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP in view of Toba (U. S. Patent 5,356,308).
Regarding claim 6, JP discloses the claimed invention except for comprising a sealing ring to be held in close contact with a sealing surface of the cover with the housing body, wherein an outer side surface of the holding projection is flush and continuous with the scaling surface. Toba discloses seal at 390, 380. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify JP to provide such features as taught by Toba so as to provide for keep water out of housing or make waterproof.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the references discloses the housing body is provided with a preventing wall for preventing separation of the holding projection from the lock portion by being located on a side opposite to the lock portion with respect to the holding projection.
/PHUONG K DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831