DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the drying module must be shown and identified with an item number or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites a second elastic component without reciting a first elastic component. Examiner suggests applicants have claim depend from claim 6 which does recite a first elastic component. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites a temperature detection module, provided in the device body at a position between the drying module and the air outlet. However, it is not clear what applicant is claiming since the drying module is not identified in the drawings (please see objection to the drawings above).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the device body, the humidity detection mechanism in claims 1, 2, 6, 10, 12, 14, 43-56; the first elastic component in claims 4 and 44-50; the second elastic component in claim 10; the detection apparatus in claims 43-52; the electric actuating apparatus in claim 49.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient term(s), structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the control module in claims 1, 2, 6, 10, 12, 14, 43-56; the prompt module in claims 2, 14, and 53-56; the display, lighting and audio modules in claims 2, 14 and 53-56; the hollow structure in claim 6; the electrode piece in claim 10; the insulating structure in claim 10; the temperature detection mechanism in claim 14; the guiding mechanism in claims 44-52; and the heating element in claims 53-56.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Salem (US 6,812,847).
As for claim 1, Salem shows a cleaning device, comprising: a device body, comprising a cleaning module acting on an object to be cleaned (1, fig. 1); a humidity detection mechanism, provided in the device body and in contact with the object to be cleaned, to detect a humidity of the object to be cleaned (3:21-25); a control module, provided in the device body and connected to the humidity detection mechanism, to perform corresponding control processing according to humidity data detected and obtained by the humidity detection mechanism (3:39-49).
As for claim 2, Salem shows a drying module, provided in the device body, wherein a contact surface in the device body corresponding to the object to be cleaned is provided with an air outlet corresponding to the drying module (16, 23, fig. 1, 4:22-41); a prompt module, provided in the device body and connected to the control module; wherein the control module performing corresponding control processing according to humidity data detected and obtained by the humidity detection mechanism comprises at least one of: using the prompt module to output corresponding prompt information, wherein the prompt module comprises at least one of a display module, a lighting module and/or an audio module (4:55-64); and controlling the drying module to stop running (4:55-64).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salem as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Eichberger (CN 110870717 A)
Salem discloses the claimed invention except for the humidity detection mechanism is further to detect temperature; wherein the control module performing corresponding control processing according to the humidity data detected and obtained by the humidity detection mechanism comprises: obtaining a temperature change trend and a humidity change trend based on the humidity data and temperature data detected and obtained by the humidity detection mechanism, and determining a dryness degree of the object to be cleaned in combination with the temperature change trend and the humidity change trend. Eichenberger teaches the humidity detection mechanism is further to detect temperature; wherein the control module performing corresponding control processing according to the humidity data detected and obtained by the humidity detection mechanism comprises: obtaining a temperature change trend and a humidity change trend based on the humidity data and temperature data detected and obtained by the humidity detection mechanism, and determining a dryness degree of the object to be cleaned in combination with the temperature change trend and the humidity change trend (p. 2, 5th full paragraph) in order to increase the degree of process control. Salem would benefit equally from increasing the degree of process control. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the dryer as disclosed by Salem with the humidity detection mechanism is further to detect temperature; wherein the control module performing corresponding control processing according to the humidity data detected and obtained by the humidity detection mechanism comprises: obtaining a temperature change trend and a humidity change trend based on the humidity data and temperature data detected and obtained by the humidity detection mechanism, and determining a dryness degree of the object to be cleaned in combination with the temperature change trend and the humidity change trend. as taught by Eichberger in order to increase the degree of process control.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 10, and 43-56 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
Claim 6 include allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose a hollow structure provided in the device body, with a first end connected to the other end of the first elastic component and a second end in contact with the object to be cleaned with all of the limitations of independent claim 1. The closest prior art is found in Eichberger (CN110870717A) which discloses a hollow structure to applicant’s but not the first elastic component. Takashi (US 4,977,639) teaches an elastic member to follow a floor surface, but doesn’t employ the elastic member to the requisite hollow structure and thus doesn’t fully cure the limitations of Eichberger.
Claim 10 include allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose a second elastic component with one end fixed in the device body; and an insulating structure provided in the device body and connected to the other end of the second elastic component; wherein at least one resistor and at least one electrode piece are fixed on the insulating structure with all of the limitations of independent claim 1. Examiner notes that most prior art moisture sensors are found in the flow of air from the treated surface.
Claim 43 include allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose a housing and a detection component located in a housing inner cavity; wherein the housing has an air outlet and an air inlet facing a surface to be worked; the detection component is configured as detecting a parameter of the airflow in the housing inner cavity with all of the limitations of independent claim 1. Claim 43 recites structure illustrated in fig. 2b which could not be found in the prior art.
Conclusion
/JOHN P MCCORMACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762