DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2, 4, 21, 24-25, 31, 36, 38, 50, 58, 66 and 88-89 are pending and are under examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II claims 2, 4, 21, 24-25, 36, 38, 50, 58, 66 and 88-89 in the reply filed on 06/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 71, 76-79, 81 and 86-87 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/24/2026.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copies have been filed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 05/17/2024, 04/01/2025,09/10/2024 and 05/17/2024 have been considered and an initialed copies are enclosed.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - The incorporation by reference paragraph required by 37 CFR 1.834(c)(1), 1.835(a)(2), or 1.835(b)(2) is missing, defective or incomplete.
Required response - Applicant must:
• Provide a substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation by reference paragraph, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01. See p. 23, for example.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 and 36 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 21, please include the full meaning of SNARE. In claim 36, please include the full meaning of CGRP. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fonfria et al. WO 2021064369 04-08-2021 cited in IDS
Claim 24: Fonfria et al disclose a method for treating a sensory disorder (p. 1 lines 4-6, title) by inhibiting release of a mediator from a neuron comprising an Aδ nerve fiber, the method comprising administering to a subject a chimeric clostridial neurotoxin comprising a botulinum neurotoxin A (BoNT/A) light chain and translocation domain (HN domain) and a BoNT/B receptor binding domain (HC domain). See p. 3 lines 14-31, p. 4 lines 1-2, p. 25 lines 24-36 and p. 26 lines 8-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 21, 24, 25, 31, 36, 38, 50, 66, 88 and 89 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks et al. US 20210060144 03-04-2021 in view of Fonfria et al. WO 2021064369 04-08-2021 cited in IDS.
Claim 2: Brooks et al disclose a method of treating pain (paragraphs 29, 30, 42, 76), the method comprising administering to the subject a chimeric clostridial neurotoxin (paragraph 50) .
Claim 25: the pain is associated with headache (paragraph 29).
Claim 36: the pain is CGRP-associated somatic pain selected from: headache pain or facial pain (paragraph 29).
Claim 38: Brooks et al disclose administering the chimeric clostridial neurotoxin to the face, skull or neck. See paragraph 183, 184, 186
Claim 66: Brooks et al disclose the administration is intramuscular (paragraph 49).
Brooks et al does not disclose the chimeric clostridial toxin comprises a botulinum neurotoxin A light chain and translocation domain and a BoNT/B receptor binding domain.
Fonfria et al disclose a chimeric clostridial neurotoxin comprising a botulinum neurotoxin A (BoNT/A) light chain and translocation domain (HN domain) and a BoNT/B receptor binding domain (HC domain). See p. 3 lines 14-31, p. 4 lines 1-2, p. 25 lines 24-36 and p. 26 lines 8-13. Fonfria et al disclose that such hybrid or chimeric clostridial neurotoxins are useful, for example, as a means of delivering the therapeutic benefits of such clostridial neurotoxins to subjects who are immunologically resistant to a given clostridial neurotoxin subtype, to subjects who may have a lower than average concentration of receptors to a given clostridial neurotoxin heavy chain binding domain, or to subjects who may have a protease-resistant variant of the membrane or vesicle toxin substrate (e.g., SNAP-25, VAMP and syntaxin). See p. 25 lines 24-36.
Claim 88-89: Fonfria et al disclose a clostridial neurotoxin comprises a light chain comprising SEQ ID NO: 17 (see sequence alignment in Appendix A SEQ ID NO: 20 of Fonfria et al and p. 48 lines 15-17) and a heavy chain sequence comprising SEQ ID NO: 19 (see sequence alignment in Appendix B SEQ ID NO: 64). Fonfria disclose that the light chain and heavy chain are joined together by a di-sulphide bond. See p. 50 lines 7-15.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the instant invention to have used the chimeric clostridial neurotoxin of Fonfria et al in the method of Brooks et al, thus resulting in the instant invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
The motivation to do so is that Brooks et al discloses that the clostridial neurotoxin can be chimeric and Fonfria et al disclose a chimeric clostridial neurotoxin comprising a botulinum neurotoxin A (BoNT/A) light chain and translocation domain (HN domain) and a BoNT/B receptor binding domain (HC domain). Fonfria et al disclose that hybrid or chimeric clostridial neurotoxins are useful, for example, as a means of delivering the therapeutic benefits of such clostridial neurotoxins to subjects who are immunologically resistant to a given clostridial neurotoxin subtype, to subjects who may have a lower than average concentration of receptors to a given clostridial neurotoxin heavy chain binding domain, or to subjects who may have a protease-resistant variant of the membrane or vesicle toxin substrate (e.g., SNAP-25, VAMP and syntaxin).
Regarding claim 4 and claim 31: the combination of Brooks et al and Fonfria et al disclose the chimeric clostridial neurotoxin comprising a botulinum neurotoxin A (BoNT/A) light chain and translocation domain (HN domain) and a BoNT/B receptor binding domain (HC domain) of claim 2, thus said chimeric clostridial neurotoxin would (a) bind to a neuron comprising an Aδ nerve fiber or the C nerve fiber; or (b) inhibit secretion from a neuron of the central nervous system, thereby inhibiting the release of a pain mediator from the neuron, wherein the pain mediator is a neurotransmitter.
Regarding claim 21: the combination of Brooks et al and Fonfria et al disclose the chimeric clostridial neurotoxin comprising a botulinum neurotoxin A (BoNT/A) light chain and translocation domain (HN domain) and a BoNT/B receptor binding domain (HC domain) of claim 2, thus said chimeric clostridial neurotoxin would travel by neuronal transport to a neuron of the central nervous system and cleaves a SNARE protein of the neuron.
Regarding claim 50: the combination of Brooks et al and Fonria et al disclose administering the clostridial neurotoxin and teach the use of both intra-muscular injections and saturation of nerve-rich trigeminal administration sites, for example combining injections into at least one, two, three, four, five, six, seven, or eight areas including the nasalis, orbicularis oculi, corrugator, procerus, masseter, occipitalis, temporalis and trapezius muscle regions. Further embodiments can comprise injecting one of but not both of the frontalis and cervical paraspinal muscle regions.
Thus, the administrations in claim 50 part a and part b would have been prima facie obvious as of the effective filing date of the instant invention in view of the teachings of Brooks et al.
Regarding claim 24: The combination of Brooks et al and Fonria et al disclose the method step of claim 24. The recitation of a method of treating a sensory disorder by inhibiting a release of a mediator from a neuron comprising an Aδ nerve fiber or a C nerve fiber is recited in the preamble of the claim. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, this recitation is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Claim(s) 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks et al. US 20210060144 03-04-2021 and Fonfria et al. WO 2021064369 04-08-2021 cited in IDS as applied to claims 2, 4, 21, 25, 31, 36, 38, 50, 66, 88 and 89 above, further in view of Grigore et al. WO 2021/186160 9/23/2021 cited IDS.
The combination of Brooks et al and Fonfria et al is set forth above and does not disclose the total dose administered per treatment session is up to 255,000 pg of the chimeric clostridial toxin.
Grigore et al disclose a method of treating pain (p. 1 lines 5-6 and p. 2 lines 16-17) by administering a chimeric clostridial neurotoxin (p. 4 lines 19-23, p. 56-64, p. 68-69) and discloses total dose of up to 255,000 pg. See p. 49 lines 16-26 and p. 50 lines 5-18.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the instant invention to modified the method of the combination of Brooks et al and Fonfria et al by administering the chimeric clostridial neurotoxin a total dose of up to 255,000 pg per treatment session as taught by Grigore et al, thus resulting in the instant invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to do so is that Grigore et al disclose that a total dose of up to 255,000 pg can be used in a method of treating pain using a chimeric clostridial neurotoxin.
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 4, 21, 25, 31, 36, 66, and 88-89 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 4-17 of copending Application No. 18711047 (‘047) in view of Fonfria et al. WO 2021064369 04-08-2021 cited in IDS.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘047 claims disclose a method of treating visceral pain or bladder pain or endometriosis pain or cancer pain, the method comprising administering a clostridial neurotoxin by intradermal administration.
The ‘047 claims do not disclose the clostridial toxin is a chimeric clostridial toxin comprising botulinum neurotoxin A light chain and translocation domain and a BoNT/B receptor binding domain.
Fonfria et al disclose a chimeric clostridial neurotoxin comprising a botulinum neurotoxin A (BoNT/A) light chain and translocation domain (HN domain) and a BoNT/B receptor binding domain (HC domain). See p. 3 lines 14-31, p. 4 lines 1-2, p. 25 lines 24-36 and p. 26 lines 8-13. Fonfria et al disclose that such hybrid or chimeric clostridial neurotoxins are useful, for example, as a means of delivering the therapeutic benefits of such clostridial neurotoxins to subjects who are immunologically resistant to a given clostridial neurotoxin subtype, to subjects who may have a lower than average concentration of receptors to a given clostridial neurotoxin heavy chain binding domain, or to subjects who may have a protease-resistant variant of the membrane or vesicle toxin substrate (e.g., SNAP-25, VAMP and syntaxin). See p. 25 lines 24-36.
Claim 88-89: Fonfria et al disclose a clostridial neurotoxin comprises a light chain comprising SEQ ID NO: 17 (see sequence alignment in Appendix A SEQ ID NO: 20 of Fonfria et al and p. 48 lines 15-17) and a heavy chain sequence comprising SEQ ID NO: 19 (see sequence alignment in Appendix B SEQ ID NO: 64). Fonfria disclose that the light chain and heavy chain are joined together by a di-sulphide bond. See p. 50 lines 7-15.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the instant invention to have used the chimeric clostridial neurotoxin of Fonfria et al in the method of the ‘047 claims, thus resulting in the instant invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
The motivation to do so is that Fonfria et al disclose a chimeric clostridial neurotoxin comprising a botulinum neurotoxin A (BoNT/A) light chain and translocation domain (HN domain) and a BoNT/B receptor binding domain (HC domain). Fonfria et al disclose that such a hybrid or chimeric clostridial neurotoxin is useful, for example, as a means of delivering the therapeutic benefits of such clostridial neurotoxins to subjects who are immunologically resistant to a given clostridial neurotoxin subtype, to subjects who may have a lower than average concentration of receptors to a given clostridial neurotoxin heavy chain binding domain, or to subjects who may have a protease-resistant variant of the membrane or vesicle toxin substrate (e.g., SNAP-25, VAMP and syntaxin).
Regarding claim 4 and claim 31: the combination of the ‘047 claims and Fonfria disclose the chimeric clostridial neurotoxin comprising a botulinum neurotoxin A (BoNT/A) light chain and translocation domain (HN domain) and a BoNT/B receptor binding domain (HC domain) of claim 2, thus said chimeric clostridial neurotoxin would (a) bind to a neuron comprising an Aδ nerve fiber or the C nerve fiber; or (b) inhibit secretion from a neuron of the central nervous system, thereby inhibiting the release of a pain mediator from the neuron, wherein the pain mediator is a neurotransmitter.
Regarding claim 21: the combination of the ‘047 claims and Fonfria disclose the chimeric clostridial neurotoxin comprising a botulinum neurotoxin A (BoNT/A) light chain and translocation domain (HN domain) and a BoNT/B receptor binding domain (HC domain) of claim 2, thus said chimeric clostridial neurotoxin would travel by neuronal transport to a neuron of the central nervous system and cleaves a SNARE protein of the neuron.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 58 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 4-17 of copending Application No. 18711047 (‘047) and Fonfria et al. WO 2021064369 04-08-2021 cited in IDS as applied to claims 2, 4, 21, 25, 31, 36, 66, and 88-89 further in view of Grigore et al. WO 2021/186160 9/23/2021 cited IDS.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the combination of the ‘047 claims and Fonfria et al is set forth above and does not disclose the total dose administered per treatment session is up to 255,000 pg of the chimeric clostridial toxin.
Grigore et al disclose a method of treating pain (p. 1 lines 5-6 and p. 2 lines 16-17) by administering a chimeric clostridial neurotoxin (p. 4 lines 19-23, p. 56-64, p. 68-69) and discloses total dose of up to 255,000 pg. See p. 49 lines 16-26 and p. 50 lines 5-18.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the instant invention to modified the method of the combination of the ‘047 claims and Fonfria et al by administering the chimeric clostridial neurotoxin a total dose of up to 255,000 pg per treatment session as taught by Grigore et al, thus resulting in the instant invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to do so is that Grigore et al disclose that a total dose of up to 255,000 pg can be used in a method of treating pain using a chimeric clostridial neurotoxin.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 24 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 4-17 of copending Application No. 18711047 (‘047). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘047 claims disclose a method of treating visceral pain or bladder pain or endometriosis pain or cancer pain, the method comprising administering a clostridial neurotoxin by intradermal administration.
The ‘047 claims disclose the method step of claim 24. The recitation of a method of treating a sensory disorder by inhibiting a release of a mediator from a neuron comprising an Aδ nerve fiber or a C nerve fiber is recited in the preamble of the claim. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, this recitation is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Status of Claims
Claims 2, 4, 21, 24, 25, 31, 36, 38, 50, 58, 66 and 88-89 are rejected.
/OLUWATOSIN A OGUNBIYI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645