DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 15, 2025.
Accordingly, the requirement is made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 4, it should be depended on claim 2 to clarify the relationship of the first heating source and the first IR radiation sources.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-10, 13, 16, 18 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang1 (KR20100120420) in view of Hwang2 (KR20080095127) and Kamikawa (CN102277557).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang1 teaches a downward nozzle type vacuum evaporation source 10 (a coating source for a coating plant) (abstract, paragraph 0010). Hwang1 teaches the coating source comprises a crucible 2 for vaporizing source material 11, and nozzle openings for vaporized coating material (openings on crucible support 15) (paragraphs 0028-0032, figures 2-3). Hwang1 teaches the coating source further comprises a first heating source for heating the crucible and the coating material (see heating elements 14 on the upper side of the coating source 10, figure 2, paragraphs 0033). Hwang1 teaches a second heating source for heating the at least one outlet opening (see heating elements 14 on the vertical sides and the bottom of the coating source 10, figure 2, paragraphs 0033). Hwang1 teaches the crucible is closed on the upper side by the plates 16, 17 and 18 (paragraphs 0035, figure 2), which reads on the limitation of lid. Hwange1 teaches the second heating source is arranged outside of the closed crucible (see figure 2, paragraph 0033). Hwang1 tache the at least one outlet opening is arranged on a first lower side of the crucible (see support 15 on figure 2) and the lid closes a second, opposite side of the crucible (see plates 16, 17 and 18 on figure 2).
Hwang1 does not explicitly teach the heating source (including the second heating source) is IR radiation heater/source, and the lid is at least semi-transparent for the IR radiation of the IR radiation sources (including the second IR radiation sources). Hwang2 teaches a top-down type evaporation source (abstract). Hwang2 teaches the heating element is infrared heater (paragraph 0022). Hwang2 teaches the crucible 22 is closed by a lid 21 and can be separated for refilling the coating material (paragraph 0021). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the IR heater (including as the second heating source) as suggested by Hwang2 in the evaporation source as disclosed by Hwang1 because Hwang2 teaches such heating element is suitable for the top down type evaporation source (paragraph 0022).
Hwang1 in view of Hwang2 does not explicitly teach the lid is at least semi-transparent for the IR radiation of the IR radiation sources (including the second IR radiation sources). However, Kamikawa teaches a crucible device of evaporation material in a vacuum vapor deposition device (abstract). Kamikawa teaches the heating source is an infrared heater 21, and a heating wave (IR) transmission element 22 element is arranged between the infrared heater 21 and the evaporation material M in the crucible (abstract, paragraphs 0014-0017). Since the lid is arranged in between the IR heater and the evaporation material in the crucible in Hwang1 in view of Hwang2, it would be obvious to use the same heating wave transmission material as the lid in light of teaching of Kamikawa. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the IR wave transmission material as the lid as suggested by Kamikawa in the evaporation source as disclosed by Hwang1 in view of Hwang2 because Kamikawa teaches such transmission material allow transmission of the infrared ray so the heating element can properly heat the deposition material which is vaporized of sublimated by using the heating wave (IR wave) (paragraphs 0014-0017).
Regarding claim 2, Hwang2 teaches the heating element is infrared heater (paragraph 0022). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the IR heater (including as the first heating source) as suggested by Hwang2 in the evaporation source as disclosed by Hwang1 because Hwang2 teaches such heating element is suitable for the top down type evaporation source (paragraph 0022).
Regarding claim 4, Hwang1 teaches the first IR radiation (Hwang2 teaches the first heating element is also IR radiation sources) are arranged outside the closed crucible (see figure 2). Kamikawa teaches the lid is at lest semi transparent for the IIR radiation of the first IR radiation sources.
Regarding claim 6, Hwang2 teaches the crucible 22 is closed by a lid 21 and can be separated for refilling the coating material (closable opening) (paragraph 0021).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a lid with closable opening as suggested by Hwang2 in the evaporation source as disclosed by Hwang1 because Hwang2 teaches lid allow the coating material to be refilled in the crucible (paragraph 0021).
Regarding claim 7, Hwang1 teaches of the heating elements (first and second heating sources) are set to be separately controlled to allow the source material to be heated to the most suitable temperature accordingly the evaporation path (paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 8, Hwang1 teaches the crucible forms a guide portion through which the vaporized coating material is guided to the at least one outlet opening (see figure 2, the vertical portions next to the crucible 12 and above the opening on the support 15).
Regarding claim 9, Hwang1 teaches the second heating elements 14 are adapted to heat the guided portion (see the heaters 14 on the vertical sides of the source 10, figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Hwang1 teaches a second heating source 14 (on the bottom of the source 10) is adapted to specifically and selectively heat the at least one outlet opening (see figure 2).
Regarding clam 13, Hwang1 does not explicitly teaches the inner cross portion of the guide portion is tapered towards the at least one outlet opening. However, it is well settled that the configuration of a claimed feature was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed feature (inner cross portion of the guided portion is tapered towards the outlet opening) was significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV. B.). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the configuration of inner cross portion of the guide portion to tapered towards the outlet opening in light of the teaching of Hwang1.
Regarding claim 16, Hwang1 teaches an addition heater 14 is arranged in the region around the outlet opening (see bottom heater in the source 10, see figure 2).
Regarding claim 18, Hwang1 teaches the opening is a dot shaped or plurality of dot shaped or slit shaped opening or plurality of slit shaped openings (see figure 3, paragraphs 0039-0041).
Regarding claim 24, Hwang1 in view of Hwang2 and Kamikawa teaches the lid is intended to transmit the IR, and it is known that IR wavelength is 700nm-1mm, which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05. It would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize the transmission rate of the lid to IR to yield desired heating of the deposition material to vaporize by using the heating wave (IR wave) (paragraphs 0014-0017). Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang1 (KR20100120420) in view of Hwang2 (KR20080095127) and Kamikawa (CN102277557) as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 6-10, 13, 16, 18 and 24, and further in view of Witzman (US20010011524).
Regarding claim 11, Hwang1 in view of Hwang2 and Kamikawa teaches all limitations of instant claim, except the guide portion comprises a layer of poorly thermally conductive material. However, Witzman teaches a linear aperture deposition apparatus for coating substrates with evaporated coating materials (abstract). Witzman teaches the apparatus comprising a crucible for containing the source material (paragraph 0064) and discloses a heating shield 86 is surrounds the apparatus, including the area near the substrate (see figure 3b) to prevent excess heating of the substrate (paragraphs 0065 and 0074), wherein an insulating material 88 of fibrous alumina board or carbon felt composite are used, which both have the thermal conductivity of less than 10/mK. (paragraph 0074). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an insulated shield on crucible on the surface near the substrate as suggested by Witzman in the evaporation source as disclosed by Hwang1 because Hwang2 and Kamikawa (which includes the guided portion in Hwang1’s coating source) because Witzman teaches such material can prevent excess heating of the substrate (paragraphs 0065-0074).
Claims 12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang1 (KR20100120420) in view of Hwang2 (KR20080095127) and Kamikawa (CN102277557) as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 6-10, 13, 16, 18 and 24, and further in view of Kawashima (JP2002146516).
Regarding claim 12, Hwang1 in view of Hwang2 and Kamikawa teaches all limitations of this claim, except the IR radiation reflecting material. However, Kawashima teaches a vapor deposition apparatus (abstract). Kawashima an infrared reflecting mirror 4 is arranged between the crucible 2 and the substrate support 6 to reflect the IR to efficiently heat the crucible (paragraphs 0009 and 0018, figure 1), and it is known that IR wavelength is 700nm-1mm, which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05. It would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize the refection amount of the reflection mirror to yield desired efficiency of heating of the crucible. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the IR reflector to arrange between the source/crucible/heater and the substrate as suggested by Kawashima in the coating source as disclosed by Hwang1 because Hwang2 in view of Kamikawa because Kawashima teaches aches such reflector facilitate to heating the material inside of the source (including the crucible) efficiently (paragraphs 0009 and 0018).
Regarding claim 14, Hwang1 in view of Hwang2 and Kamikawa teaches all limitations of this claim, except the IR radiation reflecting material. However, Kawashima teaches a vapor deposition apparatus (abstract). Kawashima an infrared reflecting mirror 4 (IR radiation shield) is arranged between the crucible 2 and the substrate support 6 to reflect the IR to efficiently heat the crucible (in front of the outlet) (paragraphs 0009 and 0018, figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the IR reflector to arrange between the source/crucible/heater (in front of the outlet opening) and the substrate as suggested by Kawashima in the coating source as disclosed by Hwang1 because Hwang2 in view of Kamikawa because Kawashima teaches aches such reflector facilitate to heating the material inside of the source (including the crucible) efficiently (paragraphs 0009 and 0018).
Regarding claim 15, Hwang1 in view of Hwang2 and Kamikawa teaches all limitations of this claim, except the IR radiation reflecting material. However, Kawashima teaches a vapor deposition apparatus (abstract). Kawashima an infrared reflecting mirror 4 (IR radiation shield) is arranged between the crucible 2 and the substrate support 6 to reflect the IR to efficiently heat the crucible (in a region around the at least one outlet opening) (paragraphs 0009 and 0018, figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the IR reflector to arrange between the source/crucible/heater (in the region around the outlet opening) and the substrate as suggested by Kawashima in the coating source as disclosed by Hwang1 because Hwang2 in view of Kamikawa because Kawashima teaches such reflector facilitate to heating the material inside of the source (including the crucible) efficiently (paragraphs 0009 and 0018).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang1 (KR20100120420) in view of Hwang2 (KR20080095127) and Kamikawa (CN102277557) as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 6-10, 13, 16, 18 and 24, and further in view of Hwang3 (KR20110091087).
Regarding claim 17, Hwang1 in view of Hwang2 and Kamikawa teaches all limitations of this claim, except the coating mateiral to be vaporied has a vaporization temperature of at most 1000ºC. However, Hwang3 teaches top-down vacuum evaporation source apparatus (abstract), similar to Hwang1, and discloses Se is a common material to be deposited by this type of apparatus (paragraph 0003), wherein Se has a vaporization temperature of less than 1000ºC. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use deposit Se in the top down vacuum evaporation source as suggested by Hwang3 in the coating source as disclosed by Hwang1 because Hwang2 in view of Kamikawa because Hwang3 teaches Se is a common material to be deposited in this type of apparatus (paragraph 0003.
Conclusion
/NGA LEUNG V LAW/Examiner, Art Unit 1717