DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the first end or the first flange” where the Examiner is unclear which first end or which first flange is being referred back to. A review of the claim set and specification shows that the “or” should be “of”. For examination purposes, the limitation “wherein the first end or the first flange” will be treated as “wherein the first end [[or]] of the first flange”.
Claim 4 recites the phrase “e.g.” which is "for example" that renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For examination purposes, all limitations after the “e.g.” will not be required of the claim.
Claim 4 recites “the tip may be provided by the intersection” where the Examiner is unclear which intersection is being referred back due to improper antecedent basis. For examination purposes, the phrase “the tip may be provided by the intersection” will be treated as “the tip may be provided by [[the]] an intersection”.
Claim 6 recites the phrases “e.g.” which is "for example" as well as “such as”. These phrases render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For examination purposes, all limitations after the “e.g.” and “such as” will not be required of the claim.
Claim 8 recites the phrase “such as” that renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For examination purposes, all limitations after the “such as” will not be required of the claim.
Claim 8 recites “the concave structure is provided within the first” where the Examiner is unclear which concave structure is being referred back due to improper antecedent basis. For examination purposes, the phrase “the concave structure is provided within the first” will be treated as “[[the]] a concave structure is provided within [[the]] a first”.
Claim 12 recites the phrase “such as” that renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For examination purposes, all limitations after the “such as” will not be required of the claim.
Claim 12 recites “wherein the distance between individual stay bolts or between the stay bolts and the outside rim, or the stay bolts and the inside rim are in the range” which features multiple antecedent basis issues which render the claims unclear. For examination purposes, claim 12 will be interpreted as “wherein [[the]] a distance between individual stay bolts or between the stay bolts and [[the]] an outside rim, or the stay bolts and [[the]] an inside rim are in the range”.
Claim 13 recites “the number of stay bolts” where the Examiner is unclear which number is being referred back due to improper antecedent basis. For examination purposes, the phrase “the number of stay bolts” will be treated as “[[the]] a number of stay bolts”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2015-39692 (Miura hereinafter) in view of US 2014/0157615 (Pinches hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Miura teaches a disk dryer that discloses a first flange (Flange 30a in Figures 1-7) and a second flange (Flange 30b in Figures 1-7), wherein a first end of the first flange (Central opening of 30a at the central hole for shaft 2 as seen in Figures 2, 4a, and 5) and a first end of the second flange extends from a central hole (Central opening of 30a at the central hole for shaft 2 as seen in Figures 2, 4, and 5) of the disc (Evident from Figures 2, 4a, and 5) and wherein a second end of the first flange (Tip end of 30a in Figures 4b and 7) and a second end of the second flange (Tip end of 30b in Figures 4b and 7) are combined in a tip (Evident from Figures 4b and 7), wherein the disc is provided with a multiplicity of stay bolts wherein the multiplicity of stay bolts are provided with a homogenous distribution of stay bolts, or a substantially homogenous distribution of stay bolts (Stay bolts 31 as seen in Figures 2, 4a/b, and 5).
Muira is silent with respect to providing a stay bolt pattern and with an area per stay bolt in the range of 100-350 cm² per stay bolt.
However, Pinches teaches a disk dryer that discloses specific disc dimensions in ¶ 56 where an inner diameter of .2 meters and outer diameter of .6 meters paired with the 48 stay bolts of Muira would have an area per stay bolt in the range of 100-350 cm² per stay bolt. Furthermore, the specific sizing is a result effective variable based on the stay bolts provided with the dimensions provided by the Pinches reference.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the size of the disk dryer of Muira with the dimensions of Pinches to ensure that a large surface area is provided for drying while being securely fastened.
Regarding claim 2, Muira’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination would further disclose that the area per stay bolt is about 150-250 cm² per stay bolt (¶ 56 of Pinches modifying Muira as taught above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Muira’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination would further disclose that the first end of the first flange and/or the first end of the second flange are provided with a concave structure (Concave ends of 30a and 30b at the central hole for shaft 2 in Figure 4a of Muira).
Regarding claim 5, Muira’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination would further disclose that the disc comprises an outside rim of the second end of the first flange which may be extending further from the intersection between the second end of the first flange and the second end of the second flange than an outside rim of the second end of the second flange (Evident from Figures 4b and 7 of Muira).
Regarding claim 7, Muira’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination would further disclose that the central hole has a diameter which is adapted to a rotor on which the disc is to be mounted (Central hole of Muira in Figures 2, 4a, and 5 with the shaft 2 for providing the driving action).
Regarding claim 8, Muira’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination would further disclose that the concave structure is provided within the first 200 mm from an inside rim of the disc (on the first flange and/or second flange) (Evident from Figure 4a of Muira).
Regarding claim 9, Muira’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination would further disclose that the disc is a hollow disc (Evident from Figure 4a of Muira).
Regarding claim 10, Muira’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination would further disclose that the stay bolts are placed in two or more rows of stay bolts at a circular distance from the centre point (Evident from Figures 2 and 5 of Muira with bolts 31).
Regarding claim 12, Muira’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination would further disclose that the distance between individual stay bolts or between the stay bolts and the outside rim, or the stay bolts and the inside rim are in the range of 100-160 mm (resultant combination with the proposed dimensions of Pinches applied to Muira).
Regarding claim 13, Muira’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination would further disclose that the number of stay bolts is the same in all the rows of stay bolts provided in the disc or in the first and the second flanges (Each row of stay bolts in Muira is 24 and equal to each other).
Regarding claim 14, Muira teaches a rotor according to the combination of claim 1 above (See the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 15, Muira teaches a dryer comprising two or more discs according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above and Muira Figure 1).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2015-39692 (Miura) in view of US 2014/0157615 (Pinches) and further in view of US 2019/0071340 (Imrie hereinafter).
Regarding claim 4, Muira’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the tip may be provided by the intersection of the first flange and the second flange has an angle (α) in the range of 4.5°-8.0°.
However, Imrie teaches a disk dryer that discloses a tip may be provided by the intersection of the first flange and the second flange has an angle (α) in the range of 4.5°-8.0° (¶ 133).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the angle between the two flanges of Muira with the teachings of Imrie to adapt the disk dryer to the material being dried.
Regarding claim 6, Muira’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect to a distance between the first end of the first flange and a first end of the second flange is at least 10 mm.
However, Imrie teaches a disk dryer that discloses a relative sizing of the discs and the angles between them (¶ 133). The specific distance between the first flange and the second flange is seen as a result effective variable in order to determine the heating efficiency and flow rate through the dryer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the distance between the two flanges of Muira with the teachings of Imrie to adapt the disk dryer to the material being dried.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2015-39692 (Miura) in view of US 2014/0157615 (Pinches) and further in view of JP 2009-45525 (Ando hereinafter).
Regarding claim 11, Muira’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect to the stay bolts are placed in three or more rows of stay bolts at a circular distance from the centre point.
However, Ando teaches a disc dryer that discloses the use of three rows of stay bolts (Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the rows of stay bolts of Muira to be changed from 2 rows to 3 rows per Ando to further secure the flanges together.
Conclusion
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762