DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Urano et al (JP H1-245817A).
A translation of the description of Urano is provided with this action.
With respect to claim 1, Urano teaches a system for producing hot superpure/ultrapure water [Abs] for a point of use, which includes primary and secondary purification elements e.g. ion exchange (3) and filter (7) [Abs], as well as heating means (5A), (5B) for pasteurizing the water before feeding to a point of use (19) via a pipeline [Fig. 1], a first heat exchange device (4) which allows water which has not exited via the point of use (“surplus heat ultrapure water”) to return via line (20) [pg. 5, first paragraph] and pre-heat incoming water upstream of the heating means [pg. 4, second paragraph]; such returned water is fed back to the pretreatment devices upstream which are otherwise not illustrated, via line (15) [pg. 4, second paragraph]. Further, a warm pure water supply mechanism may supply warm water to the midpoint of the return line via a separate blow line (8) which takes reject water from the filter (7) and returns it to the return line (14) [pg. 4, second paragraph].
As best understood, the system of Urano anticipates the claimed invention, given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
With respect to claim 3, Urano teaches that the heating device (5A), (5B) may be any heating device but teaches exemplary technologies including heat exchangers employing steam and the like [pg. 3, first paragraph].
With respect to claim 4, Urano teaches multiple heating devices such that one of them e.g. (5B) may be a third heat exchanger in the pure water supply pipeline.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urano et al in view of Horii (JP 2018-43191 A).
A translation of the description of Horii is provided with this action.
Urano teaches as above, but is silent to the use of a tank on the return line e.g. to accept streams including the warm water supply, or to additional cooling on the return line beyond heat exchanger (4) (which heats incoming water and thus cools the return water).
However, Horii teaches ultrapure water production with heating means and with arrangements to reduce heating costs [Abs] in which returning ultrapure water from a point of use (40) is fed via lines (41), (44) to return to the purification system, and is fed via a subtank (2) after having its temperature reduced by heat exchangers (6) and (43), where (6) represents heating of the purification line i.e. analogous to Urano’s exchanger (4), and (43) represents an additional cooling step [Abs, Fig. 1], returning the heat to loops which drive the primary heating systems [pg. 5, last paragraph-pg. 6, first paragraph].
It would have been obvious to provide a suitable storage and surge volume such as sub-tank (2) of Horii into the system of Urano, to provide a volume in which to combine the return water streams and the incoming purification stream. Further, it would have been obvious to provide additional cooling/heat exchange on the return line to more efficiently capture heat and employ it in driving the heating system of the device, as in Horii.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art is taught by Urano, above, which does teach temperature sensors (6A), (6B) and a controller (29) to ensure that the water in the system is heated to a sufficient temperature. However, there is no teaching or suggestion of adjusting the warm pure water supply mechanism i.e. the blow line (8) based on temperature; this would in fact be contrary to the design of Urano, which uses that line to control the pressure in the filter (7) via sensor (9) [pg. 5], and valve (10) in the blow line is controlled to control the flow ratio in the filter in general [pg. 5]. There is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art that would motivate one to modify the system of Urano in the claimed manner, in particular because Urano teaches more directly controlling temperature rates already. The prior art alone or in combination would not lead one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the invention of claim 5, such that claim 5 and dependent claims 6 and 7 are free from the prior art.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY R SPIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777