DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it appears to refer to one or more drawings e.g. Fig. 1. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites two alternative situations, 1. Where a failure is detected and 2. Where a failure is not detected. However, in neither one of these situations, the claimed invention performs optimization. This appears to be in contrast with the disclosure and is perceived by the office as a typographical error. The claims are examined interpreting the claim language stating the “not optimize” is “optimize” in line 5. The claims are examined as best understood by the examiner.
Similarly, claim 20 is also rejected based on reasons described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-12, 18-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIM et al (US 2012/0099419)
Regarding claim 1, 11, KIM discloses a method for processing information, applied to a terminal device, comprising:
obtaining failure information for a failure occurring on the terminal device, wherein the failure information comprises service information associated with a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) service performed and/or supported by the terminal device (KIM: ¶45-49, the terminal determines/obtains information for a failure of the MBMS service at the terminal); and
transmitting the failure information to a network side device (KIM: ¶45-49, transmit the information regarding the failure, to the network side device).
Regarding claim 2, 12, KIM discloses the method of claim 1/11, wherein the service information associated with the MBS service is configured to determine, by the network side device, whether to optimize a configured network parameter (KIM: ¶49-50, ¶62, the network device checks the information in the failure report, in order to determine to optimize a network/control parameter).
Regarding claim 8, 18, KIM discloses method of claim 1/11, wherein transmitting the failure information to the network side device comprises: transmitting the failure information to the network side device by carrying the failure information in at least one of the following reports: an RLF report, a connection establishment failure report, a successful handover report, or a random access report (KIM: ¶85, terminal reports failure in a random access procedure equivalent to a random access report).
Regarding claim 9, 19, KIM discloses method for processing information, applied to a network side device, comprising:
receiving failure information transmitted from a terminal device, wherein the failure information comprises service information associated with a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) service performed and/or supported by the terminal device (KIM: ¶45-49, the terminal determines/obtains information for a failure of the MBMS service at the terminal; transmit the information regarding the failure, to the network side device); and
determining whether to optimize a configured network parameter based on the service information associated with the MBS service (KIM: ¶49-50, ¶62, the network device checks the information in the failure report, in order to determine to optimize a network/control parameter).
Regarding claim 10, 20, KIM discloses method of claim 9/19, wherein determining whether to optimize the configured network parameter based on the service information associated with the MBS service comprises: in case that the service information associated with the MBS service comprises failure indication information, determining to not optimize the configured network parameter; or in case that the service information associated with the MBS service does not comprise failure indication information and the service information associated with the MBS service indicates that the terminal device is performing the MBS service, determining to not optimize the configured network parameter (KIM: ¶49-50, ¶62, the network device checks the information in the failure report, in order to determine to optimize a network/control parameter; optimization is only when the failure occurs and not when the failure is not reported or does not occur at the UE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4,13-14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (US 2012/0099419) in view of WANG et al (US 2016/0021561).
Regarding claim 3-4, 13-14, KIM discloses method of claim 1/11, wherein obtaining the failure information for the failure occurring on the terminal device comprises:
obtaining the failure information for the failure occurring on the terminal device (KIM: ¶45-49, the terminal determines/obtains information for a failure of the MBMS service at the terminal).
KIM remains silent, however, WANG et al (US 2016/0021561) discloses in case of determining that a handover failure or a radio link failure (RLF) has occurred (WANG: ¶114-121, ¶159, ¶3, the handover failure is determined which is determined as the failure information).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM would have been motivated to use the teachings of WANG as it provides a low failure rate by taking preemptive measures to avoid anticipate handover failure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM with teachings of WANG in order to improve robustness of the handover.
Regarding claim 4, 14, KIM discloses method of claim 1/11, wherein the service information associated with the MBS service comprises at least one of the following:
a service identifier of the MBS service;
a delivery mode corresponding to the MBS service;
a priority of the MBS service; or
failure indication information (KIM: ¶45-49, the terminal determines/obtains information for a failure of the MBMS service at the terminal and sends the report for the failure);
KIM remains silent, however, WANG et al (US 2016/0021561) discloses the failure indication information is configured to represent that the failure occurs since the terminal device does not select an optimal cell for a handover to maintain continuity of a specified service and the specified service comprises the MBS service (WANG: ¶114-121, ¶159, ¶3, the handover failure is determined which is determined as the failure information).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM would have been motivated to use the teachings of WANG as it provides a low failure rate by taking preemptive measures to avoid anticipate handover failure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM with teachings of WANG in order to improve robustness of the handover.
Claim(s) 5, 15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM modified by WANG as applied to claim 4/14 above, further in view of FUJISHIRO et al (US 2026/0059371)
Regarding claim 5, 15, KIM modified by WANG discloses a method of claim 4/14.
KIM modified by WANG remains silent regarding, however, FUJISHIRO et al (US 2026/0059371) discloses wherein the delivery mode comprises one or more of: receiving MBS service in a broadcast mode, receiving MBS service in a multicast mode, or receiving MBS service in a unicast mode (FUJISHIRO: ¶197-200, the PTM information is included in the report message).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM modified by WANG would have been motivated to use the teachings of FUJISHIRO as it provides a way to include “enhancement state information”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM modified by WANG with teachings of FUJISHIRO in order to improve reporting to include “enhancement state information” thereby improving resolution decision at the network.
Claim(s) 6, 16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM modified by WANG as applied to claim 4/14 above, further in view of FUJISHIRO2 et al (US 2024/0179722).
Regarding claim 6, 16, KIM modified by WANG discloses a method of claim 4/14.
KIM modified by WANG remains silent regarding, however, FUJISHIRO2 et al (US 2024/0179722) discloses wherein the service information associated with the MBS service further comprises a mapping between the delivery mode and the service identifier, the service identifier of the MBS service comprising a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) and/or a service area identity (SAI) (FUJISHIRO: ¶232, ¶297, a one-to-one mapping between the delivery mode and TMGI, the service information being TMGI).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM modified by WANG would have been motivated to use the teachings of FUJISHIRO2 as it provides a an advantage of avoiding unnecessary power consumption of the UE caused when the UE tries to receive an uninterested MBS session (¶279). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM modified by WANG with teachings of FUJISHIRO2 in order to improve power consumption.
Claim(s) 7, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM modified by WANG as applied to claim 4/14, further in view of SHRIVASTAVA et al (US 2024/0305957).
Regarding claim 7, 17, KIM modified by WANG discloses a method of claim 4/14.
KIM modified by WANG remains silent regarding, however, SHRIVASTAVA et al (US 2024/0305957) discloses a priority of the MBS service comprises at least one of the following: a priority of the delivery mode corresponding to the MBS service; or priorities of different MBS services in a same delivery mode (SHRIVASTAVA: ¶105, a priority associated with the MBS service and its delivery mode).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of KIM modified by WANG would have been motivated to use the teachings of SHRIVASTAVA as it provides gNB with flexibility to configure which service is required and requested by the UE with a priority and select most appropriate handover target (¶100). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of KIM modified by WANG with teachings of SHRIVASTAVA in order to improve network session management decision.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892
Document U discloses Multicast and broadcast services (MCBCS) are downlink point-to-multipoint ser vices in which a common set of multimedia data packets are transmitted with coordination from one or more BSs to multiple terminals in the designated MCBCS ser vice area. This feature in concept is similar to the MBMS features in 3GPP systems, for example, HSPA and LTE, and BCMCS features in 3GPP2 systems, for example, in EV-DO Rev A, in which the resources within a radio channel can be shared dynamically between point-to-point unicast services and point-to-multipoint broad cast and multicast services.
/OMER S MIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461
OMER S. MIAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2461