DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
Claims 1-20 are rejected herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 06/04/2024, and on 05/30/2025 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The recitation of claim 2 wherein “…waist-circular, or petal-shaped.” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what shape is defined by waist-circular. Furthermore, the shape of a petal varies greatly, Thus, one would not know at what shape the infringement would occur.
The recitation of claim 6 wherein “…wherein when the operating part is driven by an external tool to rotate, the first rotating part is rotated at a predetermined angle in the first mounting hole of the first…” renders the claim indefinite because claim recites step of using the product within the apparatus claim. The Examiner suggests the use of the term “configured”.
Dependent claim 7 is rejected based on its dependency on claim 6.
Appropriate correction/explanation is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cuddy (U.S. Pat. No. 10443635 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Cuddy teaches a first connector (414), wherein the first connector is configured to cooperate with a second connector (314) to realize a connection between a first member (302) and a second member (306), or the first connector is configured to cooperate with a third connector and threaded fasteners to realize the connection between the first member and the second member,
the first connector comprises a first connector body (body of 414), a first side of the first connector body is protruded to form a connecting boss (head of 414), and a second side of the first connector body is provided with a mounting part (threaded end of 414), and the mounting part is configured to lock into a first mounting hole of the first member, the first connector body is fixed with an operating part (402) between the connecting boss and the mounting part, the operating part is arranged at a distance from the connecting boss to form a connecting groove (central groove of 402), and the operating part is driven by an external tool to drive at least a part of the first connector body to rotate; wherein an outer side wall of the operating part at least has one operating plane or operating hole or operating bump or operating groove, or cross section of the operating part is adapted to a cross section of a sleeve (capable see Figs. 3-6 for configuration).
Regarding claim 2, Cuddy teaches the cross section of the operating part (402) is quadrilateral, hexagonal, oval, waist-circular, or petal-shaped.
Regarding claim 3, Cuddy teaches a cross-sectional area of the operating part (402) is larger than a cross-sectional area of the connecting boss (head of 414).
Regarding claim 5, Cuddy teaches the connecting groove (central groove of 402) surrounds an outer side wall of the first connector body in a circumferential direction to form an annular groove.
Regarding claim 6, Cuddy the mounting part (threaded portion of 414) comprises a first rotating part fixed to the first connector body, and an outer side wall circumference of the first rotating part is provided with external threads (threads of 414), or along a lateral viewing direction of the first rotating part, a distance between two ends of the first rotating part along a first predetermined linear direction is larger than a second predetermined linear direction;
wherein when the operating part is driven by an external tool to rotate, the first rotating part is rotated at a predetermined angle in the first mounting hole of the first member, the first rotating part fasten with an inner wall of the first mounting hole [capable].
Regarding claim 7, Cuddy teaches The first connector according to claim 6, wherein a cross-sectional area of the operating part (402) is larger than a cross-sectional area of the first rotating part.
Regarding claim 11, Cuddy teaches a first connector (414), wherein the first connector is configured to cooperate with a second connector (314) to realize a connection between a first member and a second member, or the first connector is configured to cooperate with a third connector and threaded fasteners to realize the connection between the first member and the second member, wherein the first connector comprises a first connector body (body of 414), and a first side of the first connector body protrudes to form a connecting boss (head of 414), a second side of the first connector body is provided with a mounting part (end of 414 opposite of head part), and the mounting part is to lock into a first mounting hole of the first member, and the first connector body is fixed with a driving external thread part (threaded portion of 414) between the connecting boss and the mounting part, and the driving external thread part is matched with an operating part (402) with an internal thread, and the operating part is arranged at a distance from the connecting boss to form a connecting groove (inner groove of 402), the operating part is to be driven by an external tool to drive at least a part of the first connector body to move; wherein an outer side wall of the operating part has at least one operating plane or operating hole or operating bump or operating groove, or a cross section of the operating part is adapted to a cross section of a sleeve [capable].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cuddy (U.S. Pat. No. 10443635 B2).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Cuddy teaches The first connector according to claim 11, wherein a cross section of the connecting boss (head portion of 414) is circular. However, Cuddy is silent to disclose the diameter of the connecting boss. The Examiner notes that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the connecting boss of Cuddy having a diameter of the connecting boss is 3-5.3 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). The motivation would have been to provide appropriate grip during operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 13-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
MUHAMMAD IJAZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631