DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-5, 16, 17, 29, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Stiles, Jr. et al (US PGPub 2017/0138076 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Stiles teaches a fluid filtering apparatus [Abs] – examiner notes that whether the system is portable is drawn to the intended use of the claimed device absent clarification of any specific structural requirements – which includes a debris chamber (26) as a housing cavity, and exhaust port (24), (20) for discharging filtered fluid, an intake port (18) for intaking untreated fluid, a filter (14) between the intake and exhaust ports, and a rotor and associated drive system in the form of pump (16), motor (32), stator (34), and rotor (36) [0015-0022, Figs. 1-3]. The pump is specifically designed to pull fluid into the filter through the intake and through the filter [0017]. Stiles does not discuss details of a power source for the motor, but such a component would be inherently required to provide power to the motor and drive the rotor.
As best understood, the system taught by Stiles therefore anticipates the claimed invention, given the broadest reasonable interpretation. Alternatively, if the lack of explicit disclosure of a power source is considered insufficient for anticipation, at minimum the provision of such a feature would have been obvious as it would be necessary to power a pump for it to function as intended.
With respect to claims 2 and 34, the rotor and associated motor components sit within the debris chamber, within the filter, and adjacent to the exhaust port [Fig. 1]. As such, the filter is positioned between the intake port and the rotor.
With respect to claim 3, the intake can be connected to a prefilter assembly as an upper shell of the housing, which sits atop the primary housing body [0023, Fig. 1].
With respect to claim 4, the system includes a pump housing (46) which would act as a rotor cover [0018].
With respect to claim 5, the inlet is positioned adjacent a sidewall of the housing in a generally tangential position [Fig. 3] such that generally circular flow would be inherently facilitated.
With respect to claims 16 and 17, the system includes an impeller (40) connected to the rotor [0018], which may be an axial impeller [Fig. 4].
With respect to claim 29, the motor in the system may be controlled to variable speed or variable flow operation [0021] and may have scheduled on/off times or the like. As such, it is interpreted as being capable of being pulsed absent clarification of the requirements.
Claims 6, 7, 20, 35, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stiles, Jr. et al in view of Schoeb (US PGPub 2008/0190870 A1).
With respect to claims 6, 7, 30, and 40, Stiles teaches as above but is silent to a drain port in the debris chamber, or to a valve controlling such a port, or to an intake flow restrictor.
However, Schoeb teaches an integrated filter and pump unit for treatment of a fluid [Abs] and teaches that in addition to feed (21) and exhaust (22) ports, there may be provided a drain port (23) to drain fluid from the unfiltered space; in some embodiments this may be integral with the feed port but in others [Figs. 2-5] they are separate. Further, Schoeb teaches that each of the inlet, outlet, and drain may be provided with valves or similar regulating members which can be manually or automatically controlled [0035].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Stiles to include such a drain and valve, exhaust port valve, and an intake flow regulator in order to gain the benefit of allowing for draining of the unfiltered space in a controlled (manual or automatic) manner and control of the intake flow, as in Schoeb.
With respect to claims 20 and 35, Stiles teaches as above but is silent to embodiments in which the pump rotor is outside of the filter and is upstream of the filter i.e. between the intake and the filter.
However, see MPEP 2143 I.B; a simple substitution of one known filter configuration for another, known to be useful for filtration of fluids using integrated pump rotors, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. See also MPEP 2144.04 VI.A, C; reversal or rearrangement of parts represent obvious engineering choices for one of ordinary skill in the art. Provision of a pump rotor which is upstream of a filter and is external to the filter and positioned between the intake and the filter in terms of fluid flow path, is known in the art as in Schoeb [Fig. 1, 0037].
It would have been obvious to modify the system of Stiles to place the impeller outside and before the filter as a simple substitution of one known, useful pump configuration in an integrated filter-pump system for another, or as a simple reversal of parts, in view of Schoeb.
Claims 8-11, 13, 21, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stiles, Jr. et al in view of Ajello (US 7,437,790 B1).
With respect to claims 8-11 and 13, Stiles teaches as above but is silent to details of the power source such as detachable batteries, rechargeable batteries, power cords, and associated charging ports.
However, Ajello teaches a similar system employing a filter for cleaning pools and the like in which water is drawn through a filter (27) using a motor assembly (26) [Fig. 7, Col. 5 line 56-Col. 6 line 6]. Ajello teaches that the system includes switchable power sources such that a user may select the desired source, and that these include an internally seated rechargeable battery pack (34), an externally connected portable battery pack (35), and an external AC power source (33) for which a suitable cord is implicit or at minimum obvious [Col. 6 lines 19-56, Figs. 8-9]; further, connection ports (38), (39), and (40) are provided such that provision of a charging port e.g. for the rechargeable batter is implicit or at minimum obvious.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Stiles to include sources such as those taught by Ajello to gain the benefit of allowing a user to select a source according to their needs, as discussed by Ajello e.g. to employ external power when available and internal power when not.
With respect to claims 21, 26, and 27, Stiles teaches as above but is silent to a cleaning accessory such as a vacuum head or flexible hose being connected to the device e.g. to the intake port.
However, Ajello teaches a similar system as above and teaches that the filter intake may be connected to a flexible hose (30) and a vacuum head (29) [Col. 6 lines 7-18, Fig. 7] which allow a user to employ the filter for cleaning of specific areas of a pool or the like in a convenient manner, e.g. to clean debris that sinks to the bottom of the pool [Col. 1 lines 30-35].
It would have been obvious to include similar structures in the device taught by Stiles for the same purpose i.e. to facilitate use of the filter for targeted cleaning of specific areas of the aqueous environment.
Claims 8, 9, 14, 15, 28, and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stiles, Jr. et al in view of Evingham (US PGPub 2011/0247970 A1).
With respect to claims 8, 9, 14, and 15, Stiles teaches as above but is silent to a solar PV power source e.g. for charging a battery or supplying power directly.
However, Evingham teaches a system for direct filtration of a water body using an integral filter/pump arrangement [Abs] and teaches that the pump may be powered by an internal battery supply and may also be adapted to connect to a renewable source of energy such as an external solar panel [0061, 0063, 0068]. As a benefit, this allows for use with power sources such as solar panels which may themselves be positioned within the body of water and thus eliminates the need for a connection to a terrestrial source [Fig. 6C, 0064-0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide such a connection to the device of Stiles and to provide suitable power storage such as a rechargeable battery because, as in Evingham, this allows the use of green energy when available and allows for systems which may be fully untethered from any exterior requirements.
With respect to claim 28, Stiles teaches as above but is silent to inclusion of a light source. However, Evingham teaches as above and further teaches providing a light on the device [0067] which may allow identification of specific parts or may simply be provided for aesthetic purposes [0071].
It would have been obvious to include a light on the device of Stiles for the same reasons i.e. aesthetic or functional/part identification purposes as desired by a user, as suggested by Evingham.
With respect to claims 37-39, Stiles is silent to multiple inlets which are vertically spaced apart, or to means for controlling buoyancy to adjust the position of the intakes.
However, Evingham teaches filter systems which may include multiple intake screens, and which may design the intake screens to have different properties and position different distances from the pump [0054]. Evingham further teaches that embodiments may position the device above the floor of the pool or the like, suspended from a floating platform (e.g. one containing solar panels as discussed above), and the position may be adjustable using a retractable cord to position the filters at the appropriate height [0066, Fig. 7].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Stiles to feature multiple inlets for multiple intake screens as in Evingham, to allow for different levels of filtration at different distances e.g. heights relative to the pump as suggested by Evingham. Further, it would have been obvious to provide these with a buoyant platform and an adjustable means such as the cord of Evingham to control the depth of the filters to desired levels when in use.
Claims 8, 9, 12, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stiles, Jr. et al in view of Erlich et al (US 10,294,686 B1).
With respect to claim 8, 9, 12, Stiles teaches as above but is silent to the use of a rechargeable batter which may be charged wirelessly.
However, Erlich teaches a mobile pool cleaner with integral filters and pumps and contemplates employing induction charging to wirelessly charge the battery which would allow for charging both in and out of the water [Col. 19 lines 41-48]. It would have been obvious to include a wireless charging connection such as an induction device in the system of Stiles for the same purpose i.e. to allow charging both in and out of the water, as suggested by Erlich.
With respect to claim 41, Stiles teaches as above but is silent to the use of propellers. However, Erlich teaches a mobile pool cleaning device with integral filters and pumps and teaches that impellers (42) may be used as propellers to move the device within a pool or the like to position it where needed [Col. 8 lines 1-45]. It would have been obvious to use structures which are capable of acting as propellers in the device of Stiles for the same purpose, to facilitate use as a mobile device which can position itself in useful places for cleaning.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stiles, Jr. et al in view of Klement (WO 2007/068013 A1).
Stiles teaches as above, and at least depicts an axial impeller. Stiles does not specify the use of a radial impeller.
However, Klement teaches a pool assembly with filter subsystem [Abs] and teaches [pg. 9, last paragraph] that flow may be driven by a pump of any suitable design including axial and radial pump designs.
Selection of an appropriate pump configuration would have been an obvious engineering choice for one of ordinary skill in the art and, in view of Klement, the use of at least axial and/or radial designs would be recognized as suitable within the field of pool filtration and similar technologies.
Claims 19 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stiles, Jr. et al in view of Brendo et al (US PGPub 2002/0113000 A1).
With respect to claim 19, Stiles teaches as above but is silent to an auger pump. However, Bredo teaches a device for cleaning a liquid containing vessel such as a pool, and teaches that the device may include an electrically driven pump for driving fluid flow, and teaches that this may be a centrifugal pump or impeller pump, but that this may also be a screw pump (which is interpreted as satisfying the broadest reasonable interpretation of an auger pump or, at minimum, renders such a structure obvious) [0075].
See MPEP 2143 I.B; Selection of an appropriate pump configuration would have been an obvious engineering choice for one of ordinary skill in the art and, in view of Brendo, the use of a screw pump would be recognized as suitable within the field of cleaning devices for pools and similar applications.
With respect to claim 32, Stiles is silent to a water sensor for controlling pumps in the system. However, Brendo teaches that while the system may allow for manual activation, it may also include a suitable means for detecting when it is placed into a liquid-containing vessel i.e. a water sensor [0048] to allow itself to switch on at appropriate times. It would have been obvious to include such a feature in the system of Stiles to allow for automated operation at least when adapting to a mobile device.
Claims 21, 22, 25, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stiles, Jr. et al in view of Cao et al (US PGPub 2021/0156163 A1).
With respect to claims 21, 22, and 25, Stiles teaches as above but is silent to a cleaning device such as a brush which is powered.
However, Cao teaches an autonomous cleaner for a pool or the like [Abs, 0003] which includes a pump (31) and filter device (20) internal to the body [0050], and teaches providing a rotatable brush (17) at the intake side [0060] which is driven by the pump motor (30) [0062-0063] to sweep and bring trash towards the intake.
It would have been obvious to modify the system of Stiles to include a similar powered brush feature or equivalent to allow for collection of trash or debris in a mobile device, as in Cao.
With respect to claim 41, Stiles does not specify the use of a propellor for the pump rotor. However, Cao teaches a similar device and depicts the use of a propeller [Fig. 3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ any commonly known driving structure useful for pumps in aqueous systems, such as the propellor structure suggested by Cao. See MPEP 2143 I.B.
Claims 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stiles, Jr. et al in view of Erlich ‘833 (US PGPub 2020/0222833 A1).
Stiles teaches as above but is silent to a cleaning device associated with the exhaust port.
However, Erlich ‘833 teaches an integrated cleaning device with a pump and filter for e.g. pool treatment [Abs] and teaches embodiments in which an outlet of the device (125) is connected to a cleaning device via a hose (1220) and which directs the outlet fluid to a port (1215) at the intake vacuum head, which assists intake of debris [0056-0057, Fig. 12].
It would have been obvious to include a similar arrangement in the system of Stiles to allow for use in mobile embodiments and assist in debris intake in those embodiments, as in Erlich ‘833.
Claims 21, 24, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stiles, Jr. et al in view of Schuman (US 4,962,559 A).
Stiles teaches as above but is silent to a cleaning device which is removable and replacable.
However, Schuman teaches a self-contained cleaner for pools or the like containing an internal pump and filter section [Abs] which contains a brush head associated with the intake side [Fig. 2] which may be removed from the system to allow for disassembly and cleaning of the device [Col. 4 lines 24-43]. It would have been obvious to include a similar cleaning head in the system of Stile to allow for portable cleaning in the manner described by Schuman, and to allow the head to be removable and replacable to facilitate cleaning as suggested by Schuman.
Claims 30, 31, 33, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stiles, Jr. et al in view of Nicholas et al (GB 2561297 A).
With respect to claims 30, 31, and 36, Stiles teaches as above but does not specify that the pump is reversible and does not specify the use of a valve or regulator on the inlet which is hydrodynamically controlled.
However, Nicholas teaches a filter for water treatment [Abs] useful for applications such as pools [pg. 1] which includes an inlet valve that is controlled by hydrodynamic forces, such that hydraulic pressure of the feed may operate the inlet valve [Abs, pg. 6, 4th paragraph]; this may simplify operation and remove the need for separate valve actuation means [pg. 10, 3rd paragraph], and may easily facilitate switching between a filtration mode and a backwash mode.
It would have been obvious to include such a hydrodynamically-controlled restriction in the device of Stiles for the same purpose, to provide a simple means of controlling flow into the filter without requiring additional actuators, as in Nicholas. Similarly, it would have been obvious to configure the system to allow for reversible flow by the pump, to facilitate a backwash mode such as that taught by Nicholas.
With respect to claim 33, as above provision of reversible operation for the pump would have been obvious in view of Nicholas, to facilitate backwashing. Regarding the ability to configure the intake and the exhaust in multiple positions such that their relative positions change, Stiles teaches that the system may include an optional housing insert to expand the volume of the device, such that the relative position of the intake (at the top) and exhaust (at the bottom) would change by reconfiguring the housing to include the extra insert [0025, Fig. 5].
Conclusion
/BRADLEY R SPIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776