CTNF 18/711,147 CTNF 85259 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This office action is in response to the application filed on 05/17/2024. Claims 52-66 are currently pending. Claims 1-51 are canceled in a preliminary amendment. Claims 52-66 are newly added. Claims 52-54, 56-61, 63-66 are rejected. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 52-54, 56-61, 63-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iana Siomina et al (US 20150223085 A1) in view of Srinivas Yerramalli et al (US 20240334535 A1) . For Claim 52, Siomina discloses wireless communication method for a first radio node (Siomina teaches, in ¶ 0063, a system and method of meeting a pre-defined requirement for UL measurement when low-activity state configuration is used), for obtaining a reference signal from at least a second radio node, based on a discontinuous reception pattern of at least the second radio node (Siomina teaches, in ¶ 0064, that the measuring node first obtains information about the low-activity state of the transmitting node. The measuring node then uses the obtained information to perform at least one UL measurement), comprising the following steps: generating, at the first radio node, at least one ranging request (Siomina teaches, in FIG. 6A, In box 74: the configuring node i nitiating configuring the UL radio signal transmissions for a transmitting node (box 72). The configuring node then adaptively configures the low-activity state configuration and/or the UL radio signal configuration for the transmitting node); and transmitting the at least one request including at least one position calculation indication to at least the second radio node such that at least the second radio node receives the at least one ranging request during an active reception period of at least the second radio node (Siomina teaches, in FIG. 6A, In box 76: The configuring node then, optionally, sends the low-activity state configuration and/or the UL radio signal configuration/scheduling for the transmitting node to another node , such as the transmitting node, and/or another network node (e.g., an eNodeB, a positioning node, a measuring node , and the like)), wherein the active reception period of at least the second radio node is defined by a discontinuous reception pattern of at least the second radio node (Siomina teaches, in ¶ 0175, that The transmitting node then uses the low-activity state configuration and adapting UL radio signal configuration, responsive to UL measurement requirement (box 58). The measurement may be of a certain type or for a certain purpose, such as emergency positioning, for example, wherein the measurement is performed by the measuring node . The transmitting node then transmits the UL radio signal using the adapted UL transmission configuration ). Siomina explains, in ¶ 0130, that The term " information about low-activity state configuration ," as defined herein, may refer , for example, to any one or more of: [0130] one or more low-activity state configurations (e.g., DRX configurations ) comprising any one or more parameters associated with the configurations. Siomina fails to expressly disclose obtaining a position reference signal from at least a second radio node; and transmitting at least one ranging request. However, Yerramalli, in analogous art, discloses obtaining a position reference signal from at least a second radio node (Yerramalli teaches in ¶ 0137, that UE participation, PRS transmission , and subsequent RTT calculation is coordinated by an initial three-way messaging handshake (a PRS request, a PRS response, and a PRS confirmation), and a message exchange after PRS transmission (post PRS messages) to share measurements after receiving a peer UE's PRS); and transmitting at least one ranging request (Yerramalli teaches in ¶ 0139 that At stage 710, the anchor UE 204-1 transmits a PRS request (labeled “PRSrequest”) to the target UE 204-2 . At stage 715, the target UE 204-2 transmits a PRS response (labeled “PRSresponse”) to the anchor UE 204-1). Yerramalli also teaches in ¶ 0169, that At 1220, the UE performs , in response to reception of the anchor selection update message, positioning measurements for the joint positioning session during one or more measurement occasions of the plurality of measurement occasions that overlap with the DRX active time occasions of the UE. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Siomina with the RTT procedure taught in Yerramalli. The motivation is to yield an inter-UE range between the involved UEs. For Claim 53, Siomina discloses wireless communication method, further comprising the following steps: before transmitting the at least one ranging request to the second radio node, obtaining the discontinuous reception pattern of at least the second radio node at the first radio node (Siomina teaches, in FIG. 7A, In box 82: a first node obtains a first UL signal configuration and low-activity state information (e.g., configuration) for a transmitting node 30b (box 82). For example, the first node may acquire the first UL state configuration and low-activity state information from a memory or a database, receive the first and/or the second information from another node , or by any other method known needed or desired); and transmitting the at least one ranging request from the first radio node to the second radio node during the active reception period of the second radio node as defined by the discontinuous reception pattern of at least the second radio node (Siomina teaches, in FIG. 7A, In box 86: Thereafter, the first node stores and/or sends the second UL signal configuration to a second node so that the second node can perform , for example, UL measurements based on the adjusted configuration or for interference coordination as an indication of the actual UL transmissions). Examiner observes that step 82 occurs before step 86, as required by the claim . For Claim 54, Siomina discloses wireless communication method, wherein the first radio node transmits the ranging request to the second radio node in a preconfigured active reception period of the second radio node (Siomina explains, in ¶ 0176, that obtaining the request or configuration, as well as the information about the low-activity state configuration , may be performed in a variety of ways. For example, the transmitting node 30a may receive (box 54-1) one or more low-activity state configurations from another node (e.g., from a serving eNodeB)). For Claim 56, Siomina discloses a wireless communication method, further comprising: before generating the at least one ranging request, obtaining a common discontinuous reception pattern for a plurality of further radio nodes at the first radio node (Siomina teaches, in FIG. 7A, In box 82: a first node obtains a first UL signal configuration and low-activity state information (e.g., configuration) for a transmitting node 30b (box 82). Siomina teaches, in ¶ 0153, receiving (box 42-2B) the actual low-activity state (e.g., DRX or DTX) configuration of the transmitting node, or one or more possible low-activity state (e.g., DRX or DTX) configurations of the transmitting node, or a common low-activity configuration of the transmitting node that may be used by a group of wireless devices or all wireless devices in a cell); and transmitting the at least one ranging request to at least one of the further radio nodes included in the plurality of further radio nodes, according to the common discontinuous reception pattern (Siomina teaches, in FIG. 7A, In box 86: Thereafter, the first node stores and/or sends the second UL signal configuration to a second node so that the second node can perform , for example, UL measurements based on the adjusted configuration or for interference coordination as an indication of the actual UL transmissions); and receiving at least one position reference signal transmitted from at least one of the further radio nodes included in the plurality of further radio nodes (Siomina teaches, in FIG. 7A, In box 46: Finally, the measuring node may optionally report the measurement to another node ). Yerramalli, too, teaches in ¶ 0169, that At 1220, the UE performs , in response to reception of the anchor selection update message, positioning measurements for the joint positioning session during one or more measurement occasions of the plurality of measurement occasions that overlap with the DRX active time occasions of the UE. For Claim 57, Siomina discloses wireless communication method, further comprising: before receiving a position reference signal transmitted from the second radio node, obtaining a discontinuous transmission pattern of at least the second radio node at the first radio node (Siomina teaches, in FIG. 4A, In box 42: the measuring node obtaining information about the low-activity state of the transmitting node (e.g., of a wireless device)); receiving the position reference signal transmitted from the second radio node during a period associated with an active transmission period of the second radio node (Siomina teaches, in FIG. 7A, In box 46: Finally, the measuring node may optionally report the measurement to another node ). Examiner observes that step 42 occurs before step 46, as required by the claim . For Claim 58, Siomina discloses wireless communication method, further comprising: preventing the transmission of the at least one ranging request from the first radio node to the second radio node during one or more periods when the discontinuous reception pattern of the second radio node indicates that the second radio node cannot receive the at least one ranging request of the first radio node (Siomina teaches, in ¶ 0152, receiving (box 42-2A) an indication of whether a certain type of UL radio signals may not be transmitted , even when configured, due to low-activity periods , or whether they are always transmitted as configured). For Claim 59, Siomina discloses wireless communication method, further comprising: transmitting at least one ranging request from the first radio node to the second radio node during an opportunistic discontinuous reception opportunity of the second radio node; and (i) receiving the position reference signal transmitted from the second radio node, wherein the reception of the ranging request at the second radio node causes the second radio node to transition from a power-saving mode to an active mode (Siomina teaches, in ¶ 0181 that This may imply that a transmitting node may decide to enter an active state to transmit some UL radio signals simply to ensure that a certain number or portion of UL radio signals are transmitted, and thus, can be received by the measuring node. Siomina also teaches, in ¶ 0139: Trigger types that may trigger the transmitting node to change to an active state ), or (ii) after waiting for a predetermined period, signalling to a higher layer that the second radio node has not transitioned from the power-saving mode to the active mode and has not transmitted a position reference signal to the first radio node. For Claim 60, Siomina discloses a wireless communication method for a second radio node (Siomina teaches, in ¶ 0063, a system and method of meeting a pre-defined requirement for UL measurement when low-activity state configuration is used), for transmitting a reference signal to at least a first radio node based on at least one of a discontinuous reception and/or a discontinuous transmission pattern of at least the second radio node (Siomina teaches, in ¶ 0064, that the measuring node first obtains information about the low-activity state of the transmitting node. The measuring node then uses the obtained information to perform at least one UL measurement), the method comprising the following steps: receiving at least one request including a position calculation indication from the first radio node during an active reception period of the second radio node (Siomina also teaches, in ¶ 0187 that initiating configuring the UL radio signal transmissions (i.e., box 72) may be performed in any manner desired. However, in at least some embodiments, the initiation (box 72-1) occurs responsive to receiving a request for UL radio signal transmissions from another node (box 72-1A)), wherein the active reception period is defined by a discontinuous reception pattern of the second radio node (Siomina teaches, in FIG. 7A, In box 82: a first node obtains a first UL signal configuration and low-activity state information (e.g., configuration) for a transmitting node 30b); and transmitting at least one position reference signal to the first radio node in a resource of a side link resource pool in response to receiving the ranging request from the first radio node (Siomina teaches, in FIG. 7A, In box 46: Finally, the measuring node may optionally report the measurement to another node ). Siomina fails to expressly disclose transmitting a position reference signal to at least a first radio node; and receiving at least one ranging request. However, Yerramalli, in analogous art, discloses transmitting a position reference signal to at least a first radio node (Yerramalli teaches in ¶ 0137, that UE participation, PRS transmission , and subsequent RTT calculation is coordinated by an initial three-way messaging handshake (a PRS request, a PRS response, and a PRS confirmation), and a message exchange after PRS transmission (post PRS messages) to share measurements after receiving a peer UE's PRS); and receiving at least one ranging request (Yerramalli teaches in ¶ 0139 that At stage 710, the anchor UE 204-1 transmits a PRS request (labeled “PRSrequest”) to the target UE 204- 2 . At stage 715, the target UE 204-2 transmits a PRS response (labeled “PRSresponse”) to the anchor UE 204-1). Yerramalli also teaches in ¶ 0169, that At 1220, the UE performs , in response to reception of the anchor selection update message, positioning measurements for the joint positioning session during one or more measurement occasions of the plurality of measurement occasions that overlap with the DRX active time occasions of the UE. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Siomina with the RTT procedure taught in Yerramalli. The motivation is to yield an inter-UE range between the involved UEs. For Claim 61, Siomina discloses a wireless communication method, further comprising: receiving, from the first radio node, a request to transmit a discontinuous reception pattern of at least the second radio node to the first radio node (Siomina also teaches, in ¶ 0187 that initiating configuring the UL radio signal transmissions (i.e., box 72) may be performed in any manner desired. However, in at least some embodiments, the initiation (box 72-1) occurs responsive to receiving a request for UL radio signal transmissions from another node (box 72-1A)); transmitting the discontinuous reception pattern of at least the second radio node to the first radio node (Siomina teaches, in FIG. 6A, In box 76: The configuring node then, optionally, sends the low-activity state configuration and/or the UL radio signal configuration/scheduling for the transmitting node to another node , such as the transmitting node, and/or another network node (e.g., an eNodeB, a positioning node, a measuring node , and the like)). Siomina fails to expressly disclose receiving the ranging request from the first radio node at the second radio node during the active reception period of the second radio node defined by the discontinuous reception pattern of at least the second radio node. However, Yerramalli, in analogous art, discloses receiving the ranging request from the first radio node at the second radio node during the active reception period of the second radio node defined by the discontinuous reception pattern of at least the second radio node (Yerramalli teaches in ¶ 0139 that At stage 710, the anchor UE 204-1 transmits a PRS request (labeled “PRSrequest”) to the target UE 204-2 . At stage 715, the target UE 204-2 transmits a PRS response (labeled “PRSresponse”) to the anchor UE 204-1). Yerramalli also teaches in ¶ 0169, that At 1220, the UE performs , in response to reception of the anchor selection update message, positioning measurements for the joint positioning session during one or more measurement occasions of the plurality of measurement occasions that overlap with the DRX active time occasions of the UE. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Siomina with the RTT procedure taught in Yerramalli. The motivation is to yield an inter-UE range between the involved UEs. For Claim 63, Siomina discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of changing an operating mode of the second radio node from the active mode to the sleep mode. However, Yerramalli, in analogous art, discloses changing an operating mode of the second radio node from the active mode to the sleep mode (Yerramalli teaches in ¶ 0144, that a UE may implement discontinuous reception (DRX) and/or connected-mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) techniques. DRX and CDRX are mechanisms in which a UE goes into a “sleep” mode for a scheduled periods of time and “wakes up” for other periods of time). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Siomina with the RTT procedure taught in Yerramalli. The motivation is to yield an inter-UE range between the involved UEs. For Claim 64, Siomina discloses wireless communication method, further comprising: transitioning, at the second radio node, from a power-saving mode to an active mode upon reception of the ranging request during the potential active reception period (Yerramalli teaches in ¶ 0156, that The best DRX configuration is the configurations where the UE's measurement of PRS is close to the instances where the UEs wakes up to receive paging and perform RRM measurements for cell management. In the example shown, it is beneficial for either UE1 or UE3 to perform the measurements of the PRS); and transmitting, to the first radio node at least one position reference signal (Siomina teaches, in FIG. 7A, In box 46: Finally, the measuring node may optionally report the measurement to another node ). Siomina fails to expressly disclose receiving the ranging request from the first radio node during a potential active reception period of the second radio node; transmitting, to the first radio node via the resource of the side link resource pool. However, Yerramalli, in analogous art, discloses receiving the ranging request from the first radio node at the second radio node during the active reception period of the second radio node defined by the discontinuous reception pattern of at least the second radio node (Yerramalli teaches in ¶ 0139 that At stage 710, the anchor UE 204-1 transmits a PRS request (labeled “PRSrequest”) to the target UE 204-2 . At stage 715, the target UE 204-2 transmits a PRS response (labeled “PRSresponse”) to the anchor UE 204-1); transmitting, to the first radio node via the resource of the side link resource pool (Yerramalli teaches in ¶ 0069 that V-UEs 160 may also communicate directly with each other over a wireless sidelink 162 , with a roadside unit (RSU) 164 (a roadside access point) over a wireless sidelink 166 , or with sidelink-capable UEs 104 over a wireless sidelink 168 using the PC5 interface (i.e., the air interface between sidelink-capable UEs)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Siomina with the RTT procedure taught in Yerramalli. The motivation is to yield an inter-UE range between the involved UEs. For Claim 65, please refer to the rejection of claim 52, above. For Claim 66, please refer to the rejection of claim 60, above . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 55, 62, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iana Siomina et al (US 20150223085 A1) in view of Srinivas Yerramalli et al (US 20240334535 A1) as applied to claim 52 or 60 above, and further in view of Joachim Loehr et al (US 20210084586 A1) . For Claim 55, Siomina & Yerramalli disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of transmitting a wake up signal to the second radio node. However, Loehr, in analogous art, discloses transmitting a wake up signal to the second radio node (Loehr teaches, teaches in ¶ 0070, that the PDCCH- WUS (e.g., wake-up PDCCH) may indicate to the UE whether to transmit periodic SRS, transmit semi-persistent SRS, report CSI on PUCCH , and/or report semi-persistent CSI on PUSCH for the first x ms of OnDuration if WUS-Offset is smaller than 4 ms). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Siomina & Yerramalli with the PDCCH-WUS taught in Loehr. The motivation is so that the UE may switch autonomously from a current active DL BWP to a wake-up BWP for PDCCH-WUS monitoring. For Claim 62, Siomina discloses wireless communication method, further comprising: before receiving the at least one ranging request from the first radio node, receiving a wake up signal transmitted by the first radio node to the second radio node (Siomina also teaches, in ¶ 0187 that initiating configuring the UL radio signal transmissions (i.e., box 72) may be performed in any manner desired. However, in at least some embodiments, the initiation (box 72-1) occurs responsive to receiving a request for UL radio signal transmissions from another node (box 72-1A)); changing an operating mode of the second radio node from a sleep mode to an active mode (Yerramalli teaches in ¶ 0156, that The best DRX configuration is the configurations where the UE's measurement of PRS is close to the instances where the UEs wakes up to receive paging and perform RRM measurements for cell management. In the example shown, it is beneficial for either UE1 or UE3 to perform the measurements of the PRS); and transmitting the at least one position reference signal to the first radio node when the second radio node is in the active mode (Siomina teaches, in FIG. 7A, In box 46: Finally, the measuring node may optionally report the measurement to another node ). Siomina & Yerramalli fail to expressly disclose reception of the wake up signal. However, Loehr, in analogous art, discloses reception of the wake up signal (Loehr teaches, teaches in ¶ 0070, that the PDCCH- WUS (e.g., wake-up PDCCH) may indicate to the UE whether to transmit periodic SRS, transmit semi-persistent SRS, report CSI on PUCCH , and/or report semi-persistent CSI on PUSCH for the first x ms of OnDuration if WUS-Offset is smaller than 4 ms). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Siomina & Yerramalli with the PDCCH-WUS taught in Loehr. The motivation is so that the UE may switch autonomously from a current active DL BWP to a wake-up BWP for PDCCH-WUS monitoring . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : SOLEYMANI (US 20240064849 A1) is pertinent to a wireless communication system, wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to receive, in the sidelink scenario [e.g., from another UE of the wireless communication system], sidelink transmissions using a discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MOHAMED A KAMARA whose telephone number is (571)270-5629. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9AM-4PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, CHARLES JIANG can be reached at 5712707191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MOHAMED A KAMARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/711,147 Page 2 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/711,147 Page 3 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/711,147 Page 4 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/711,147 Page 5 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/711,147 Page 6 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/711,147 Page 7 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/711,147 Page 8 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/711,147 Page 9 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/711,147 Page 10 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/711,147 Page 11 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/711,147 Page 12 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/711,147 Page 13 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/711,147 Page 14 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/711,147 Page 15 Art Unit: 2412