DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the reinforcing elements (as per claims 10), the reinforcing elements comprising U-shaped configuration (as per claim 11), the upper distributor having a first hydraulic diameter 2.5 times the second hydraulic diameter of the heat exchanger tubes (as per claims 12-15), the flow elements (as per claims 16-18) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-10 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shea (10,487,463). Shea discloses a fluidized bed (1), including a heat exchanger (Figure 1) having a fluidized bed wall (10), at least one heat exchanger element (Figure 1) with a horizontal inlet (4), a horizontal outlet (19), multiple vertical heat exchanger tubes (16), a lower horizontal collector (18), and an upper horizontal distributor (9), wherein each of the vertical heat exchanger tubes (16) extends from a respective upper end to a respective lower end with the respective lower ends of the vertical heat exchanger tubes connected to the lower collector (18) and the respective upper ends of the heat exchanger tubes (16) connected to the upper distributor (9), the lower collector is connected to the outlet (Figure 1), the upper distributor is connected to the inlet (Figure 1), further comprising a vertical riser pipe (5) arranged between the inlet and the upper distributor and connecting the inlet and upper distributor to one another, wherein the riser pipe (5) is configured such that the inlet is positioned closer to the outlet than to the upper distributor (shown in Figure 1), the inlet and the outlet are guided through the fluidized bed wall (10), and the riser pipe (5), the upper distributor (9), the lower collector (18) and the vertical heat exchanger tubes (16) are arranged within the fluidized bed wall (10) (SEE Figure 1). In re claim 9, Shea further discloses that the lower collector and the upper distributor are capable of being horizontal tubes (collection chambers 8 & 18 are typically known in the art as being cylindrical shaped tubes or headers through which vertical tubes are connected). In re claim 10, Shea further discloses reinforcing elements (tube sheets 15, 17) implemented in a connecting region of the upper distributor and the vertical heat exchanger tubes. In re claims 16-18, Shea further discloses flow elements (6) for influencing the flow through the heat exchanger tubes arranged between the upper distributor and the vertical heat exchanger tubes. In re claim 18, Shea discloses that the flow elements comprise one or more of throttles (7) and orifices (interpreted as the space to accommodate the flow elements). The recitation of “a fluidized bed” has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 99 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shea (10,487,463). Shea discloses the applicants primary inventive concept as stated above, however the focus is to a singular heat exchanger element (as shown in Figure 1); however it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the applicants claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the subject matter pertains to have arrange two or more heat exchanger elements parallel to one another and arrived at the applicants claimed invention since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/GREGORY A WILSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 June 9, 2026