DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 12 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0331629 A1 to Sato et al. (“Sato”) in view of US 2018/0239976 A1 to Cornelius et al. (“Cornelius”).
As to claim 1, Sato discloses a bioimpedance measurement apparatus, comprising:
a plurality of electrodes configured to be placed on respective skin portions of a subject, wherein one of the respective skin portions is on a first member of the subject's body and another one of the respective skin portions is on a second member of the subject's body that is different from the first member (see [0026] and [0027] – foot electrodes and grip/hand electrodes);
and
an electronic module configured to:
determine an impedance between at least two of the plurality of electrodes (see [0032]).
Sato fails to disclose at least one temperature sensor probe configured to be placed on one of the respective skin portions of the subject and to generate a signal indicative of a temperature of the skin portion the at least one temperature sensor probe is placed on; or at least one moisture sensor probe configured to be placed on one of the respective skin portions of the subject and to generate a signal indicative of a moisture level of the skin portion the at least one moisture sensor probe is placed on. Consequently, Sato’s electronic module is not configured to
receive from the at least one temperature sensor probe the signal indicative of the temperature of the skin portion the at least one temperature sensor probe is placed on and determine the at least one temperature of the skin portion the temperature sensor probe is placed on,
receive from the at least one moisture sensor probe the signal indicative of the moisture level of the skin portion the at least one moisture sensor probe is placed on and determine the moisture level of the skin portion the at least one moisture sensor probe is placed on, and
determine a bioimpedance of the subject based at least in part on the determined impedance, temperature, and moisture level.
However, in a related teaching in the field of bioimpedance measurement, Cornelius discloses
at least one temperature sensor probe configured to be placed on a skin portion of the subject and to generate a signal indicative of a temperature of the skin portion the at least one temperature sensor probe is placed on (see [0034]);
at least one moisture sensor probe configured to be placed on one of the respective skin portions of the subject and to generate a signal indicative of a moisture level of the skin portion the at least one moisture sensor probe is placed on (see [0032]-[0034]).
Cornelius teaches that these two sensors are used to correct the measured impedance as sweat levels alter the electrode-skin interface and can lead to inaccurate measurements. This signal is correlated with the skin temperature signal to determine when a significant amount of sweat may be present such that the signal is not longer reliable (see [0034]). Given this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine these sensors and locate them near the electrodes of Sato while also modifying the electronic module to receive from the at least one temperature sensor probe the signal indicative of the temperature of the skin portion the at least one temperature sensor probe is placed on and determine the at least one temperature of the skin portion the temperature sensor probe is placed on, receive from the at least one moisture sensor probe the signal indicative of the moisture level of the skin portion the at least one moisture sensor probe is placed on and determine the moisture level of the skin portion the at least one moisture sensor probe is placed on, and determine a bioimpedance of the subject based at least in part on the determined impedance, temperature, and moisture level in order to achieve the predictable result that is a bioimpedance signal that is more accurate given the known signal interference pointed out by the Cornelius reference itself.
As to claim 2, Sato/Cornelius further discloses wherein the at least one moisture sensor probe is adapted to be placed on substantially the same skin portion as at least one of the plurality of electrodes for the reasons discussed in the treatment of claim 1.
As to claim 3, Sato/Cornelius further discloses wherein the at least one temperature sensor probe is adapted to be placed on substantially the same skin portion as at least one of the plurality of electrodes for the reasons discussed in the treatment of claim 1.
As to claim 4, Sato further discloses a support, wherein the at least one moisture sensor probe and the at least one of the at least one of the plurality of electrodes are attached to the support, and the support is configured to maintain the at least one moisture sensor probe and the at least a one of the plurality of electrodes on the respective skin portion of the subject (see Fig 1, element 2 – given the locations of the electrodes on the support, it would naturally flow from the combination above to co-locate these sensors on the same substrate).
The reasons for rejection of claim 4 equally apply to claims 5-6.
As to claim 7, Cornelius further discloses wherein the electronic module is configured to determine the impedance and at least one of the temperature and moisture level at substantially the same time (see [0029] – readings are input to a multiplexer, which is substantially at the same time as other measurements) .
As to claim 12, Cornelius further discloses wherein the at least one moisture sensor probe comprises a second plurality of electrodes (galvanic skin response utilizes at least two electrodes).
As to claims 19-20, the analysis set forth in the treatment of apparatus claim 1 is applicable to method claims 19-20, mutatis mutandis.
Claim(s) 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Cornelius and further in view of US 2021/0128021 A1 to Emalfarb.
As to claims 8-10, while Cornelius indicates that temperature sensors need to be in place, there is no explicit discussion of the particulars of such sensors and thus Cornelius does not disclose wherein the electronic module is configured to determine an AC impedance between at least two of the plurality of electrodes and determine the temperature from a DC signal indicative of the temperature received from the temperature sensor probe, wherein the at least one temperature sensor probe comprises a thermocouple or wherein the at least one temperature sensor probe comprises an infrared temperature probe.
In a similar invention, Emalfarb discloses wherein the electronic module is configured to determine an AC impedance between at least two of the plurality of electrodes and determine the temperature from a DC signal indicative of the temperature received from the temperature sensor probe, wherein the at least one temperature sensor probe comprises a thermocouple or wherein the at least one temperature sensor probe comprises an infrared temperature probe ([0072] – Examiner notes that many of these sensors are DC only, such as thermocouples). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the impedance measurement of Cornelius with the particular sensors of Emalfarb as Emalfarb has demonstrated their effectiveness in producing the predictable result of temperature readings.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-18 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are considered moot in view of the new grounds for rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC J MESSERSMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791