DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to communication filed on 07/20/2026, claims 1, 8, 12-14, and 20 have been amended; and claims 9 and 11 have been canceled per the Applicant’s request. Accordingly, claims 1-8, 10, 12-14, and 17-22 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejections of independent claims 8 and 14 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Independent claims 8 and 14 have been amended to include new limitations; therefore, these amendments change the scope of the claims. However, newly found prior art is applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 10, 12-14 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOLLAR et al. (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2017/0361355 A1, hereinafter “Dollar”) in view of Benson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,635,693, hereinafter “Benson”).
Regarding claim 8, Dollar teaches a method for processing accessory identification information associated with an accessory of a vehicle, the method comprising:
receiving, from a computing device of an operator, an indication of the accessory identification information associated with a
receiving vehicle identification information associated with a
Dollar fails to explicitly teach the tag is radio tag; and determining a vehicle associated with the operator at the vehicle platform, the vehicle being associated with the operator based, at least in part, on receipt of the vehicle identification information indicated by a radio tag affixed to the vehicle. However, in the same field of endeavor, Benson teaches the tag is radio tag (Benson Abstract); and determining a vehicle associated with the operator at the vehicle platform, the vehicle being associated with the operator based, at least in part, on receipt of the vehicle identification information indicated by a radio tag affixed to the vehicle (Benson Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dollar by incorporating the teachings of Benson. The motivation would be for tracking moving vehicle information (Benson Abstract).
Dollar as modified by Benson also generating, in a vehicle information data store, an association between the determined vehicle and the accessory based on the accessory identification information and the vehicle identification information (Dollar ¶0057); and
providing, to the computing device, accessory information associated with the accessory, wherein the accessory information is determined based at least in part on the received vehicle identification information (Dollar ¶0057).
As to claim 10, Dollar as modified by Benson also teaches the method of claim 8, wherein determining the vehicle associated with the operator comprises accessing an operator profile associated with the operator (Benson Col 9, Ln 46-50, i.e., “In one embodiment, the Vehicle Identification Record (601), particularly an Owner field (615), is checked in step (317) to determine if the vehicle is owned by the dealership "Dealership" or has been purchased by a customer (Customer Name, e.g. Bill Anderson)”).
As to claim 12, Dollar as modified by Benson also teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the accessory information is a manual or a video tutorial (Dollar ¶0057).
As to claim 13, Dollar as modified by Benson also teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the accessory information is determined based at least in part on the determined vehicle (Dollar ¶0056).
Regarding claim 14, Dollar teaches a method for processing accessory identification information associated with an accessory of a vehicle, the method comprising:
obtaining, at a computing device, vehicle identification information from a
providing, to a vehicle platform, the obtained vehicle identification information (Dollar ¶0056);
obtaining, at the computing device, the accessory identification information from a
providing, to the vehicle platform, the obtained accessory identification information (Dollar ¶0057); and
receiving, from the vehicle platform, accessory information associated with the accessory of the vehicle, wherein the received accessory information is selected from among a plurality of accessory information records based on both the accessory identification information and the vehicle identification information, and is specific to the vehicle identified by the vehicle identification information and comprises vehicle-specific installation instructions or manuals tailored to the identified vehicle (Dollar ¶0057).
Dollar fails to explicitly teach the tag is a radio tag. However, in the same field of endeavor, Benson teaches the tag is a radio tag (Benson Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dollar by incorporating the teachings of Benson. The motivation would be for tracking moving vehicle information (Benson Abstract).
As to claim 17, Dollar as modified by Benson also teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the accessory identification information and the vehicle identification information are provided to the vehicle platform as an accessory association request (Dollar ¶0057).
As to claim 18, Dollar as modified by Benson also teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the accessory information includes an indication of a manual or a video tutorial associated with the accessory (Dollar ¶0057).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 and 20-22 are allowed.
The features of claim limitations that includes resolving a discrepancy between the vehicle identification information from the vehicle controller and the vehicle identification information from the radio tag prior to completion of generating the service record as recited in amended independent claim 1; and receiving user input associated with display of safety information associated with operation of the vehicle, wherein the user input is stored as an indication that safety training has been completed as recited in amended independent claim 20, in combination with the other limitations that recited in the context of claims 1 and 20 is allowable subject matter.
Claims 2-7 depend directly or indirectly upon claim 1; and claims 21-22 depend upon claim 20 and are allowed by virtue of their dependency.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER KHONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2168