DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to communication filed on 02/16/2026, claims 1, 14, 17, and 20 have been amended per the Applicant’s request. Claims 1-14 and 17-22 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejections of independent claims 1, 8, 14, and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Newly found prior art is applied in the current rejection, which clearly teach a radio tag that affixed to the vehicle. The Examiner further notes that even though Applicant indicated in the second to last paragraph on page 8 of the Remarks that “Claim 8 is amended similarly to claim 1”, the Examiner finds that claim 8 is not currently being amended in Applicant’s submission filed on 02/16/2026; therefore, this argument is disregard.
Regarding dependent claims 2-7, Applicant argued in the last paragraph on page 8 through the first paragraph on page 9, and in the last paragraph on page 9 through the first paragraph on page 10 that they should be allowable by virtue of their dependency from claim 1. The Examiner respectfully disagree, claim 1 is being rejected in view of the newly found prior art and thus also for its respective dependent claims.
Regarding claims 20-22, Applicant also argued in the second to last paragraph on page 10 of the Remarks that claim 20 “requires "receiving user input associated with display of safety information associated with operation of the vehicle." This related to operator safety training and waiver (\0039\],\[0053\], not repair procedures. By contrast, neither Rich nor Antony teaches or suggests displaying safety information for vehicle operation or receiving user input related to such safety information. Antony's "safety equipment" reference ([0047-0048]) relates to repair safety, not vehicle operation safety.” The Examiner respectfully disagree. Antony teaches the repair planner who prepared the Repair Plan that could include identifying parts, tools, machines, and safety equipment (see Antony ¶0048). Thus, under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) standard, the Examiner interprets that safety equipment could include items such as lighting, alarm, seat belts and/or airbags, which reads on the safety information associated with operation of the vehicle. Also, the terms “operator safety training and waiver” as argued by the Applicant are not currently recited in the claim limitations and thus this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant further argued in the last paragraph on page 10 of the Remarks that claim 22 “requires "accessing, using a browser of the computing device, a uniform resource locator (URL) including the vehicle identification information." This additional feature is absent from the cited references. While Rich mentions URLs ([0037-0038]), these are for looking up repair kit information online, not URLs stored in a radio tag that include vehicle identification information and are accessed by scanning the tag. The claimed URL is embedded in the radio tag itself ([0034]) and automatically accessed upon scanning.” The Examiner respectfully disagree. Since claim 22 recites “accessing, using a browser of the computing device, a uniform resource locator (URL) including the vehicle identification information”, there is no requirement that the URLs are stored in a radio tag as argued by the Applicant. Rich teaches at least at paragraph ¶¶0037-0038, that the scan tool or app-load mobile device use a URL or other Internet address for purchasing the repair kit online. Rich also teaches at least at FIG. 2 that the kit information includes vehicle data, and also describes in ¶0046 that “labels may be generated for each kit 140 (step 1040), with each label including an indicator 140 of the kit identifier 331 and/or the underlying diagnostic data (e.g. vehicle data, DTCs, live data) corresponding to the specific diagnostic condition in the specific vehicle model that is repairable by that kit 100”, i.e., vehicle data includes vehicle identification information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rich et al. (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2022/0306050 A1, hereinafter “Rich”) in view of Harris (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2008/0103806 A1), and further in view of Kovach (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2005/0088320 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rich teaches a system comprising:
at least one processor (Rich ¶0051); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Rich ¶0051), causes the system to perform a set of operations, the set of operations comprising:
receiving, from a computing device, an indication of vehicle identification information associated with a radio tag
determining, based on the vehicle identification information, a set of parts associated with the vehicle (Rich Fig. 1 and ¶0016);
providing, in response to the received indication, the determined set of parts (Rich Fig. 1 and ¶0017);
receiving, from the computing device, a user selection of one or more parts from the set of parts (Rich ¶0049).
Rich fails to explicitly teach generating a service record associated with the vehicle, wherein the service record includes an indication of the one or more parts selected by the user, wherein generating the service record includes:
validating the vehicle identification information associated with the radio tag of the vehicle against secondary identification information of the vehicle from a second identification source of the vehicle, and
determining, based on the validated vehicle identification information, operator information from an operator profile for an operator associated with the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Harris teaches generating a service record associated with the vehicle, wherein the service record includes an indication of the one or more parts selected by the user (Harris ¶0016), wherein generating the service record includes:
validating the vehicle identification information associated with the radio tag of the vehicle against secondary identification information of the vehicle from a second identification source of the vehicle (Harris ¶0016, and ¶0018, i.e., note that information can be wirelessly entered or obtained for a tracked vehicle), and
determining, based on the validated vehicle identification information, operator information from an operator profile for an operator associated with the vehicle (Harris ¶0017, i.e., information about previous owner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rich by incorporating the teachings of Harris. The motivation would be for documenting and communicating automobile repair and maintenance history (Harris ¶0002).
Rich as modified by Harris fails to explicitly teach wherein the radio tag is affixed to the vehicle and comprises a short-range wireless communication device storing the vehicle information. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kovach teaches the radio tag is affixed to the vehicle and comprises a short-range wireless communication device storing the vehicle information (Kovach Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rich and Harris by incorporating the teachings of Kovach. The motivation would be for obtaining information relating to at least one of the vehicle and an owner of the vehicle. This information could be used for various tracking and monitoring purposes (Kovach Abstract).
As to claim 2, Rich as modified by Harris and Kovach also teaches the system of claim 1, wherein:
providing the determined set of parts further comprises providing the determined operator information (Harris ¶0017).
As to claim 3, Rich as modified by Harris and Kovach also teaches the system of claim 1, wherein:
the set of operations further comprises determining, based on the vehicle identification information, vehicle information (Rich ¶0037); and
providing the determined set of parts further comprises providing the determined vehicle information (Rich ¶0037).
As to claim 4, Rich as modified by Harris and Kovach also teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the determined vehicle information includes at least one of a factory configuration of the vehicle (Rich ¶0037) or a service manual associated with the vehicle.
As to claim 5, Rich as modified by Harris and Kovach also teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the set of operations further comprises:
determining, based on the vehicle identification information, a set of accessories associated with the vehicle (Rich ¶0028, i.e., one or more tools for installing the replacement part(s);
receiving, from the computing device, a user selection of an accessory of the set of accessories (Rich ¶0038, and Fig. 2, i.e., kit that includes toolset); and
generating an order for the accessory based on an operator profile associated with the vehicle (Rich ¶0038, i.e., a nearby store or online based on a user’s profile associated with the vehicle).
As to claim 7, Rich as modified by Harris and Kovach also teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the vehicle identification information is a vehicle identification number (Kovach ¶0011).
Regarding claim 8, Rich teaches a method for processing accessory identification information associated with an accessory of a vehicle, the method comprising:
receiving, from a computing device of an operator, an indication of the accessory identification information associated with a radio tag of the accessory at a vehicle platform (Rich ¶0008, i.e., “A vehicle owner can purchase a repair kit that is specifically designed not only for the vehicle owner's particular vehicle but for the specific diagnostic condition of that vehicle. The kit comes with everything the vehicle owner will need to complete the repair, from the replacement part itself to the highly specialized (and often vehicle-specific) tools that are needed to install the replacement part in that particular vehicle”, Fig. 1 and ¶0016, i.e., a radio tag transmission, the Examiner interprets the ordering repair parts as the recited accessory).
Rich fails to explicitly teach determining a vehicle associated with the operator at the vehicle platform. However, in the same field of endeavor, Harris teaches determining a vehicle associated with the operator at the vehicle platform (Harris ¶0017). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rich by incorporating the teachings of Harris. The motivation would be for documenting and communicating automobile repair and maintenance history (Harris ¶0002).
Rich as modified by Harris also teaches the vehicle being associated with the operator based, at least in part, on receipt of vehicle identification information indicated by a radio tag
generating, in a vehicle information data store, an association between the determined vehicle and the accessory based on the accessory identification information and the vehicle identification information (Rich ¶0017, i.e., “assembling a first corresponding repair kit including one or more vehicle-specific replacement parts compatible with the associated vehicle and the vehicle diagnostic condition and one or more tools for installing the replacement part(s) in the associated vehicle”); and
providing, to the computing device, an indication that the accessory and the vehicle have been associated (Rich ¶0017, i.e., proper kit is identified).
Rich as modified by Harris fails to explicitly teach the radio tag is affixed to the vehicle. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kovach teaches the radio tag is affixed to the vehicle (Kovach Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rich and Harris by incorporating the teachings of Kovach. The motivation would be for obtaining information relating to at least one of the vehicle and an owner of the vehicle. This information could be used for various tracking and monitoring purposes (Kovach Abstract).
As to claim 9, Rich as modified by Harris and Kovach also teaches the method of claim 8, wherein determining the vehicle associated with the operator comprises receiving, from the computing device, an indication of vehicle identification information associated with the radio tag of the vehicle (Rich Fig. 1 and ¶0016).
As to claim 10, Rich as modified by Harris and Kovach also teaches the method of claim 8, wherein determining the vehicle associated with the operator comprises accessing an operator profile associated with the operator (Harris ¶0016, i.e., customer data).
As to claim 11, Rich as modified by Harris and Kovach also teaches the method of claim 8, wherein providing the indication that the accessory and the vehicle have been associated further comprises providing accessory information associated with the accessory (Rich ¶0028, i.e., suitable instructions).
As to claim 12, Rich as modified by Harris and Kovach also teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the accessory information is a manual or a video tutorial (Rich ¶0028, i.e., suitable instructions for performing the installation or other repairs).
As to claim 13, Rich as modified by Harris and Kovach also teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the accessory information is determined based at least in part on the determined vehicle (Rich ¶0028, “the corresponding tools may include an appropriate wrench (e.g. a torque wrench), socket (e.g. spark plug socket), ratchet, grease (e.g. anti-seize lubricant, dielectric grease), screwdriver, pliers, etc. as may be needed to install the replacement part in the particular vehicle. Suitable instructions for performing the installation or other repair may be included as well”).
Claim(s) 14 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rich in view of Kovach.
Regarding claim 14, Rich teaches a method for processing accessory identification information associated with an accessory of a vehicle, the method comprising:
obtaining, at a computing device, vehicle identification information from a radio tag
providing, to a vehicle platform, the obtained vehicle identification information (Rich Fig. 1 and ¶0016);
obtaining, at the computing device, the accessory identification information from a radio tag of the accessory (Rich ¶0008, i.e., “A vehicle owner can purchase a repair kit that is specifically designed not only for the vehicle owner's particular vehicle but for the specific diagnostic condition of that vehicle. The kit comes with everything the vehicle owner will need to complete the repair, from the replacement part itself to the highly specialized (and often vehicle-specific) tools that are needed to install the replacement part in that particular vehicle”, Fig. 1 and ¶0016, i.e., a radio tag transmission);
providing, to the vehicle platform, the obtained accessory identification information (Rich ¶0017); and
receiving, from the vehicle platform, accessory information associated with the accessory of the vehicle, wherein the received accessory information is specific to the vehicle identified by the vehicle identification information (Rich ¶0019) and comprise vehicle-specific installation instructions or manuals tailored to the identified vehicle (Rich ¶0028, i.e., “Suitable instructions for performing the installation or other repair may be included as well.”, and ¶0029, i.e., “referring the specified vehicle”).
Rich fails to explicitly teach the radio tag is affixed to the vehicle. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kovach teaches the radio tag is affixed to the vehicle (Kovach Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rich by incorporating the teachings of Kovach. The motivation would be for obtaining information relating to at least one of the vehicle and an owner of the vehicle. This information could be used for various tracking and monitoring purposes (Kovach Abstract).
As to claim 17, Rich as modified by Kovach also teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the accessory identification information and the vehicle identification information are provided to the vehicle platform as an accessory association request (Rich ¶0016 and ¶0029).
As to claim 18, Rich as modified by Kovach also teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the accessory information includes an indication of a manual or a video tutorial associated with the accessory (Rich ¶0028, i.e., “Suitable instructions for performing the installation or other repair may be included as well”).
As to claim 19, Rich as modified by Kovach also teaches he method of claim 14, wherein:
the obtained accessory identification information is part of a uniform resource locator (URL) associated with the vehicle platform that is stored by the radio tag of the accessory (Rich ¶¶0037-0038, and ¶0046 and FIG. 2, i.e., vehicle data includes vehicle identification); and
providing the obtained accessory identification information comprises accessing the URL using a browser application of the computing device (Rich ¶¶0037-0038 and FIG. 2).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rich in view of Harris and Kovach, and further in view of Antony et al. (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2022/0092557 A1, hereinafter “Antony”).
As to claim 6, Rich as modified by Harris and Kovach teaches the system of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the set of operations further comprises:
receiving, from the computing device, an image or video associated with the vehicle; and
storing the image or the video in association with the generated service record.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Antony teaches receiving, from the computing device, an image or video associated with the vehicle (Antony ¶0029); and
storing the image or the video in association with the generated service record (Antony ¶0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rich, Harris, and Kovach by incorporating the teachings of Antony. The motivation would be for providing a the vehicle’s condition and/or the repairs performed on the vehicle (Antony ¶0029).
Claim(s) 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rich in view of Antony, and further in view of Kovach.
Regarding claim 20, Rich teaches a method for obtaining vehicle information associated with a vehicle, the method comprising:
obtaining, at a computing device, vehicle identification information from a radio tag
providing, to a vehicle platform, an indication of the vehicle identification information (Rich Fig. 1 and ¶0016).
Rich fails to explicitly teach receiving, from the vehicle platform, the vehicle information including:
a three-dimensional model associated with the vehicle;
a set of model options; and
a set of available accessories;
generating a display of at least a part of the vehicle information, the display including the three-dimensional model; and
receiving user input associated with display of safety information associated with operation of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Antony teaches receiving, from the vehicle platform, the vehicle information including:
a three-dimensional model associated with the vehicle (Antony ¶0032);
a set of model options (Antony ¶0030); and
a set of available accessories (Antony ¶0030, i.e., packages);
generating a display of at least a part of the vehicle information, the display including the three-dimensional model (Antony ¶0064); and
receiving user input associated with display of safety information associated with operation of the vehicle (Antony ¶¶0047-0048, i.e., safety equipment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rich by incorporating the teachings of Antony. The motivation would be for dynamically preparing an interactive repair plan that includes an image of the vehicle, as well as metadata that have been tagged onto the image, for use by repair technicians (Antony Abstract).
Rich fails to explicitly teach the radio tag is affixed to the vehicle. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kovach teaches the radio tag is affixed to the vehicle (Kovach Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rich by incorporating the teachings of Kovach. The motivation would be for obtaining information relating to at least one of the vehicle and an owner of the vehicle. This information could be used for various tracking and monitoring purposes (Kovach Abstract).
As to claim 21, Rich as modified by Antony and Kovach also teaches the method of claim 20, further comprising:
receiving user input associated with at least one of the set of model options or the set of available accessories (Antony ¶0064); and
updating the three-dimensional model based on the received user input (Antony ¶0064).
As to claim 22, Rich as modified by Antony and Kovach also teaches the method of claim 20, wherein providing the indication of the vehicle identification information comprises accessing, using a browser of the computing device, a uniform resource locator (URL) including the vehicle identification information (Rich ¶¶0037-0038, ¶0046 and FIG. 2, i.e., vehicle data includes vehicle information).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER KHONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2168