Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asahi Breweries(English translation of WO2014/196265A1).
Regarding claims 1,2, Asahi teaches a method of increasing attenuation in a fermented beverage such as beer comprising adding transglucosidase in a maltose depleted fermentate, the maltose being depleted by the presence of glucoamylase(example 1).
Regarding claim 3, Asahi teaches that the fermentate has a concentration of less than 5mg/L(example 2), i.e. less than 0.0005%.
Regarding claim 4, Asahi teaches that less than 3U/ml is added to the fermentate(p.3, 3rd paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asahi Breweries(English translation of WO2014/196265A1).
Regarding claims 5,6, Asahi teaches that less than 3U/ml is added to the fermentate(p.3, 3rd paragraph).
Regarding claims 7,14,16, Asahi teaches that the transglucosidase can be added at any time in the fermentation process including at the beginning(p.3, 1st paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to adjust the timing of the addition of the transglucosidase depending on the desired taste of the composition.
Regarding claims 8-12, Asahi is silent on the rdf of the beer production. However, it would have been obvious to adjust the rdf(real degree of fermentation) depending on the taste desired in the final composition.
Regarding claim 13, Asahi is silent on the apparent extract of the beer product. However, it would have been obvious to adjust the apparent extract depending on the taste desired in the final composition.
Regarding claim 15, Asahi teaches adding glucoamylase to the fermentate(example 1).
Regarding claims 17-24. Asahi is silent on the sequence identity of the transglucosidase. However, it would have been obvious to select any transglucosidase capable of performing the method of claim 1, as the applicant has not shown that the specific transglucosidase provides any unexpected properties.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE D LEBLANC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791