DETAILED ACTIONStatus of Application
Claims 1-24 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauer et al. (US20190365868A1) hereinafter Sauer.
Regarding claims 1-24, Sauer is drawn to a method of treating a biofilm on a surface. A composition, comprising purified enzyme, within a particle, effective for reducing pyruvate concentration in an aqueous suspension of the composition (abstract).
Sauer discloses a method of treating and/or preventing dental plaque, dental carries in a subject by providing a pyruvate diminishing component which acts to reduce pyruvate in the oral cavity. The method involves treating the oral cavity of the subject with the pyruvate diminishing component. Treating can be carried out with a dentifrice, mouthwash, dental floss, gum, strip, toothpaste, a toothbrush, and other preparations, containing the stabilized pyruvate dehydrogenase. The composition may also contain other compounds known in the dental arts that are typically added to dental compositions. For example, the composition may also include fluoride and anti-caries agents [0497].
Sauer discloses the particle may comprise a nanoparticle. The particle may have a mean diameter of less than 1 micron. The particle may comprise a polymeric matrix, polymeric nanoparticle or chitosan. The particle may selectively bind to biofilms. The enzyme may be immobilized to a particle matrix, or encapsulated within a particle matrix, or within a liposome or vesicle. The particle may comprise a matrix or other material, with an affinity for pyruvic acid [0522]. Sauer discloses the following enzymes are known to adversely impact biofilms: NucB [0397]. Sauer discloses nanoparticles had an average size of 360±10 nm and a zeta-potential of −11±3 mV [0596]. Sauer discloses the administering may be carried out with a dentifrice, mouthwash, dental floss, gum, or gel [0525].
Sauer does not explicitly disclose each of the components of the composition in a single embodiment.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sauer, to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Sauer discloses all the required components and Sauer discloses a method of treating and/or preventing dental plaque, dental carries in a subject [0497], wherein the particle may comprise a polymeric matrix, polymeric nanoparticle or chitosan. The particle may selectively bind to biofilms [0522]. Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert A Wax can be reached on 571-272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615