DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is response to the application filed 10/16/2024 havingclaims 1-20 pending and presented for examination.
Priority
2. Application filed on 05/17/2024 is a 371 of PCT/CN2021/131801 11/19/2021
] are acknowledged.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 6/17/2024 and these drawings are accepted.
4. Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
4. The Oath/Declaration filed on 6/17/2024 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 7, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication US 20230027256 A1 CHEN et al. (Hereinafter “CHEN ").
As per claim 1, CHEN teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: detect an uplink data with a first importance level becoming available to a medium access control (MAC) entity of the UE, wherein the first importance level identifies a relative importance of the uplink data ((para 0155-0156], UE detects uplink data and determines the first importance available to a medium access control (MAC) entity of the UE such as the priorities and priorities are relative in ascending or descending order); and trigger buffer status reporting (BSR) based on the uplink data (para 0155-0156], triggering the buffer status reporting (BSR) based on the uplink data). 20230027256
As per claim 2, CHEN teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to trigger the BSR in response to the first importance level being higher than the importance level of any available uplink data in the MAC entity of the UE, or the first importance level being higher than an importance level threshold ((para 0155-0156], trigger the BSR in response to the first importance level being higher than the importance level of any available uplink data in the MAC entity of the UE in ascending or descending order).
As per claim 3, CHEN teaches the UE of claim 2, wherein the importance level threshold is configured by a base station (BS) or is predefined (para 0117] , importance level threshold is predefined).
As per claim 4, CHEN teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: transmit a BSR MAC control element (CE) in response to triggering the BSR, wherein the BSR MAC CE includes an importance field (para 0155-0156], causing new BSR MAC CE is populated and transmit a BSR MAC control element).
As per claim 5, CHEN teaches the UE of claim 4, wherein the BSR MAC CE indicates at least one logical channel group (LCG), and the importance field indicates the highest importance level among all available uplink data belonging to the at least one LCG (para [0158-0159], includes logical channel group (LCG), and field indicates the highest importance level among all available uplink data belonging to the at least one LCG).
As per claim 7, CHEN teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to perform at least one of: select a BSR MAC control element (CE) format with an importance field in response to uplink data available for transmission having an importance attribute; or select a BSR MAC CE format without an importance field in response to uplink data available for transmission not having an importance attribute (((para 0155-0156], r select a BSR MAC CE format without an importance field in response to uplink data available for transmission not having an importance attribute ).
As per claim 11, CHEN teaches a base station (BS), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to: receive, from a user equipment (UE), buffer status reporting (BSR), wherein the BSR includes an importance field (para 0081], base station receives the buffer status reporting (BSR), wherein the BSR includes MAC CE filed ); and transmit an uplink grant to the UE based on the importance field of the BSR(para 0081], base station allocates resources to the UE based on the importance field of the BSR );.
As per claim 12, CHEN teaches the BS of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the BS to transmit, to the UE, an importance level threshold for triggering a BSR (((para 0155-0156], transmitting to UE an importance level threshold for triggering a BSR).
As per claim 13, CHEN teaches the BS of claim 11, wherein the BSR indicates at least one logical channel group (LCG) of the UE, and the importance field indicates the highest importance level among available uplink data belonging to the at least one LCG (para [0158-0159], includes logical channel group (LCG), and field indicates the highest importance level among all available uplink data belonging to the at least one LCG)..
As per claim 14, CHEN teaches the BS of claim 11, wherein the BSR indicates at least one logical channel group (LCG) of the UE, and wherein for each LCG of the at least one LCG, the BSR includes a corresponding importance field, which indicates the highest importance level among available uplink data belonging to the corresponding LCG (para [0158-0159],fig. 13, includes logical channel group (LCG) of the UE, and each includes a corresponding importance field, which indicates the highest importance level among available uplink data belonging to the corresponding LCG).
As per claim 15, CHEN teaches the BS of claim 11, wherein transmitting the uplink grant to the UE based on the importance field of the BSR comprises preferentially transmitting the uplink grant to the UE in response to the importance field indicates a importance level higher than that of another BSR (para 0126], transmitting the uplink grant to the UE in response to the importance field indicates a importance level higher than that of another BSR ().
As per claim 16, CHEN teaches the processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to: detect an uplink data with a first importance level becoming available to a medium access control (MAC) entity of the processor, wherein the first importance level identifies a relative importance of the uplink data(para 0155-0156], UE detects uplink data and determines the first importance available to a medium access control (MAC) entity of the UE such as the priorities and priorities are relative in ascending or descending order); and trigger buffer status reporting (BSR) based on the uplink data(para 0155-0156], triggering the buffer status reporting (BSR) based on the uplink data)..
As per claim 17, CHEN teaches the processor of claim 16, wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to trigger the BSR in response to the first importance level being higher than the importance level of any available uplink data in the MAC entity of the processor, or the first importance level being higher than an importance level threshold((para 0155-0156], trigger the BSR in response to the first importance level being higher than the importance level of any available uplink data in the MAC entity of the UE in ascending or descending order)..
As per claim 18, CHEN teaches the processor of claim 17, wherein the importance level threshold is configured by a base station (BS) or is predefined(para 0117] , importance level threshold is predefined)..
As per claim 19, CHEN teaches the processor of claim 16, wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to: transmit a BSR MAC control element (CE) in response to triggering the BSR, wherein the BSR MAC CE includes an importance field(para 0155-0156], causing new BSR MAC CE is populated and transmit a BSR MAC control element)..
As per claim 20, CHEN teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: detecting an uplink data with a first importance level becoming available to a medium access control (MAC) entity of the UE, wherein the first importance level identifies a relative importance of the uplink data(para 0155-0156], UE detects uplink data and determines the first importance available to a medium access control (MAC) entity of the UE such as the priorities and priorities are relative in ascending or descending order); and triggering buffer status reporting (BSR) based on the uplink data(para 0155-0156], triggering the buffer status reporting (BSR) based on the uplink data). 20230027256.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 6, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN further view of US PG Pub US 20200229198 A1 to Kung et al (hereinafter Kung).
As per claim 6, CHEN teaches the UE of claim 4, Kung teaches wherein the BSR MAC CE indicates at least one logical channel group (LCG), and wherein for each LCG of the at least one LCG, the BSR MAC CE includes a corresponding importance field, which indicates the highest importance level among all available uplink data belonging to the corresponding LCG (para 0416], for each LCG of the at least one LCG, the BSR MAC CE includes a corresponding importance field, which indicates the highest importance level among all available uplink data belonging to the corresponding LCG ).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of CHEN by indicates at least one logical channel group (LCG), and wherein for each LCG of the at least one LCG, the BSR MAC CE includes a corresponding importance field, which indicates the highest importance level among all available uplink data belonging to the corresponding LCG as suggested by Kung, this modification would benefit CHEN for enabling an efficient data transfer mechanism in a mobile communication network.
As per claim 8, CHEN teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive an uplink grant for transmitting uplink data buffered at the UE in response to the BSR ((para 0408], receive an uplink grant for transmitting uplink data buffered at the UE in response to the BSR); and wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to perform a logical channel prioritization (LCP) procedure to allocate resources configured by the uplink grant to the uplink data (para 0408], prioritizing a logical channel prioritization (LCP) procedure to allocate resources configured by the uplink grant to the uplink data based on the ).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 6.
As per claim 9, CHEN teaches the UE of claim 8, wherein to perform the LCP procedure, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: select a logical channel (LCH) with a highest priority and transmittable data amount being greater than zero among all LCHs having uplink data available for transmission ((para 0155-0156], select a logical channel (LCH) with a highest priority and transmittable data amount being greater than zero among all LCHs having uplink data available for transmission).; and preferentially allocate a resource configured by the uplink grant to a data packet with an importance level in the selected LCH ((para 0155-0156], preferentially allocate a resource configured by the uplink grant to a data packet with an importance level in the selected LCH).
As per claim 10, CHEN teaches the UE of claim 8, wherein to perform the LCP procedure, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: allocate resources configured by the uplink grant to data packets with respective importance levels among all logical channels (LCHs) in a decreasing importance level order (para 0125], allocate resources configured by the uplink grant to data packets with respective importance levels among all logical channels (LCHs) in a decreasing importance level order).
Conclusion
Prior arts made of record, not relied upon: US Patent Publication US 20220225341 A1; US Patent Publication US 20220124776 A1, US Patent Publication US 20170325255 A1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANEZ EBRAHIM whose telephone number is (571)270-7153. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 AM to 5 PM If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on (571) 272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANEZ C EBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467