DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-13 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/082299 (filed on 11/17/2022) which claims benefit of Provisional U.S. Application No. 63/264,276 (filed on 11/18/2021). Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claims 1-13 have an effective filing date of 11/18/2021 corresponding to Provisional U.S. Application No. 63/264,276.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on 05/21/2024, 12/04/2024, 05/12/2026, 09/28/2026, and 09/29/2026 has/have been considered. Signed copies are enclosed.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
This application contains sequence disclosures in accordance with the definitions for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences set forth in 37 CFR 1.831(a) and 1.831(b). However, this application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.834. The examiner has noted that TISVGGGKTYYPDSVKG in claim 7 part (iii), claim 9 part (iii), and the instant specification is listed as SEQ ID NO: 9. However, SEQ ID NO: 9 is SSAMS, not TISVGGGKTYYPDSVKG. The amino acid sequence TISVGGGKTYYPDSVKG is not present in the sequence disclosure by itself as indicated. Applicant must provide:
• A replacement “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure, as described above in item 1. or 2., as well as
• A statement that identifies the location of all additions, deletions, or replacements of sequence information in the “Sequence Listing XML” as required by 1.835(b)(3);
• A statement that indicates support for the amendment in the application, as filed, as required by 37 CFR 1.835(b)(4);
• A statement that the “Sequence Listing XML” includes no new matter in accordance with 1.835(b)(5); and
• A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation by reference paragraph as required by 37 CFR 1.835(b)(2), consisting of:
o A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
o A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 7-9, and 11-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2: extra space after “(COP; alternatively named Bronchiolitis Obliterans Organizing Pneumonia or BOOP)” should be deleted.
Claims 7 and 9: “SSAMS (HCDR1)” should be replaced with “SSAMS (HCDR1; SEQ ID NO: 9)” in part (iii).
Claims 7-9: all instances of “SEQ ID No.” and “SEQ ID NO.” should be replaced with “SEQ ID NO:”.
Claim 8: “or” is missing after “SEQ ID No. 40,” in line 5.
Claims 11 and 13: “the development a lung fibrosis” should be replace with “the development of a lung fibrosis”.
Claims 12 and 13: “(TG2)” should be replaced with “(anti-TG2)” for consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-9 recite the phrase “for use…” in the preamble, which is directed towards intended use in therapeutic applications. The recited intended uses do not hold patentable weight and are not limiting (MPEP 2111.02). For the purposes of claim interpretation, intended use will not be regarded as a part of the claimed invention when searching the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed. The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application, including “the level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention” (MPEP 2163[II][A][2]).
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, disclosure of drawings, or by disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics, for example, structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the Applicants were in possession of the claimed genus.
Claim 5 is drawn to an anti-TG2 antibody “wherein said antibody binds to an epitope within the core region of transglutaminase type 2 (TG2) and… said core region consists of amino acids 143 to 473 of TG2” (lines 2-4). Claim 9 is drawn to an antibody that competes for binding to TG2 with the anti-TG2 antibody. These recitations use functional language to define the anti-TG2 antibody or the antibody that competes for binding to TG2. Therefore, the anti-TG2 antibody and antibody that competes for binding to TG2 comprise broad genera of structurally distinct antibodies.
The instant specification states “the term ‘antibody’ as used herein not only refers to full-length antibodies, but also refers to antibody fragments” (¶ 0012). The definition for antibodies is incredibly broad, including various types of antibodies, and does not specify the minimum number of CDRs for binding i.e. they can contain less than 6 CDRs. Sifniotis et al. (Current Advancements in Addressing Key Challenges of Therapeutic Antibody Design, Manufacture, and Formulation, Antibodies, 2019) state there are numerous formats to address challenges in antibody therapeutics (Pg. 14, ¶ 4, lines 4-5). For example, antibody fragments show “better tissue penetration and biodistribution than whole mAb therapeutics; however, a pitfall of smaller peptides lacking an Fc region is a highly reduced in vivo half-life and poor retention times” (Sifniotis et al., Pg. 11, last ¶, lines 1-3). Therefore, antibodies encompass a variety of species, each with their own advantages and disadvantages. Wong et al. (Comparative Analysis of the CDR Loops of Antigen Receptors, Front Immunol, 2019) teach “[a]ll six antibody CDRs can be involved in antigen recognition... As the CDRs form the majority of the binding site, their conformations are critical to the binding” (Pg. 2, column 1, ¶ 1, lines 9-15). This teaching indicates all six CDRs can be required for antigen binding.
Sevy and Meiler (Antibodies: computer-aided prediction of structure and design of function, Microbiol Spectrum, 2014) state “antibodies pose formidable challenges for protein structure prediction and design due to their large size and highly flexible loops in the complementarity-determining regions” (Pg. 1, Abstract, lines 6-9). Consequently, an antibody’s structure cannot be predicted from function alone accurately i.e. stating the antibody binds an epitope of TG2 or competes for binding to TG2 is not a sufficient description.
Claim 8 is drawn to an anti-TG2 antibody wherein the light and heavy chain variable domains have at least 80% sequence identity to the recited amino acid sequences. This language permits numerous mutations to the light and heavy chain variable domains, particularly in the CDRs, that can substantially affect antigen binding.
Even minor changes in the amino acid sequences of the heavy and light variable regions, particularly in the CDRs, may dramatically affect antigen-binding function as evidenced by Rudikoff et al. (Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA, 79(6):1979-1983, March 1982). Rudikoff et al. teach that the alteration of a single amino acid in the CDR of a phosphocholine-binding myeloma protein resulted in the loss of antigen-binding function. Colman (Research in Immunology, 145:33-36, 1994) teaches that even a very conservative substitution within the interface of the antigen-binding region of the antibody, i.e. anywhere in the VH and VL including the framework region, may abolish binding or may have very little effect on the binding affinity (Pg. 35, top of left column; Pg. 33, right column). These teachings indicate that amino acid substitutions within CDRs and framework regions can completely change the antigen recognition of the antibody.
Thus, as instantly claimed, the claims read on broad genera of (i) anti-TG2 antibodies that bind a specific epitope of TG2 or comprise up to 20% sequence variation in its light and heavy variable domains and (ii) antibodies that compete for TG2 binding.
The instant specification delineates the amino acid sequences for the 6 CDRs of three distinct anti-TG2 antibodies (¶ 0018) that are identical to those recited in claim 7. In addition, the instant specification teaches the amino acid sequences with 100% sequence identity for the light and heavy variable domains that encompass said CDRs in Table A. The instant specification does not establish possession of the genus of anti-TG2 antibody variants with less than 6 CDRs (claim 5) nor mutations to the light and heavy variable domains as recited in the claim 8. Furthermore, it does not suggest or disclose that all members of said genus would retain their ability to bind TG2. The instant specification merely contemplates antibodies that complete for TG2 binding (claim 9) but does not describe the structure of said antibodies.
The instant specification does not provide specific or detailed structural characteristics for the broad genera claimed. Thus, one of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, did not have possession of the claimed invention.
A description of a genus may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or by describing structural features common the genus that “constitute a substantial portion of the genus.” See University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997): “A description of a genus of cDNAs may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of cDNA, defined by nucleotide sequence, falling within the scope of the genus or of a recitation of structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus.” The Federal Circuit has recently clarified that a DNA molecule can be adequately described without disclosing its complete structure. See Enzo Biochem, Inc. V. Gen-Probe Inc., 296 F.3d 1316, 63 USPQ2d 1609 (Fed. Cir. 2002). The Enzo court adopted the standard that the written description requirement can be met by “show[ing] that an invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristic, i.e., complete or partial structure, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics. “ Id. At 1324, 63 USPQ2d at 1613”. The court has since clarified that this standard applies to compounds other than cDNAs. See University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., Inc., F.3d,2004 WL 260813, at *9 (Fed.Cir.Feb. 13, 2004).
MPEP § 2163.02 states, “[a]n objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, 'does the description clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed' ”. The courts have decided: The purpose of the “written description” requirement is broader than to merely explain how to “make and use”; the applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the “written description” inquiry, whatever is now claimed.
University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404. 1405 held that: To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and does so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention.” Lockwood v. American Airlines Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gosteli , 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) ("[T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious," and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention" Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2datl966.
As stated in the Written Description Guideline (2008), the levels of the skill and knowledge in the art would not be able to identify without further testing which of these variants could perform the same function (i.e. binding to TG2 or competing for binding to TG2) as the sequences for the anti-TG2 antibody as recited in claim 8 (see Rudikoff and Colman regarding how mutations to VH and VL affect antigen binding). Based on the lack of knowledge and predictability in the art those of ordinary skill in the art would not conclude that the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus of protein variants having the functions listed in the claims based on the limited examples given in the instant specification (i.e. 3 distinct anti-TG2 antibodies).
Regarding claims 5 and 9, Applicant is claiming a large and structurally genera of anti-TG2 antibodies or antibodies that compete for binding to TG2. Absent empirical determination, one skilled in the art would be unable to immediately envision, recognize, or distinguish at least most of the members comprised within the genera claimed, specifically the structures of the antibodies and the minimum number of CDRs needed for binding. Applicant uses functional language to define the genera which is not sufficient as detailed above (see Sevy and Meiler regarding the difficulty in predicting structure from function alone; see Wong et al. regarding need for 6 CDRs in antigen recognition).
Although screening techniques can be used to find anti-TG2 antibodies or antibodies that compete for binding to TG2, Applicant is reminded that the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112 is severable from the enablement provision. As stated in Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar (CA FC) 19 USPQ2d 1111, 935 F2d 1555, “The purpose of the ‘written description’ requirement is broader than to merely explain how to ‘make and use’; the applicant must also convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed.”
Accordingly, given the difficulty associated with predicting structures of anti-TG2 antibodies or antibodies that compete for binding to TG2 and given the lack of particularity with which the genera are described in the specification, it is submitted that the skilled artisan could not immediately envision, recognize, or distinguish at least most of the members of the genera to which the claims are directed, and therefore the instant disclosure fails to demonstrate that Applicant was in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
Therefore, only the anti-TG2 antibodies with the 6 CDRs as recited in claim 7 and their associated light and heavy variable domains having 100% sequence identity (see Table A), but not the full breadth of the claims, meets the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph.
The specification does not reasonably convey possession of the subject matter of claims 5 and 8-9. Claim 5 and 8-9 fails to comply with the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as a person having ordinary skill in the art cannot reasonably conclude that the applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the instant application was filed.
It is noted that claims 1-4, 6-7, and 10-13 reference an anti-TG2 antibody but do not describe said antibody via function language nor include mutations to its sequences. Therefore, claims 1-4, 6-7, and 10-13 are not included in this rejection.
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treating chronic progressive interstitial lung disease or lung fibrosis associated with COVID comprising administering to a subject or use of the anti-TG2 antibodies comprising the amino acid sequences recited in claim 7 and Table A, does not reasonably provide enablement for treating and preventing chronic progressive interstitial lung disease or lung fibrosis associated with COVID comprising administering to a subject or use of any anti-TG2 antibody or any antibody that competes for binding to TG2 with said anti-TG2 antibody. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
As a general rule, enablement must be commensurate with the scope of claim language. MPEP 2164.08 states, “The Federal Circuit has repeatedly held that “the specification must teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation’.” In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1561, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993)” (emphasis added). The “make and use the full scope of the invention without undue experimentation” language was repeated in 2005 in Warner-Lambert Co. v. Teva Pharmaceuticals USA Inc., 75 USPQ2d 1865, and Scripps Research Institute v. Nemerson, 78 USPQ2d 1019 asserts: “A lack of enablement for the full scope of a claim, however, is a legitimate rejection.” The principle was explicitly affirmed most recently in Auto. Tech. Int’l, Inc. v. BMW of N. Am., Inc., 501 F.3d 1274, 84 USPQ2d 1108 (Fed. Cir. 2007), Monsanto Co. v. Syngenta Seeds, Inc., 503 F.3d 1352, 84 U.S.P.Q.2d 1705 (Fed. Cir. 2007), and Sitrick v. Dreamworks, LLC, 516 F.3d 993, 85 USPQ2d 1826 (Fed. Cir. 2008). See also In re Cortright, 49 USPQ2d 1464, 1466 and Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. v. Rhone-Poulenc Rorer Inc., 49 USPQ2d 1370.
The factors to be considered in determining whether a disclosure meets the enablement requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, have been described in In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988). Among these factors are: (1) the nature or the invention; (2) the state of the prior art; (3) the relative skill of those in the art; (4) the predictability or unpredictability of the art; (5) the breadth of the claims; (6) the amount of direction or guidance presented; (7) the presence or absence of working examples; and (8) the quantity of experimentation necessary. When the above factors are weighed, it is the examiner’s position that one skilled in the art could not practice the invention without undue experimentation. Some experimentation is not fatal; the issue is whether the amount of experimentation is “undue”; see In re Vaeck, 20 USPQ2d 1438, 1444.
(1) The nature of the invention
The invention is drawn to anti-TG2 antibodies for use in the treatment of a subject having progressive chronic interstitial lung disease or in the prevention of the development of progressive chronic interstitial lung disease and a method of treating or preventing chronic progressive interstitial lung disease and lung fibrosis associated with COVID comprising administering to a subject said antibodies, subject matter that is highly complex and unpredictable.
The invention involves complex and unpredictable technology. Sevy and Meiler (Antibodies: computer-aided prediction of structure and design of function, Microbiol Spectrum, 2014) state “antibodies pose formidable challenges for protein structure prediction and design due to their large size and highly flexible loops in the complementarity-determining regions” (Pg. 1, Abstract, lines 6-9). Consequently, the relationship between an antibody’s structure and function is unpredictable.
Furthermore, US10005846B2 (published 2018-06-26, hereinafter referred to as US ‘846) teach that, while TG2 inhibitors are relevant for the treatment of fibrotic diseases, “there is a need for highly selective and high efficacy TG2 inhibitors with minimal off target effects” (column 4, lines 37-38). This teaching indicates targeting TG2 is a viable method for treatment of certain fibrotic diseases. However, it is not readily established which TG2 inhibitors, applicable to inhibitory anti-TG2 antibodies, are effective and which fibrotic diseases can be treated.
Thus, the invention is directed towards the use of an antibody and a method with unpredictable and complex subject matter wherein practicing the claimed invention requires the anti-TG2 antibody sequence.
(2) The state of the prior art and (5) the breadth of the claims
Claims 1 and 3 are drawn to any anti-TG2 antibody, specifying its use in treating or preventing chronic progressive interstitial lung disease (claim 1) and lung fibrosis associated with COVID (claim 3). Claims 2 and 4 specify various lung diseases (claim 2) and how the lung disease is characterized (claim 4). Claim 6 specifies the type of antibody. Claims 10-11 teach a method of treating chronic progressive interstitial lung disease (claim 10) and lung fibrosis associated with COVID (claim 11) in a subject comprising administering the anti-TG2-antibody of claim 1. Claims 12-13 teach use of the anti-TG2 antibody for manufacturing a medicament for treating chronic progressive interstitial lung disease (claim 12) and lung fibrosis associated with COVID (claim 13) in a subject.
Claim 5 is drawn to the anti-TG2 antibody “wherein said antibody binds to an epitope within the core region of transglutaminase type 2 (TG2) and… said core region consists of amino acids 143 to 473 of TG2” (lines 2-4). Claim 9 is drawn to an antibody that competes for binding to TG2 with the anti-TG2 antibody. These recitations use functional language to define the anti-TG2 antibody by its binding to the specific epitope or the antibody that competes for binding to TG2. Therefore, the anti-TG2 antibody that binds the specific epitope and antibody that competes for binding to TG2 comprise broad genera of structurally distinct antibodies.
The instant specification states “the term ‘antibody’ as used herein not only refers to full-length antibodies, but also refers to antibody fragments” (¶ 0012). The definition for antibodies is incredibly broad, including various types of antibodies, and does not specify the minimum number of CDRs for binding i.e. they can contain less than 6 CDRs. Wong et al. (Comparative Analysis of the CDR Loops of Antigen Receptors, Front Immunol, 2019) teach “[a]ll six antibody CDRs can be involved in antigen recognition... As the CDRs form the majority of the binding site, their conformations are critical to the binding” (Pg. 2, column 1, ¶ 1, lines 9-15). This teaching indicates all six CDRs can be required for antigen binding.
The instant specification defines treating a disease as “(i) inhibiting the disease state… or (ii) relieving the disease state” (¶ 0014) and preventing a disease as “causing the clinical symptoms of the disease state not to develop in a subject that may be exposed to or predisposed to the disease state, but does not yet experience or display symptoms of the disease state” (¶ 0015). However, Qi et al. (A narrative review of the early diagnosis and treatment of idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis with lung cancer, J Thorac Dis, 2025) state “[w]hile antifibrotic therapies have been shown to slow disease progression in clinical practice, IPF [idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis] patients continue to experience irreversible declines” (Pg. 10488, Background and Objectives, lines 3-4). Therefore, it is not readily established that preventing chronic progressive interstitial lung disease and lung fibrosis associated with COVID, applicable to IPF, is possible with any therapy.
While anti-TG2 antibodies are well-known in the prior art, it is not readily established which antibodies are relevant for the treatment and prevention of chronic progressive interstitial lung disease and lung fibrosis associated with COVID. For example, as mentioned above, US ‘846 indicates anti-TG2 antibodies can be used in treating fibrotic diseases but does not specifically mention the treatment and prevention of chronic progressive interstitial lung disease and lung fibrosis associated with COVID. A person having ordinary skill in the art would need to know which anti-TG2 antibodies are effective in the treatment and prevention of the recited diseases vs. which simply bind TG2 but have no therapeutic utility.
Claim 8 is drawn to an anti-TG2 antibody wherein the light and heavy chain variable domains have at least 80% sequence identity to the recited amino acid sequences. This language permits numerous mutations to the light and heavy chain variable domains, particularly in the CDRs, that can substantially affect antigen binding.
Even minor changes in the amino acid sequences of the heavy and light variable regions, particularly in the CDRs, may dramatically affect antigen-binding function as evidenced by Rudikoff et al. (Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA, 79(6):1979-1983, March 1982). Rudikoff et al. teach that the alteration of a single amino acid in the CDR of a phosphocholine-binding myeloma protein resulted in the loss of antigen-binding function. Colman (Research in Immunology, 145:33-36, 1994) teaches that even a very conservative substitution within the interface of the antigen-binding region of the antibody, i.e. anywhere in the VH and VL including the framework region, may abolish binding or may have very little effect on the binding affinity (Pg. 35, top of left column; Pg. 33, right column). These teachings indicate amino acid substitutions within CDRs and framework regions can completely change the antigen recognition of the antibody. Therefore, not all of the instantly claimed anti-TG2 antibodies of claim 8 would be able to treat and prevent chronic progressive interstitial lung disease or lung fibrosis associated with COVID due to inability to properly inhibit TG2 function.
The claims recites a wider range of embodiments that goes beyond the support from the instant specification. The instant specification delineates the amino acid sequences for the 6 CDRs of three distinct anti-TG2 antibodies (¶ 0018) that are identical to those recited in claim 7. In addition, the instant specification teaches the amino acid sequences with 100% sequence identity for the light and heavy variable domains that encompass said CDRs in Table A. The instant specification merely contemplates antibodies that complete for TG2 binding but does not describe the structure of said antibodies. Furthermore, the instant specification teaches administration of an inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody in a rabbit model for silica-induced lung fibrosis (¶ 0085, Example 4). The anti-TG2 antibody reduced histological fibrosis, indicating the antibody is able to attenuate lung fibrosis (¶ 0103). Example 5 details how such effects would be beneficial to patients with both lung fibrosis and COVID infection due to the antibodies anti-fibrotic effects. These findings do not establish prevention of chronic progressive interstitial lung disease or lung fibrosis associated with COVID, merely delaying progression.
Therefore, it is concluded that the instant specification provides support for treating chronic progressive interstitial lung disease or lung fibrosis associated with COVID with the anti-TG2 antibodies comprising the amino acid sequences recited in claim 7 and Table A.
Accordingly, claims 1-6 and 8-13 are incredibly broad and drawn to treating and preventing chronic progressive interstitial lung disease or lung fibrosis associated with COVID comprising administering to a subject or use of any anti-TG2 antibody or any antibody that competes for binding to TG2 with said anti-TG2 antibody, the full scope of which is not enabled by the methods as instantly claimed.
(3) The relative skill of those in the art, (4) the predictability or unpredictability of the art
This invention is in a class of invention which the CAFC has characterized as "the unpredictable arts such as chemistry and biology". Mycogen Plant Sci., Inc. v. Monsanto Co., 243 F.3d 1316, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2001).
For a person having ordinary skill in the art, i.e. someone with a PhD and/or MD (the relative skill of those in the art), the predictability of applying any anti-TG2 antibody or any antibody that competes for binding to TG2 with said anti-TG2 antibody to treat or prevent chronic progressive interstitial lung disease and lung fibrosis associated with COVID would be low (the predictability or unpredictability of the art) given that:
It is not readily established which anti-TG2 antibodies are relevant for the treatment and prevention of chronic progressive interstitial lung disease and lung fibrosis associated with COVID (see US ‘846). A person having ordinary skill in the art would need to determine which antibodies are effective from those disclosed in the prior art that have not been used for such treatment or prevention, an unpredictable endeavor.
It is not known that chronic progressive interstitial lung disease or lung fibrosis associated with COVID can be prevented (see Qi et al.). Even for a given anti-TG2 antibody, it is not predictable if said antibody would prevent the recited diseases given the lack of evidence.
It is not predictable how the genus of variants of anti-TG2 antibodies as recited in claim 8 would affect its binding affinity (see Rudikoff and Colman) i.e. ability to bind TG2. Furthermore, the structure of the genus of anti-TG2 antibodies that bind a specific epitope (claim 5) or antibodies that compete for binding to TG2 (claim 9) cannot be reliably predicted from function alone (see Sevy and Meiler). There is a lack of enablement as Applicant failed to disclose how to predictably use such molecules in treating and preventing chronic progressive interstitial lung disease or lung fibrosis associated with COVID.
Consequently, claims 1-6 and 8-13 are directed to complex and unpredictable fields, where the successful treatment and prevention of chronic progressive interstitial lung disease or lung fibrosis associated with COVID comprising administrating to the subject or using any anti-TG2 antibody or any antibody that competes for binding to TG2 with said anti-TG2 antibody cannot be readily extrapolated from the limited number of disclosed examples in the instant application. Evidence of efficacy of treating chronic progressive interstitial lung disease or lung fibrosis associated with COVID with the anti-TG2 antibodies comprising the amino acid sequences recited in claim 7 and Table A is provided in the instant specification.
Therefore, treatment of chronic progressive interstitial lung disease or lung fibrosis associated with COVID comprising administrating to the subject or using the anti-TG2 antibodies comprising the amino acid sequences recited in claim 7 and Table A is supported by the specification. However, treatment and prevention of chronic progressive interstitial lung disease or lung fibrosis associated with COVID comprising administrating to the subject or using any anti-TG2 antibody or any antibody that competes for binding to TG2 with said anti-TG2 antibody is not supported.
(6) The amount of direction or guidance presented, (7) the presence or absence of working examples, and (8) the quantity of the experimentation
The instant specification delineates the amino acid sequences for the 6 CDRs of three distinct anti-TG2 antibodies (¶ 0018) that are identical to those recited in claim 7. In addition, the instant specification teaches the amino acid sequences with 100% sequence identity for the light and heavy variable domains that encompass said CDRs in Table A. The instant specification merely contemplates antibodies that complete for TG2 binding but does not describe the structure of said antibodies. Furthermore, the instant specification teaches administration of an inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody in a rabbit model for silica-induced lung fibrosis (¶ 0085, Example 4). The anti-TG2 antibody reduced histological fibrosis, indicating the antibody is able to attenuate lung fibrosis (¶ 0103). Example 5 details how such effects would be beneficial to patients with both lung fibrosis and COVID infection due to the antibodies anti-fibrotic effects. These findings do not establish prevention of chronic progressive interstitial lung disease or lung fibrosis associated with COVID, merely delaying progression.
The specification does not provide any additional examples or guidance on how anti-TG2 antibodies besides the limited number disclosed could treat or prevent chronic progressive interstitial lung disease and lung fibrosis associated with COVID (the amount of direction or guidance presented and the presence or absence of working examples). The specification of the instant application does not provide support for the entire scope of the claims.
It is not readily established which anti-TG2 antibodies are relevant for the treatment and prevention of chronic progressive interstitial lung disease and lung fibrosis associated with COVID (see US ‘846). Even for a given anti-TG2 antibody, prevention of chronic progressive interstitial lung disease and lung fibrosis associated with COVID prior to the effective filing date of the instant application is not known (see Qi et al.). Furthermore, the broad genera of (i) anti-TG2 antibodies that bind a specific epitope of TG2 or comprise up to 20% sequence variation in its light and heavy variable domains and (ii) antibodies that compete for TG2 binding have substantial variation. Consequently, it would require extensive screening and testing to determine which proteins are effective in treatment and prevention of chronic progressive interstitial lung disease or lung fibrosis associated with COVID; this is not routine and would therefore require undue experimentation (the quantity of the experimentation, see MPEP 2164.06).
Claims 1-13 are not enabled because a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the application would not be able to treat and prevent chronic progressive interstitial lung disease or lung fibrosis associated with COVID comprising administrating to the subject or using any anti-TG2 antibody or any antibody that competes for binding to TG2 with said anti-TG2 antibody with a predictability of success for the reasons outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 4-5, 7-9, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the lung fibrosis" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purposes of claim interpretation, the phrase "the lung fibrosis" will be treated as "a lung fibrosis".
The term “an increase” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “an increase” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The use of “an increase” renders the amount of the marker in subject’s sample indefinite as there is no established baseline or reference level for such an increase.
For the purposes of claim interpretation, the phrase “an increase” will read on any increase in a marker in a subject’s sample compared to any reference level.
The term “enhanced” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “enhanced” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The use of “enhanced” renders the export of TG2 indefinite as there is no established baseline or reference level for such enhancement.
For the purposes of claim interpretation, the phrase “enhanced” will read on any enhancement (i.e. any increase) in the export of TG2 compared to any reference level.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase “core region consists of amino acids 143 to 473 of TG2" render the claim indefinite because as there is no sequence provided for the recited TG2, and one would not reasonably be able to determine the metes and bounds of the claim when the claim references positions in an undisclosed sequence.
For the purposes of claim interpretation, any TG2 sequence that spans the number of amino acids recited will read on the instantly claimed TG2 sequence.
Regarding claims 7 and 9, the phrase "TISVGGGKTYYPDSVKG (HCDR2; SEQ ID NO. 9)" renders the claims indefinite because, since SEQ ID NO: 9 is SSAMS not TISVGGGKTYYPDSVKG, it is unclear which sequence is being referred to.
For the purposes of claim interpretation, the phrase "TISVGGGKTYYPDSVKG (HCDR2; SEQ ID NO. 9)" will be interpretated "TISVGGGKTYYPDSVKG (HCDR2)”. Please refer to sequence disclosure requirements for missing SEQ ID NOs.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "preferably at least 90% identity or similarity, or preferably at least 95% identity or similarity" (two instances) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrases “preferably” are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
For the purposes of claim interpretation, the limitations following the phrases “preferably” will not be treated as part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 12-13, the phrase "[u]se of an anti-Transglutaminase 2 (TG2) antibody for the manufacturing of a medicament" renders the claims indefinite because, since the claims do not set forth any steps involved in the method/process, it is unclear what method/process applicant is intending to claim.
Given that these claims may have dual interpretation either as a medicament (i.e. a product) or as a method of manufacturing, these claims are being interpreted herein as optionally both a product and a method/process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims recite “[u]se of an anti-Transglutaminase 2 (TG2) antibody for the manufacturing of a medicament” but do not set forth any steps involved in the method/process. Therefore, it is unclear what method/process applicant is intending to claim.
Given that these claims may have dual interpretation either as a medicament (i.e. a product) or as a method of manufacturing, these claims are being interpreted herein as optionally both a product and a method/process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US10005846B2 (published 2018-06-26, hereinafter referred to as Pat. ‘846).
See claim interpretation for how intended use is not limiting in accordance with MPEP 2111.02 in regard to instant claims 1-9.
Regarding instant claims 1-3 and 7, Pat. ‘846 teaches “[a]n antibody, or antigen-binding fragment thereof, that binds human TG2 (i.e. an anti-TG2 antibody; instant claims 1-3), wherein the antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof comprises the amino acid sequences set forth in SEQ ID NO: 7 (LCDR1), SEQ ID NO: 17 (LCDR2), SEQ ID NO: 9 (LCDR3), SEQ ID NO: 18 (HCDR1), SEQ ID NO: 15 (HCDR2) and SEQ ID NO: 19 (HCDR3)” (claim 1 of Pat. ‘846). SEQ ID NOs: 7, 17, 9, 18, 15, and 19 of Pat. ‘846 are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-6 respectively (instant claim 7). This teaching reads on an anti-TG2 antibody (instant claims 1-3) comprising instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-6 for the CDRs (instant claim 7).
Regarding instant claim 4, Pat. ‘846 further teaches pulmonary fibrosis is associated with “[e]levated TG2 activity” (column 1, line 27) in patients, indicating TG2 activity is increased. Pat. ‘846 further teaches inhibiting TG2 activity in biological samples obtained from a patient’s lung (column 43, lines 9-20). These teachings read on a lung fibrosis (i.e. pulmonary fibrosis) characterized by an increase of a marker (i.e. elevated TG2 activity) in a subject’s sample (i.e. lung sample) wherein the marker is TG2 activity.
Regarding instant claim 5, Pat. ‘846 further teaches “the core region may consist of amino acids 143 to 473 of human TG2… the epitope of the antibody of the invention could thus be any epitope within the region defined by amino acids 143 to 473 of human TG2” (column 16, lines 1-5). Pat. ‘846 further teaches the anti-TG2 antibody “inhibits TG2 enzymatic activity and thus prevents it from functioning to cross-link lysine and glutamine residues with Nϵ-(γ-glutamyl)lysine isopeptide bonds” (column 30, lines 39-42). This teaching reads on the anti-TG2 antibody binds to an epitope within the core region of TG2 and inhibits TG2 activity, wherein said core region consists of amino acids 143 to 473 of TG2 and the TG2 activity that is inhibited is the TG2 cross-linking of lysine and glutamine with N-ε(γ-glutamyl) lysine isopeptide bonds.
Regarding instant claim 6, Pat. ‘846 further teaches the anti-TG2 antibody “comprises or consists of an intact antibody” (claim 3 of Pat. ‘846).
Regarding instant claim 8, Pat. ‘846 further teaches the anti-TG2 antibody comprises “a light chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 73 and a heavy chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 75” (claim 2 of Pat. ‘846). SEQ ID NOs: 73 and 75 of Pat. ‘846 are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 24 and 37 respectively. This teaching reads on the anti-TG2 antibody comprising light and heavy variable domains having 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NOs: 24 and 37 respectively.
Regarding instant claim 9, Pat. ‘846 further teaches “any antibody that selectively binds to an epitope within the region of TG2 such that it may compete with and disrupt binding of any antibody of the preceding aspects” (column 30, lines 64-67) wherein the preceding aspects include the anti-TG2 antibody comprising instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-6 (see rejection of instant claim 7). This teaching reads on an antibody that competes for binding to TG2 with an antibody comprising instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-6.
Pat. ‘846 further teaches a “method of treating fibrosis in an individual in need thereof, comprising administering” the anti-TG2 antibody (claim 14 of Pat. ‘846), specifically wherein the fibrosis is “interstitial lung disease” (claim 15 of Pat. ‘846). Pat. ‘846 further teaches the anti-TG2 antibody is used for “manufacture of a medicament for treating” lung fibrosis and/or interstitial lung disease (column 39, lines 36-37). Pat. ‘846 further teaches the anti-TG2 antibody is “inhibitory” (Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US10005846B2 (published 2018-06-26, hereinafter referred to as Pat. ‘846) in view of Fell et al. (Transglutaminase 2: a novel therapeutic target for idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis using selective small molecule inhibitors. Amino Acids. 2021 Feb;53(2):205-217; IDS filed on 05/21/2024, Cite No. 2) as evidenced by Qi et al. (A narrative review of the early diagnosis and treatment of idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis with lung cancer. J Thorac Dis. 2025 Nov 30;17(11):10488-10500).
Pat. ‘846 is as discussed above and incorporated by reference herein. As fully described in the 102 rejection, Pat. ‘846 teaches (i) an inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody as recited in instant claims 1-9, (ii) a method of treating lung fibrosis and/or interstitial lung disease in a subject, and (iii) a method of manufacturing a medicament for treating lung fibrosis and/or interstitial lung disease in a subject. Pat. ‘846 does not teach the interstitial lung disease is a chronic progressive interstitial lung disease (instant claims 10 and 12). This deficiency is remedied by Fell et al. as evidenced by Qi et al.
Fell et al. teach “the potential for TG2-selective inhibitors as therapeutic agents for the treatment of fibrotic lung diseases like IPF [idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis]” (Pg. 205, Abstract, last 2 lines) because “TG2 is an important regulator of TGFβ1 activity and TGFβ1-induced lung myofibroblast formation which leads to a vicious cycle involving increased TGFβ activation, increased expression and extracellular activity of TG2 and increased ECM deposition” (Pg. 213, column 2, ¶ 2, lines 5-9). These teachings give motivation for using the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody as a therapeutic agent for the treatment of IPF in order to reduce myofibroblast formation and ECM deposition.
Fell et al. does not explicitly teach IPF is a chronic progressive interstitial lung disease. However, Qi et al. teach IPF is “a chronic progressive interstitial lung disease” (Pg. 10488, ¶ 1, Background and Objectives, lines 1-2). Therefore, IPF is inherently a chronic progressive interstitial lung disease as evidenced by Qi et al.
The role of TG2 in IPF was known prior to the effective filing date of the application. In addition, Pat. ‘846 and Fell et al. are in analogous arts (i.e. treatment of lung diseases with TG2 inhibitors). Fell et al. teach TG2 inhibitors can reduce myofibroblast formation and ECM deposition associated with the chronic progressive lung disease IPF. The TG2 inhibitor as taught by Pat. ‘846 (i.e. the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody) is therefore a potential therapeutic agent for a chronic progressive lung disease (i.e. IPF) treatment. Thus, there is motivation to use the method of treating interstitial lung disease in a subject comprising administering the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody, and its associated medicament, as taught by Pat. ‘846 to target IPF as taught by Fell et al. in order to reduce TG2-induced myofibroblast formation and ECM deposition.
MPEP § 2141(III)(G) states a rationale that may support a conclusion of obviousness includes “[s]ome teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.” MPEP § 2143(I)(G) states this rationale should explain why “[a] person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and whether there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so." DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006).
The teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art (i.e. Fell et al. teach TG2 inhibitors can reduce myofibroblast formation and ECM deposition associated with the chronic progressive lung disease IPF) would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference (i.e. the method of treating interstitial lung disease in a subject comprising administering the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody, and its associated medicament, as taught by Pat. ‘846) to arrive at the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to use the method of treating interstitial lung disease in a subject comprising administering the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody, and its associated medicament, as taught by Pat. ‘846 to target IPF as taught by Fell et al. in order to reduce TG2-induced myofibroblast formation and ECM deposition. There is a reasonable expectation of success as the TG2 inhibitors as taught by Fell et al. are applicable to the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody as taught by Pat. ‘846. Inhibition of TG2 would be expected to predictably reduce TG2 activity and thus lead to a reduction in myofibroblast formation and ECM deposition, producing an anti-fibrotic therapeutic effect in IPF patients.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US10005846B2 (published 2018-06-26, hereinafter referred to as Pat. ‘846) in view of Fell et al. (Transglutaminase 2: a novel therapeutic target for idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis using selective small molecule inhibitors. Amino Acids. 2021 Feb;53(2):205-217; IDS filed on 05/21/2024, Cite No. 2) as evidenced by Qi et al. (A narrative review of the early diagnosis and treatment of idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis with lung cancer. J Thorac Dis. 2025 Nov 30;17(11):10488-10500) as applied to claims 10 and 12 above, and further in view of George et al. (Pulmonary fibrosis and COVID-19: the potential role for antifibrotic therapy. Lancet Respir Med. 2020 Aug;8(8):807-81).
Pat. ‘846, Fell et al., and Qi et al. are as discussed above and incorporated by reference herein. As fully described in the previous 103 rejection, Pat. ‘846, Fell et al., and Qi et al. teach a method of treating the lung fibrosis IPF in a subject comprising administering an inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody and its associated medicament, the 103 being incorporated here. Pat. ‘846, Fell et al., and Qi et al. do not teach IPF is associated with COVID infection (instant claims 11 and 13). This deficiency is remedied by George et al.
George et al. teach “[t]he risk factors for severe COVID-19 are shared with idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis (IPF), suggesting that this group of patients will be at increased risk of severe COVID-19” (Pg. 807, Key Messages section in green, second bullet point). This teaching indicates IPF is associated with COVID-19 infection.
George et al. further teaches “[a] major target for antifibrotic therapies is the TGF-β pathway” in the treatment of COVID-19 (Pg. 810, column 2, last two lines).
The association between IPF and COVID-19 was known prior to the effective filing date of the application. In addition, Pat. ‘846, Fell et al., and George et al. are in analogous arts (i.e. treatment of lung diseases). George et al. teach IPF can increase the risk of severe COVID-19 and potential treatments for COVID-19 include therapies that target the TGF-β pathway. The TG2 inhibitor as taught by Pat. ‘846 (i.e. the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody) is a TGF-β pathway inhibitor as taught by Fell et al., making it a potential therapeutic agent for lung fibrosis (i.e. IPF) associated with COVID-19 infection. Thus, there is motivation to use the method of treating the lung fibrosis IPF in a subject comprising administering an inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody and its associated medicament as taught by Pat. ‘846 and Fell et al. to target COVID-19 infection as taught by George et al. in order to inhibit the TGF-β pathway and produce anti-fibrotic effects.
MPEP § 2141(III)(G) states a rationale that may support a conclusion of obviousness includes “[s]ome teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.” MPEP § 2143(I)(G) states this rationale should explain why “[a] person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and whether there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so." DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006).
The teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art (i.e. George et al. teach IPF can increase the risk of severe COVID-19 and potential treatments for COVID-19 include therapies that target the TGF-β pathway) would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference (i.e. the method of treating the lung fibrosis IPF in a subject comprising administering an inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody and its associated medicament as taught by Pat. ‘846 and Fell et al.) to arrive at the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to use the method of treating the lung fibrosis IPF in a subject comprising administering an inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody and its associated medicament as taught by Pat. ‘846 and Fell et al. to target COVID-19 infection as taught by George et al. in order to inhibit the TGF-β pathway and produce anti-fibrotic effects. There is a reasonable expectation of success as TG2 inhibitors were known to inhibit the TGF-β pathway as taught by Fell et al., applicable to the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody as taught by Pat. ‘846. Inhibition of TG2 would be expected to predictably inhibit the TGF-β pathway and thus produce downstream anti-fibrotic effects that are beneficial to patients suffering from both IPF and COVID-19.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 14-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10005846 (hereinafter referred to as Pat. ‘846) in view of the disclosure of Pat. ‘846 (qualifies as prior art as it was published 2018-06-26), Fell et al. (Transglutaminase 2: a novel therapeutic target for idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis using selective small molecule inhibitors. Amino Acids. 2021 Feb;53(2):205-217; IDS filed on 05/21/2024, Cite No. 2), and George et al. (Pulmonary fibrosis and COVID-19: the potential role for antifibrotic therapy. Lancet Respir Med. 2020 Aug;8(8):807-81) as evidenced by Qi et al. (A narrative review of the early diagnosis and treatment of idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis with lung cancer. J Thorac Dis. 2025 Nov 30;17(11):10488-10500).
Pat. ‘846, Fell et al., George et al., and Qi et al. are as discussed above and incorporated by reference herein. Instant claims 1-13 are anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art as fully described in the 102 and 103 rejection sections, the rejections being incorporated here.
Instant claims 1-4 and 7 teach an anti-TG2 antibody (instant claims 1-4) comprising instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-6 for the CDRs (instant claim 7). Instant claim 5 teaches the anti-TG2 antibody binds to an epitope within the core region of TG2 and inhibits TG2 activity, wherein said core region consists of amino acids 143 to 473 of TG2 and the TG2 activity that is inhibited is the TG2 cross-linking of lysine and glutamine with N-ε(γ-glutamyl) lysine isopeptide bonds. Instant claim 6 teaches the anti-TG2 antibody comprises or consists of an intact antibody. Instant claim 8 teaches the anti-TG2 antibody comprises light and heavy variable domains having 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NOs: 24 and 37 respectively. Instant claim 9 teaches an antibody that competes for binding to TG2 with the anti-TG2 antibody comprising instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-6. Instant claims 10-11 teach a method of treating chronic progressive interstitial lung disease (instant claim 10) and lung fibrosis associated with COVID (instant claim 11) in a subject comprising administering the anti-TG2-antibody. Instant claims 12-13 teach use of the anti-TG2 antibody for manufacturing a medicament for treating chronic progressive interstitial lung disease (instant claim 12) and lung fibrosis associated with COVID (instant claim 13) in a subject.
Claim 1 of Pat. ‘846 teaches an anti-TG2 antibody (instant claims 1-4) comprising the amino acid sequences set forth in SEQ ID NO: 7 (LCDR1), SEQ ID NO: 17 (LCDR2), SEQ ID NO: 9 (LCDR3), SEQ ID NO: 18 (HCDR1), SEQ ID NO: 15 (HCDR2) and SEQ ID NO: 19 (HCDR3). SEQ ID NOs: 7, 17, 9, 18, 15, and 19 of Pat. ‘846 are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-6 respectively (instant claim 7). Claim 2 of Pat. ‘846 teaches the anti-TG2 antibody comprises a light chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 73 and a heavy chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 75. SEQ ID NOs: 73 and 75 of Pat. ‘846 are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 24 and 37 respectively (instant claim 8). Claim 3 of Pat. ‘846 teaches the anti-TG2 antibody is an intact antibody (instant claim 6). Claims 14-15 of Pat. ‘846 teach a method of treating fibrosis in a subject comprising administering the anti-TG2 antibody (claim 14 of Pat. ‘846), wherein the fibrosis is interstitial lung disease (claim 15 of Pat. ‘846). This teaching reads on a method of treating a subject having interstitial lung disease (partially instant claim 10) and lung fibrosis (partially instant claim 11).
The claims of Pat. ‘846 do not teach:
the anti-TG2 antibody binds to an epitope within the core region of TG2 and inhibits TG2 activity, wherein said core region consists of amino acids 143 to 473 of TG2 and the TG2 activity that is inhibited is the TG2 cross-linking of lysine and glutamine with N-ε(γ-glutamyl) lysine isopeptide bonds (instant claim 5);
an antibody that competes for binding to TG2 with the anti-TG2 antibody comprising instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-6 (instant claim 9);
the interstitial lung disease is chronic progressive interstitial lung disease (instant claim 10) and the lung fibrosis is associated with COVID (instant claim 11); nor
use of the anti-TG2 antibody for manufacturing a medicament for treating chronic progressive interstitial lung disease (instant claim 12) and lung fibrosis associated with COVID (instant claim 13) in a subject.
These deficiencies are remedied by Pat. ‘846, Fell et al., George et al., and Qi et al.
The role of TG2 in IPF and IPF’s association with COVID-19 were known prior to the effective filing date of the application. In addition, the disclosure and claims of Pat. ‘846, Fell et al., and George et al. are in analogous arts (i.e. treatment of lung diseases). The disclosure of Pat. ‘846 teaches the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody and its use in a medicament and method of treating lung disease. Fell et al. teach TG2 inhibitors can reduce myofibroblast formation and ECM deposition associated with the chronic progressive lung disease IPF by targeting the TGF-β pathway. George et al. teach IPF can increase the risk of severe COVID-19 and potential treatments for COVID-19 include therapies that target the TGF-β pathway. The TG2 inhibitor as taught by the disclosure and claims of Pat. ‘846 (i.e. the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody) would be expected to inhibit TG2-induced downstream effects in the TGF-β pathway and produce anti-fibrotic effects, highly relevant to the treatment of IPF. Therefore, the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody is a potential therapeutic agent for a chronic progressive lung disease and lung fibrosis associated with COVID-19 infection (i.e. IPF). Thus, there is motivation to use the method of treating interstitial lung disease in a subject comprising administering the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody and its associated medicament as taught by Pat. ‘846 for the purposes of (i) targeting IPF as taught by Fell et al. by reducing TG2-induced myofibroblast formation and ECM deposition and (ii) mitigating the severity of COVID-19 infection in patients with IPF as taught by George et al. by inhibiting the TGF-β pathway and producing anti-fibrotic effects.
MPEP § 2141(III)(G) states a rationale that may support a conclusion of obviousness includes “[s]ome teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.” MPEP § 2143(I)(G) states this rationale should explain why “[a] person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and whether there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so." DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006).
The teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art (i.e. disclosure of Pat. ‘846 teaches the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody and its use in a medicament and method of treating lung disease; Fell et al. teach TG2 inhibitors can reduce myofibroblast formation and ECM deposition associated with the chronic progressive lung disease IPF by targeting the TGF-β pathway; George et al. teach IPF can increase the risk of severe COVID-19 and potential treatments for COVID-19 include therapies that target the TGF-β pathway) would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the claims of Pat. ‘846 (i.e. the method of treating interstitial lung disease in a subject comprising administering the anti-TG2 antibody) to arrive at the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to use the method of treating interstitial lung disease in a subject comprising administering the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody and its associated medicament as taught by Pat. ‘846 for the purposes of (i) targeting IPF as taught by Fell et al. by reducing TG2-induced myofibroblast formation and ECM deposition and (ii) mitigating the severity of COVID-19 infection in patients with IPF as taught by George et al. by inhibiting the TGF-β pathway and producing anti-fibrotic effects. There is a reasonable expectation of success as TG2 inhibitors were known to inhibit the TGF-β pathway as taught by Fell et al., applicable to the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody as taught by Pat. ‘846. Inhibition of TG2 would be expected to predictably inhibit the TGF-β pathway and thus produce downstream anti-fibrotic effects, such as reducing myofibroblast formation and ECM deposition, that are beneficial to patients suffering from IPF with or without COVID-19 infection.
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 10961319 (hereinafter referred to as Pat. ‘319) in view of US10005846B2 (published 2018-06-26, hereinafter referred to as Pat. ‘846), Fell et al. (Transglutaminase 2: a novel therapeutic target for idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis using selective small molecule inhibitors. Amino Acids. 2021 Feb;53(2):205-217; IDS filed on 05/21/2024, Cite No. 2), and George et al. (Pulmonary fibrosis and COVID-19: the potential role for antifibrotic therapy. Lancet Respir Med. 2020 Aug;8(8):807-81) as evidenced by Qi et al. (A narrative review of the early diagnosis and treatment of idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis with lung cancer. J Thorac Dis. 2025 Nov 30;17(11):10488-10500).
Pat. ‘846, Fell et al., George et al., and Qi et al. are as discussed above and incorporated by reference herein. Instant claims 1-13 are anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art as fully described in the 102 and 103 rejection sections, the rejections being incorporated here.
Instant claims 1-4 and 7 teach an anti-TG2 antibody (instant claims 1-4) comprising instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-6 for the CDRs (instant claim 7). Instant claim 5 teaches the anti-TG2 antibody binds to an epitope within the core region of TG2 and inhibits TG2 activity, wherein said core region consists of amino acids 143 to 473 of TG2 and the TG2 activity that is inhibited is the TG2 cross-linking of lysine and glutamine with N-ε(γ-glutamyl) lysine isopeptide bonds. Instant claim 6 teaches the anti-TG2 antibody comprises or consists of an intact antibody. Instant claim 8 teaches the anti-TG2 antibody comprises light and heavy variable domains having 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NOs: 24 and 37 respectively. Instant claim 9 teaches an antibody that competes for binding to TG2 with the anti-TG2 antibody comprising instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-6. Instant claims 10-11 teach a method of treating chronic progressive interstitial lung disease (instant claim 10) and lung fibrosis associated with COVID (instant claim 11) in a subject comprising administering the anti-TG2-antibody. Instant claims 12-13 teach use of the anti-TG2 antibody for manufacturing a medicament for treating chronic progressive interstitial lung disease (instant claim 12) and lung fibrosis associated with COVID (instant claim 13) in a subject.
Claim 1 of Pat. ‘319 teaches an inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody (instant claims 1-4) comprising the amino acid sequences set forth in SEQ ID NO: 7 (LCDR1), SEQ ID NO: 17 (LCDR2), SEQ ID NO: 9 (LCDR3), SEQ ID NO: 18 (HCDR1), SEQ ID NO: 15 (HCDR2) and SEQ ID NO: 19 (HCDR3). SEQ ID NOs: 7, 17, 9, 18, 15, and 19 of Pat. ‘319 are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-6 respectively (instant claim 7). Claim 1 of Pat. ‘319 further teaches TG2 cross-linking of lysine and glutamine with N-ε(γ-glutamyl) lysine isopeptide bonds is inhibited (partially instant claim 5). Claims 3-4 of Pat. ‘319 teach the anti-TG2 antibody comprises a light chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 73 and a heavy chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 75. SEQ ID NOs: 73 and 75 of Pat. ‘319 are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 24 and 37 respectively (instant claim 8). Claim 5 of Pat. ‘319 teaches the anti-TG2 antibody is an intact antibody (instant claim 6). Claim 10 of Pat. ‘319 teaches a method of treating fibrosis in a subject by inhibiting TG2 comprising administering the anti-TG2 antibody (partially instant claim 11).
The claims of Pat. ‘319 do not teach:
the anti-TG2 antibody binds to an epitope within the core region of TG2, wherein said core region consists of amino acids 143 to 473 of TG2 (instant claim 5);
an antibody that competes for binding to TG2 with the anti-TG2 antibody comprising instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-6 (instant claim 9);
a method of treating chronic progressive interstitial lung disease in a subject (instant claim 10);
the fibrosis is lung fibrosis is associated with COVID (instant claim 11); nor
use of the anti-TG2 antibody for manufacturing a medicament for treating chronic progressive interstitial lung disease (instant claim 12) and lung fibrosis associated with COVID (instant claim 13) in a subject.
These deficiencies are remedied by Pat. ‘846, Fell et al., George et al., and Qi et al.
The role of TG2 in IPF and IPF’s association with COVID-19 were known prior to the effective filing date of the application. In addition, the claims of Pat. ‘319, Pat. ‘846, Fell et al., and George et al. are in analogous arts (i.e. treatment of diseases that affect the lungs). Pat. ‘846 teaches the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody and its use in a medicament and method of treating lung disease. Fell et al. teach TG2 inhibitors can reduce myofibroblast formation and ECM deposition associated with the chronic progressive lung disease IPF by targeting the TGF-β pathway. George et al. teach IPF can increase the risk of severe COVID-19 and potential treatments for COVID-19 include therapies that target the TGF-β pathway. The TG2 inhibitor as taught by Pat. ‘319 (i.e. the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody) would be expected to inhibit TG2-induced downstream effects in the TGF-β pathway and produce anti-fibrotic effects, highly relevant to the treatment of IPF. Therefore, the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody is a potential therapeutic agent for a chronic progressive lung disease and lung fibrosis associated with COVID-19 infection (i.e. IPF). Thus, there is motivation to use the method of fibrosis in a subject comprising administering the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody as taught by Pat. ‘319 for the purposes of (i) making a medicament as taught by Pat. ‘846 to use in subsequent lung disease treatment plans, (ii) targeting IPF as taught by Fell et al. by reducing TG2-induced myofibroblast formation and ECM deposition, and (iii) mitigating the severity of COVID-19 infection in patients with IPF as taught by George et al. by inhibiting the TGF-β pathway and producing anti-fibrotic effects.
MPEP § 2141(III)(G) states a rationale that may support a conclusion of obviousness includes “[s]ome teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.” MPEP § 2143(I)(G) states this rationale should explain why “[a] person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and whether there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so." DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006).
The teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art (i.e. Pat. ‘846 teaches the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody and its use in a medicament and method of treating lung disease; Fell et al. teach TG2 inhibitors can reduce myofibroblast formation and ECM deposition associated with the chronic progressive lung disease IPF by targeting the TGF-β pathway; George et al. teach IPF can increase the risk of severe COVID-19 and potential treatments for COVID-19 include therapies that target the TGF-β pathway) would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the claims of Pat. ‘319 (i.e. the method of treating fibrosis in a subject comprising administering the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody) to arrive at the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to use the method of fibrosis in a subject comprising administering the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody as taught by Pat. ‘319 for the purposes of (i) making a medicament as taught by Pat. ‘846 to use in subsequent lung disease treatment plans, (ii) targeting IPF as taught by Fell et al. by reducing TG2-induced myofibroblast formation and ECM deposition, and (iii) mitigating the severity of COVID-19 infection in patients with IPF as taught by George et al. by inhibiting the TGF-β pathway and producing anti-fibrotic effects. There is a reasonable expectation of success as TG2 inhibitors were known to inhibit the TGF-β pathway as taught by Fell et al., applicable to the inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody as taught by Pat. ‘319. Inhibition of TG2 would be expected to predictably inhibit the TGF-β pathway and thus produce downstream anti-fibrotic effects, such as reducing myofibroblast formation and ECM deposition, that are beneficial to patients suffering from IPF with or without COVID-19 infection. In addition, the antibodies of Pat. ‘319 and Pat. ‘846 are identical, making their disclosures highly relevant to one another.
Claims 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11718686 (hereinafter referred to as Pat. ‘686). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant claims 1-4 and 7 teach an anti-TG2 antibody (instant claims 1-4) comprising instant SEQ ID NOs: 1, 7, 8, 9, 5, and 10 for the CDRs (instant claim 7). Instant claim 6 teaches the anti-TG2 antibody comprises or consists of an intact antibody. Instant claim 8 teaches the anti-TG2 antibody comprises light and heavy variable domains having 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NOs: 24 and 37 respectively.
Claim 1 of Pat. ‘686 teaches an inhibitory anti-TG2 antibody (instant claims 1-4) comprising the amino acid sequences set forth in SEQ ID NO: 7 (LCDR1), SEQ ID NO: 13 (LCDR2), SEQ ID NO: 14 (LCDR3), SEQ ID NO: 10 (HCDR1), SEQ ID NO: 15 (HCDR2) and SEQ ID NO: 16 (HCDR3). SEQ ID NOs: 7, 13, 14, 10, 15, and 16 of Pat. ‘686 are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 1, 7, 8, 9, 5, and 10 respectively (instant claim 7). Claim 2 of Pat. ‘686 teaches the anti-TG2 antibody comprises a light chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 260 and a heavy chain variable region comprising the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 258. SEQ ID NOs: 260 and 258 of Pat. ‘686 are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 19 and 32 respectively (instant claim 8). Claim 3 of Pat. ‘686 teaches the anti-TG2 antibody is an intact antibody (instant claim 6).
The anti-TG2 antibody of instant claims 1-4 and 6-8 is generic to a species of anti-TG2 antibody as recited in claims 1-3 of Pat. ‘686. Therefore, the instant claims are anticipated by the claims of Pat. ‘686. See MPEP 804(II)(B)(2) for more information regarding anticipation analysis in a nonstatutory double patenting rejection and MPEP 2131.02 for how a species anticipates a genus.
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-8 of copending Application No. 18/711,331 (reference application, hereinafter referred to as copending ‘311). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant claims 1-4 and 7 teach an anti-TG2 antibody (instant claims 1-4) comprising various instant SEQ ID NOs for the CDRs (instant claim 7). Instant claim 5 teaches the anti-TG2 antibody binds to an epitope within the core region of TG2 and inhibits TG2 activity, wherein said core region consists of amino acids 143 to 473 of TG2 and the TG2 activity that is inhibited is the TG2 cross-linking of lysine and glutamine with N-ε(γ-glutamyl) lysine isopeptide bonds. Instant claim 6 teaches the anti-TG2 antibody comprises or consists of an intact antibody. Instant claim 8 teaches the anti-TG2 antibody comprises various instant SEQ ID NOs for the light and heavy variable domains. Instant claim 9 teaches an antibody that competes for binding to TG2 with the anti-TG2 antibody.
Claim 1 of copending ‘311 teaches an anti-TG2 antibody (instant claims 1-4). Claim 4 of copending ‘311 teaches the anti-TG2 antibody binds to an epitope within the core region of TG2 and inhibits TG2 activity, wherein said core region consists of amino acids 143 to 473 of TG2 and the TG2 activity that is inhibited is the TG2 cross-linking of lysine and glutamine with N-ε(γ-glutamyl) lysine isopeptide bonds (instant claim 5). Claim 5 of copending ‘311 teaches the anti-TG2 antibody is an intact antibody (instant claim 6). Claim 6 of copending ‘311 teaches amino acid sequences for the CDRs that are identical to those recited in instant claim 7. Claim 7 of copending ‘311 teaches amino acid sequences for the light and variable heavy domains that are identical to those recited in instant claim 8. Claim 8 of copending ‘311 teaches an antibody that competes for binding to TG2 with the anti-TG2 antibody (instant claim 9).
The anti-TG2 antibody of instant claims 1-9 is generic to a species of anti-TG2 antibody as recited in claims 1 and 4-8 of copending ‘311. Therefore, the instant claims are anticipated by the claims of copending ‘311. See MPEP 804(II)(B)(2) for more information regarding anticipation analysis in a nonstatutory double patenting rejection and MPEP 2131.02 for how a species anticipates a genus.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-13 are pending. Claims 2, 7-9, and 11-13 are objected. Claims 1-13 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/J.M.P./Examiner, Art Unit 1642
/SAMIRA J JEAN-LOUIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1642