DETAILED ACTION
Previous Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, filed September 02, 2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (Maintained)
Claims 1-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Koripelly et al. (WO 2020/121164 A1) in view of Babu et al. (US 2019/0225556 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Koripelly discloses a urea granule fertilizer core covered with an organic chelated zinc coating and an aqueous liquid carrier (abstract; claim 1; claim 19) [0045]. The coated fertilizer can contain one or more than one coating and Koripelly discloses the coating may further include micronutrients other than Zn, such as copper [0069] [0071].
Koripelly does not disclose a working example with organic chelated zinc and copper, however, the ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to include copper within the coating as a micronutrient as taught at [0069].
Koripelly does not disclose the coating includes an inorganic Zn compound.
Babu teaches fertilizer coating compositions, such as for urea, with both a micronutrient source in chelated form and second source of the same target micronutrient, but provided in non-chelated form (abstract) [0114]-[0115]. ZnCl2 and ZnSO4 are disclosed as micronutrients in non-chelated form [0130]. Babu teaches that ZnCl2 and ZnSO4 provide the soil with zinc, which is a micronutrient for plant growth [Fig 6A] [0004] and that the concentration of zinc in the soil solution was maintained at higher levels by the chelated and non-chelated form combined than was the case with the disodium-Zn-EDTA (non-chelated alone) [0144] (Fig 6 A-B). Furthermore, Babu teaches that the addition of chloride or sulfate along with the disodium-Zn EDTA can enhance its stability and prolong the availability of zinc from this source combination during plant growth with the added advantage of maintaining and bringing in more calcium, iron, and manganese into the acidic soil solution than conventional sources [0144] (Fig 6 A-B).
Since Koripelly generally teaches a coating for urea with an organic chelated zinc, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an inorganic Zn compound, such as ZnCl2 or ZnSO4, within the teachings of Koripelly, because Babu teaches ZnCl2/ZnSO4 in combination with the organic chelated zinc, disodium-Zn-EDTA, in a coating composition for fertilizers such as urea. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use a combination of a chelated and non-chelated form of zinc because Babu teaches that the concentration of zinc in the soil solution was maintained at higher levels by the chelated and non-chelated form combined than was the case with the disodium-Zn-EDTA alone. Furthermore, Babu teaches that the addition of chloride or sulfate along with the disodium-Zn EDTA can enhance its stability and prolong the availability of zinc from this source combination during plant growth with the added advantage of maintaining and bringing in more calcium, iron, and manganese into the acidic soil solution than conventional sources [0144] (Fig 6 A-B). Additionally, an ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use ZnCl2 or ZnSO4 because Babu teaches that ZnCl2 and ZnSO4 provide the soil with zinc, which is a micronutrient for plant growth [Fig 6A] [0004].
Further regarding claim 1, the limitations of the method of production are interpreted as product-by-process limitations. Even though the product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, then the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In the instant case, the combined teachings of Koripelly and Babu, read on the claimed fertilizer granule. As such, the patentability of the instant claim does not depend on its method of production, and the Applicant' s limitation regarding the process of formation is not patentable, in view of Koripelly and Babu.
Claims 2-3 are rendered prima facie obvious because Koripelly discloses the coating composition can further include calcium lignosulfonate [0068]. Calcium lignosulfonate is disclosed as a binder which is present in a weight ratio to the organic chelated zinc of 0.5:1 to 6:1 [0013]. The organic chelated zinc is present in a weight ratio of 0.001 wt.% to 10 wt.% based on the total weight of the coated fertilizer [0010] [0068]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 A. Additionally, the general condition of the amount of the calcium lignosulfonate has been taught by the prior art; as such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum amount via routine experimentation.
Claims 4-5 are rendered prima facie obvious because Koripelly discloses the coating can further include micronutrients other than Zn, such as copper [0069].
Claim 6 is rendered prima facie obvious because Koripelly discloses the fertilizer component comprises urea (claim 1) [0045].
Claims 7-8 are rendered prima facie obvious because Koripelly discloses the organic Zn complex is a chelated Zn complex, such as Zn-EDTA [abstract] [0011] [0067].
Claim 9 is rendered prima facie obvious because it would have been obvious to include ZnCl2 or ZnSO4, as taught by Babu, within the teachings of Koripelly, as previously discussed.
Claim 10 is rendered prima facie obvious because Koripelly discloses at least one coating layer [0071]. The organic chelated zinc coating includes the organic chelated zinc and can include an additional micronutrient, such as copper [0067]-[0069] and it would have been prima facie obvious to include the inorganic zinc compound, as previously discussed.
Claims 12-13 are rendered prima facie obvious because Koripelly discloses organic chelated zinc particles with a diameter of 10 to 350 microns [0011]. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because of overlap, as previously discussed.
Regarding claim 14, Koripelly discloses that the organic chelated zinc is present in a weight ratio of 0.001 wt.% to 10 wt.% based on the total weight of the coated fertilizer [0010] [0068].
Koripelly does not disclose the inorganic Zn compound or the amount of the second micronutrient, such as copper.
Babu teaches that the range of the chelated complex (e.g., ZnEDTA) in the fertilizer composition (coating) is about 4-20 wt.% and the non-chelated source (e.g., ZnSO4) is 20-40 wt.% [0107] [0135]. Babu teaches that the fertilizer can be customized to have “mixing and matching” among micronutrient sources and discloses copper as an additional micronutrient [0108]. Additional micronutrients are present in an amount of about 20-40 wt.% [0107]. The fertilizer composition is coated onto the carrier (i.e., urea [0115]) so that the final coated fertilizer product includes the fertilizer composition at levels from 0.1-10% by weight [0116].
Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general conditions of the amount of the chelated Zn complex, non-chelated Zn source, and additional micronutrient (i.e., copper) have been taught by the prior art; as such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum amounts via routine experimentation to obtain the desired micronutrient level for plant growth as taught by Babu [0107] [0004].
Regarding claim 15, while Koripelly discloses Zn-EDTA [0011] [0067], Koripelly does not explicitly disclose (NH4)Zn-EDTA or (Na)2Zn-EDTA. Nevertheless, there is a prima facie case of obviousness of species when the prior art teaches genus. See MPEP 2144.08.
Additionally, Babu teaches Na2ZnEDTA as a micronutrient source in chelated form to be used in a fertilizer coating composition [abstract] [0144] [Fig 6A-B].
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, since Koripelly generally taught Zn-EDTA as an organic chelated zinc compound micronutrient for a fertilizer coating, it is prima facie obvious to select Na2ZnEDTA for incorporation into a fertilizer coating based on its recognized suitability for the intended use as a Zn micronutrient source in chelated form to be used in a fertilizer coating composition [abstract] [0144] [Fig 6A-B].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues at pg. 6 that claim 1 specifies that the liquid coat includes a first micronutrient comprising an organic zinc complex and an inorganic zinc compound and a second micronutrient comprising a metal that is different from the metal in the first micronutrient. Applicant argues that these features are neither disclosed nor suggested by the combination of Koripelly and Babu because Koripelly recites that the organic chelated zinc coating does not contain inorganic zinc and Koripelly is silent regarding a second micronutrient comprising a metal that is different from the metal in the first micronutrient.
The Examiner disagrees. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. Koripelly discloses an organic chelated zinc coating and an aqueous liquid carrier (abstract; claim 1; claim 19) [0045]. Koripelly teaches the coating can further include micronutrients other than Zn, such as copper [0069] and the ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to include copper within the coating as a micronutrient. The examiner acknowledges that Koripelly does not disclose inorganic zinc, however, this limitation is taught by Babu. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an inorganic Zn compound, such as ZnCl2 or ZnSO4, within the teachings of Koripelly, because Babu teaches ZnCl2/ZnSO4 in combination with the organic chelated zinc, disodium-Zn-EDTA, in a coating composition for fertilizers such as urea. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use a combination of a chelated and non-chelated form of zinc because Babu teaches that the concentration of zinc in the soil solution was maintained at higher levels by the chelated and non-chelated form combined than was the case with the disodium-Zn-EDTA alone. Furthermore, Babu teaches that the addition of chloride or sulfate along with the disodium-Zn EDTA can enhance its stability and prolong the availability of zinc from this source combination during plant growth with the added advantage of maintaining and bringing in more calcium, iron, and manganese into the acidic soil solution than conventional sources [0144] (Fig 6 A-B). Additionally, an ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use ZnCl2 or ZnSO4 because Babu teaches that ZnCl2 and ZnSO4 provide the soil with zinc, which is a micronutrient for plant growth [Fig 6A] [0004].
Applicant argues at pg. 7 that Babu fails to disclose, suggest or exemplify compositions comprising two different metals in the same coating layer and Babu fails to describe the claimed feature of a liquid coat, therefore, Babu does not disclose the features of claim 1.
The Examiner disagrees because claim 1 is prima facie obvious over the combined teachings of Koripelly and Babu, not the teachings of Babu alone. The claimed features of the second metal and the liquid coat are taught by Koripelly, as discussed above.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Koripelly et al. (WO 2020/121164 A1) in view of Babu et al. (US 2019/0225556 A1) and further in view of Burnham et al. (US 2020/0148605 A1).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Koripelly in view of Babu was previously discussed.
Additionally, Koripelly discloses that the coated fertilizer can contain multiple coatings, such as more than two coatings [0071].
The combined teachings of the prior art do not disclose that the components are located on separate coating layers.
Burnham discloses coated fertilizer granules with multiple layers for the delivery of micronutrients, such zinc (abstract) [0032] [0041] where the agents are in separate layers around the core granule [0038]-[0039]. Burnham teaches that the multi-layered coating with agents in separate layers is an inexpensive means of controlling the release of micronutrients/actives [0034]-[0041].
Since Koripelly generally teaches a multi-layer coating for fertilizer granules, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the components in separate layers because Burnham teaches a multi-layered fertilizer coating with agents in separate layers around the core granule. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to have the micronutrients in separate layers because Burnham teaches that the multi-layered coating with agents in separate layers is an inexpensive means of controlling the release of micronutrients/actives [0034]-[0041].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues at pg. 8 that claim 11 is nonobvious over the cited references for at least the same reasons as claim 1 and that neither Koripelly nor Babu suggest the claimed combination of micronutrients within a coating system, let alone the specific muti-layered system in which the specific micronutrients are selectively separated into distinct coating layers.
The Examiner disagrees because claim 1 is obvious over the cited references as discussed above because the combined teachings of Koripelly and Babu disclose the claimed organic Zn complex, the inorganic Zn compound, and the second micronutrient.
While the combined teachings of Koripelly and Babu do not disclose that the components are in separate coating layers, an ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to have the micronutrients in separate layers because Burnham teaches that the multi-layered coating with agents in separate layers is an inexpensive means of controlling the release of micronutrients/actives [0034]-[0041].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,291,493 in view of Babu et al. (US 2019/0225556 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The claims recite all of the features instantly recited for the composition except for an inorganic Zn compound and an additional micronutrient.
Babu teaches fertilizer coating compositions, such as for urea, with both a micronutrient source in chelated form and second source of the same target micronutrient, but provided in non-chelated form (abstract) [0114]-[0115]. ZnCl and ZnSO4 are disclosed as micronutrients in non-chelated form [0130]. Babu teaches that ZnCl and ZnSO4 provide the soil with zinc, which is a micronutrient for plant growth [Fig 6A] [0004] and that the concentration of zinc in the soil solution was maintained at higher levels by the chelated and non-chelated form combined than was the case with the disodium-Zn-EDTA (non-chelated) alone. Furthermore, Babu teaches that the addition of chloride or sulfate along with the disodium-Zn EDTA can enhance its stability and prolong the availability of zinc from this source combination during plant growth with the added advantage of maintaining and bringing in more calcium, iron, and manganese into the acidic soil solution than conventional sources [0144] (Fig 6 A-B). Babu also teaches additional micronutrients for plant growth, such as copper [0004] [0108].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an inorganic Zn compound and an additional micronutrient, such as copper, within the claims. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to use a combination of a chelated and non-chelated form of zinc because Babu teaches that that the concentration of zinc in the soil solution was maintained at higher levels by the chelated and non-chelated form combined than was the case with the disodium-Zn-EDTA alone. Furthermore, Babu teaches that the addition of chloride or sulfate along with the disodium-Zn EDTA can enhance its stability and prolong the availability of zinc from this source combination during plant growth with the added advantage of maintaining and bringing in more calcium, iron, and manganese into the acidic soil solution than conventional sources [0144] (Fig 6 A-B). Additionally, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to use an inorganic Zn source and an additional micronutrient, such as copper, because Babu teaches them as micronutrients for plant growth [0004] [0108].
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-9, 11-12, and 14-23 of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/906,812 in view of Babu et al. (US 2019/0225556 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The copending claims recite all of the features instantly recited for the composition except for an additional micronutrient, such as copper.
Babu teaches fertilizer coating compositions, such as for urea [0115], with micronutrients, such as copper [0086]. Babu teaches that copper is a micronutrient for plant growth [0004] [0108].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a micronutrient, such as copper, within the copending claims. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to use an additional micronutrient, such as copper, because Babu teaches it as a micronutrient for plant growth [0004] [0108].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the conflicting application (‘812) and patent (‘493) do not describe a second micronutrient comprising a different metal than the first micronutrient, therefore the double patenting rejections should be withdrawn.
The Examiner disagrees because Babu teaches fertilizer coating compositions with micronutrients, such as copper [0086]. Babu teaches that copper is a micronutrient for plant growth [0004] [0108]. The ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to use an additional micronutrient, such as copper, because Babu teaches it as a micronutrient for plant growth [0004] [0108].
Applicant further argues that there is no motivation in the ‘493 patent to include an inorganic zinc in the coating, therefore, the double patenting rejection should be withdrawn.
The Examiner disagrees because Babu teaches the inclusion of inorganic zinc in a fertilizer coating, and one would have been motivated to include inorganic zinc for the reasons discussed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/ASHLEE E WERTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612