DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chaplin et al (US 4122303).
With respect to claim 1, Chaplin discloses an active acoustic control system for controlling an acoustic signal propagating along a propagation path (col.3 ln.10-16; acoustic signals from a sound source, such as fan #2, propagate along a path, such as duct #1), the system comprising an active control unit (fig.5 #5-6, 9-11) configured to:
receive information from a sensor arrangement (fig.5 #3,7), the information related to the acoustic signal propagating along the propagation path (col.3 ln.10-16; col.3 ln.55-59; col.3 ln.65-68; col.4 ln.1-3; microphones #3 and #7 capture acoustic signals along the sound propagation path of duct #1); and
generate a control signal for controlling the acoustic signal based on the information from the sensor arrangement (col.4 ln.12-21; control signals are provided to loudspeakers #4a,4b to control the acoustic signals propagating within duct #1), by being arranged to independently control
a first control source arrangement (fig.5 #4a) for generating a first control signal to control a first component of the acoustic signal, and
a second control source arrangement (fig.5 #4b) for generating a second control signal to control a second component of the acoustic signal (col.3 ln.39-48, the geometric arrangements of loudspeakers #4a,4b provide active sound attenuation of different components of the acoustic signal within duct #1, such as an upstream and downstream component).
With respect to claim 2, Chaplin discloses the active acoustic control system according to claim 1 wherein the active control unit comprises; a first controller (fig.5 #10) arranged to control the first control source arrangement; and a second controller (fig.5 #6) arranged to control the second control source arrangement (col.3 ln.49-59; col.4 ln.12-21; compensating networks #6 and #10 provide control signals to the individual loudspeakers #4a,4b).
With respect to claim 3, Chaplin discloses the active acoustic control system according to claim 1, wherein the first component of the acoustic signal is a transmitted component, and the second component of the acoustic signal is a reflected component (col.3 ln.39-48; as shown in figure 4, loudspeakers #4a,4b may be located within the duct, and facing different directions, such as a direction of a transmitted component of noise from fan #2 as indicated by direction of loudspeaker #4b, and a direction of a reflected component as indicated by the direction of loudspeaker #4a, it is an acoustic property sound waves propagating within ducts to comprise a reflected component, as shown figure 6).
With respect to claim 4, Chaplin discloses the active acoustic control system according to claim 1, wherein the first control source arrangement faces downstream relative to the propagation path and the second control source arrangement faces upstream relative to the propagation path (col.3 ln.39-48; as shown in figure 4, loudspeakers #4a,4b may be located within the duct, and facing different directions, such as a downstream direction as indicated by loudspeaker #4b, and an upstream direction as indicated by loudspeaker #4a).
With respect to claim 5, Chaplin discloses the active acoustic control system according to claim 1, wherein the active control unit comprises the first control source arrangement and the second control source arrangement (see fig.5).
With respect to claim 6, Chaplin discloses the active acoustic control system according to claim 1, wherein the first sensor arrangement comprises one or more pressure sensors (fig.5 #3,7) and/or one or more accelerometers.
With respect to claim 7, Chaplin discloses the active acoustic control system according to claim 1, wherein the sensor arrangement is a first sensor arrangement, and the active control unit is configured to receive information from a second sensor arrangement for sensing an error signal (col.3 ln.55-59; second microphone #7 indicates a lack of complete cancellation, or a so called “error signal”).
With respect to claim 8, Chaplin discloses the active acoustic control system according to claim 7, wherein the second sensor arrangement is provided downstream of the active control unit along the propagation path (col.3 ln.55-59).
With respect to claim 9, Chaplin discloses the active acoustic control system according to claim 7, wherein the second sensor arrangement comprises one or more pressure sensors (fig.5 #7) and/or one or more accelerometers.
With respect to claim 10, Chaplin discloses the active acoustic control system according to claim 1, comprising an acoustic guide defining the propagation path (col.3 ln.10-16; duct #1 acts as an acoustic guide).
With respect to claim 11, Chaplin discloses the active acoustic control system according to claim 1, wherein the first control source arrangement and second control source arrangement are arranged in a one-dimensional manner along the propagation path (See fig.5 #4a,4b). Examiner’s note: The term “one-dimensional manner” does not limit the arrangement of the claimed first and second control sources because the term is a matter of perspective when viewing the control sources. For example, an imaginary line drawn connecting the sources would be a “one dimensional manner”.
With respect to claim 12, Chaplin discloses the active acoustic control system according to claim 1, wherein the first control source arrangement comprises a 2D array of first control sources, and/or the second control source arrangement comprises a 2D array of second control sources (See fig.5 #4a,4b). Examiner’s note: The term “2D array of first control sources” and/or “second control sources” does not limit the number or arrangement of the claimed sources. Any arrangement of sources may be considered to lie in a 2D plane.
With respect to claim 13, Chaplin discloses the active acoustic control system according to claim 1, wherein the first control source arrangement and second control source arrangement comprise one or more loudspeakers (fig.5 #4a,4b) and/or one or more actuators.
With respect to claim 15, Chaplin discloses a method of controlling an acoustic signal propagating along a propagation path, the method comprising:
receiving information related to the acoustic signal propagating along the propagation path from a sensor arrangement (col.3 ln.10-16; col.3 ln.55-59; col.3 ln.65-68; col.4 ln.1-3; microphones #3 and #7 capture acoustic signals along the sound propagation path of duct #1); and
generating a control signal for controlling the acoustic signal based on the received information (col.4 ln.12-21; control signals are provided to loudspeakers #4a,4b to control the acoustic signals propagating within duct #1) by independently controlling:
a first control source arrangement (fig.5 #4a) for generating a first control signal for controlling a first component of the acoustic signal; and
a second control source arrangement (fig.5 #4b) for generating a second control signal for controlling a second component of the acoustic signal (col.3 ln.39-48, the geometric arrangements of loudspeakers #4a,4b provide active sound attenuation of different components of the acoustic signal within duct #1, such as an upstream and downstream component).
With respect to claim 16, Chaplin discloses an active acoustic control system for controlling an acoustic signal propagating along a propagation path, the system comprising an active control unit configured to:
receive information from a sensor arrangement, the information related to the acoustic signal propagating along the propagation path (col.3 ln.10-16; col.3 ln.55-59; col.3 ln.65-68; col.4 ln.1-3; microphones #3 and #7 capture acoustic signals along the sound propagation path of duct #1); and
controlling the acoustic signal based on the information from the sensor arrangement (col.4 ln.12-21; control signals are provided to loudspeakers #4a,4b to control the acoustic signals propagating within duct #1), by being arranged to independently control
a first control source arrangement (fig.5 #4a) for generating a first control signal to control a first component of the acoustic signal, and
a second control source arrangement (fig.5 #4b) for generating a second control signal to control a second component of the acoustic signal (col.3 ln.39-48, the geometric arrangements of loudspeakers #4a,4b provide active sound attenuation of different components of the acoustic signal within duct #1, such as an upstream and downstream component)., wherein the active control unit includes
a first controller (fig.5 #10) arranged to control the first control source arrangement, and
a second controller (fig.5 #6) arranged to control the second control source arrangement (col.3 ln.49-59; col.4 ln.12-21; compensating networks #6 and #10 provide control signals to the individual loudspeakers #4a,4b).
With respect to claim 17, Chaplin discloses the active acoustic control system according to claim 16, wherein the first component of the acoustic signal is a transmitted component, and the second component of the acoustic signal is a reflected component (col.3 ln.39-48; as shown in figure 4, loudspeakers #4a,4b may be located within the duct, and facing different directions, such as a direction of a transmitted component of noise from fan #2 as indicated by direction of loudspeaker #4b, and a direction of a reflected component as indicated by the direction of loudspeaker #4a, it is an acoustic property sound waves propagating within ducts to comprise a reflected component, as shown figure 6).
With respect to claim 18, Chaplin discloses the active acoustic control system according to claim 16, wherein the first control source arrangement faces downstream relative to the propagation path and the second control source arrangement faces upstream relative to the propagation path (col.3 ln.39-48; as shown in figure 4, loudspeakers #4a,4b may be located within the duct, and facing different directions, such as a downstream direction as indicated by loudspeaker #4b, and an upstream direction as indicated by loudspeaker #4a).
With respect to claim 19, Chaplin discloses the active acoustic control system according to claim 16, comprising an acoustic guide defining the propagation path (col.3 ln.10-16; duct #1 acts as an acoustic guide).
With respect to claim 20, Chaplin discloses the active acoustic control system according to claim 16, wherein the sensor arrangement includes one or more pressure sensors (fig.5 #3,7) and/or one or more accelerometers, and wherein the first control source arrangement and second control source arrangement comprise one or more loudspeakers (fig.5 #4a,4b) and/or one or more actuators.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaplin et al (US 4122303).
With respect to claim 14, Chaplin discloses the active acoustic control system according to claim 1; however does not disclose expressly a vehicle and/or a vehicle component, comprising the active acoustic control system according to claim 1.
Official Notice is taken that vehicles comprises fans with air ducts in the heating and cooling systems of the vehicle. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to use the active acoustic control system of Chaplin within an air duct of a heating and cooling system of a vehicle. The motivation for doing so would have been to attenuate noise generated by a fan of the heating and cooling system of the vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bai et al (US 20200090635 A1) discloses an active duct noise control system.
Goodman (US 5420932) discloses an active acoustic attenuation system.
Taki et al (US 5347585) discloses a sound attenuating system.
JASON R. KURR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2695
/JASON R KURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695