DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The claims filed on 10/15/2025 have been entered.
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8 are pending.
Claims 1 and 3-5 are currently amended.
Claims 6 and 8 are previously presented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
35 U.S.C 101
The prior rejection of claims 1, 3-6, and 8 as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more are withdrawn. The independent claims are deemed to recite additional elements which, when considered with the claims as a whole and in ordered combination, integrate the claims into a practical application under Step 2A Prong 2 of the subject matter eligibility framework by making it possible to construct, on the fly, an EPT payment terminal for which the software portion that processes the payment is associated with the device for providing the product or service, and the portion that deals with reading a contact-based or contactless means of payment is associated with the communicating object.
35 U.S.C. 102
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nuzum (US 2018/0365679 A1) in view of Hobson (US 2002/0133467 A1), further in view of Fontaine (US 2016/0132861 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nuzum discloses a method comprising:
establishing a transaction using a communicating object in order to implement provision of a product or service to a user, the course of which the communicating object receives a request containing data relating to the transaction from a device for providing the product or service or from a transaction control module associated with said device (see Fig. 1C, external data sensor switch function 165; para. 0074) wherein the communicating object implements the following:
in response to a reader being associated with the communicating object, reading identification data of a means of access to said service, using said reader (see para. 0087, 0131-0132, wherein the reader reads payment and/or identity instrument); and
transmitting the read identification data to the transaction control module in order to validate the transaction (see para. 0083-0085); and
Nuzum does not explicitly disclose, but Hobson teaches receiving from a transaction control module or from a device, a message asking whether a reader for reading a means of access to a service implementing said transaction is associated with the communicating object (see para. 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nuzum to include the feature taught by Hobson in order to detect presence of a card reader which can facilitate the secure exchange of consumer payment information between a merchant and a host system (see Hobson, para. 0012).
Nuzum does not explicitly disclose, but Fontaine teaches prior to said reading step, establishing mutual authentication between the reader associated with the communicating object and the transaction control module (para. 0091).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Nuzum to include the feature of Fontaine in order to increase security (see Fontaine, para. 0091).
Regarding claim 3, the combination as set forth with regards to the base claim teaches at the reader associated with the communicating object, during the establishing mutual authentication:
receiving, from the transaction control module, an identifier of said transaction control module, checking the validity of said identifier (see Fontaine, para. 0078, 0089-0091, wherein the secure communication involves exchange of certificates, encryption keys, etc.),
in response to said identifier being valid, transmitting an identifier of said reader to the transaction control module (see Fontaine, para. 0078, 0089-0091, wherein the secure communication involves exchange of certificates, encryption keys, etc.),
in response to the identifier of said reader having been recognized as valid by the transaction control module, mutually authenticating (S46) the reader and the transaction control module (see Fontaine, para. 0078, 0089-0091, wherein the secure communication involves exchange of certificates, encryption keys, etc.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination as set forth with regards to the base claim teaches at the reader associated with the communicating object, during the execution of said step of establishing mutual authentication:
transmitting an identifier of said reader to the transaction control module (see Fontaine, para. 0078, 0089-0091, wherein the secure communication involves exchange of certificates, encryption keys, etc.),
in response to the identifier of said reader having been recognized as valid by the transaction control module, receiving, from said transaction control module, a message containing an identifier of said transaction control module (see Fontaine, para. 0078, 0089-0091, wherein the secure communication involves exchange of certificates, encryption keys, etc.),
checking the validity of the identifier of said transaction control module (see Fontaine, para. 0078, 0089-0091, wherein the secure communication involves exchange of certificates, encryption keys, etc.),
in response to the identifier of said transaction control module being valid, mutually authenticating the reader and the transaction control module (see Fontaine, para. 0078, 0089-0091, wherein the secure communication involves exchange of certificates, encryption keys, etc.).
Regarding claim 5, Nuzum discloses wherein an identifier of the reader as well as an identifier of the transaction control module are transmitted using an encryption mechanism (see para. 0083, 0085, 0092, wherein EMV-compliant pPOS transmits terminal identification data, wherein the disclosed merchant identification, when communicated over the encrypted/secure interfaces described, constitute transmission of a transaction control module identifier using an encryption mechanism).
Regarding claims 6 and 8, the combination as set forth with regards to claim 1 teaches the communication object and non-transitory computer-readable medium with substantially similar limitations as recited in independent claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ballasteros (US 10,592,890 B2) discloses logic to perform a point of sale (POS) transaction as Card Present. Logic may communicate with a web site of an online vendor to process a payment to the online vendor as a certified POS device. Logic may communicate with a payment service provider associated with the online vendor to process the payment in response to communicating with the web site. Logic may interact with a card reader to obtain a packet to process the payment with a payment instrument to verify the presence of the payment instrument. Logic may encrypt communications to transmit an authorization request to the payment service provider to process the payment with encrypted communications via a secure element agent of the certified POS device, the authorization request to comprise the packet to verify that the payment instrument is present for the transaction. And logic may receive an approval of the authorization request for the payment.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC T WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693
ERIC WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3693