DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/711,384 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both discuss a conveyor belt module for a modular conveyor belt having an injection molded body that includes recycled PET (rPET)..
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 4 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of copending Application No. 18/711,384 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both discuss wherein the body includes at least 40 weight % of PET.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-3 and 5*6 respectively of copending Application No. 18/711,384. The claims at issue are identical.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 8 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9 and 10 respectively of copending Application No. 18/711,384. The claims at issue are identical.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 20 and 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 24 and 25 respectively of copending Application No. 18/711,384. The claims at issue are identical.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
See table below for comparison between claim limitations of the instant application 18/711,371 and copending Application 18/711,384.
18/711,371
18/711,384
1.A conveyor belt module for a modular conveyor belt having an injection molded body that includes recycled PET (rPET).
1.A conveyor belt module for a modular conveyor belt having an injection molded body that includes recycled PET (rPET) and/or virgin PET.
2.The conveyor belt module of claim 1, wherein the body is a solid body.
2. The conveyor belt module of claim 1, wherein the body is a solid body.
3.The conveyor belt module of claim 1, wherein the body comprises a top surface for supporting products to be transported, a bottom surface for sliding over a conveying track, and link elements at a front and rear of the body for coupling to a consecutive conveyor belt module.
3.The conveyor belt module of claim 1, wherein the body comprises a top surface for supporting products to be transported, a bottom surface for sliding over a conveying track, and link elements at a front and rear of the body for coupling to a consecutive conveyor belt module.
4.The conveyor belt module of claim 1 , wherein the body includes at least 40 weight % of rPET.
4.The conveyor belt module of claim 1 , wherein the body includes at least 40 weight % of PET.
5.The conveyor belt module of claim 1, wherein the material of the conveyor belt module has been molded to present a varying degree of crystallinity across its body.
5.The conveyor belt module of claim 1, wherein the material of the conveyor belt module has been molded to present a varying degree of crystallinity across its body.
6.The conveyor belt module of claim 5, wherein the body comprises a core having a relatively high average degree of crystallization, and an outer cover layer of a relatively low average degree of crystallization.
6.The conveyor belt module of claim 5, wherein the body comprises a core having a relatively high average degree of crystallization, and an outer cover layer of a relatively low average degree of crystallization.
8.The conveyor belt module of claim 6, wherein the outer cover layer has a minimum thickness of at least 1 mm, and/or an average thickness of at least 1.5 mm as measured perpendicular to its surface.
9. The conveyor belt module of claim 6, wherein the outer cover layer has a minimum thickness of at least 1 mm, and/or an average thickness of at least 1.5 mm as measured perpendicular to its surface.
9. The conveyor belt module of claim 6, wherein the core, at least a section thereof, extends between the link elements in a front-rear direction corresponding to a conveying direction.
10. The conveyor belt module of claim 6, wherein the core, at least a section thereof, extends between the link elements in a front-rear direction corresponding to a conveying direction.
20. A modular conveyor belt comprising a row of modules extending in conveying direction, wherein successive modules are hingedly coupled about an axis in or parallel to a conveying plane transversely to the conveying direction so that the modules can rotate relative to each other, said row of modules comprising one or more modules according to claim 1.
24. A modular conveyor belt comprising a row of modules extending in conveying direction, wherein successive modules are hingedly coupled about an axis in or parallel to a conveying plane transversely to the conveying direction so that the modules can rotate relative to each other, said row of modules comprising one or more modules according to claim 1.
21. A conveyor system including a modular conveyor belt according to claim 20, in which the conveyor belt modules are coupled to form an endless loop, and wherein a top run of the modular conveyor belt is arranged to circulate over a conveying track that extends in a conveying direction between return elements, and wherein a bottom run of the modular conveyor belt is arranged to circulate over a return track that extends in opposite direction between the return elements.
25. A conveyor system including a modular conveyor belt according to claim 20, in which the conveyor belt modules are coupled to form an endless loop, and wherein a top run of the modular conveyor belt is arranged to circulate over a conveying track that extends in a conveying direction between return elements, and wherein a bottom run of the modular conveyor belt is arranged to circulate over a return track that extends in opposite direction between the return elements.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the improper inclusion of reference characters in parenthesis. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 17, 20, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the coupling elements" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the link elements" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 20, 21 and 23 are unclear in the way they are written whether they are independent claims or dependent claims. If they are intended to be independent claims, they should include all the limitations of the claims they are referring to, without reference of another claim. If they are dependent, they should include the same preamble as the independent claim from which they depend.
Claim 23 combines two statutory classes, i.e. method and apparatus, in one claim. The combination of different statutory classes in one claim is improper, correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-13, 16-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cediel (United States Patent Application US 2003059567 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Cediel teaches A conveyor belt module for a modular conveyor belt (Paragraph 0002: " The present invention generally relates to conveyor belts and, more particularly, to modular conveyor belts formed of rows of plastic belt modules pivotally interlinked by transverse pivot rods. Preferably, the modules are of polymeric materials of microcellular foams including additives. Methods for the production of such modules are also described.")having an injection molded body that includes recycled PET (rPET).(Paragraph 0026: " The present modules of a microcellular foam are composed, at least in part, of any semi-crystalline polymeric resin including, but not limited to, the following materials: polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polylactic acid, nylon 6, nylon 6/6, polyethylene, polypropylene, syndiotactic polystyrene, polyacetal, and mixtures thereof. In certain cases, the semi-crystalline polymer may be blended with non-semicrystalline polymers. In preferred cases, the semi-crystalline resin is a polyolefinic material such as high-density polyethylene having a density of greater than about 0.94 g/cm<3>. In preferred cases, the weight percentage of high-density polyethylene is greater than 80% of the polymeric material, and more preferably greater than 90%. In a particularly preferred case the polymeric material consists essentially of high density polyethylene, that is, there is no other polymeric resin components other than high-density polyethylene.").
Regarding Claim 2, Cediel teaches the conveyor belt module of claim 1, as seen above. Cediel further discloses wherein the body is a solid body.(Figure 4: Body 60)
Regarding Claim 3, Cediel teaches the conveyor belt module of claim 1, as seen above. Cediel further discloses wherein the body comprises a top surface for supporting products to be transported, a bottom surface for sliding over a conveying track, and link elements at a front and rear of the body for coupling to a consecutive conveyor belt module.(Paragraph 0054: "The link ends 62 and 64 circumscribe corresponding aligned cylindrically shaped openings 76. The openings 76 receive pivot pins or rods (not shown) adapted to pivotally connect a plurality of the modules 12 in an end to end configuration while laterally aligning adjacent modules to form a modular conveyor belt (not shown). Preferably, the modules 12 are of link end configuration to be end-to-end reversible. In other words, either end of a module can mate with either end of any other link module.")
Regarding Claim 4, Cediel teaches the conveyor belt module of claim 1, as seen above. Cediel further discloses wherein the body includes at least 40 weight % of rPET.(Figure 3: Shows how entire module 12 is molded from the polymer)
Regarding Claim 5, Cediel teaches the conveyor belt module of claim 1, as seen above. Cediel further discloses wherein the material of the conveyor belt module has been molded to present a varying degree of crystallinity across its body.(Paragraph 0026: "The present modules of a microcellular foam are composed, at least in part, of any semi-crystalline polymeric resin including, but not limited to, the following materials: polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polylactic acid, nylon 6, nylon 6/6, polyethylene, polypropylene, syndiotactic polystyrene, polyacetal, and mixtures thereof. In certain cases, the semi-crystalline polymer may be blended with non-semicrystalline polymers. In preferred cases, the semi-crystalline resin is a polyolefinic material such as high-density polyethylene having a density of greater than about 0.94 g/cm<3>. In preferred cases, the weight percentage of high-density polyethylene is greater than 80% of the polymeric material, and more preferably greater than 90%. In a particularly preferred case the polymeric material consists essentially of high density polyethylene, that is, there is no other polymeric resin components other than high-density polyethylene.")
Regarding Claim 10, Cediel teaches the conveyor belt module of claim 1, as seen above. Cediel further discloses wherein the coupling elements are substantially amorphous and/or have a relatively low average degree of crystallization, less than 30%.(Paragraph 0008: "One embodiment of the present invention provides a method for forming a module for a modular conveyor belt, the module comprising a microcellular polymeric material. The method includes conveying a polymeric mixture through a polymer processing apparatus. The polymeric mixture comprises a semi-crystalline polymer and a nucleating agent present in an amount of about 2.5% to about 7%, by weight, of the polymeric material. At these concentrations, the nucleating agent effectively functions as a filler replacing solid polymeric material in a non-negligible amount.")
Regarding Claim 11, Cediel teaches the conveyor belt module of claim 1, as seen above. Cediel further discloses wherein rPET material of the body originates from recycled PET bottles.(Paragraph 0026: " The present modules of a microcellular foam are composed, at least in part, of any semi-crystalline polymeric resin including, but not limited to, the following materials: polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polylactic acid, nylon 6, nylon 6/6, polyethylene, polypropylene, syndiotactic polystyrene, polyacetal, and mixtures thereof. In certain cases, the semi-crystalline polymer may be blended with non-semicrystalline polymers. In preferred cases, the semi-crystalline resin is a polyolefinic material such as high-density polyethylene having a density of greater than about 0.94 g/cm<3>. In preferred cases, the weight percentage of high-density polyethylene is greater than 80% of the polymeric material, and more preferably greater than 90%. In a particularly preferred case the polymeric material consists essentially of high density polyethylene, that is, there is no other polymeric resin components other than high-density polyethylene.")
Regarding Claim 12, Cediel teaches the conveyor belt module of claim 11, as seen above. Cediel further discloses wherein the rPET material is processed without adding nucleating agent.(Paragraph 0023: "The main criteria for a suitable chemical blowing agent is that the temperature of decomposition lie within the processing temperature range of the polymeric resin. In addition, the rate of decomposition to gaseous products must not be too slow. It is also advantageous that the following conditions be fulfilled: the products of decomposition must not discolor the polymeric resin, the products of decomposition must not be corrosive, and the products of decomposition themselves should act as nucleating agents.")
Regarding Claim 13, Cediel teaches the conveyor belt module of claim 1, as seen above. Cediel further discloses wherein rPET material of the body is molded from rPET flakes(Paragraph 0036: "Typically, the polymeric material is gravity fed into polymer processing space 28 through orifice 34 from a standard hopper 36. The polymeric material is preferably in a pelletized form. Though the polymeric material can include a variety of semi-crystalline materials or blends thereof, preferably the polymeric material includes a polyolefin such as polypropylene and medium or high-density polyethylene.")
Regarding Claim 16, Cediel teaches the conveyor belt module of claim 1, as seen above. Cediel further discloses wherein the rPET material of the body includes fibers and/or copolymers.(Paragraph 0025: "Typically, the nucleating agents are particles, though in some cases they may be fibrous or have other forms. The nucleating particles can have a variety of shapes such as spherical, cylindrical, or planar. Generally, the particles have a size in the range of about 0.01 microns to about 10 microns, and more typically about 0.1 microns to about 1.0 microns. In some embodiments, the particles may be surface treated with a surfactant to enhance dispersibility within the polymeric melt and to prevent particle agglomeration.")
Regarding Claim 17, Cediel teaches the conveyor belt module of claim 1, as seen above. Cediel further discloses wherein the link elements extend outward from a central portion of the body, in a conveying direction at the front, and in opposite direction at the rear.(Figure 5: Link ends 62, 64)
Regarding Claim 18, Cediel teaches the conveyor belt module of claim 1, as seen above. Cediel further discloses wherein link elements are interspaced transversely to the conveying direction, such that link elements of successive modules may interdigitate.(Paragraph 0002: " The present invention generally relates to conveyor belts and, more particularly, to modular conveyor belts formed of rows of plastic belt modules pivotally interlinked by transverse pivot rods. Preferably, the modules are of polymeric materials of microcellular foams including additives. Methods for the production of such modules are also described.")
Regarding Claim 19, Cediel teaches the conveyor belt module of claim 1, as seen above. Cediel further discloses wherein link elements are provided with aligned hinge openings therein, so that successive modules may be coupled with hinge pins that extend transversely to the conveying directions.(Paragraph 0002: " The present invention generally relates to conveyor belts and, more particularly, to modular conveyor belts formed of rows of plastic belt modules pivotally interlinked by transverse pivot rods. Preferably, the modules are of polymeric materials of microcellular foams including additives. Methods for the production of such modules are also described.")
Regarding Claim 20, Cediel teaches A modular conveyor belt comprising a row of modules extending in conveying direction, wherein successive modules are hingedly coupled about an axis in or parallel to a conveying plane transversely to the conveying direction so that the modules can rotate relative to each other, said row of modules comprising one or more modules according to claim 1.(Paragraph 0002: " The present invention generally relates to conveyor belts and, more particularly, to modular conveyor belts formed of rows of plastic belt modules pivotally interlinked by transverse pivot rods. Preferably, the modules are of polymeric materials of microcellular foams including additives. Methods for the production of such modules are also described.")
Regarding Claim 21, Cediel teaches A conveyor system including a modular conveyor belt according to claim 20,in which the conveyor belt modules are coupled to form an endless loop, and wherein a top run of the modular conveyor belt is arranged to circulate over a conveying track that extends in a conveying direction between return elements,(Paragraph 0002: " The present invention generally relates to conveyor belts and, more particularly, to modular conveyor belts formed of rows of plastic belt modules pivotally interlinked by transverse pivot rods. Preferably, the modules are of polymeric materials of microcellular foams including additives. Methods for the production of such modules are also described.")and wherein a bottom run of the modular conveyor belt is arranged to circulate over a return track that extends in opposite direction between the return elements.(Paragraph 0004: "Because they do not corrode, are light weight, and are easy to clean, plastic modular conveyor belts are gaining increased usage in a wide range of industrial applications. Modular conveyor belts are built from molded plastic modular links, or modules, arranged side-by-side in rows of a selected width. A series of spaced apart link ends extending from each side of the modules include aligned openings that receive a pivot rod. The link ends along one end of a row of modules are interconnected with the link ends of an adjacent row. The pivot rod journaled in the aligned openings of the side-by-side and end-to-end connected modules form a hinge between adjacent rows. Rows of belt modules are connected together to form an endless conveyor belt capable of articulating about drive sprockets positioned at opposite ends of the conveying surface.")
Regarding Claim 23, Cediel teaches A method of manufacturing a conveyor belt module for a modular conveyor belt in accordance to claim 1, (Paragraph 0002: " The present invention generally relates to conveyor belts and, more particularly, to modular conveyor belts formed of rows of plastic belt modules pivotally interlinked by transverse pivot rods. Preferably, the modules are of polymeric materials of microcellular foams including additives. Methods for the production of such modules are also described.")the method comprising injecting recycled PET (rPET) in a mold cavity to form a body of the module.(Paragraph 0026: " The present modules of a microcellular foam are composed, at least in part, of any semi-crystalline polymeric resin including, but not limited to, the following materials: polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polylactic acid, nylon 6, nylon 6/6, polyethylene, polypropylene, syndiotactic polystyrene, polyacetal, and mixtures thereof. In certain cases, the semi-crystalline polymer may be blended with non-semicrystalline polymers. In preferred cases, the semi-crystalline resin is a polyolefinic material such as high-density polyethylene having a density of greater than about 0.94 g/cm<3>. In preferred cases, the weight percentage of high-density polyethylene is greater than 80% of the polymeric material, and more preferably greater than 90%. In a particularly preferred case the polymeric material consists essentially of high density polyethylene, that is, there is no other polymeric resin components other than high-density polyethylene.")
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 6-9, there is no prior art alone or in combination that included the combination of recited limitations in Claims 1, 5 and 6. The cart alone or in combination did not teach wherein the body comprises a core having a relatively high average degree of crystallization, and an outer cover layer of a relatively low average degree of crystallization. The closest prior art of record Cediel (United States Patent Application US 2003059567 A1) teaches a similar conveyor belt module for a modular conveyor belt having an injection molded body that includes recycled PET, wherein the material of the conveyor belt module has been molded to present a varying degree of crystallinity across its body, but fails to teach wherein the body comprises a core having a relatively high average degree of crystallization, and an outer cover layer of a relatively low average degree of crystallization. Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest these features in combination with other limitations in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
International Patent Application WO 2019/192958 A1 (Schellekens, Ronald): Schellekends teaches a similar modular conveyor belt comprising PET, and the process for preparing such modular conveyor belt.
International Patent Application WO 2004/063060 A1 (Lapeyre, Robert): Lapeyre teaches a similar modular plastic conveyor belt molded out of a hard thermoplastic material, as seen in Figure 1.
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651