DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following, the word “conner” in paragraphs [0006] and [0019] is assumed to be misspelling of the word “corner”. In paragraphs [0017] and [0064] “silicon” is being interpreted as “silicone” given the evidence in paragraph [0064] that this is a “synthetic resin”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following, “silicon” is being interpreted as “silicone” given the evidence in paragraph [0064] of the specification that this is a “synthetic resin”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US20140011070A1, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a degassing device (Kim, Fig.8, 150) for degassing of a pouch type secondary battery provided with an accommodation part (Kim, Fig.8, 116) in which an electrode assembly is accommodated, the degassing device comprising: a pressing part (Element A in figure below) provided to face one surface of the accommodation part and configured to press the accommodation part in a direction of the electrode assembly; and a fixing part (Element B in figure below) provided to surround an edge of the accommodation part and configured to apply negative pressure to a corner of the accommodation part and adsorb and fix the corner.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the degassing device of claim 1, wherein the fixing part (Element B in figure below) forms a vacuum between a region provided to face the corner of the accommodation part and the accommodation part. As shown above the fixing part comes into firm contact with the accommodation part inherently forming a vacuum.
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the degassing device of claim 1, wherein the fixing part comprises: a body part (Element C in figure below) disposed along the edge of the accommodation part; and an air passage part (Element D in figure below) provided in at least one region of the body part and configured to suction air around the corer of the accommodation part.
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the degassing device of claim 3, wherein, in the body part, one surface facing the accommodation part sf formed stepped to correspond to a shape of the accommodation part (See Element C in figure above).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the degassing device of claim 3, wherein the air passage part comprises: an air suction part (Element E in figure below) formed in a region provided to face the corner of the accommodation part and configured to suction the air around the corner of the accommodation part; and an air discharge part (Element F in figure below) communicated with the air suction part to form an air passage and configured to discharge the air introduced from the air suction part to the outside.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the degassing deice of claim 1, wherein the degassing device is disposed at at least one of an upper side or a lower side of the pouch type secondary battery (Kim, Fig.8, 150).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US20140011070A1, hereinafter Kim) in view of Grau et al (US20210336304A1, hereinafter Grau).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses all of claim 5 as shown above. However, Kim does not disclose the air suction part comprising a plurality of air suction holes. Grau discloses suction ducts which can be subjected to negative pressure from a vacuum pump in order to draw a pouch foil of a battery into a recess (Grau, [0054]). Grau discloses that this may serve two purposes, firstly to support the structure of the pouch foil and secondly to firmly fix the pouch foil (Grau, [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the degassing device of Kim and combine it with the suction fixing method of Grau to support the structure of the accommodation part of the Kim and to further firmly fix the accommodation part of Kim.
Regarding claim 7, modified Kim discloses all of claim 6 as shown above. However, modified Kim does not disclose the air suction holes having a diameter of 0.1 mm to 1 mm. However, the instant application does not disclose that 0.1 mm to 1 mm is a critical range of the invention. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to find optimal ranges for the diameter of the suction holes, including the claimed range, disclosed by modified Kim.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US20140011070A1, hereinafter Kim) in view of Ringk (US20190341583A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses all of claim 1 as shown above. However, Kim does not disclose a pad provided between the battery and the fixing part. Ringk discloses a diffusion barrier layer applied on a partial region of a battery that may be made out of a polymer material, particularly silicone (Ringk, [0039]). Ringk discloses that this barrier layer can be used to protect the layers below (Ringk, [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to take the degassing device of Kim and protect the battery being degassed by using the silicone partial layer disclosed by Ringk.
Regarding claim 9, modified Kim discloses all of claim 8 as shown above. Modified Kim also discloses a through hole in the pad part as this is equivalent to the diffusion barrier layer only covering a partial region (Ringk, [0039]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim discloses all of claim 8 as shown above. Modified Kim also discloses the material of the pad part comprising silicone (Ringk, [0039]).
Conclusion
/JOSHUA P BISTANY-RIEBMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721