DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/711,371 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both discuss a conveyor belt module for a modular conveyor belt having an injection molded body that includes recycled PET (rPET)..
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 4 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of copending Application No. 18/711,371 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both discuss wherein the body includes at least 40 weight % of PET.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-3 and 5-6 respectively of copending Application No. 18/711,371. The claims at issue are identical.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 9 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 and 9 respectively of copending Application No. 18/711,371. The claims at issue are identical.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 24 and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 20 and 21 respectively of copending Application No. 18/711,371. The claims at issue are identical.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
See table below for comparison between claim limitations of the instant application 18/711,384 and copending Application 18/711,371.
18/711,384
18/711,371
1.A conveyor belt module for a modular conveyor belt having an injection molded body that includes recycled PET (rPET) and/or virgin PET.
1.A conveyor belt module for a modular conveyor belt having an injection molded body that includes recycled PET (rPET).
2. The conveyor belt module of claim 1, wherein the body is a solid body.
2.The conveyor belt module of claim 1, wherein the body is a solid body.
3.The conveyor belt module of claim 1, wherein the body comprises a top surface for supporting products to be transported, a bottom surface for sliding over a conveying track, and link elements at a front and rear of the body for coupling to a consecutive conveyor belt module.
3.The conveyor belt module of claim 1, wherein the body comprises a top surface for supporting products to be transported, a bottom surface for sliding over a conveying track, and link elements at a front and rear of the body for coupling to a consecutive conveyor belt module.
4.The conveyor belt module of claim 1 , wherein the body includes at least 40 weight % of PET.
4.The conveyor belt module of claim 1 , wherein the body includes at least 40 weight % of rPET.
5.The conveyor belt module of claim 1, wherein the material of the conveyor belt module has been molded to present a varying degree of crystallinity across its body.
5.The conveyor belt module of claim 1, wherein the material of the conveyor belt module has been molded to present a varying degree of crystallinity across its body.
6.The conveyor belt module of claim 5, wherein the body comprises a core having a relatively high average degree of crystallization, and an outer cover layer of a relatively low average degree of crystallization.
6.The conveyor belt module of claim 5, wherein the body comprises a core having a relatively high average degree of crystallization, and an outer cover layer of a relatively low average degree of crystallization.
9. The conveyor belt module of claim 6, wherein the outer cover layer has a minimum thickness of at least 1 mm, and/or an average thickness of at least 1.5 mm as measured perpendicular to its surface.
8.The conveyor belt module of claim 6, wherein the outer cover layer has a minimum thickness of at least 1 mm, and/or an average thickness of at least 1.5 mm as measured perpendicular to its surface.
10. The conveyor belt module of claim 6, wherein the core, at least a section thereof, extends between the link elements in a front-rear direction corresponding to a conveying direction.
9. The conveyor belt module of claim 6, wherein the core, at least a section thereof, extends between the link elements in a front-rear direction corresponding to a conveying direction.
24. A modular conveyor belt comprising a row of modules extending in conveying direction, wherein successive modules are hingedly coupled about an axis in or parallel to a conveying plane transversely to the conveying direction so that the modules can rotate relative to each other, said row of modules comprising one or more modules according to claim 1.
20. A modular conveyor belt comprising a row of modules extending in conveying direction, wherein successive modules are hingedly coupled about an axis in or parallel to a conveying plane transversely to the conveying direction so that the modules can rotate relative to each other, said row of modules comprising one or more modules according to claim 1.
25. A conveyor system including a modular conveyor belt according to claim 20, in which the conveyor belt modules are coupled to form an endless loop, and wherein a top run of the modular conveyor belt is arranged to circulate over a conveying track that extends in a conveying direction between return elements, and wherein a bottom run of the modular conveyor belt is arranged to circulate over a return track that extends in opposite direction between the return elements.
21. A conveyor system including a modular conveyor belt according to claim 20, in which the conveyor belt modules are coupled to form an endless loop, and wherein a top run of the modular conveyor belt is arranged to circulate over a conveying track that extends in a conveying direction between return elements, and wherein a bottom run of the modular conveyor belt is arranged to circulate over a return track that extends in opposite direction between the return elements.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the improper inclusion of reference characters in parenthesis. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 13, 17, 18, 24, 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 24, 25 and 27 are unclear in the way they are written whether they are independent claims or dependent claims. If they are intended to be independent claims, they should include all the limitations of the claims they are referring to, without reference of another claim. If they are dependent, they should include the same preamble as the independent claim from which they depend.
Claim 27 combines two statutory classes, i.e. method and apparatus, in one claim. The combination of different statutory classes in one claim is improper, correction is required.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 12 recites the broad recitation “along a transverse direction”, and the claim also recites “in particular sideways” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 13 recites the broad recitation “the stiffener extends into one of the link elements”, and the claim also recites “in particular a central link element” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 17 recites the broad recitation “the stiffener is formed on a bottom side of the module”, and the claim also recites “in particular along a bottom face” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 18 recites the broad recitation “apart from the core and/or the stiffener, link elements are substantially amorphous and/or have a relatively low average degree of crystallization”, and the claim also recites “in particular compared to the core and/or the stiffener” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 27 recites the broad recitation “parts of the mold cavity are actively cooled to suppress crystallization, in particular at the link elements”, and the claim also recites “in particular to an average degree of crystallization of less than 10%.” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 24, 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cediel (United States Patent Application US 2003059567 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Cediel teaches A conveyor belt module for a modular conveyor belt (Paragraph 0002: " The present invention generally relates to conveyor belts and, more particularly, to modular conveyor belts formed of rows of plastic belt modules pivotally interlinked by transverse pivot rods. Preferably, the modules are of polymeric materials of microcellular foams including additives. Methods for the production of such modules are also described.")having an injection molded body that includes recycled PET (rPET) and/or virgin PET.(Paragraph 0026: " The present modules of a microcellular foam are composed, at least in part, of any semi-crystalline polymeric resin including, but not limited to, the following materials: polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polylactic acid, nylon 6, nylon 6/6, polyethylene, polypropylene, syndiotactic polystyrene, polyacetal, and mixtures thereof. In certain cases, the semi-crystalline polymer may be blended with non-semicrystalline polymers. In preferred cases, the semi-crystalline resin is a polyolefinic material such as high-density polyethylene having a density of greater than about 0.94 g/cm<3>. In preferred cases, the weight percentage of high-density polyethylene is greater than 80% of the polymeric material, and more preferably greater than 90%. In a particularly preferred case the polymeric material consists essentially of high density polyethylene, that is, there is no other polymeric resin components other than high-density polyethylene.").
Regarding Claim 2, Cediel teaches the conveyor belt module of claim 1, as seen above. Cediel further discloses wherein the body is a solid body.(Figure 4: Body 60)
Regarding Claim 3, Cediel teaches the conveyor belt module of claim 1, as seen above. Cediel further discloses wherein the body comprises a top surface for supporting products to be transported, a bottom surface for sliding over a conveying track, and link elements at a front and rear of the body for coupling to a consecutive conveyor belt module.(Paragraph 0054: "The link ends 62 and 64 circumscribe corresponding aligned cylindrically shaped openings 76. The openings 76 receive pivot pins or rods (not shown) adapted to pivotally connect a plurality of the modules 12 in an end to end configuration while laterally aligning adjacent modules to form a modular conveyor belt (not shown). Preferably, the modules 12 are of link end configuration to be end-to-end reversible. In other words, either end of a module can mate with either end of any other link module.")
Regarding Claim 4, Cediel teaches the conveyor belt module of claim 1, as seen above. Cediel further discloses wherein the body includes at least 40 weight % of PET.(Figure 3: Shows how entire module 12 is molded from the polymer)
Regarding Claim 5, Cediel teaches the conveyor belt module of claim 1, as seen above. Cediel further discloses wherein the material of the conveyor belt module has been molded to present a varying degree of crystallinity across its body.(Paragraph 0026: "The present modules of a microcellular foam are composed, at least in part, of any semi-crystalline polymeric resin including, but not limited to, the following materials: polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polylactic acid, nylon 6, nylon 6/6, polyethylene, polypropylene, syndiotactic polystyrene, polyacetal, and mixtures thereof. In certain cases, the semi-crystalline polymer may be blended with non-semicrystalline polymers. In preferred cases, the semi-crystalline resin is a polyolefinic material such as high-density polyethylene having a density of greater than about 0.94 g/cm<3>. In preferred cases, the weight percentage of high-density polyethylene is greater than 80% of the polymeric material, and more preferably greater than 90%. In a particularly preferred case the polymeric material consists essentially of high density polyethylene, that is, there is no other polymeric resin components other than high-density polyethylene.")
Regarding Claim 24, Cediel teaches A modular conveyor belt comprising a row of modules extending in conveying direction, wherein successive modules are hingedly coupled about an axis in or parallel to a conveying plane transversely to the conveying direction so that the modules can rotate relative to each other, said row of modules comprising one or more modules according to claim 1.(Paragraph 0002: " The present invention generally relates to conveyor belts and, more particularly, to modular conveyor belts formed of rows of plastic belt modules pivotally interlinked by transverse pivot rods. Preferably, the modules are of polymeric materials of microcellular foams including additives. Methods for the production of such modules are also described.")
Regarding Claim 25, Cediel teaches A conveyor system including a modular conveyor belt according to claim 20,in which the conveyor belt modules are coupled to form an endless loop, and wherein a top run of the modular conveyor belt is arranged to circulate over a conveying track that extends in a conveying direction between return elements,(Paragraph 0002: " The present invention generally relates to conveyor belts and, more particularly, to modular conveyor belts formed of rows of plastic belt modules pivotally interlinked by transverse pivot rods. Preferably, the modules are of polymeric materials of microcellular foams including additives. Methods for the production of such modules are also described.")and wherein a bottom run of the modular conveyor belt is arranged to circulate over a return track that extends in opposite direction between the return elements.(Paragraph 0004: "Because they do not corrode, are light weight, and are easy to clean, plastic modular conveyor belts are gaining increased usage in a wide range of industrial applications. Modular conveyor belts are built from molded plastic modular links, or modules, arranged side-by-side in rows of a selected width. A series of spaced apart link ends extending from each side of the modules include aligned openings that receive a pivot rod. The link ends along one end of a row of modules are interconnected with the link ends of an adjacent row. The pivot rod journaled in the aligned openings of the side-by-side and end-to-end connected modules form a hinge between adjacent rows. Rows of belt modules are connected together to form an endless conveyor belt capable of articulating about drive sprockets positioned at opposite ends of the conveying surface.")
Regarding Claim 27, Cediel teaches A method of manufacturing a conveyor belt module for a modular conveyor belt in accordance with claim 1, the method comprising injecting recycled PET (rPET) and/or virgin PET in a mold cavity to form a body of the module and wherein parts of the mold cavity are actively cooled to suppress crystallization, in particular at the link elements, in particular to an average degree of crystallization of less than 10%.(Paragraph 0039: "Temperature control units 40 are optionally positioned along injection barrel 24. Control units 40 can be electrical heaters, can include passageways for temperature control fluid, and the like and are used to heat the stream of pelletized or fluid polymeric material within the injection barrel. This helps to facilitate melting or effecting cooling the polymeric stream to control viscosity, skin formation and, in some cases, blowing agent solubility. The temperature control units 40 operate differently at different locations along the barrel. That is, they may heat at one or more locations and cool at one or more different locations. Any number of temperature control units can be provided.", wherein the melting and cooling can be controlled to controlled which would adjust the crystallization).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-14 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 6-14 and 16-18, there is no prior art alone or in combination that included the combination of recited limitations in Claims 1, 5 and 6. The cart alone or in combination did not teach wherein the body comprises a core having a relatively high average degree of crystallization, and an outer cover layer of a relatively low average degree of crystallization. The closest prior art of record Cediel (United States Patent Application US 2003059567 A1) teaches a similar conveyor belt module for a modular conveyor belt having an injection molded body that includes recycled PET, wherein the material of the conveyor belt module has been molded to present a varying degree of crystallinity across its body, but fails to teach wherein the body comprises a core having a relatively high average degree of crystallization, and an outer cover layer of a relatively low average degree of crystallization. Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest these features in combination with other limitations in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
International Patent Application WO 2019/192958 A1 (Schellekens, Ronald): Schellekends teaches a similar modular conveyor belt comprising PET, and the process for preparing such modular conveyor belt.
International Patent Application WO 2004/063060 A1 (Lapeyre, Robert): Lapeyre teaches a similar modular plastic conveyor belt molded out of a hard thermoplastic material, as seen in Figure 1.
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651