DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 06/25/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 04/02/2026. Claims 15, 21 and 25-28 have been amended. Claims 15-28 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/25/2026 with respect to Claims 15-28 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive/are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Argument:
Each of the independent claims - as amended - recites a key limitation that is not taught or suggested by Decker: when the condition is present, the secondary (or second) control unit provides substitute payloads not under the second sender identifier, but under the first sender identifier of the primary/first control unit, on behalf of the primary/first control unit. The second sender identifier is, in each claim, the identifier uniquely referring to the secondary control unit; the first sender identifier is the identifier uniquely referring to the primary control unit. The claims therefore require that, when the condition is present, the secondary control unit transmits substitute payloads under the identifier that uniquely refers to the primary control unit - rather than under the identifier that uniquely refers to itself - and does so on behalf of the primary control unit … This would render the first and second sender identifiers identical - directly contradicting the claim language, which requires them to be separate identifiers, each uniquely referring to a different control unit. Under either reading, Decker does not and cannot satisfy the dispositive limitation. Decker's "bumpless switchover" is accomplished not by having the secondary NIM transmit under the primary NIM's unique identifier, but rather by having both NIMs share address 127 from the outset, such that when the secondary NIM assumes mastership, it already holds address 127 and continues to use it - address 127 having never uniquely referred to the primary NIM at all.
Response: Examiner has greatly considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. In direct response to Decker not teaching/suggesting the amended limitation(s) “and providing, when the condition is present, substitute payloads not under the second sender identifier, but under the first sender identifier of the primary control unit, on behalf of the primary control unit, via the data transmission path, wherein the substitute payloads are the first payloads or payloads related thereto”, and to the statements “This would render the first and second sender identifiers identical - directly contradicting the claim language, which requires them to be separate identifiers, each uniquely referring to a different control unit. Under either reading, Decker does not and cannot satisfy the dispositive limitation,” Examiner instead introduces Webster, which teaches this feature, in combination with Decker.
Decker teaches redundant control arrangement, including a primary control unit and a secondary control unit that communicate via a single bus network on a system 200 (Fig. 2). Decker further teaches that the primary control unit and the secondary control units each have respective unique node addresses, 125 and 126 (¶0031), where the secondary control unit can monitor the operation of the primary control unit, and upon determining that the primary is no longer active/failed to initialize (¶0014), the secondary control unit can assume control of the bus in a “bump-less switchover” (¶0013).
Webster, on the other hand, teaches a redundant control arrangement, consisting of a primary controller and a standby controller, in which the primary controller is assigned a first network address (IP) and the standby controller is assigned a different network address (IP+1). When the controllers switch roles, in response to the failure of the primary controller, which represents the claimed condition, the network addresses are exchanged such that the new primary controller has the same network address as the former primary (standby) (¶0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Decker’s redundant control system, in combination with Webster, to show when the failure/failover condition is present, to substitute the necessary payloads under the first sender’s identifier of the primary control unit, on behalf of the primary control unit, and not under the secondary control unit’s second sender’s identifier, via the transmission path as claimed. This type of modification would maintain the network identity of the primary control unit during a failure/failover condition and still allow transparent/seamless transfer of control.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-19, 21, 24 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decker et al. (US 20110161538), Decker hereinafter, and further in view of Webster et al. (US 2010/0049871 A1), Webster hereinafter.
Re. Claim 15, Decker teaches a secondary control unit for a vehicle, configured for use with a primary control unit and a data transmission path, (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0026 - Distributed I/O system 200 includes both a primary NIM 202 and a redundant or secondary NIM 204. The primary NIM 202 and the secondary NIM 204 are both connected to and communicate via the single-bus network 106 on the backplane of the system 200);
wherein the primary control unit is configured to provide first payloads via the data transmission path under a first sender identifier uniquely referring to the primary control unit; (Fig. 3 & ¶0015 - … a first network interface module (NIM) coupled to the I/O module via a single bus network and adapted to convert the information provided from the I/O module to another format to be provided to an upstream controller, the first NIM adapted to serve as a primary master NIM on the bus; ¶0030 - Bus traffic may also include identification of the I/O modules, such as a CANopen module identification message sent from identifying I/O module 110 at event 310. ¶0031 - the primary NIM 202 and secondary NIM 204 each have two distinct addresses, i.e., a shared node address and a unique node address. If implemented according to the CANopen protocol … and the NIMs may also each have a unique node address, node address 125 and node address 126, respectively);
wherein the secondary control unit is configured to perform the following: providing second payloads, under a second sender identifier uniquely referring to the secondary control unit, via the data transmission path; (¶0015 - … and a second NIM coupled to the I/O module and the first NIM via the single bus network and adapted to convert the information provided from the I/O module to another format to be provided to an upstream controller, the second NIM adapted to serve as a secondary master NIM on the bus … ¶0030 - Bus traffic may also include identification of the I/O modules, such as a CANopen module identification message sent from identifying I/O module 110 at event 310. ¶0031 - the primary NIM 202 and secondary NIM 204 each have two distinct addresses, i.e., a shared node address and a unique node address. If implemented according to the CANopen protocol … and the NIMs may also each have a unique node address, node address 125 and node address 126, respectively);
verifying a condition; (¶0014 - a secondary NIM may initialize as the acting primary master NIM if the secondary NIM determines that a primary NIM has failed to initialize);
Yet, Decker does not explicitly teach and providing, when the condition is present, substitute payloads not under the second sender identifier, but under the first sender identifier of the primary control unit, on behalf of the primary control unit, via the data transmission path, wherein the substitute payloads are the first payloads or payloads related thereto.
However, in the analogous art, Webster explicitly teaches and providing, when the condition is present, substitute payloads not under the second sender identifier, but under the first sender identifier of the primary control unit, on behalf of the primary control unit, via the data transmission path, wherein the substitute payloads are the first payloads or payloads related thereto (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0023 - The primary programmable logic controller has a configured network address (typically equal to IP) and the standby programmable logic controller has another network address (typically equal to IP+1). In case of swap in system 200 (e.g., if a failure occurs in the primary programmable logic controller), the IP address of network adapters 205 and 207 are also swapped. ¶0024 - With an embodiment, the network adapter of the primary programmable logic controller is assigned network address=IP, and the network adapter of the secondary (standby) programmable logic controller is assigned network address=IP+1. If programmable logic controller 101 and programmable logic controller 103 switch (swap) modes (e.g., programmable logic controller 101 was primary and programmable logic controller 103 was secondary, and programmable logic controller 103 becomes primary and programmable logic controller 101 becomes secondary), the network address of the new primary is the same as the network address of the old primary).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Webster to the teaching of Decker. The motivation would be because aspects of the invention provide apparatuses, systems, and computer readable media for supporting redundant network management (Abstract, Webster).
Re. Claim 16, Decker and Webster teach Claim 15.
Decker further teaches the primary control unit is configured to receive first triggering information and to generate the first payloads based thereon, (Fig. 2-5 (Please see Fig. 3) & ¶0029 - According to the embodiment depicted, the primary NIM 202 initializes when it receives an external logical low signal at event 302, instructing it to initialize as the primary NIM on the bus. This external signal may come from a higher-order controller, such as a PLC or other device attached to NIM 202, as part of the distributed I/O system);
and wherein the secondary control unit is configured to receive second triggering information and to generate the substitute payloads based thereon (¶0030 - When the secondary NIM 204 sees a positive auto-address message upstream on the bus at event 304, the right NIM 204 passes the message to downstream I/O modules at event 306 and also knows to initialize itself as a secondary NIM on the bus at event 308. Alternatively, the secondary NIM 204 may initialize upon receipt of an external logical high signal, instructing it to boot-up as a secondary NIM on the bus. After initializing as the redundant NIM, secondary NIM 204 may listen to messages sent and received by the primary NIM 202 and the I/O modules … The redundant NIM 204 can forward traffic on the bus and may also save information contained in the messages (such as address information regarding the I/O modules) to keep a real time configuration file).
Re. Claim 17, Decker and Webster teach Claim 15.
Decker further teaches the secondary control unit is configured to detect first payloads provided under the first sender identifier via the data transmission path, (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0013 - Thus, if the primary NIM surrenders control, fails, or must be taken offline, the secondary NIM can immediately assume mastership of the system transparently to the I/O modules being controlled, i.e., a "bumpless switchover”. ¶0026 - Distributed I/O system 200 includes both a primary NIM 202 and a redundant or secondary NIM 204. The primary NIM 202 and the secondary NIM 204 are both connected to and communicate via the single-bus network 106 on the backplane of the system 200 … and the secondary NIM 204 also initializes as a secondary backplane master NIM, but in a secondary or standby mode, ready to assume mastership of the system 200 if the primary master NIM 202 fails. Please also see ¶0032);
and wherein the condition is based on an absence of first payloads provided under the first sender identifier via the data transmission path (¶0016 - … determining at the secondary NIM that the primary master NIM is no longer active; and (e) assuming mastership of the bus by the second NIM without resetting the system bus. Please also see ¶0014).
Re. Claim 18, Decker and Webster teach Claim 15.
Decker further teaches the secondary control unit has a separate data connection to the primary control unit and is configured to receive a signal from the primary control unit via the separate data connection, and wherein the condition is based on a reception of the signal by the secondary control unit (Fig. 2, 4 & ¶0027 - In addition, according to an embodiment of the invention, there may be a second communication link 208 between the primary NIM 202 and the redundant NIM 204. The second communication link 208 may be implemented using a network technology such as Ethernet and may be used for synchronization and other communication directly between the two NIMs 202 and 204 separate from the backplane network 106. ¶0034 - According to one embodiment, the primary NIM may send a message to the secondary NIM to cede control if the primary NIM knows it is going to be taken down. ¶0035 - … the CANopen or other protocol heartbeat message capability may be used to determine if a primary NIM is no longer available and a secondary NIM should assume the mastership of the bus).
Re. Claim 19, Decker and Webster teach Claim 15.
Decker further teaches the data transmission path includes at least one bus (Fig. 2 & ¶0024 - Network 106 may be implemented using any appropriate bus protocol, including the well-known CANopen protocol. Input/Output or I/O modules 110, 112, and 114 are also connected to the backplane bus 106 and are able to communicate with the NIM 102 over bus 106).
Re. Claim 21, Decker teaches a data communication network for a vehicle, comprising: (¶0003 - The present invention generally relates to distributed I/O systems in industrial automation networks);
at least one bus; (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0026 - Distributed I/O system 200 includes both a primary NIM 202 and a redundant or secondary NIM 204. The primary NIM 202 and the secondary NIM 204 are both connected to and communicate via the single-bus network 106 on the backplane of the system 200);
a primary control unit configured to provide first payloads on the at least one bus under a first sender identifier uniquely referring to the primary control unit; (Fig. 3 & ¶0015 - … a first network interface module (NIM) coupled to the I/O module via a single bus network and adapted to convert the information provided from the I/O module to another format to be provided to an upstream controller, the first NIM adapted to serve as a primary master NIM on the bus; ¶0030 - Bus traffic may also include identification of the I/O modules, such as a CANopen module identification message sent from identifying I/O module 110 at event 310. ¶0031 - the primary NIM 202 and secondary NIM 204 each have two distinct addresses, i.e., a shared node address and a unique node address. If implemented according to the CANopen protocol, the NIMs 202 and 204 may share NIM node address 127, and the NIMs may also each have a unique node address, node address 125 and node address 126, respectively);
a data transmission path; (¶0026 - Distributed I/O system 200 includes both a primary NIM 202 and a redundant or secondary NIM 204. The primary NIM 202 and the secondary NIM 204 are both connected to and communicate via the single-bus network 106 on the backplane of the system 200);
and a secondary control unit configured to perform the following: providing second payloads, under a second sender identifier uniquely referring to the secondary control unit, via the data transmission path; (¶0015 - … and a second NIM coupled to the I/O module and the first NIM via the single bus network and adapted to convert the information provided from the I/O module to another format to be provided to an upstream controller, the second NIM adapted to serve as a secondary master NIM on the bus … ¶0030 - Bus traffic may also include identification of the I/O modules, such as a CANopen module identification message sent from identifying I/O module 110 at event 310. ¶0031 - the primary NIM 202 and secondary NIM 204 each have two distinct addresses, i.e., a shared node address and a unique node address. If implemented according to the CANopen protocol, the NIMs 202 and 204 may share NIM node address 127, and the NIMs may also each have a unique node address, node address 125 and node address 126, respectively);
verifying a condition; (¶0014 - a secondary NIM may initialize as the acting primary master NIM if the secondary NIM determines that a primary NIM has failed to initialize);
Yet, Decker does not explicitly teach and providing, when the condition is present, substitute payloads not under the second sender identifier, but under the first sender identifier of the primary control unit, on behalf of the primary control unit, via the data transmission path, wherein the substitute payloads are the first payloads or payloads related thereto, wherein the data transmission path includes at least one bus.
However, in the analogous art, Webster explicitly teaches and providing, when the condition is present, substitute payloads not under the second sender identifier, but under the first sender identifier of the primary control unit, on behalf of the primary control unit, via the data transmission path, wherein the substitute payloads are the first payloads or payloads related thereto, wherein the data transmission path includes at least one bus (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0023 - The primary programmable logic controller has a configured network address (typically equal to IP) and the standby programmable logic controller has another network address (typically equal to IP+1). In case of swap in system 200 (e.g., if a failure occurs in the primary programmable logic controller), the IP address of network adapters 205 and 207 are also swapped. ¶0024 - With an embodiment, the network adapter of the primary programmable logic controller is assigned network address=IP, and the network adapter of the secondary (standby) programmable logic controller is assigned network address=IP+1. If programmable logic controller 101 and programmable logic controller 103 switch (swap) modes (e.g., programmable logic controller 101 was primary and programmable logic controller 103 was secondary, and programmable logic controller 103 becomes primary and programmable logic controller 101 becomes secondary), the network address of the new primary is the same as the network address of the old primary).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Webster to the teaching of Decker. The motivation would be because aspects of the invention provide apparatuses, systems, and computer readable media for supporting redundant network management (Abstract, Webster).
Re. Claim 24, Decker and Webster teach Claim 21.
Decker further teaches the condition includes one of the following: an internal error in the primary control unit, a failure of a power supply to the primary control unit, an error in a control of the primary control unit, and a failure of a sensor configured to send measurement data to the primary control unit to generate the first payloads (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0011 - The NIM also represents a single point of failure on a distributed island implemented on a single bus. If a NIM fails or needs to be removed and replaced, all of the I/O modules associated with the NIM stop working, and as a consequence, any automated components controlled by the I/O modules essentially become disconnected. ¶0013 - Thus, if the primary NIM surrenders control, fails, or must be taken offline, the secondary NIM can immediately assume mastership of the system transparently to the I/O modules being controlled, i.e., a "bumpless switchover". ¶0014 - a secondary NIM may initialize as the acting primary master NIM if the secondary NIM determines that a primary NIM has failed to initialize).
Re. Claim 26, Decker teaches a method for redundantly providing first payloads in a vehicle, (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0003 - distributed I/O systems in industrial automation networks. More specifically, the present invention relates to a method and system for implementing a redundant, standby master Network Interface Module on a single backplane bus in a distributed I/O system);
the method comprising: determining a condition, (¶0014 - a secondary NIM may initialize as the acting primary master NIM if the secondary NIM determines that a primary NIM has failed to initialize);
wherein the vehicle includes a data transmission path, (Fig. 2 & ¶0024 - Network 106 may be implemented using any appropriate bus protocol, including the well-known CANopen protocol. Input/Output or I/O modules 110, 112, and 114 are also connected to the backplane bus 106 and are able to communicate with the NIM 102 over bus 106);
a primary control unit configured to provide the first payloads under a first sender identifier uniquely referring to the primary control unit via the data transmission path, (Fig. 3 & ¶0015 - … a first network interface module (NIM) coupled to the I/O module via a single bus network and adapted to convert the information provided from the I/O module to another format to be provided to an upstream controller, the first NIM adapted to serve as a primary master NIM on the bus; ¶0030 - Bus traffic may also include identification of the I/O modules, such as a CANopen module identification message sent from identifying I/O module 110 at event 310. ¶0031 - the primary NIM 202 and secondary NIM 204 each have two distinct addresses, i.e., a shared node address and a unique node address. If implemented according to the CANopen protocol, the NIMs 202 and 204 may share NIM node address 127, and the NIMs may also each have a unique node address, node address 125 and node address 126, respectively);
and a secondary control unit configured to provide second payloads under a second sender identifier uniquely referring to the secondary control unit via the data transmission path; (¶0015 - … and a second NIM coupled to the I/O module and the first NIM via the single bus network and adapted to convert the information provided from the I/O module to another format to be provided to an upstream controller, the second NIM adapted to serve as a secondary master NIM on the bus … ¶0030 - Bus traffic may also include identification of the I/O modules, such as a CANopen module identification message sent from identifying I/O module 110 at event 310. ¶0031 - the primary NIM 202 and secondary NIM 204 each have two distinct addresses, i.e., a shared node address and a unique node address. If implemented according to the CANopen protocol, the NIMs 202 and 204 may share NIM node address 127, and the NIMs may also each have a unique node address, node address 125 and node address 126, respectively);
Yet, Decker does not explicitly teach and providing, when the condition is present, and by the secondary control unit, substitute payloads not under the second sender identifier, but under the first sender identifier of the primary control unit, on behalf of the primary control unit, via the data transmission path, wherein the substitute payloads are the first payloads or payloads related thereto.
However, in the analogous art, Webster explicitly teaches and providing, when the condition is present, and by the secondary control unit, substitute payloads not under the second sender identifier, but under the first sender identifier of the primary control unit, on behalf of the primary control unit, via the data transmission path, wherein the substitute payloads are the first payloads or payloads related thereto (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0023 - The primary programmable logic controller has a configured network address (typically equal to IP) and the standby programmable logic controller has another network address (typically equal to IP+1). In case of swap in system 200 (e.g., if a failure occurs in the primary programmable logic controller), the IP address of network adapters 205 and 207 are also swapped. ¶0024 - With an embodiment, the network adapter of the primary programmable logic controller is assigned network address=IP, and the network adapter of the secondary (standby) programmable logic controller is assigned network address=IP+1. If programmable logic controller 101 and programmable logic controller 103 switch (swap) modes (e.g., programmable logic controller 101 was primary and programmable logic controller 103 was secondary, and programmable logic controller 103 becomes primary and programmable logic controller 101 becomes secondary), the network address of the new primary is the same as the network address of the old primary).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Webster to the teaching of Decker. The motivation would be because aspects of the invention provide apparatuses, systems, and computer readable media for supporting redundant network management (Abstract, Webster).
Re. Claim 27, Decker teaches a method for setting up redundancy in a data communication network of a vehicle, (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0003 - distributed I/O systems in industrial automation networks. More specifically, the present invention relates to a method and system for implementing a redundant, standby master Network Interface Module on a single backplane bus in a distributed I/O system);
wherein the data communication network includes at least one bus, a first control unit configured to provide first payloads via the at least one bus under a first sender identifier uniquely referring to the first control unit, (Fig. 3 & ¶0015 - … a first network interface module (NIM) coupled to the I/O module via a single bus network and adapted to convert the information provided from the I/O module to another format to be provided to an upstream controller, the first NIM adapted to serve as a primary master NIM on the bus; ¶0026 - Distributed I/O system 200 includes both a primary NIM 202 and a redundant or secondary NIM 204. The primary NIM 202 and the secondary NIM 204 are both connected to and communicate via the single-bus network 106 on the backplane of the system 200. ¶0030 - Bus traffic may also include identification of the I/O modules, such as a CANopen module identification message sent from identifying I/O module 110 at event 310. ¶0031 - the primary NIM 202 and secondary NIM 204 each have two distinct addresses, i.e., a shared node address and a unique node address. If implemented according to the CANopen protocol, the NIMs 202 and 204 may share NIM node address 127, and the NIMs may also each have a unique node address, node address 125 and node address 126, respectively);
and a second control unit configured to provide second payloads via the at least one bus under a second sender identifier uniquely referring to the second control unit, the method comprising: (¶0015 - … and a second NIM coupled to the I/O module and the first NIM via the single bus network and adapted to convert the information provided from the I/O module to another format to be provided to an upstream controller, the second NIM adapted to serve as a secondary master NIM on the bus … ¶0026 - Distributed I/O system 200 includes both a primary NIM 202 and a redundant or secondary NIM 204. The primary NIM 202 and the secondary NIM 204 are both connected to and communicate via the single-bus network 106 on the backplane of the system 200. ¶0030 - Bus traffic may also include identification of the I/O modules, such as a CANopen module identification message sent from identifying I/O module 110 at event 310. ¶0031 - the primary NIM 202 and secondary NIM 204 each have two distinct addresses, i.e., a shared node address and a unique node address. If implemented according to the CANopen protocol, the NIMs 202 and 204 may share NIM node address 127, and the NIMs may also each have a unique node address, node address 125 and node address 126, respectively);
configuring the second control unit to verify a condition, (¶0014 - a secondary NIM may initialize as the acting primary master NIM if the secondary NIM determines that a primary NIM has failed to initialize);
Yet, Decker does not explicitly teach and, when the condition is present, to provide substitute payloads not under the second sender identifier of the second control unit, but under the first sender identifier of the first control unit, on behalf of the first control unit, via the at least one bus, wherein the substitute payloads are the first payloads or payloads related thereto.
However, in the analogous art, Webster explicitly teaches and, when the condition is present, to provide substitute payloads not under the second sender identifier of the second control unit, but under the first sender identifier of the first control unit, on behalf of the first control unit, via the at least one bus, wherein the substitute payloads are the first payloads or payloads related thereto (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0023 - The primary programmable logic controller has a configured network address (typically equal to IP) and the standby programmable logic controller has another network address (typically equal to IP+1). In case of swap in system 200 (e.g., if a failure occurs in the primary programmable logic controller), the IP address of network adapters 205 and 207 are also swapped. ¶0024 - With an embodiment, the network adapter of the primary programmable logic controller is assigned network address=IP, and the network adapter of the secondary (standby) programmable logic controller is assigned network address=IP+1. If programmable logic controller 101 and programmable logic controller 103 switch (swap) modes (e.g., programmable logic controller 101 was primary and programmable logic controller 103 was secondary, and programmable logic controller 103 becomes primary and programmable logic controller 101 becomes secondary), the network address of the new primary is the same as the network address of the old primary).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Webster to the teaching of Decker. The motivation would be because aspects of the invention provide apparatuses, systems, and computer readable media for supporting redundant network management (Abstract, Webster).
Re. Claim 28, Decker teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having a computer program, which is executable by a processor, comprising: a program code arrangement having program code for redundantly providing first payloads in a vehicle, by performing the following: (Fig. 1B (Please see ¶0025) & ¶0026 - aspects of the present invention provide a method and system for implementing a redundant NIM in a distributed control system, such as an industrial automation network);
determining a condition, (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0014 - a secondary NIM may initialize as the acting primary master NIM if the secondary NIM determines that a primary NIM has failed to initialize);
wherein the vehicle includes a data transmission path, (Fig. 2 & ¶0024 - Network 106 may be implemented using any appropriate bus protocol, including the well-known CANopen protocol. Input/Output or I/O modules 110, 112, and 114 are also connected to the backplane bus 106 and are able to communicate with the NIM 102 over bus 106);
a primary control unit configured to provide the first payloads under a first sender identifier uniquely referring to the primary control unit via the data transmission path, (Fig. 3 & ¶0015 - … a first network interface module (NIM) coupled to the I/O module via a single bus network and adapted to convert the information provided from the I/O module to another format to be provided to an upstream controller, the first NIM adapted to serve as a primary master NIM on the bus; ¶0030 - Bus traffic may also include identification of the I/O modules, such as a CANopen module identification message sent from identifying I/O module 110 at event 310. ¶0031 - the primary NIM 202 and secondary NIM 204 each have two distinct addresses, i.e., a shared node address and a unique node address. If implemented according to the CANopen protocol, the NIMs 202 and 204 may share NIM node address 127, and the NIMs may also each have a unique node address, node address 125 and node address 126, respectively);
and a secondary control unit configured to provide second payloads under a second sender identifier uniquely referring to the secondary control unit via the data transmission path; (¶0015 - … and a second NIM coupled to the I/O module and the first NIM via the single bus network and adapted to convert the information provided from the I/O module to another format to be provided to an upstream controller, the second NIM adapted to serve as a secondary master NIM on the bus … ¶0030 - Bus traffic may also include identification of the I/O modules, such as a CANopen module identification message sent from identifying I/O module 110 at event 310. ¶0031 - the primary NIM 202 and secondary NIM 204 each have two distinct addresses, i.e., a shared node address and a unique node address. If implemented according to the CANopen protocol, the NIMs 202 and 204 may share NIM node address 127, and the NIMs may also each have a unique node address, node address 125 and node address 126, respectively);
Yet, Decker does not explicitly teach and providing, when the condition is present, and by the secondary control unit, substitute payloads not under the second sender identifier, but under the first sender identifier of the primary control unit, on behalf of the primary control unit, via the data transmission path, wherein the substitute payloads are the first payloads or payloads related thereto.
However, in the analogous art, Webster explicitly teaches and providing, when the condition is present, and by the secondary control unit, substitute payloads not under the second sender identifier, but under the first sender identifier of the primary control unit, on behalf of the primary control unit, via the data transmission path, wherein the substitute payloads are the first payloads or payloads related thereto (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0023 - The primary programmable logic controller has a configured network address (typically equal to IP) and the standby programmable logic controller has another network address (typically equal to IP+1). In case of swap in system 200 (e.g., if a failure occurs in the primary programmable logic controller), the IP address of network adapters 205 and 207 are also swapped. ¶0024 - With an embodiment, the network adapter of the primary programmable logic controller is assigned network address=IP, and the network adapter of the secondary (standby) programmable logic controller is assigned network address=IP+1. If programmable logic controller 101 and programmable logic controller 103 switch (swap) modes (e.g., programmable logic controller 101 was primary and programmable logic controller 103 was secondary, and programmable logic controller 103 becomes primary and programmable logic controller 101 becomes secondary), the network address of the new primary is the same as the network address of the old primary).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Webster to the teaching of Decker. The motivation would be because aspects of the invention provide apparatuses, systems, and computer readable media for supporting redundant network management (Abstract, Webster).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decker and Webster, as applied to Claims 15-19, 21, 24 and 26-28 above, and further in view of Elend et al. (US 2022/0318178), Elend hereinafter.
Re. Claim 20, Decker and Webster teach Claim 19.
Yet, Decker and Webster do not explicitly teach the first sender identifier and the second sender identifier each include at least part of an identifier field according to a bus protocol.
However, in the analogous art, Elend explicitly teaches the first sender identifier and the second sender identifier each include at least part of an identifier field according to a bus protocol (Fig. 3-4A/4B & ¶0080 - CAN messages are broadcast messages and the identifier is unique to the sender CAN node. The CAN protocol controllers of the receiving CAN nodes have identifier filters that are “tuned” to certain identifiers to make sure that the host receives relevant messages and is not bothered with irrelevant messages).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Elend to the teachings of Decker and Webster. The motivation would be because the invention relates to controller area network device. In particular, one or more examples relates to a controller area network device that is configured to interface with a CAN transceiver (¶0001, Elend).
Claims 22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decker and Webster, as applied to Claims 15-19, 21, 24 and 26-28 above, and further in view of Bosch et al. (US 2022/0396276), Bosch hereinafter.
Re. Claim 22, Decker and Webster teach Claim 21.
Yet, Decker and Webster do not explicitly teach the primary control unit includes an electronic control unit for a first brake unit of the vehicle, and wherein the secondary control unit includes an electronic control unit for a second brake unit of the vehicle.
However, in the analogous art, Bosch explicitly teaches the primary control unit includes an electronic control unit for a first brake unit of the vehicle, and wherein the secondary control unit includes an electronic control unit for a second brake unit of the vehicle (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0028 - The equipment arrangement 1 includes a first brake system 2.1 and a second brake system 2.2, which are redundant to each other … The first brake system 2.1, the second brake system 2.2, and the first steering system 3.1 are connected to a first actuator bus COM1 and linked to a first automated drive controller ADC1. In addition, the first brake system 2.1 and the second steering system 3.2 are connected to a second actuator bus COM2 and linked to a second automated drive controller ADC2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Bosch to the teachings of Decker and Webster. The motivation would be because simple redundancy in automated driving control devices (ADC—automated drive controller) is known from the prior art (¶0002, Bosch).
Re. Claim 25, Decker teaches including: at least one bus; and a primary control unit configured to provide first payloads on the at least one bus under a first sender identifier uniquely referring to the primary control unit; (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0015 - … a first network interface module (NIM) coupled to the I/O module via a single bus network and adapted to convert the information provided from the I/O module to another format to be provided to an upstream controller, the first NIM adapted to serve as a primary master NIM on the bus; ¶0026 - Distributed I/O system 200 includes both a primary NIM 202 and a redundant or secondary NIM 204. The primary NIM 202 and the secondary NIM 204 are both connected to and communicate via the single-bus network 106 on the backplane of the system 200. ¶0030 - Bus traffic may also include identification of the I/O modules, such as a CANopen module identification message sent from identifying I/O module 110 at event 310. ¶0031 - the primary NIM 202 and secondary NIM 204 each have two distinct addresses, i.e., a shared node address and a unique node address. If implemented according to the CANopen protocol, the NIMs 202 and 204 may share NIM node address 127, and the NIMs may also each have a unique node address, node address 125 and node address 126, respectively);
a data transmission path; (¶0026 - Distributed I/O system 200 includes both a primary NIM 202 and a redundant or secondary NIM 204. The primary NIM 202 and the secondary NIM 204 are both connected to and communicate via the single-bus network 106 on the backplane of the system 200);
and a secondary control unit configured to perform the following: providing second payloads, under a second sender identifier uniquely referring to the secondary control unit, via the data transmission path; (¶0015 - … and a second NIM coupled to the I/O module and the first NIM via the single bus network and adapted to convert the information provided from the I/O module to another format to be provided to an upstream controller, the second NIM adapted to serve as a secondary master NIM on the bus … ¶0030 - Bus traffic may also include identification of the I/O modules, such as a CANopen module identification message sent from identifying I/O module 110 at event 310. ¶0031 - the primary NIM 202 and secondary NIM 204 each have two distinct addresses, i.e., a shared node address and a unique node address. If implemented according to the CANopen protocol, the NIMs 202 and 204 may share NIM node address 127, and the NIMs may also each have a unique node address, node address 125 and node address 126, respectively);
verifying a condition; (¶0014 - a secondary NIM may initialize as the acting primary master NIM if the secondary NIM determines that a primary NIM has failed to initialize);
wherein the data transmission path includes at least one bus (¶0026 - The primary NIM 202 and the secondary NIM 204 are both connected to and communicate via the single-bus network 106 on the backplane of the system 200);
Yet, Decker does not explicitly teach a commercial vehicle, comprising: a data communication network for a vehicle, and providing, when the condition is present, substitute payloads not under the second sender identifier, but under the first sender identifier of the primary control unit, on behalf of the primary control unit, via the data transmission path, wherein the substitute payloads are the first payloads or payloads related thereto,
However, in the analogous art, Webster explicitly teaches and providing, when the condition is present, substitute payloads not under the second sender identifier, but under the first sender identifier of the primary control unit, on behalf of the primary control unit, via the data transmission path, wherein the substitute payloads are the first payloads or payloads related thereto, (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0023 - The primary programmable logic controller has a configured network address (typically equal to IP) and the standby programmable logic controller has another network address (typically equal to IP+1). In case of swap in system 200 (e.g., if a failure occurs in the primary programmable logic controller), the IP address of network adapters 205 and 207 are also swapped. ¶0024 - With an embodiment, the network adapter of the primary programmable logic controller is assigned network address=IP, and the network adapter of the secondary (standby) programmable logic controller is assigned network address=IP+1. If programmable logic controller 101 and programmable logic controller 103 switch (swap) modes (e.g., programmable logic controller 101 was primary and programmable logic controller 103 was secondary, and programmable logic controller 103 becomes primary and programmable logic controller 101 becomes secondary), the network address of the new primary is the same as the network address of the old primary).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Webster to the teaching of Decker. The motivation would be because aspects of the invention provide apparatuses, systems, and computer readable media for supporting redundant network management (Abstract, Webster).
Yet, Decker and Webster do not explicitly teach a commercial vehicle, comprising: a data communication network for a vehicle,
However, in the analogous art, Bosch explicitly teaches a commercial vehicle, comprising: a data communication network for a vehicle (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0027 - FIG. 1 shows a schematic view of an equipment arrangement 1 for controlling the automated driving operation of a vehicle…);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Bosch to the teachings of Decker and Webster. The motivation would be because simple redundancy in automated driving control devices (ADC—automated drive controller) is known from the prior art (¶0002, Bosch).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decker and Webster, as applied to Claims 15-19, 21, 24 and 26-28 above, and further in view of Song et al. (US 2024/0248112), Song hereinafter.
Re. Claim 23, Decker and Webster teach Claim 21.
Decker further teaches the primary control unit is configured to receive first triggering information and to generate the first payloads based thereon, (Fig. 2-5 (Please see Fig. 3) & ¶0029 - According to the embodiment depicted, the primary NIM 202 initializes when it receives an external logical low signal at event 302, instructing it to initialize as the primary NIM on the bus. This external signal may come from a higher-order controller, such as a PLC or other device attached to NIM 202, as part of the distributed I/O system);
wherein the secondary control unit is configured to receive second triggering information and to generate the substitute payloads based thereon, (¶0030 - When the secondary NIM 204 sees a positive auto-address message upstream on the bus at event 304, the right NIM 204 passes the message to downstream I/O modules at event 306 and also knows to initialize itself as a secondary NIM on the bus at event 308. Alternatively, the secondary NIM 204 may initialize upon receipt of an external logical high signal, instructing it to boot-up as a secondary NIM on the bus. After initializing as the redundant NIM, secondary NIM 204 may listen to messages sent and received by the primary NIM 202 and the I/O modules … The redundant NIM 204 can forward traffic on the bus and may also save information contained in the messages (such as address information regarding the I/O modules) to keep a real time configuration file);
Yet, Decker and Webster do not explicitly teach and wherein the first triggering information are measured values of a first wheel speed sensor and the second triggering information are measured values of a second wheel speed sensor, wherein the first wheel speed sensor is different from the second wheel speed sensor, or the first wheel speed sensor is identical to the second wheel speed sensor.
However, in the analogous art, Song explicitly teaches and wherein the first triggering information are measured values of a first wheel speed sensor and the second triggering information are measured values of a second wheel speed sensor, wherein the first wheel speed sensor is different from the second wheel speed sensor, or the first wheel speed sensor is identical to the second wheel speed sensor (¶0004 - Among them, the wheel speed sensor is a key sensor that transmits the wheel speed signal of the vehicle, and most ECUs (Electronic Controller) utilize the detecting information of the wheel speed sensor. ¶0007 - … a first wheel speed sensor disposed inside the first sensor housing, and a first cable connected to a rear end of the first wheel speed sensor to transmit a detecting signal of the first wheel speed sensor to an electronic controller … a second wheel speed sensor disposed inside the second sensor housing, and a second cable connected to a rear end of the second wheel speed sensor to transmit a detecting signal of the second wheel speed sensor to an electronic controller …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Song to the teachings of Decker and Webster. The motivation would be because the invention relates to a wheel speed sensing device, and more particularly, to a wheel speed sensing device including a wheel speed sensor for detecting a rotation speed of a wheel of a vehicle (¶0002, Song).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465