DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“control unit”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "one mode". This limitation is unclear and confusing because is unclear how does the “one mode” refers to the previous mentioned mode.
Claim 23 recites the limitation " the end". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gariety et al. (US 20180216859), hereinafter referred to as Gariety.
Re claim 12, Gariety teaches an air-conditioning system, comprising:
an evaporator (e.g. 108);
an evaporator fan (e.g. ¶ 43, “A fan circulates an air flow over an evaporator coil of the evaporator 108”) assigned to the evaporator;
a condenser (e.g. 102);
a variable-speed condenser fan (e.g. 104) assigned to the condenser (e.g. ¶ 42, “Also, the condenser fan 104 may be a fixed speed or variable speed condenser fan”);
a variable-speed compressor (e.g. 101);
an expansion element (e.g. 106);
a control unit (e.g. 110);
a first temperature sensor (e.g. 118) assigned to the evaporator;
a second temperature sensor (e.g. 124) assigned to the condenser; and
a third temperature sensor (e.g. 116 or 120) configured to sense an actual temperature outside the air-conditioning system (e.g. ¶ 46, “an ambient temperature of air at the condenser 102 received from an ambient air temperature sensor 116” … “a return air temperature sensor 120”),
wherein the control unit is configured to process measured temperature values of the third temperature sensor with regard to a predeterminable temperature setpoint value (e.g. ¶ 44, “The controller 110 may receive, for example, a demand for cooling based upon a set point parameter from a thermostat or another controller, such as a system controller or a case controller associated with a refrigeration case that includes the evaporator 108”),
wherein the control unit is further configured to act in a regulating manner on the variable-speed condenser fan and/or the variable-speed compressor (e.g. ¶ 47, “For instance, during various modes of operation, the compressor 101 operates in a digital mode that controls the modulation percentage of the compressor 101”), such that the air-conditioning system runs in one mode of at least two different modes (e.g. ¶ 50, “whether the climate-control system 100 is operating within a first mode of operation or a second mode of operation”).
Re claim 14, Gariety teaches the air-conditioning system of claim 12, wherein the first temperature sensor is configured and arranged to sense temperature values in an area of the evaporator in which a phase change of a refrigerant in the evaporator occurs (inherent; ¶ 46, “an evaporator coil temperature sensor 118”).
Re claim 15, Gariety teaches the air-conditioning system of claim 12, wherein the second temperature sensor is configured and arranged to sense temperature values in an area of the condenser, in which a phase change of a refrigerant in the condenser occurs (inherent; ¶ 46, “a condenser coil temperature sensor 124”).
Re claim 16, Gariety teaches the air-conditioning system of claim 12, wherein the control unit is further configured to process measured temperature values of the first temperature sensor and of the second temperature sensor so as to obtain information about a pressure of a refrigerant in the evaporator and the condenser (inherent; ¶ 49, “The operating condition parameters (i.e., temperatures and pressures) may additionally or alternatively be calculated or derived based on other calculated, derived, or sensed data associated with the climate-control system 100”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gariety, in view of Official Notice.
Re claim 13, Gariety teaches the air-conditioning system of claim 12. Gariety does not teach the limitation of wherein the evaporator fan is a variable-speed evaporator fan, and wherein the control unit is further configured to act in a regulating manner on the variable-speed evaporator fan, such that the air-conditioning system runs in one mode. However, the examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that using a variable speed evaporator fan and a controller configured to regulate such, for the purpose of improving efficiency, falls within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Gariety and integrated wherein the evaporator fan is a variable-speed evaporator fan, and wherein the control unit is further configured to act in a regulating manner on the variable-speed evaporator fan, such that the air-conditioning system runs in one mode, for the purpose of improving efficiency.
Re claim 22, Gariety teaches the air-conditioning system of claim 12. Gariety does not teach the limitation of wherein in a silent mode, the control unit is further configured to act in a regulating manner on the evaporator fan and the variable-speed condenser fan such that fan performance of the variable-speed condenser fan and fan performance of the evaporator fan are each in a predeterminable minimum range, wherein in the silent mode, the control unit is further configured to act on the variable-speed compressor depending on a setpoint temperature and the measured temperature values of the third temperature sensor, and wherein in the silent mode, the control unit is further configured to reduce compression performance of the variable-speed compressor and/or increases the fan performance of the variable-speed condenser fan if the pressure of the refrigerant in the variable-speed compressor is above a limit value. However, the examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that using a silent mode and under such mode a controller configured to act in a regulating manner on the evaporator fan and the variable-speed condenser fan such that fan performance of the variable-speed condenser fan and fan performance of the evaporator fan are each in a predeterminable minimum range, wherein in the silent mode, the control unit is further configured to act on the variable-speed compressor depending on a setpoint temperature and the measured temperature values of the third temperature sensor, and wherein in the silent mode, the control unit is further configured to reduce compression performance of the variable-speed compressor and/or increases the fan performance of the variable-speed condenser fan if the pressure of the refrigerant in the variable-speed compressor is above a limit value, for the purpose of comfort, falls within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Gariety and integrated wherein in a silent mode, the control unit is further configured to act in a regulating manner on the evaporator fan and the variable-speed condenser fan such that fan performance of the variable-speed condenser fan and fan performance of the evaporator fan are each in a predeterminable minimum range, wherein in the silent mode, the control unit is further configured to act on the variable-speed compressor depending on a setpoint temperature and the measured temperature values of the third temperature sensor, and wherein in the silent mode, the control unit is further configured to reduce compression performance of the variable-speed compressor and/or increases the fan performance of the variable-speed condenser fan if the pressure of the refrigerant in the variable-speed compressor is above a limit value, for the purpose of improving comfort.
Re claim 23, Gariety teaches the air-conditioning system of claim 12. Gariety does not teach the limitation of wherein the air-conditioning system is configured to be connected to a rechargeable energy storage unit, wherein the control unit is further configured to determine an amount of energy stored in the energy storage unit, and wherein in an optimum accumulator operation mode, the control unit is further configured to act in a regulating manner on the evaporator fan and/or the variable-speed condenser fan and/or the variable-speed compressor based on a setpoint temperature which can be entered, the determined amount of energy, and a predeterminable running time, such that the air-conditioning system maintains the actual temperature within a predeterminable limit range until the end of the running time. However, the examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that using a rechargeable energy storage unit and a controller configured to determine an amount of energy stored in the energy storage unit, and an optimum accumulator operation mode, the control unit is further configured to act in a regulating manner on the evaporator fan and/or the variable-speed condenser fan and/or the variable-speed compressor based on a setpoint temperature which can be entered, the determined amount of energy, and a predeterminable running time, such that the air-conditioning system maintains the actual temperature within a predeterminable limit range until the end of the running time, for the purpose of improving efficiency, falls within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Gariety and integrated wherein the air-conditioning system is configured to be connected to a rechargeable energy storage unit, wherein the control unit is further configured to determine an amount of energy stored in the energy storage unit, and wherein in an optimum accumulator operation mode, the control unit is further configured to act in a regulating manner on the evaporator fan and/or the variable-speed condenser fan and/or the variable-speed compressor based on a setpoint temperature which can be entered, the determined amount of energy, and a predeterminable running time, such that the air-conditioning system maintains the actual temperature within a predeterminable limit range until the end of the running time, for the purpose of improving efficiency.
Re claim 24, Gariety teaches the air-conditioning system of claim 12. Gariety does not teach the limitation of wherein in a test mode, the control unit is further configured to act in a regulating manner on the variable-speed compressor such that a refrigerant in the evaporator has a predeterminable evaporator test pressure or a refrigerant in the condenser has a predeterminable condenser test pressure, wherein the control unit is further configured to determine a value of a current consumption of the variable-speed compressor, and wherein the control unit is further configured to derive information as to whether there is a loss of refrigerant based on the determined value of current consumption and stored data. However, the examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that using a test mode and under such mode a controller configured to act in a regulating manner on the variable-speed compressor such that a refrigerant in the evaporator has a predeterminable evaporator test pressure or a refrigerant in the condenser has a predeterminable condenser test pressure, wherein the control unit is further configured to determine a value of a current consumption of the variable-speed compressor, and wherein the control unit is further configured to derive information as to whether there is a loss of refrigerant based on the determined value of current consumption and stored data, for the purpose of improving efficiency, falls within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Gariety and integrated wherein in a test mode, the control unit is further configured to act in a regulating manner on the variable-speed compressor such that a refrigerant in the evaporator has a predeterminable evaporator test pressure or a refrigerant in the condenser has a predeterminable condenser test pressure, wherein the control unit is further configured to determine a value of a current consumption of the variable-speed compressor, and wherein the control unit is further configured to derive information as to whether there is a loss of refrigerant based on the determined value of current consumption and stored data, for the purpose of improving efficiency.
Re claim 25, Gariety teaches the air-conditioning system of claim 12. Gariety does not teach the limitation of wherein the control unit is further configured to evaluate measured temperature values of the second temperature sensor and determine whether a pressure of a refrigerant in the condenser is within a permissible pressure range based on the evaluated measured temperature values. However, the examiner takes Official Notice of the fact that using a controller configured to evaluate measured temperature values of the second temperature sensor and determine whether a pressure of a refrigerant in the condenser is within a permissible pressure range based on the evaluated measured temperature values, for the purpose of improving efficiency, falls within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Gariety and integrated wherein the control unit is further configured to evaluate measured temperature values of the second temperature sensor and determine whether a pressure of a refrigerant in the condenser is within a permissible pressure range based on the evaluated measured temperature values, for the purpose of improving efficiency.
Claim(s) 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gariety, in view of Lee (US 20210372679), hereinafter Lee.
Re claim 17-18, Gariety teaches the air-conditioning system of claim 12. Gariety does not teach the limitation of wherein in a minimum current consumption mode, the control unit is further configured to act in a regulating manner on the variable-speed condenser fan such that a pressure of a refrigerant in the condenser is in a minimum range; wherein in the minimum current consumption mode, the control unit is further configured to increase fan performance of the evaporator fan to reduce the pressure of the refrigerant in the condenser. However, Lee teaches an air-conditioning system comprising a mode wherein a control unit configured to act in a regulating manner on the variable-speed condenser fan such that a pressure of a refrigerant in the condenser is in a minimum range; wherein in the mode, the control unit is further configured to increase fan performance of the evaporator fan to reduce the pressure of the refrigerant in the condenser (see ¶ 120, “In more detail, the high pressure (HP) is adjusted by controlling the speed of the condenser fan (FN_C) [intersection (b) between (HP_t) and (FN_C)], and the low pressure (LP) is adjusted by controlling the speed of the evaporator fan (FN_E) [intersection (b) between (LP_t) and (FN_E)]”). Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Gariety and integrated wherein in a minimum current consumption mode, the control unit is further configured to act in a regulating manner on the variable-speed condenser fan such that a pressure of a refrigerant in the condenser is in a minimum range; wherein in the minimum current consumption mode, the control unit is further configured to increase fan performance of the evaporator fan to reduce the pressure of the refrigerant in the condenser, as taught by Lee, in order to improved efficiency.
Re claim 19-21, Gariety teaches the air-conditioning system of claim 12. Gariety does not teach the limitation of wherein in a minimum current consumption mode, the control unit is further configured to act in a regulating manner on the evaporator fan and/or the variable-speed condenser fan such that a pressure of a refrigerant in the evaporator is equal to a pressure of a refrigerant in the condenser within a predeterminable tolerance range; wherein in a minimum current consumption mode, the control unit is further configured to act in a regulating manner on the variable-speed condenser fan such that the pressure of the refrigerant in the condenser is in a minimum range; wherein in the minimum current consumption mode, the control unit is further configured to increase fan performance of the evaporator fan to reduce the pressure of the refrigerant in the condenser. However, Lee teaches an air-conditioning system comprising a mode wherein a control unit configured to act in a regulating manner on the evaporator fan and/or the variable-speed condenser fan such that a pressure of a refrigerant in the evaporator is equal to a pressure of a refrigerant in the condenser within a predeterminable tolerance range; wherein in a minimum current consumption mode, the control unit is further configured to act in a regulating manner on the variable-speed condenser fan such that the pressure of the refrigerant in the condenser is in a minimum range; wherein in the minimum current consumption mode, the control unit is further configured to increase fan performance of the evaporator fan to reduce the pressure of the refrigerant in the condenser (see ¶ 120, “In more detail, the high pressure (HP) is adjusted by controlling the speed of the condenser fan (FN_C) [intersection (b) between (HP_t) and (FN_C)], and the low pressure (LP) is adjusted by controlling the speed of the evaporator fan (FN_E) [intersection (b) between (LP_t) and (FN_E)]”). Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Gariety and integrated wherein in a minimum current consumption mode, the control unit is further configured to act in a regulating manner on the evaporator fan and/or the variable-speed condenser fan such that a pressure of a refrigerant in the evaporator is equal to a pressure of a refrigerant in the condenser within a predeterminable tolerance range; wherein in a minimum current consumption mode, the control unit is further configured to act in a regulating manner on the variable-speed condenser fan such that the pressure of the refrigerant in the condenser is in a minimum range; wherein in the minimum current consumption mode, the control unit is further configured to increase fan performance of the evaporator fan to reduce the pressure of the refrigerant in the condenser, as taught by Lee, in order to improved efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (see PTO-892).
/NELSON J NIEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 10/28/2025