DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: there should be a comma before the “and/or” in line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang et al. (US 2008/0166205) in view of Hagel et al. (US 20110142569).
With regard to claim 1, Chuang discloses a screw (4), comprising: a tipward shank section (42); a screw thread helix (424) that is disposed on the tipward shank section (as seen in Figs. 4, etc.), protrudes from the tipward shank section (as seen in Figs. 4, etc. they radially protrude therefrom), and winds around the tipward shank section (as seen in Figs. 4, etc. in a helical manner); and a rearward shank section (41) having a coupler (413), wherein a tensile load is introducible into the screw by the coupler (as seen in Figs. 4, etc. the structure of 413 is capable of such), and wherein the rearward shank section is without the screw head helix (as seen in figs. 4, etc. it does not have the screw thread helix 424 thereon); wherein the tipward shank section and the rearward shank section are non-monolithic with respect to one another (as seen in Figs. 4, etc. as they are separate/separable elements).
Chuang fails to disclose that the tipward shank section and the screw thread helix are non-monolithic with respect to one another.
Hagel discloses a screw (100) with a shank (104) having a tipward shank section (106) and a rearward shank section (e.g. 102 or the unthreaded portion at reference line 100 in Fig. 1a), the tipward shank portion having a screw thread helix (200), and the tipward shank section and the screw thread helix are non-monolithic with respect to one another (as seen in Figs. 1a, etc.).
It would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to have modified the device of Chuang such that the screw thread helix and the tipward shank section are non-monolithic as taught by Hagel. Such a modification would provide the expected result of providing a harder thread better able to penetrate hard materials (see Hagel para. [0024], etc.).
With regard to claim 11, the combination (Chuang) discloses that the coupler is a head (as seen in Figs. 4, etc.) or a screw thread.
With regard to claim 12, the combination (Chuang) discloses that the rearward shank section has a screw drive for rotationally coupling the screw to a wrench (as seen in Figs. 4, etc. the external hex structure of the head).
With regard to claim 13, the combination (Chuang) discloses that the screw drive is an external hex structure (as seen in Figs. 4, etc.) or an internal hex structure.
With regard to claim 14, the combination (Chuang) discloses that the rearward shank section, the screw thread helix and/or the tipward shank section consist of carbon steel or stainless steel (see paras. [0005], [0015], etc.).
With regard to claim 15, the combination discloses that the tipward shank section and the screw thread helix consist of respective different materials (as disclosed in Chuang paras. [0005], [0015], etc. and Hagel paras. [0035], etc. at least as the non-monolithic threads are disclosed as hardened, but also as they are separate elements they are at least different in that manner) and wherein the tipward shank section and the rearward shank section consist of a same material or respective different materials (i.e. as any two elements are by definition either the same or different material).
With regard to claim 16, the combination (Chuang) discloses that the rearward shank section and the tipward shank section are connected via a clamped, a welded, a brazed or/and a glued connection (as seen in Figs. 4-5, etc. as there is at least a small degree of interference fit therein which is a type of clamping).
With regard to claim 17, the combination discloses that the screw is a concrete tapping screw (Examiner notes that Chuang disclose a self-drilling/taping screw that would be capable of use on concrete (especially with the proposed modifications of the combination) and Hagel discloses a concrete taping screw (see para. [0024], etc.)).
With regard to claim 18, the combination is silent as to the exact ratio of an outer screw thread diameter of the screw thread helix to the pitch of the screw thread helix and thus fails to explicitly disclose that it is between 1 and 2 at least in a region of the screw thread helix. However the combination does disclose at least broadly similar values (see Figs. 4, etc. of Chuang and Figs. 1a, etc. of Hagel), and it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to have modified the screw of the combination such that ratio of an outer screw thread diameter of the screw thread helix to the pitch of the screw thread helix between 1 and 2 at least in a region of the screw thread helix as it is not considered inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation absent some showing of criticality. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). And/or as a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Such a modification would have merely provided the know results of tailoring the cutting and holding ability of the threads for various substrates/uses.
With regard to claim 19, the combination discloses a method of producing (e.g. at least in so much as how the thread is attached, how the screw is provided, etc.) a first screw according to claim 10 (as detailed in the rejection of claim 10 above); wherein the tipward shank section of the first screw is connected to the rearward shank section of the first screw (as seen in Chuang Figs. 4-5, etc.).
The combination appears to be silent to (and thus failing to explicitly disclose) the method of producing a second screw according to claim 10, wherein the tipward shank section of the second screw is connected to the rearward shank section of the second screw, wherein the tipward shank section of the first screw and the tipward shank section of the second screw have generally identical dimensions, and wherein the rearward shank section of the first screw and the rearward shank section of the second screw have respective different dimensions. However it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the method of the combination could be used to make any number of identical screws as Examiner takes Official Notice that the art is replete with examples of processes of making plural substantially identical devices (including screws and allowing for minor manufacturing tolerances). Such would provide the expected benefit of cost effective production, and would have a second screw according to claim 10, wherein the tipward shank section of the second screw is connected to the rearward shank section of the second screw, wherein the tipward shank section of the first screw and the tipward shank section of the second screw have generally identical dimensions (as they are identical/generally identical), and wherein the rearward shank section of the first screw and the rearward shank section of the second screw have respective different dimensions (Examiner notes that as Applicant has not defined which dimensions they are referring to Examiner has selected one or more that are in some way different in so much that it meets the claimed limitation and/or due to minor manufacturing tolerances). Additionally and/or alternatively it is not considered inventive to merely duplicate parts. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 10-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner’s Recommendations
In the interest of advancing prosecution Examiner recommends Applicant claim (in the independent claim) additional details such as the screw being a concrete tapping screw with a flat end, the rearward shank section being unthreaded, the different materials of the screw thread helix, tipward shank section, and rearward shank section, and how the connection between the rearward shank section and tipward shank section is welded, brazed or glued. Though it would require additional search and/or consideration to fully ascertain allowability if such were claimed with sufficient detail it is believed that prior art of record would be over and possibly result in an allowable independent claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS L FOSTER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675