DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
A new claim set was filed on 5/19/26 with the following:
Amended claims
1-2, 4, 6, 8-14 and 16
Newly canceled claims
Newly added claims
Previously canceled claims
Previously withdrawn claims
Claims under instant examination
1-18
Withdrawn Claim Objections/Rejections
The objections to claims 6 and 16 for minor informalities are hereby withdrawn in view of the claim amendments filed on 5/19/26.
The rejections of claims 2-7, 12, 16 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention are hereby withdrawn in view of the claim amendments filed on 5/19/26.
The rejections of:
claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-9, 11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by L’Oreal, (“White Perfect Original Fairness New-Skin Essence-Lotion”, CosDNA, http:www.cosdna.com/chs.cosmetic/6d5d219328.html, published: 1/21/16; in IDS dated 5/17/24) as evidenced by Google translate (obtained on 2/10/26) and Li (US 2019/0327963; published: 10/31/19);
claims 1-11, 13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuan et al. (CN 112675065; published: 4/20/21; in IDS dated 5/17/24), as evidenced by Eberting (US 2016/0184245; published: 6/30/16)
are hereby withdrawn in view of the claim amendments filed on 5/19/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Applicant' s claim amendments have necessitated the following new grounds of rejection.
Claim 3 is newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 3 recites a broader range (0.1-15 wt%) than the newly added range (3-15 wt%) recited in claim 1, which it depends on. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Modified and New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant' s claim amendments have necessitated the following modified and new grounds of rejection.
Claims 1-14 and 16-18 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (CN 112675065; published: 4/20/21; in IDS dated 5/17/24) as evidenced by Eberting (US 2016/0184245; published: 6/30/16; of record), in view of Garrison et al. (US 5,569,651; published: 10/29/96; of record).
The English language machine translation of CN 112675065 was provided previously. The passages cited below which indicate the teachings of the ‘065 publication are based on its English translation.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Yuan is directed to a body emulsion that can promote skin metabolism and achieve the effects of softening cutin and smoothing skin [Abstract].
Yuan teaches a body lotion comprising [p.2]:
Ingredient
Wt%
Instantly claimed ingredients (claim #’s)
glucono lactone
0.2% to 1.0%
lactobionic acid
0.1% to 1.5%*
Chelating agent (11, 13)
Glycolic acid
0.5% to 3%*
Hydroxy acid (1, 4-5, 16)
hydroxyethylpiperazine ethane sulfonic acid
0.1% to 1.0%
N-substituted aminosulfonic acid compound (1-3)
hydrogenated lecithin
0.5% to 1.5%
bisabolol
0.1% to 0.5%.
Yuan teaches that the abovementioned body lotion also comprises [p.3]:
Ingredient
Wt%
Instantly claimed ingredients (claim #’s)
glycerin
2% to 6%
1,3-butanediol
3% to 8%
xanthan gum
0.2% to 0.5%*
Hydrophilic thickener (8-10, 17)
polyquaternium salt 10
0.2%~0.4%
Tween-20
1.5%~3%
cetostearyl alcohol
0.1%~0.5%
diisopropyl adipate
2%~5%*
Penetration enhancer (1, 6-7)
octyldodecanol
1% ~4%
tocopherol acetate
0.3% ~ 1.5%
*The prior art ranges are completely within the claimed range (anticipation of ranges - see MPEP 2131.03-I).
It is noted that Lactobionic acid is a chelating agent, as evidenced by Eberting [0101].
Ascertainment of the Difference Between the Scope of the Prior Art and Claims
(MPEP §2141.012)
Yuan does not teach wherein the N-substituted aminosulfonic acid (e.g., hydroxyethylpiperazine ethane sulfonic acid) is present in an amount ranging from 3 wt% to 15 wt%, as required by instant claims 1 and 3. Examiner directs attention to the above 112d over claim 3. Claim 3 is included in the instant 103 because it depends from claim 1 and therefore, dependent claim 3 incorporates by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
Yuan does not teach wherein the chelating agent is selected from aminocarboxylic acids and salts thereof (e.g., ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid – EDTA), as required by instant claims 12 and 18. With regards to instant claim 14, Yuan teaches the abovementioned body lotion composition which contains all the claimed ingredients within the same concentration range, except that the chelating agent is a different species (lactobionic acid instead of, for example, EDTA).
However, EDTA is well known and routinely used in the prior art as a chelator in lotions [See Garrison: Example 1]. Garrison teaches a body lotion comprising Disodium EDTA as a chelator to sequester any discoloration causing metal ions [Example 1].
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding the concentration of the N-substituted aminosulfonic acid compound as specified in claims 1 and 3, MPEP 2144.05 states:
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Although Yuan states that the hydroxyethyl piperazine ethanesulfonic acid should be present in the body lotion in an amount ranging from 0.1-1.0% by weight [see Abstract], Yuan does not teach away from incorporating more. Furthermore, Yuan teaches that such body lotion promotes skin metabolism, softens cutin, smooths skin and ensures good stability and safety [see Abstract]. The Applicants' specification provides no evidence that the selected concentration range in claim 1 was not due to routine optimization and/or that the results should be considered unexpected compared to the prior art. Due to numerous physical/chemical/biological properties of various chemicals (e.g., upon application to the skin: skin metabolism, cutin softening, skin smoothing), it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these teachings and alter the concentration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to change the concentration as this could be expected to be advantageous for providing desirable biological properties upon topical application (e.g., skin metabolism, cutin softening, and skin smoothing).
Yuan and Garrison are both directed to body lotions. Based on these teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the invention was effectively filed, to modify the body lotion composition of Yuan by combining lactobionic acid and disodium EDTA to achieve the predictable result of obtaining a composition suitable for moisturization of the skin. The idea for combining compounds each of which is known to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a composition which is to be used for the same purpose, flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art. See In re Kerkhoven 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Thus, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (CN 112675065; published: 4/20/21; in IDS dated 5/17/24), as evidenced by Eberting (US 2016/0184245; published: 6/30/16; of record) in view of Garrison et al. (US 5,569,651; published: 10/29/96; of record) as applied to claims 1-14 and 16-18 above, and further in view of Rose Skin Co. (“4 Reasons Why You Need to Apply Body Lotion Every Day”, https://roseskinco.com/blogs/news/4-reasons-why-you-need-to-apply-body-lotion-every-day; published: 12/7/21; of record).
The English language machine translation of CN 112675065 is attached herein. The passages cited below which indicate the teachings of the ‘065 publication are based on its English translation.
As noted in the anticipation rejection above Yuan anticipates claims 1-11, 13 and 16-17 and so in anticipating these claims, said claims are also considered obvious under 35 USC 103 over Yuan for the reasons set forth below ("lack of novelty is the epitome of obviousness" May, 574 F.2d at 1089, 197 USPQ at 607 (citing In re Pearson, 494 F.2d 1399, 1402, 181 USPQ 641, 644 (CCPA 1974))).
Yuan, Eberting and Garrison make claims 1-14 and 16-18 obvious (see details in the rejection above).
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Yuan is directed to a body emulsion that can promote skin metabolism and achieve the effects of softening cutin and smoothing skin [Abstract].
Ascertainment of the Difference Between the Scope of the Prior Art and Claims
(MPEP §2141.012)
It is noted that Yuan teach a body lotion for skin care and therefore, it is implicitly taught that the body lotion for skin care is applied to the skin, as all body lotions are topically applied. In accordance with MPEP 2112, the express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference may be relied upon in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103. “The inherent teaching of a prior art reference, a question of fact, arises both in the context of anticipation and obviousness.”
Although Yuan teaches a body lotion for skin care, it does not specifically teach applying to the skin for a period of time and then rinsing the skin, as required by instant claim 15. However, such deficiency is cured by Rose Skin Co.
Rose Skin Co. teach that applying lotion every day can help replenish dry skin by locking in the skin’s moisture and can also work to protect your skin (See Section 1). Rose Skin Co. also state that many leading dermatologists recommend that everybody should be applying a good quality moisturizer (e.g., body lotion) every day, especially right after you get out of the bath and shower (See 2nd ¶ of introduction).
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Yuan and Rose Skin Co. are both directed to body lotions. Based on these teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the invention was effectively filed, to modify the method of caring for the skin of Yuan by applying the lotion to the skin daily after a bath or shower (i.e., the claimed rinsing step) to achieve the predictable result of obtaining a composition suitable for moisturization of the skin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Rose Skin Co. teach that it is advantageous to apply lotion and shower daily in order to replenish dry skin by locking in the skin’s moisture and furthermore, in order to protect the skin (See Section 1).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Thus, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with regard to the previously cited prior art are moot in view of the withdrawn claim rejections. To the extent that Applicants’ arguments are pertinent to the newly applied rejections, they are addressed as follows:
Applicants argue that Yuan does not disclose a composition containing from 3 wt% to 15 wt% relative to the total weight of the composition of a N-substituted aminosulfonic acid compound [Remarks: p. 8].
This is not found persuasive. In response, and as indicated in the above modified 103 rejection (see rejection for details), Yuan does not disclose such range but such was found prima facie obvious, especially in view of no teaching of criticality of such range in the instant specification and no teaching away in the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GENEVIEVE S ALLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617