Response to Arguments
In response to applicant’s response in IDSs, it is impractical for the examiner to review the references thoroughly with the number of references cited in this case because there are references that are hundreds of pages. Only a cursory review has been made of the cited references given the time limit.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument in pages 15-19, the applicant asserts that “Chen fails to teach each and every element recited in amended independent claim 1 and, hence, does not anticipate claim 1. Amended independent claim 1 is therefore allowable.” Examiner respectively disagrees.
The applicant further asserts that “Chen fails to disclose or suggest "wherein the sensing parameter field further comprises an I2R repetition sub-field, and the I2R repetition sub-field indicates a maximum number of a long training field (LTF) in the NDP frame corresponding to the I2R" as recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added).” Examiner respectively disagrees.
“During examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow." MPEP § 2111.01 (I) (citing to In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 1369, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
"Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment." MPEP 2111.01 (11) citing to Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
As indicated by par. 125, 128 of CHEN, “a repetition of the NDPs, a duration of the LTF of the NDP”, the duration of LTF is a range of time that shorter LTFs improve timing resolution but may be more sensitive to noise, while longer LTFs improve robustness at the cost of timing precision, and the duration is from 0 to the duration or the maximum of the duration for LTF in the NDP frame and repetition of NDP would indicating the repetition of the LTF of the NDP as further indicated by par. 65, 68 of LOPEZ et al. (US 20220286338), “legacy short training field (L-STF) of 8 μs duration, legacy long training field (L-LTF) of 8 μs duration, legacy signaling field (L-SIG) of 4 μs duration, repeated legacy signaling field (RL-SIG) of 4 μs duration”. Therefore, CHEN would indicate maximum number of LFT and teaches “wherein the sensing parameter field further comprises an I2R repetition sub-field, and the I2R repetition sub- field is used for indicating indicates a maximum number of a long training field (LFT) in the NDP frame corresponding to the I2R”.
The applicant further asserts in page 17 that “Chen fails to disclose or suggest "the sensing parameter field comprises a bandwidth sub-field indicating that a bearer bandwidth of a null data packet (NDP) frame corresponding to the initiator to a responder (I2R) is 320 MHz," as recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added).” Examiner respectively disagrees.
As indicated by par. 125, 128 of CHEN, “…there may be indication of an RU or RUs which will be transmitted…the configuration hold 1812 field indicates that the transmit configuration for the sensing packets, e.g., NDP PPDUs, should remain unchanged throughout a sensing session, which may improve the accuracy of the sensing measurements…” and as further indicated by par. 65, 66, “a HE or EHT frames may be configurable to have the same bandwidth as a channel… The bandwidth of a channel may be 20 MHz, 40 MHz, or 80 MHz, 80+80 MHz, 160 MHz, 160+160 MHz, 320 MHz, 320+320 MHz, 640 MHz bandwidths… An allocation of a bandwidth or a number of tones or sub-carriers may be termed a resource unit (RU) allocation”, the fields includes indication of the resource unit (RU), which is allocation of a bandwidth that includes 320 MHz. Therefore, CHEN teaches "the sensing parameter field comprises a bandwidth sub-field indicating that a bearer bandwidth of a null data packet (NDP) frame corresponding to the initiator to a responder (I2R) is 320 MHz,".
Therefore, CHEN teaches the claims.
The rejection is maintained.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statements, filed from 05/17/2024, 08/29/2024, and 03/04/2025 have been received, and entered into the record. However, it is impractical for the examiner to review the references thoroughly with the number of references cited in this case. By initializing each of the cited references on the accompanying 1449 forms, the examiner is merely acknowledging the submission of the cited references and indicating that only a cursory review has been made of the cited references.
MPEP § 2004.13 states: It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. Eliminate clearly irrelevant and marginally pertinent cumulative information. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant’s attention and/or are known to be of most significance. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aft'd, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (Sth Cir. 1973), cert, denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
Further, it should be noted that an applicant’s duty of disclosure of material and information is not satisfied by presenting a patent examiner with "a mountain of largely irrelevant material from which he is presumed to have been able, with his experience and with adequate time, to have found the critical [material]. It ignores the real world conditions under which examiners work." Rohm & Haas Co. v. Crystal Chemical co., 722 F.2d 1556, 1573 [220 USPQ 289] (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. Denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). Patent applicant has a duty not just to disclose pertinent prior art references but to make a disclosure in such a way as not to "bury" it within other disclosures of less relevant prior art; see Golden Valley Microwave Foods Inc. v. Weaver Popcorn Co. Inc., 24 USPQ2d 180i (N~D. Ind. 1992); Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 26 USPQ2d 1889, at 1899 (D.Del 1992); Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc. eta!., 175 USPQ 260, at 272 (S.D. FI. 1972).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHEN et al. (US 20210314732).
Regarding claims 1, 15, 17, CHEN et al. (US 20210314732) teaches a communication method, performed by an initiator for wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing (par. 128, The sensing initiator), and comprising:
determining a message frame (par. 128), wherein the message frame comprises a sensing parameter field (par. 128, sensing parameters element 1800), and the sensing parameter field comprises a bandwidth sub-field indicating that a bearer bandwidth of a null data packet (NDP) frame (par. 66, 125, 128, An allocation of a bandwidth or a number of tones or sub-carriers may be termed a resource unit (RU) allocation… there may be indication of an RU or RUs which will be transmitted…the configuration hold 1812 field indicates that the transmit configuration for the sensing packets, e.g., NDP PPDUs, should remain unchanged throughout a sensing session, which may improve the accuracy of the sensing measurements… The sensing parameters element 1800 may be included with the trigger frame 1700 and/or sending NDP announcement 1600) corresponding to the initiator to a responder (I2R) is 320 MHz (par. 66, 128, 320 MHz, 320+320 MHz); and
sending the message frame (par. 128, The sensing initiator and/or the sensing responder transmit the sensing parameters element 1800); wherein the sensing parameter field further comprises an I2R repetition sub-field (par. 125, 128), and the I2R repetition sub- field is used for indicating indicates a maximum number of a long training field (LFT) in the NDP frame corresponding to the I2R (par. 125, 128, a repetition of the NDPs, a duration of the LTF of the NDP).
Regarding claims 2, 18, CHEN et al. (US 20210314732) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the bandwidth sub-field further comprises at least one of:
an identification bit indicating that the bearer bandwidth of the NDP frame corresponding to the I2R is 160 MHz (par. 66, 125, 128, 160 MHz, 160+160 MHz…The sensing initiator and/or the sensing responder transmit the sensing parameters element 1800);
an identification bit indicating that the bearer bandwidth of the NDP frame corresponding to the I2R is 80 MHz (par. 66, 125, 128, 80 MHz, 80+80 MHz…The sensing initiator and/or the sensing responder transmit the sensing parameters element 1800);
an identification bit indicating that the bearer bandwidth of the NDP frame corresponding to the I2R is 40 MHz (par. 66, 125, 128, 40 MHz…The sensing initiator and/or the sensing responder transmit the sensing parameters element 1800); or
an identification bit indicating that the bearer bandwidth of the NDP frame corresponding to the I2R is 20 MHz (par. 66, 125, 128, 20 MHz…The sensing initiator and/or the sensing responder transmit the sensing parameters element 1800).
Regarding claim 19, CHEN et al. (US 20210314732) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the sensing parameter field further comprises an I2R repetition sub-field (par. 125, 128), and the I2R repetition sub- field is used for indicating indicates a maximum number of a long training field (LFT) comprised (LTF) in the NDP frame corresponding to the I2R (par. 125, 128, a repetition of the NDPs, a duration of the LTF of the NDP).
Regarding claims 5, 21, CHEN et al. (US 20210314732) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the message frame comprises a WLAN sensing parameter information element (IE) (fig. 18, par. 128), the WLAN sensing parameter IE comprises the sensing parameter field (fig. 18, par. 128); and the WLAN sensing parameter IE further comprises at least one of:
a field indicating an identification of the WLAN sensing parameter IE (fig. 18, par. 128, the Element ID 1804 field and, if present, the Element ID Extension 1808 field);
a field indicating a length of the WLAN sensing parameter IE (fig. 18, par. 128, The Length 1806 field indicates the number of octets in the sensing parameters element 1800 excluding the Element ID 1804 field and the Length 1806 fields);
a field indicating that the WLAN sensing parameter IE comprises a parameter required for a triggered-based (TB) sensing mode or a parameter required for a non-triggered-based (Non-TB) sensing mode (fig. 18, par. 128, the trigger frame 1700); or
a field indicating a parameter required for a TB sensing mode or a parameter required for a Non-TB sensing mode (fig. 18, par. 128, the trigger frame 1700).
Regarding claims 6, 22, CHEN et al. (US 20210314732) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the message frame is a WLAN sensing request frame (par. 128, sensing request frame).
Regarding claims 7, 16, CHEN et al. (US 20210314732) teaches a communication method, performed by a responder for wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing (par. 128, the sensing responder), and comprising:
determining a second message frame (par. 128), wherein the message frame comprises a sensing parameter field (par. 128, sensing parameters element 1800), and the sensing parameter field comprises a bandwidth sub-field indicating that a bearer bandwidth of a null data packet (NDP) frame (par. 66, 125, 128, An allocation of a bandwidth or a number of tones or sub-carriers may be termed a resource unit (RU) allocation… there may be indication of an RU or RUs which will be transmitted…the configuration hold 1812 field indicates that the transmit configuration for the sensing packets, e.g., NDP PPDUs, should remain unchanged throughout a sensing session, which may improve the accuracy of the sensing measurements… The sensing parameters element 1800 may be included with the trigger frame 1700 and/or sending NDP announcement 1600) corresponding to the responder to an initiator (R21) is 320 MHz (par. 66, 128, 320 MHz, 320+320 MHz); and
sending the message frame (par. 128, The sensing initiator and/or the sensing responder transmit the sensing parameters element 1800); wherein the sensing parameter field further comprises an I2R repetition sub-field (par. 125, 128), and the I2R repetition sub- field is used for indicating indicates a maximum number of a long training field (LFT) in the NDP frame corresponding to the I2R (par. 125, 128, a repetition of the NDPs, a duration of the LTF of the NDP).
Regarding claim 8, CHEN et al. (US 20210314732) teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the bandwidth sub-field further comprises at least one of:
an identification bit indicating that the bearer bandwidth of the NDP frame corresponding to the R2I is 160 MHz (par. 66, 125, 128, 160 MHz, 160+160 MHz…The sensing initiator and/or the sensing responder transmit the sensing parameters element 1800);
an identification bit indicating that the bearer bandwidth of the NDP frame corresponding to the R2I is 80 MHz (par. 66, 125, 128, 80 MHz, 80+80 MHz …The sensing initiator and/or the sensing responder transmit the sensing parameters element 1800);
an identification bit indicating that the bearer bandwidth of the NDP frame corresponding to the R2I is 40 MHz (par. 66, 125, 128, 40 MHz …The sensing initiator and/or the sensing responder transmit the sensing parameters element 1800); or
an identification bit indicating that the bearer bandwidth of the NDP frame corresponding to the R2I is 20 MHz (par. 66, 125, 128, 20 MHz…The sensing initiator and/or the sensing responder transmit the sensing parameters element 1800).
Regarding claim 11, CHEN et al. (US 20210314732) teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the second message frame comprises a WLAN sensing parameter information element (IE) (fig. 18, par. 128), the WLAN sensing parameter IE comprises the sensing parameter field (fig. 18, par. 128); and the WLAN sensing parameter IE further comprises at least one of:
a field indicating an identification of the WLAN sensing parameter IE (fig. 18, par. 128, the Element ID 1804 field and, if present, the Element ID Extension 1808 field);
a field indicating a length of the WLAN sensing parameter IE (fig. 18, par. 128, The Length 1806 field indicates the number of octets in the sensing parameters element 1800 excluding the Element ID 1804 field and the Length 1806 fields);
a field indicating that the WLAN sensing parameter IE comprises a parameter required for a triggered-based (TB) sensing mode or a parameter required for a non-triggered-based (Non-TB) sensing mode (fig. 18, par. 128, the trigger frame 1700); or
a field indicating a parameter required for a TB sensing mode or a parameter required for a Non-TB sensing mode (fig. 18, par. 128, the trigger frame 1700).
Regarding claim 12, CHEN et al. (US 20210314732) teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the second message frame is a WLAN sensing response frame (par. 128, the sensing responder transmit the sensing parameters element 1800).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 10, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al. (US 20210314732) in view of YU et al. (US 20230042842 with foreign app. CN 202010281486.6 filed on 04/10/2020).
Regarding claims 4, 20, CHEN et al. (US 20210314732) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the sensing parameter field further comprises at least one of:
an identification bit indicating a maximum number of a spatial stream (SS) used by the NDP frame corresponding to the I2R (par. 66, 67, 106, 108, 109, 110, 127, UL sensing packet 814.2. may be transmitted on different spatial streams of the same 20 MHz channel…The RUs may be in accordance with OFDMA and/or MU-MIMO with specifications for a channel and/or one or more spatial streams).
However, CHEN does not teach an identification bit indicating a maximum number of a spatial stream (SS) corresponding to the I2R with a bandwidth less than 80 MHz, and an identification bit indicating a maximum number of the SS corresponding to the I2R with the bandwidth greater than or equal to 80 MHz;
an identification bit indicating a maximum number of an SS corresponding to the I2R with a bandwidth less than 80 MHz, an identification bit indicating a maximum number of the SS corresponding to the I2R with the bandwidth greater than or equal to 80 MHz and less than 160 MHz, and an identification bit indicating a maximum number of the SS corresponding to the 12R with the bandwidth greater than or equal to 160 MHz; or
an identification bit indicating a maximum number of an SS and a maximum number of a space time stream (STS) corresponding to the I2R with a bandwidth less than 80 MHz, and an identification bit indicating a maximum number of the SS and a maximum number of the STS corresponding to the I2R with the bandwidth greater than or equal to 80 MHz.
But, YU et al. (US 20230042842) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches an identification bit indicating a maximum number of a spatial stream (SS) used by the frame corresponding to the I2R with a bandwidth less than 80 MHz, and an identification bit indicating a maximum number of the SS used by the frame corresponding to the I2R with the bandwidth greater than or equal to 80 MHz (par. 33, 83, 255, 256-260, the number of space-time streams indicated by the space-time stream number indication information is less than or equal to the number of space-time streams of a preset channel width value. The preset channel width value is 80 MHz or 160 MHz… when the channel width indication information indicates any one of 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz, 240 MHz, or 320 MHz, the number of space-time streams indicated by the space-time stream number indication information is 8);
an identification bit indicating a maximum number of an SS used by the frame corresponding to the I2R with a bandwidth less than 80 MHz, an identification bit indicating a maximum number of the SS used by the frame corresponding to the I2R with the bandwidth greater than or equal to 80 MHz and less than 160 MHz, and an identification bit indicating a maximum number of the SS used by the frame corresponding to the I2R with the bandwidth greater than or equal to 160 MHz (par. 33, 83, 255, 256-260, the number of space-time streams indicated by the space-time stream number indication information is less than or equal to the number of space-time streams of a preset channel width value. The preset channel width value is 80 MHz or 160 MHz… when the channel width indication information indicates any one of 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz, 240 MHz, or 320 MHz, the number of space-time streams indicated by the space-time stream number indication information is 8); or
an identification bit indicating a maximum number of an SS and a maximum number of a space time stream (STS) used by the frame corresponding to the I2R with a bandwidth less than 80 MHz, and an identification bit indicating a maximum number of the SS and a maximum number of the STS used by the frame corresponding to the I2R with the bandwidth greater than or equal to 80 MHz (par. 33, 83, 255, 256-260, the number of space-time streams indicated by the space-time stream number indication information is less than or equal to the number of space-time streams of a preset channel width value. The preset channel width value is 80 MHz or 160 MHz… when the channel width indication information indicates any one of 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz, 240 MHz, or 320 MHz, the number of space-time streams indicated by the space-time stream number indication information is 8).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by YU in the system of CHEN to indicate spatial stream used by the NDP frame.
The motivation would have been to perform a normal operating channel width and a normal number of space-time streams are reduced to cut power consumption. When a large amount of service traffic needs to be transmitted, a greater channel width and a greater number of space-time streams are restored.
Regarding claim 10, CHEN et al. (US 20210314732) teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the sensing parameter field further comprises at least one of:
an identification bit indicating a maximum number of a spatial stream (SS) used by the NDP frame corresponding to the I2R (par. 66, 67, 106, 108, 109, 110, 127, UL sensing packet 814.2. may be transmitted on different spatial streams of the same 20 MHz channel…The RUs may be in accordance with OFDMA and/or MU-MIMO with specifications for a channel and/or one or more spatial streams).
However, CHEN does not teach an identification bit indicating a maximum number of a spatial stream (SS) corresponding to the R2I with a bandwidth less than 80 MHz, and an identification bit indicating a maximum number of the SS corresponding to the R2I with the bandwidth greater than or equal to 80 MHz; an identification bit indicating a maximum number of an SS corresponding to the R2I with a bandwidth less than 80 MHz, an identification bit indicating a maximum number of the SS corresponding to the R2I with the bandwidth greater than or equal to 80 MHz and less than 160 MHz, and an identification bit indicating a maximum number of the SS corresponding to the R2I with the bandwidth greater than or equal to 160 MHz; or an identification bit indicating a maximum number of an SS and a maximum number of a space time stream (STS) corresponding to the R2I with a bandwidth less than 80 MHz, and an identification bit indicating a maximum number of the SS and a maximum number of the STS corresponding to the R2I with the bandwidth greater than or equal to 80 MHz.
But, YU et al. (US 20230042842) in a similar or same field of endeavor teaches an identification bit indicating a maximum number of a spatial stream (SS) used by the frame corresponding to the R2I with a bandwidth less than 80 MHz, and an identification bit indicating a maximum number of the SS used by the frame corresponding to the R2I with the bandwidth greater than or equal to 80 MHz (par. 33, 83, 255, 256-260, the number of space-time streams indicated by the space-time stream number indication information is less than or equal to the number of space-time streams of a preset channel width value. The preset channel width value is 80 MHz or 160 MHz… when the channel width indication information indicates any one of 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz, 240 MHz, or 320 MHz, the number of space-time streams indicated by the space-time stream number indication information is 8); an identification bit indicating a maximum number of an SS used by the frame corresponding to the R2I with a bandwidth less than 80 MHz, an identification bit indicating a maximum number of the SS used by the frame corresponding to the R2I with the bandwidth greater than or equal to 80 MHz and less than 160 MHz, and an identification bit indicating a maximum number of the SS used by the frame corresponding to the R2I with the bandwidth greater than or equal to 160 MHz (par. 33, 83, 255, 256-260, the number of space-time streams indicated by the space-time stream number indication information is less than or equal to the number of space-time streams of a preset channel width value. The preset channel width value is 80 MHz or 160 MHz… when the channel width indication information indicates any one of 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz, 240 MHz, or 320 MHz, the number of space-time streams indicated by the space-time stream number indication information is 8); or an identification bit indicating a maximum number of an SS and a maximum number of a space time stream (STS) used by the frame corresponding to the R2I with a bandwidth less than 80 MHz, and an identification bit indicating a maximum number of the SS and a maximum number of the STS used by the frame corresponding to the R2I with the bandwidth greater than or equal to 80 MHz (par. 33, 83, 255, 256-260, the number of space-time streams indicated by the space-time stream number indication information is less than or equal to the number of space-time streams of a preset channel width value. The preset channel width value is 80 MHz or 160 MHz… when the channel width indication information indicates any one of 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz, 240 MHz, or 320 MHz, the number of space-time streams indicated by the space-time stream number indication information is 8).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to implement the system or method as taught by YU in the system of CHEN to indicate spatial stream used by the NDP frame.
The motivation would have been to perform a normal operating channel width and a normal number of space-time streams are reduced to cut power consumption. When a large amount of service traffic needs to be transmitted, a greater channel width and a greater number of space-time streams are restored.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LOPEZ et al. (US 20220286338) teaches legacy short training field (L-STF) of 8 μs duration, legacy long training field (L-LTF) of 8 μs duration, legacy signaling field (L-SIG) of 4 μs duration, repeated legacy signaling field (RL-SIG) of 4 μs duration (par. 65, 68).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THINH D TRAN/for /Thinh Tran/, Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2466 08/31/2026