DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 9-20 in the reply filed on 1-5-26 is acknowledged. The attorney called the examiner on 1-29-26 to clarify the typo in the response to restriction requirement mailed 1-5-26.
Group 2, claim 21 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1-5-26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Flemming et al. US 2020/0269287 (US’287).
Regarding claim 9, US’287 teaches a cleaning device for cleaning at least one lens (a cleaning station for an optical element, abstract), the cleaning device comprising:
at least one cleaning station (cleaning station, see fig. 1, para. 63);
and at least one handling device for feeding the lens to the at least one cleaning station (Block piece 5 is used for transferring the lens through multiple process stations, holder 5 holds the optical element 3 and a first drive 7 rotates the optical element holder 5 during cleaning, the optical elements 3 may be auto-loaded when the optical element holder 5 is equipped with clamping means for cooperation with clamping portion C of the block piece B, block piece B in a machine or apparatus for processing of the lens, and to provide in particular for reliable and secure mounting to the processing equipment throughout the whole process, para. 58-79, 101, see fig. 1-3);
wherein the handling device has at least one rotatable holder for rotatable holding of the lens (holder 5 is rotatable by drive 7, see fig. 3, para. 72-75).
Regarding claim 10, US’287 teaches the cleaning device of claim 9. US’287 further teaches wherein the at least one handling device is operable to feed the lens from above or in a vertical direction (see fig. 1 and 3, para. 50 and 69).
Regarding claim 11, US’287 teaches the cleaning device of claim 9. US’287 further teaches wherein the at least one holder is movable in a vertical direction for lens specific location regulation or positioning of the lens (the holder is configured to be moved between processing stations and can be moved in any direction during processing, para. 58-79, 101, see fig. 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’287 as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Wang, Wang-heng CN 111359937 (CN’937) (translation provided used for citations).
Regarding claim 12, US’287 teaches the cleaning device of claim 9. US’287 further teaches the at least one handling device is configured to transfer the lens (block piece B for secure mounting to the processing equipment throughout the whole process, para. 58-66, see fig. 1-3)
US’287 does not teach wherein the at least one cleaning station comprises a plurality of cleaning stations arranged next to one another or behind each other in a direction.
CN’937 teaches a multifunctional VR glasses lens VR glasses technology field of cleaning device (abstract). The cleaning device provides batch cleaning of lenses by providing multiple cleaning stations where each performs a different cleaning operation, the first provides a brush cleaning the second provides a liquid spray and the third drying station. The lenses are moved by a conveyor belt adapted to carry lens holders. The motor drives the cleaner to clean the lens, sprayer fully washing the surface of the lens, and then drying by dryer, convenient multifunctional dust removing cleaning the surface of the lens, high cleaning efficiency, good cleaning effect, drives the lens to move by a conveyor belt. convenient for simultaneously cleaning the multiple lenses (page 2-4, fig. 1). Therefore, the device of US’287 can be modified to perform batch cleaning as taught by CN’937 to perform simultaneously cleaning of multiple lenses.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning device of US’287 to include wherein the at least one cleaning station comprises a plurality of cleaning stations arranged next to one another in a direction because CN’937 teaches that the configuration perform simultaneously cleaning of multiple lenses and use of known technique to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (C).
Regarding claim 13, the modified device of US’287 teaches the cleaning device of claim 12. The modified device of US’287 further teaches wherein the direction is a horizontal direction and the at least one handling device is configured to transfer the lens in the horizontal direction (the conveying belt moves the lenses through the stations horizontally as shown in fig. 1).
Regarding claims 14-15 and 17, the modified device of US’287 teaches the cleaning device of claim 12. The modified device of US’287 further teaches at least one handover device for the transfer of the lens between the cleaning stations, with regard to claim 14 and wherein the at least one handling device has a carriage that is adjustable or movable in the horizontal direction to transfer the lens in the horizontal direction, with regard to claim 15 and wherein the carriage transfer the lens in the horizontal direction selectively to one of the cleaning stations, with regard to claim 17 (conveyor belt 6 transports lens clamps 7 horizontally to deliver the lenses selectively to each cleaning station, fig. 1-3, page 4-5 of CN’937).
Regarding claims 18-20, US’287 teaches the cleaning device of claim 9.
US’287 does not teach wherein the at least one cleaning station has a rotatable brush as a cleaning member, with regard to claim 18, wherein the at least one cleaning station has exactly one rotatable brush as a cleaning member, with regard to claim 19 and wherein an axis of rotation of the brush is arranged horizontally and/or at least substantially perpendicular to an axis of rotation of the corresponding holder, with regard to claim 20.
CN’937 teaches a multifunctional VR glasses lens VR glasses technology field of cleaning device (abstract). The cleaning device provides batch cleaning of lenses by providing multiple cleaning stations where each performs a different cleaning operation, the first provides a brush cleaning the second provides a liquid spray and the third drying station. The motor drives the cleaner to clean the lens, sprayer fully washing the surface of the lens, and then drying by dryer, convenient multifunctional dust removing cleaning the surface of the lens, high cleaning efficiency, good cleaning effect, drives the lens to move by a conveyor belt, convenient for simultaneously cleaning the multiple lenses. The brush cleaning is performed with a round brush arranged perpendicular to the lens surface (page 2-4, fig. 1). Therefore, the device of US’287 can be modified to perform batch cleaning as taught by CN’937 to perform simultaneously cleaning of multiple lenses including removing dust with a brush before fluid cleaning.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning device of US’287 to include wherein the at least one cleaning station has a rotatable brush as a cleaning member, with regard to claim 18, wherein the at least one cleaning station has exactly one rotatable brush as a cleaning member, with regard to claim 19 and wherein an axis of rotation of the brush is arranged horizontally and/or at least substantially perpendicular or transversely to an axis of rotation of the corresponding holder, with regard to claim 20 because CN’937 teaches that the configuration perform simultaneously cleaning of multiple lenses and use of known technique to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (C).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’287 as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Schneider et al. US 2018/0059411 (US’411).
Regarding claim 16, US’287 teaches the cleaning device of claim 15.
US’287 does not teach wherein the carriage is adjustable or movable in the horizontal direction along a rail.
US’411 teaches an apparatus and a method for cleaning a lens with which the lens can selectively be fed by means of a common handling device to several cleaning devices and can be moved in a lens-specific manner during cleaning (abstract). The handling device 7 preferably has a rail 7D, which extends in the X direction and/or the arrangement direction of the cleaning devices 4, 5, 6 and/or holds and/or guides the gripping device 7A and/or the arm 7B and/or the slide 7C in particular in such a manner that the gripping device 7A, arm 7B or slide 7C can be moved or shifted by a motor (para. 57-58 and 133, see fig. 1 and 5). Therefore, US’411 teaches an alternative arrangement for the transporting of the lenses includes a rail.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of IS’411 to include wherein the carriage is adjustable or movable in the horizontal direction along a rail because US’411 teaches an alternative arrangement for the transporting of the lenses includes a rail and simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (B).
Conclusion
/ERIN F BERGNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713