Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “2-1”, “2-2”, “3-1”, and “3-2” in the limitation of the second and third repeating units. “2-1” will be interpreted as meaning repeating unit 2-component 1, and this interpretation will be applied similarly for “2-2”, “3-1”, and “3-2”. The examiner suggests that for clarity, these components be put in parentheses or relabeled, i.e. (2-1) or 2-a.
Claim 4 recites a molar ratio for the third repeating unit. This will be interpreted as being in relation to the whole of three listed repeat units of the copolymer composition.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,570,794 B2, hereafter ’794. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations in the application are clearly taught by '794.
Claim 9 of ‘794 differs from claim 1 of this application in that the reference claim does not recite 2-2 or 3-2 and recites the use of an organic filler. Nevertheless, the application’s claim falls within the scope of claim 1 of ‘794 and therefore the claims are not patently distinct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ren et al. (AU 2011231640 A1), hereafter referred to as Ren.
Regarding claim 1, Ren teaches a copolymer comprised of dicarboxylic acid component A, further comprised of components a2 and a1, and diol component B (pg. 20-21, lines 31-39, 1-6). Component a2 is preferentially comprised of terephthalic acid-based monomers, like terephthalic acid and/or dimethyl terephthalate, which read on the claimed first repeating unit (pg. 23, lines 6-9). Component a1 is selected from an aliphatic dicarboxylic acids, preferably adipic acid and ester-forming derivatives, which read on the claimed second repeating unit (pg. 22, lines 17-19, 35-37). Diol component B is selected from alkanediols, including 1,2-butanediol and 1,4-butanediol and mixtures of selected diols, which read on the claimed third repeating unit (pg. 23, lines 25, 30, 36).
Regarding claim 4, Ren teaches the copolymer discussed above (10), where the molar ratio between components A and B to be preferably from 0.6:1 to .99:1 (pg. 21, lines 16-17). This ratio correlates to component B comprising 50.5-62.5 mol% of the three claimed repeating units. Ren’s range overlaps with sufficient specificity to anticipate the claimed range. For more information, see MPEP § 2131.03.
Regarding claim 9, Ren teaches the copolymer discussed above (10), where the weight-average molecular weight ranges from 40 to 2500 kDa (pgs. 18, 31, lines 6-7, 37-38). Ren additionally teaches production example 10, using 1,4-butanediol, terephthalic acid, and adipic acid according to production example 1 (pgs. 39-40, lines 36-42, 1-9), where example 10’s produced copolymer has a weight-average molecular weight of 76.3 kDa (pg. 44, Table 3). Ren discloses a point within the claimed range, and so Ren anticipates the claim. For more information, see MPEP § 2131.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ren.
Regarding claim 3, Ren teaches the copolymer discussed above (10), where component A is preferably of a scheme where component a1 is 40-90 mol% and component a2 is 10-60 mol%, where the total molar percentages of the two components is 100% (pg. 21, lines 27-34). This would correlate to a ratio of a1:a2 or instant second repeating unit : instant first repeating unit being approximately 2:3 (.67:1) to 9:1. Ren’s range overlaps with sufficient specificity to anticipate the claimed range. For more information, see MPEP § 2131.03.
Alternatively, Ren’s disclosed range overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. For more information, see MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 7, Ren teaches the copolymer discussed above (10), where diol component B can be selected from taught suitable diols including 1,2-butanediol and 1,4-butanediol (pg. 23, lines 29-30). Ren teaches that these selected diols can also be used in mixture with each other (pg. 23, lines 36-38). This mixture would read on the instant’s third repeating unit comprised of 1,2-butanediol and 1,4-butanediol.
Alternatively, Ren teaches the mixture of suitable diols, including 1,2-butanediol and 1,4-butanediol. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine 1,2- and 1,4-butanediol, as they are recognized by the prior art as equivalents suitable for the same purpose (i.e. as alkanediols suitable for forming Ren’s polyester). It is prima facie obvious to combine equivalents known for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06(I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren.
Regarding claim 2, Ren teaches the copolymer discussed above (10), where component a1 can be selected from linear and branched 4 to 8 carbon aliphatic dicarboxylic acids (pg. 22, lines 17-19). Suitable dicarboxylic acids include 3-methylglutaric acid (p. 22, lines 24-25). 3-Methylglutaric acid and 3-methyladipic acid are homologs differing by the successive addition of the same chemical group, in this case a -CH2- group. Homologs are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties.
Additionally, Ren’s 3-methylglutaric acid and the claimed 3-adipic acid have similar utility in that both are employed as aliphatic dicarboxylic acid monomers used in combination with terephthalic acid and one or more additional diols including butanediol to form a polyester. Ren also teaches the selection of 1,2-butanediol as component B (pg. 23, lines 29-30).
A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties. See MPEP 2144.09.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Ren to select 3-methyladipic acid as a homolog of 3-methylglutaric acid, as the two species are expected to possess similar properties and have similar utility. Modification in this way, along with the inclusion of Ren’s 1,2-butanediol, reads on Claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, Ren teaches the copolymer discussed above (10), where component a1 can be selected from linear and branched 4 to 8 carbon aliphatic dicarboxylic acids (pg. 22, lines 17-19). 3-Methylglutaric acid and 3-methyladipic acid are homologs differing by the successive addition of the same chemical group, in this case a -CH2- group. Homologs are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties.
Additionally, Ren’s 3-methylglutaric acid and the claimed 3-adipic acid have similar utility in that both are employed as aliphatic dicarboxylic acid monomers used in combination with terephthalic acid and one or more additional diols including butanediol to form a polyester. While 3-methyladipic acid is not explicitly claimed, one of ordinary skill would see that a similar structure is contemplated in the taught 3-methylglutaric acid and it would be prima facie obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to employ 3-methyladipic acid in as a branched, ester-forming variant embodiment of the preferred embodiment (adipic acid) of the polymer component (pg. 22, lines 24-25, 28-32, 35-37).
Ren also teaches that mixtures can be made of at least one aliphatic dicarboxylic acid. The mixture of the 3-methyladipic acid and the adipic acid would have also been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ a grouping of similar aliphatic dicarboxylic acids, especially when one of the two is taught as particularly preferred (pg. 22, line 35).
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren as applied to claims 1, 5, and 7 above, and further in view of Garcia et al. (US 20200002487 A1), hereafter referred to as Garcia.
Regarding claim 6, Ren teaches the copolymer as discussed above (10), with an embodiment obvious to a person skilled in the art discussed in (25-27), relevant to claim 5. Briefly, the use of and combination of 3-methyladipic acid with adipic acid would be obvious to given Ren teaches the use of branched 4 to 8 carbon aliphatic dicarboxylic acids. Ren does not teach a ratio for these dicarboxylic acids.
Garcia teaches a polyester polymer comprised of a dicarboxylic acid comprised of 70-100 mol% of units derived from succinic acid (a1) and 3-20 mol% of dicarboxylic acid different from succinic acid (a2), with molar percentages relative to the total dicarboxylic acid component (pg. 1, [0009-0012]). The polymer is also comprised of a diol component, where 95-100 mol% of the total moles of diol are from 1,4-butanediol (b1), and 0-5 mol% from another saturated aliphatic diol different from 1,4-butanediol (pg. 1, [0013-0015]). Component a2 is taught to have adipic acid preferably selected as the 4 to 11 carbon saturated aliphatic dicarboxylic acid (pg. 2, [0045]). Garcia also teaches that the polyester includes aromatic dicarboxylic acids, preferably terephthalic acid (pg. 2, [0047]). Garcia does not teach the use of 3-methyladipic acid.
While Ren does not teach ratios for the mixture or combination dicarboxylic acids like adipic or 3-methyladipic acid, and while of Garcia teaches the use of succinic and adipic acid (pg. 2, [0045]), with the teachings of Ren in view of Garcia, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to employ Garcia’s taught ratios to other similar aliphatic dicarboxylic acids in the creation of a degradable polybutylene adipate terephthalate at ambient temperatures (pg. 8, [0137]).
Regarding claim 8, Ren teaches the copolymer as discussed above (10), with an embodiment obvious to a person skilled in the art discussed in (19), relevant to claim 7. Briefly, the use of and combination of 3-methyladipic acid with adipic acid would be obvious to given Ren teaches the use of branched 4 to 8 carbon aliphatic dicarboxylic acids. Ren does not teach a ratio for these dicarboxylic acids.
Garcia teaches a polyester polymer comprised of a dicarboxylic acid comprised of 70-100 mol% of units derived from succinic acid (a1) and 3-20 mol% of dicarboxylic acid different from succinic acid (a2), with molar percentages relative to the total dicarboxylic acid component (pg. 1, [0009-0012]). The polymer is also comprised of a diol component, where 95-100 mol% of the total moles of diol are from 1,4-butanediol (b1), and 0-5 mol% from another saturated aliphatic diol different from 1,4-butanediol (pg. 1, [0013-0015]). Component a2 is taught to have adipic acid preferably selected as the 4 to 11 carbon saturated aliphatic dicarboxylic acid (pg. 2, [0045]). Garcia also teaches that the polyester includes aromatic dicarboxylic acids, preferably terephthalic acid (pg. 2, [0047]).
While Ren does not teach ratios for the mixture or combination alkanediols like 1,4-butanediol or 1,2-butanediol, with the teachings of Ren in view of Garcia, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to employ Garcia’s taught ratios to other similar alkanediols in the creation of a degradable polybutylene adipate terephthalate (pg. 8, [0137]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Volker et al. (US 5889135 A) teaches a degradable thermoplastic polybutylene adipate terephthalate composition comprised of C2-C6 alkanediols.
Nishida et al. (JP 2005169815 A, machine translation) teaches a lactic acid-based resin comprised of terephthalic acid, 3-methyladipic acid, and 1,4-butanediol.
Tanaka et al. (US 20070203287 A1) teaches a lactic acid-based resin comprised of terephthalic acid, 3-methyladipic acid, and 1,4-butanediol.
Effenberger et al. (US 20090250831 A1) teaches a polycondensation product of terephthalic acid, 1,4-butanediol, 12-butanediol, and another dicarboxylic acid.
/ARMAN M. FARAZDAGHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762