DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-10, and 12-15 have been amended. Claims 1-15 are pending in the instant application.
Priority
This application is a national stage entry of PCT/EP2022/082382 filed on November 18, 2022, which claims priority filed on November 19, 2021, in EUROPE with No. 21315245.7.
Information Disclosure Statements
Applicants’ Information Disclosure Statement, filed on 05/17/2024, has been considered. Please refer to Applicant’s copy of the PTO-1449 submitted herewith.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-15 are under examination on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Specifically, claim 15 contains the phrase “the dispersion contains at least 1 ppm of solvent S2.”, wherein “solvent S2” is not defined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO2022/053002 A1 (“the `002 publication”) to Tang et al., which claims priority to Chinese Patent Application No. CN202111750, filed on September 10, 2021, evidenced by EP 3381923 B1 (“the `923 patent”).
Applicants’ claim 1 is drawn to a dry dispersion of ammonium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (NH4FSI) salt of formula (I):[F-SO2-N--SO2-F]-NH4+, wherein the NH4FSI salt is in a form of a solvate comprising: 50 to 99.9 wt.% of the NH4FSI salt, and 0.1 to 50 wt.% of solvent S2, which is selected from the group consisting of cyclic and acyclic ethers, wherein the dry dispersion comprises at least two particle size fractions, a small-size fraction and a large-size fraction.
Note: The term “free dispersion” is interpreted as a dispersion free from water in light of Applicants’ disclosure.
Example 2 of the `002 publication (col. 31, p.19 to col. 2, p.21) discloses a crystalized dry dispersion of ammonium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (NH4FSI) salt of formula (I):[F-SO2-N--SO2-F]-NH4+, wherein the NH4FSI salt is in a form of a solvate comprising: 79.9 to 80.5 wt.% of the NH4FSI salt, and 20.1 to 19.5 wt.% of solvent S2 of 1,4-dioxane, and a method for preparing the dry dispersion thereof.
The `002 publication is silent on the limitation “the dry dispersion comprises at least two particle size fractions, a small-size fraction and a large-size fraction”. However, the crystalized dry dispersions disclosed in Example 2 would comprise at least two particle size fractions, a small-size fraction and a large-size fraction as an naturally flew property because Example 2 of the `002 publication discloses a substantially similar method of preparing the dry dispersion of ammonium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (NH4FSI) salt with the one disclosed in Applicant’s EXAMPLES [0047-0048], wherein crude NH4FSI salt was crystallized in Solvent 1 (S1) of TFE, and Solvent 2 (S2) of 1,4-dioxane at 60 °C, and evaporated at 70 °C.
It has long been recognized that a product is inseparable from its properties. The claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255,195 USPQ at 433. Therefore, the `002 publication anticipates claims 1-5, and 9-11.
In terms of claims 6-8, the `002 publication is silent on the limitation of the shape of the dry dispersion. However, one ordinary skilled in the art would have known that the crystalized dry dispersions disclosed in Example 2 would comprise at least two particle size fractions, a small-size fraction and a large-size fraction because Example 2 of the `002 publication discloses a substantially similar method of preparing the dry dispersion of ammonium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (NH4FSI) salt with the one disclosed in Applicant’s EXAMPLES [0047-0048], wherein crude NH4FSI salt was crystallized in Solvent 1 (S1) of TFE, and Solvent 2 (S2) of 1,4-dioxane at 60 °C, and evaporated at 70 °C. Therefore, the shape of the dry dispersion would have been an inherited property of the dispersion disclosed by the `002 publication.
In terms of claim 12 drawn to a process for preparing a bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (MFSI) salt of formula (II):[F-SO2-N-SO2-F], M+ wherein M is selected from the group consisting of Li, Na and K, wherein the process comprises reacting the dry dispersion of ammonium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (NH4FSI) salt of formula (I) of claim 1 with a compound (C) selected from the group consisting of lithium compounds, sodium compounds and potassium compounds, the `002 publication (col. 8-15, p.2) discloses reacting the ammonium bis(fluorosulfonyl) imide with a lithium base to produce lithium bis (fluorosulfonyl) imide according to EP 3381923 B1 (“the `923 patent”).
In terms of claim 13 wherein the compound (C) is a lithium compound selected from the group consisting of lithium hydroxide LiOH, lithium hydroxide hydrate LiOH.H2O, lithium carbonate Li2CO3, lithium hydrogen carbonate LiHCO3, lithium chloride LiCl, lithium fluoride LiF, alkoxide compounds, alkyl lithium compounds, lithium acetate CH3COOLi, and lithium oxalate Li2C2O4, Example 3 of the `923 patent [0058-0059] teaches the lithium base is lithium hydroxide hydrate (LiOH·H2O).
In terms of claim 14, the `002 publication (col. 8-15, p.2) discloses reacting the ammonium bis(fluorosulfonyl) imide with a lithium base to produce lithium bis (fluorosulfonyl) imide according to EP 3381923 B1 (“the `923 patent”), wherein M is Li.
In terms of claim 15, Example 2 of the `002 publication (col. 31, p.19 to col. 2,p.21) discloses a crystalized dry dispersion of ammonium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (NH4FSI) salt of formula (I):[F-SO2-N--SO2-F]-NH4+, wherein the NH4FSI salt is in a form of a solvate comprising 79.9 to 80.5 wt.% of the NH4FSI salt, and 20.1 to 19.5 wt.% of solvent S2 of 1,4-dioxane, wherein of solvent S2 of 20.1 to 19.5 wt.% reads on the limitation “at least 1 ppm of solvent S2”.
Alternatively, claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 USC § 103(a) as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the `002 publication in view of the `923 patent.
Example 2 of the `002 publication (col. 31, p.19 to col. 2,p.21) discloses a crystalized dry dispersion of ammonium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (NH4FSI) salt of formula (I):[F-SO2-N--SO2-F]-NH4+, wherein the NH4FSI salt is in a form of a solvate comprising: 79.9 to 80.5 wt.% of the NH4FSI salt, and 20.1 to 19.5 wt.% of solvent S2 of 1,4-dioxane, and a method for preparing the dry dispersion thereof.
The difference between the instantly claimed dispersion and the dispersion of the `002 publication is that the `002 publication does not teach the limitation “the dry dispersion comprises at least two particle size fractions, a small-size fraction and a large-size fraction”.
However, one ordinary skilled in the art would have known that the crystalized dry dispersions disclosed in Example 2 would comprise at least two particle size fractions, a small-size fraction and a large-size fraction, because Example 2 of the `002 publication discloses a substantially similar method of preparing the dry dispersion of ammonium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (NH4FSI) salt with the one disclosed in Applicant’s EXAMPLES [0047-0048], wherein crude NH4FSI salt was crystallized in Solvent 1 (S1) of TFE, and Solvent 2 (S2) of 1,4-dioxane at 60 °C, and evaporated at 70 °C. It has long been recognized that a product is inseparable from its properties. The claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255,195 USPQ at 433. Therefore, the `002 publication reads on claims 1-5, and 9-11.
In terms of claims 6-8, the `002 publication is silent on the limitation of the shape of the dry dispersion. However, one skilled in the art would have known that the crystalized dry dispersions disclosed in Example 2 would comprise at least two particle size fractions, a small-size fraction and a large-size fraction because Example 2 of the `002 publication discloses a substantially similar method of preparing the dry dispersion of ammonium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (NH4FSI) salt with the one disclosed in Applicant’s EXAMPLES [0047-0048], wherein crude NH4FSI salt was crystallized in Solvent 1 (S1) of TFE, and Solvent 2 (S2) of 1,4-dioxane at 60 °C, and evaporated at 70 °C. In addition, the `923 patent [0046] discloses that a high-purity crystalline phase is the powder having a relatively large particle size and no dust is generated, the powder is suitable for use as a secondary battery electrolyte material having very good workability or flowability. One ordinary skilled in the art would have known such a powder having a relatively large particle size has sphere-like shape, and other shapes.
Therefore, the shape of the dry dispersion would have been either an inherited or obvious property of the dispersion disclosed by the `002 publication in view of the `923 patent.
In terms of claim 12 drawn to a process for preparing a bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (MFSI) salt of formula (II):[F-SO2-N-SO2-F], M+ wherein M is selected from the group consisting of Li, Na and K, wherein the process comprises reacting the dry dispersion of ammonium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (NH4FSI) salt of formula (I) of claim 1 with a compound (C) selected from the group consisting of lithium compounds, sodium compounds and potassium compounds, the `002 publication (col. 8-15, p.2) discloses reacting the ammonium bis(fluorosulfonyl) imide with a lithium base to produce lithium bis (fluorosulfonyl) imide according to EP 3381923 B1 (“the `923 patent”).
In terms of claim 13 wherein the compound (C) is a lithium compound selected from the group consisting of lithium hydroxide LiOH, lithium hydroxide hydrate LiOH.H2O, lithium carbonate Li2CO3, lithium hydrogen carbonate LiHCO3, lithium chloride LiCl, lithium fluoride LiF, alkoxide compounds, alkyl lithium compounds, lithium acetate CH3COOLi, and lithium oxalate Li2C2O4, Example 3 of the `923 patent [0058-0059] teaches the lithium base is lithium hydroxide hydrate (LiOH·H2O).
In terms of claim 14, the `002 publication (col. 8-15, p.2) discloses reacting the ammonium bis(fluorosulfonyl) imide with a lithium base to produce lithium bis (fluorosulfonyl) imide according to EP 3381923 B1 (“the `923 patent”), wherein M is Li.
In terms of claim 15, Example 2 of the `002 publication (col. 31, p.19 to col. 2,p.21) discloses a crystalized dry dispersion of ammonium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (NH4FSI) salt of formula (I):[F-SO2-N--SO2-F]-NH4+, wherein the NH4FSI salt is in a form of a solvate comprising 79.9 to 80.5 wt.% of the NH4FSI salt, and 20.1 to 19.5 wt.% of solvent S2 of 1,4-dioxane, wherein of solvent S2 of 20.1 to 19.5 wt.% reads on the limitation “at least 1 ppm of solvent S2”.
Conclusions
Claims 1-15 are rejected.
Telephone Inquiry
Status Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/YONG L CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731