Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedayat et al. (U.S. 2009/0278641 A1) in view of Herse et al. (U.S. 2021/0098980 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hedayat et al. disclose a cylinder actuator comprising two elements (112-114) mobile one relative to the other along an axis of movement (piston 114 and rod 112 reciprocating within cylinder barrel 110)(see paragraphs [0102]); and a position sensor (920) configured to measure the relative position of the two elements (sensors 920 sensing piston/rod position, see paragraph [0109]); the position sensor (920) comprising a multi-pole magnetic strip secured to a first of the two elements (under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the multiple magnets 202a/202b, ring magnets 908a, magnet assemblies with alternating polarity as in FIGS. 82–85 constitute a multi-pole magnetic strip, see [0110]); and a sensitive element sensitive to magnetic-field variations and secured to a second of the two elements (sensors 920 fixed to barrel or rod guide relative to the reciprocating magnets, see [0179]); the multi-pole magnetic strip having an alternation of north and south poles extending in an interval that defines a measurement range for the measurement of the relative position along the axis of movement (see FIG. 84 & [0125], magnets arranged with different magnetization orientations, including additive and opposing fields, see [0185]); the sensitive element being arranged in such a way as to detect variations in the magnetic field in the vicinity of the multi-pole magnetic strip along the axis of movement within the interval (see [0134]).
Hedayat et al. do not explicitly disclose a multi-pole strip implemented as a single magnetized band extending along the stroke.
Herse et al. disclose a multi-pole strip implemented as a single magnetized band extending along the stroke (see [0062], wherein a multipole magnetic strip used for position sensing).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to replace the uniform magnetization of Hedayat’s magnetic strip with the multipole alternating-pole magnetic encoding as taught by Herse, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Herse expressly teaches that such multipole encoding along the direction of motion provides significantly improved measurement linearity over uniformly magnetized strips while also simplifying manufacturing and reducing costs (see Herse’s [0024]; wherein multipole magnetic strips provide better linearity; detailing superior linearity, easier scale production, and lower manufacturing expense compared to conventional single-pole or broad-pole designs, see [0047]).
As to claim 2, Hedayat et al. & Herse et al. disclose the cylinder actuator as claimed in claim 1, wherein Hedayat et al. further disclose two elements being translationally mobile one with respect to the other, the axis of movement being an axis of translation (piston 114 and rod 112 translating within cylinder barrel 110, see paragraphs [0102]. Hedayat et al. also disclose a cylinder actuator comprising a cylinder body and a piston secured to a rod and mobile along the axis of translation with respect to the cylinder body (see paragraph [0103], BRI the piston and the multi-pole magnetic strip each having a circular cross section perpendicular to the axis of movement is met by the circular ring magnets 202a/202b, 908a and circular magnet-holder structures that inherently function as a multi-pole magnetic strip when arranged along the stroke direction, also see paragraph [0109]).
As to claim 3, Hedayat et al. & Herse et al. disclose the cylinder actuator as claimed in claim 2, wherein Hedayat et al. further disclose the multi-pole magnetic strip comprises an alternation of permanent magnets and of concentrators comprising a ferromagnetic material, the axes of the poles of the permanent magnets being parallel to the axis of translation, the axes of the poles being oriented in opposite directions in each pair of consecutive permanent magnets separated by a concentrator (see [0125], wherein the permanent magnets arranged in alternation and with different magnetization orientations, including radial, straight, axial, additive, and opposing configurations, BRI, these differing magnetization directions cause adjacent magnets to behave as an “alternation of permanent magnets.” The surrounding steel piston and rod structures disclosed by Hedayat, see paragraphs [0182], inherently serve as ferromagnetic concentrators because steel components inherently concentrate magnetic flux. Under BRI, the axes of the poles being parallel to the axis of translation is satisfied by the axial magnetization mode shown in FIG. 11D).
As to claim 4, Hedayat et al. & Herse et al. disclose the cylinder actuator as claimed in claim 3, wherein Hedayat et al. further disclose concentrators have a shape of which a dimension (e) parallel to the axis of translation increases with increasing proximity to the sensitive element (see paragraphs [0182] & FIG. 84, wherein the magnet-holder structures and piston geometries, that vary in thickness and shape relative to the sensors along the piston stroke. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, any geometric variation in the piston wall or the magnet holder that alters magnetic flux at different positions inherently functions as a concentrator whose dimension (e) parallel to the axis of translation increases with increasing proximity to the sensitive element because geometric thickening increases the local magnetic pathway and flux density as the magnet approaches the sensor).
As to claim 5, Hedayat et al. & Herse et al. disclose the cylinder actuator as claimed in claim 4, wherein Hedayat et al. further disclose for each concentrator, at a part of the concentrator that is furthest from the sensitive element, the dimension (e) parallel to the axis of translation remains constant with varying distance to the sensitive element (see paragraphs [0184] & FIG. 84), wherein the magnet-holder structures of generally constant thickness in portions away from the sensors (BRI), those constant-thickness regions inherently correspond to the claimed part of each concentrator where the dimension (e) parallel to the axis of translation remains constant with varying distance to the sensitive element, because constant thickness provides no change in flux concentration as the distance changes).
As to claim 6, Hedayat et al. & Herse et al. disclose the cylinder actuator as claimed in claim 2, wherein Hedayat et al. further disclose multi-pole magnetic strip comprises an alternation of permanent magnets, the axes of the poles of the permanent magnets being perpendicular to the axis of translation (see FIG. 11A; paragraphs [0125]; wherein the permanent magnets having poles perpendicular to the axis of translation in the radial magnetization configuration Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, arranging multiple radial magnets in sequence inherently forms a multi-pole magnetic strip with alternating pole directions oriented perpendicular to the axis of translation).
As to claim 7, Hedayat et al. & Herse et al. disclose the cylinder actuator as claimed in claim 3, wherein Hedayat et al. further disclose an additional concentrator, the sensitive element being arranged between the magnetic strip and the additional concentrator (see paragraphs [0179]; wherein the additional magnetic-field-influencing structures such as shields, wear bands, and magnet-holder elements positioned between the magnetic field source and the sensors Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these structures serve as an “additional concentrator,” and because sensor 920 is positioned between the magnets (e.g., 908a) and such shielding/wear-band structures).
As to claim 8, Hedayat et al. & Herse et al. disclose the cylinder actuator as claimed in claim 1, wherein Hedayat et al. further disclose first of the two elements comprises a cylinder body of the cylinder actuator, the second of the two elements comprising a piston and a rod which are secured to one another, the sensitive element being fixed to the piston, the cylinder actuator further comprising a telescopic connection arranged in a chamber of the cylinder actuator wherein in which chamber the piston moves (see paragraphs [0102]; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the sensitive element being fixed to the piston is satisfied by sensor housing 404 positioned adjacent to or supported by the piston region, see paragraph [0118]); and allowing transmission, from the sensitive element toward the cylinder body, of information relating to the magnetic-field variations detected by the sensitive element (see [0104]; under BRI, such structural transmission constitutes a telescopic connection arranged in the chamber transmitting magnetic-field-variation information from the sensitive element toward the cylinder body).
As to claim 9, Hedayat et al. & Herse et al. disclose the cylinder actuator as claimed in claim 8, wherein Hedayat et al. further disclose multi-pole magnetic strip, secured to the cylinder body, forms a liner into which the piston is closely fitted (see paragraphs [0182] & FIGS. 82–85; wherein the magnet assemblies positioned around the piston such that the magnet holders interface with the interior surface of the cylinder barrel Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this magnet holder structure secured to the cylinder body functions as a liner into which the piston is closely fitted, since the annular magnet holder defines the radial boundary through which the piston travels).
As to claim 10, Hedayat et al. & Herse et al. disclose the cylinder actuator as claimed in claim 8, wherein Hedayat et al. further disclose rod of the cylinder actuator comprises a hollow internal space extending along the axis of movement and wherein the magnetic strip is formed on a finger secured to the cylinder body, the finger being arranged inside the hollow internal space (see paragraphs [0118] & FIGS. 16–23); wherein the rods comprising hollow regions, bores, or pockets for magnet insertion and internal component mounting Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these bores constitute a hollow internal space extending along the axis of movement. Wherein a magnet inserted on an internal mounting structure, e.g., a magnet carrier or internal rod insert, functions as a “finger” formed on the cylinder body and arranged inside the hollow internal space under BRI).
As to claim 11, Hedayat et al. & Herse et al. disclose the cylinder actuator as claimed in claim 8, wherein Hedayat et al. further disclose a force sensor arranged on the rod and transmitting to the cylinder body measurements of the force exerted by the rod along the axis of movement toward the cylinder body by means of the telescopic connection (see [0148]; wherein the detection of magnetic-field variations corresponding to forces applied to the rod, and circuitry that interprets magnetic flux changes under load conditions Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, such detection inherently constitutes a force sensor measuring force exerted by the rod. Structural coupling between the rod-mounted magnetic components and the sensor assemblies provides transmission of these measurements to the cylinder body, which under BRI constitutes transmission “by means of the telescopic connection”; see [0117]).
As to claim 12, Hedayat et al. & Herse et al. disclose the cylinder actuator as claimed in claim 1, wherein Hedayat et al. further disclose first of the two elements comprises a piston and a rod which are secured to one another, the second of the two elements comprises a cylinder body of the cylinder actuator, the sensitive element being fixed to the cylinder body (see paragraphs [0102]; wherein the piston and rod being secured to one another and the cylinder body comprising the second element; sensors located on or adjacent to the cylinder body detect magnetic fields from the piston/rod-mounted magnets (see paragraph [0181]; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a sensor fixed on the cylinder body constitutes the claimed sensitive element fixed to the cylinder body).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 2016/0076910 A1 to Ausserleehner discloses in Fig. 1 a magnetic position sensor (100; 200). The magnetic position sensor (100; 200) includes a magnetic field source (110; 210) with at least a first multi-pole magnet strip (120-1; 220-1) arranged on a first surface and with at least a second multi-pole magnet strip (120-2; 220-2) arranged on a second surface perpendicular to the first surface, The first and the second multi-pole magnet strips are arranged in a fixed relative position to each other and comprise different numbers of magnet poles (130; 132; 230; 232) along a common length.
U.S. 6,823,725 B2 to Lohberg discloses a linear distance sensor for motor vehicles which comprises a displaceable element and a stator. The displaceable element includes a magnetic encoder. Sensor modules that operate according to the AMR principle, GMR principle, or Hall principle are linked stationarily to the stator. The displaceable element is guided by way of a bearing that is connected to the stator and embraces and axially guides the displaceable element. The sensor module(s) is/are linked stationarily to the stator. The field-generating means is/are positively connected to the displaceable element along the longitudinal axis of the displaceable element. The present invention further relates to the use of the linear distance sensor for measuring the pedal or lever position in an actuating device for brakes of motor vehicles.
U.S. 2017/0317561 A1 to Stolfus et al. disclose a linear actuator comprising a first assembly, a second assembly, and a magnetic sensor. The second assembly is linearly movable with respect to the first assembly such that the linear actuator is configured so as to be in one of a plurality of linear positions. The first assembly and the second assembly cooperatively define a magnetic pathway. The magnetic pathway is configured to vary in length with linear movement of the first assembly with respect to the second assembly. The magnetic sensor is configured to output a signal indicative of the magnetic field flux routed via the magnetic pathway.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
December 5, 2025
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858