DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/27/2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The applicant amended claim 1 to recite that “the system is a handheld device.” The Examiner is interpreting this to mean that the system includes at least one handheld portion, thus making the system a handheld device. If instead the applicant meant to recite that that the system is a single, self-contained handheld device, then there would be potential 112(a) issues (in that the original specification never disclosed the positioning component being within a handheld device) and Drawing objections (as the drawings do not show a handheld device with all the features of claim 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments filed with respect to the objection to the Drawings, the 112(a) rejections, the 112(b) rejections and the 101 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the Drawings, the 112(a) rejections, the 112(b) rejections and the 101 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments and associated arguments filed 4/17/2026 with respect to the previous 102 and 103 rejections in view of Bhawalker have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tettamanti et al. (US 2021/0077824).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the spot" in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 13, 15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tettamanti et al. (US 2021/0077824, hereinafter Tettamanti).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 13 and 15, Tettamanti discloses a system and method for treating melasma and/or hyperpigmentation disorders (see abstract). Tettamanti discloses an imaging component 300C configured to extract target data in the form of a pixel element (par. 0107). A radiation component in the form of a plurality of diode lasers, such that each laser comprises power up to and above 1W (par. 0059, 0104). At least one positioning component (mirrors and/or a human holding the device) is configured to position the radiation component based on the target data (par. 0107, 0109-0110). A data processing component 340 is included. The system is configured to concentrate at least 2 laser beams to a target, wherein the target is melasma and/or hyperpigmentation disorders (par. 0013 and abstract). The laser beams have a wavelength between 500-1000nm and a width/diameter of 100 micrometers (par. 0061, 0081 and abstract). The laser sources are configured to create an ablative tunnel (par. 0082) and to break the pigment into fragments (par. 0021). The system is a handheld device (par. 0109).
Regarding claim 8, the laser can have a fluence of 100-400 J/cm2 (par. 0028).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, the fluence can be cumulative, such that is each laser has a fluence of 400 J/cm2, then two lasers would have a cumulative fluence of 800 J/cm2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 11, 12, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tettamanti.
Regarding claims 9, 11, 19 and 20, Tettamanti further discloses that in order to fragment the pigment, the temperature of the pigment molecules is locally and temporarily raised (par. 0021, 0060) and the system eradicates (“ejects”) the pigment fragments (par. 0020) but is silent as to the exact temperature. However, it has been held that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation" (see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). In this case, Tettamanti discloses that the temperature is a result-effective variable that is used to fragment pigments. Finding the exact temperature, including 50-200 degrees Celsius, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date.
Regarding claim 12, Tettamanti is silent as to the exact size of the fragments. However, it has been held that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation" (see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). In this case, Tettamanti discloses that pigmentes need to be fragmented to a size that can be eradicated from the body. IF the optimal diameter is 1 micron or greater, that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892, specifically newly cited references US 2015/0230863, US 2018/0110566 and US 2023/0414299, all of which describe using lasers to remover pigmentation from skin.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796