DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 05/17/2024 in which claims 1-16 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/17/2024, 05/20/2024, and 11/24/2025 have been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2021/0195674) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Park” in view of Miklos et al. (US 2021/0306946) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Miklos”.
As to claim 1, Park teaches a communication system (Park, Fig. 16, [0190], an architecture) comprising:
a base station adaptive to a fifth generation radio access system (Park, Fig. 16, Fig. 34, the IAB-donor. [0172], “an IAB-donor may be interpreted as at least one of a base station, a gNB, a gNB-CU, an eNB”. [0051], “A gNB or an ng-eNB may be connected by means of NG interfaces to 5G Core Network (5GC)”);
a plurality of communication terminals connected to the base station (Park, Fig. 16, Fig. 30, the IAB-nodes connected to the IAB-donor. [0172], “an IAB-node may be interpreted as at least one of…a wireless device, a UE”); and
a device connected to the communication terminals (Park, Fig. 30a, Fig. 34, [0246], the wireless device (UE) is connected to the IAB-node1 and IAB-node2), wherein
a first communication terminal and a second communication terminal among the plurality of communication terminals are connected to a same base station (Park, Fig. 30a, Fig. 34, the IAB-nodes are connected to the same IAB-donor), and
in a state in which the device is communicating with a core network via the first communication terminal and the base station (Park, [0168], “The wireless device may be served by the radio access network and/or the core network node via the intermediate network node”, [0197], [0199], the IAB-node is connected to a core network node. [0200], “UE and/or IAB-node may use SA-mode with core network”. The wireless device is served and communicates with the core network. Figs. 16-22 and Fig. 34 show that the wireless device communicates with the core network via the IAB-node and IAB-donor. [0207], mechanism for route switching is supported).
Park teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Park does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 1, a session for the device to perform communication is established between the second communication terminal and the core network.
However, Miklos teaches a session for the device to perform communication is established between the second communication terminal and the core network (Miklos, [0044], the UPF is a core network entity. Fig. 18, [0114]-[0116], the PDU session is re-established which includes switching the path from MgNB to the SgNB for the WD to communicate with the UPF2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park to have the features, as taught by Miklos, in order to permit the identity of a selected SgNB to be determined prior to establishing the dual connectivity, which may allow for optimizing the dual connectivity set up (Miklos, [0006]).
As to claim 2, Park teaches wherein
in a case where deterioration of communication quality between the first communication terminal and the device or deterioration of communication quality between the base station and the first communication terminal is detected (Park, Fig. 34, [0261], “a blockage of a first radio link established between the first network node and the second network node for transmission of packets of the first bear”, [0263], “determine the blockage of the first radio link based on at least one of…a reference signal received power/quality (RSRP/RSRQ) from the second network node being equal to or smaller than a first power/quality value”), the base station to which the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are connected switches a path for communication between the device and the core network to a path via the second communication terminal (Park, [0166], the base station transmits a path switch request for the wireless device to a core network entity in order to update the downlink tunnel endpoint identifier for the bearers established for the wireless device between a user plane core network entity (e.g. UPF, S-GW, and/or the like) and a RAN node (e.g. the base station), e.g. changing a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier from an address of the anchor base station to an address of the base station. [0207], mechanism for route switching is supported).
As to claim 4, Park teaches wherein
in a case where deterioration of communication quality between the first communication terminal and the device is detected (Park, Fig. 34, [0261], “a blockage of a first radio link established between the first network node and the second network node for transmission of packets of the first bear”, [0263], “determine the blockage of the first radio link based on at least one of…a reference signal received power/quality (RSRP/RSRQ) from the second network node being equal to or smaller than a first power/quality value”), the device transmits, to the base station via the second communication terminal, a request for switching a path for communication between the device and the core network (Park, Fig. 34, [0284], the wireless device may transmits to the IAB-donor via the IAB-node2 a blockage report including channel quality parameters of the IAB-node1. [0166], the base station transmits a path switch request for the wireless device to a core network entity in order to update the downlink tunnel endpoint identifier for the bearers established for the wireless device between a user plane core network entity (e.g. UPF, S-GW, and/or the like) and a RAN node (e.g. the base station), e.g. changing a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier from an address of the anchor base station to an address of the base station. [0207], mechanism for route switching is supported).
As to claim 6, Park teaches wherein
a session for the device to perform communication with the core network includes a session established between the first communication terminal and the core network via the base station (Park, [0168], “The wireless device may be served by the radio access network and/or the core network node via the intermediate network node”, [0197], [0199], the IAB-node is connected to a core network node to sustain a PDU session. [0200], “UE and/or IAB-node may use SA-mode with core network”. The wireless device is served and communicates with the core network via the IAB-node and the IAB-donor. Figs. 16-22 and Fig. 34 show that the wireless device communicates with the core network via the IAB-node and IAB-donor), and a session established between the base station to which the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are connected and the second communication terminal (Park, [0168], [0197], [0199], [0200], Figs. 16 and 30-34, the communication between the IAB-donor which is connected with IAB-node1 and IAB-node2 are connected and the IAB-node 2).
As to claim 11, Park teaches wherein
a session for the device to perform communication with the core network includes a session established between the first communication terminal and the core network via the base station (Park, [0168], “The wireless device may be served by the radio access network and/or the core network node via the intermediate network node”, [0197], [0199], the IAB-node is connected to a core network node to sustain a PDU session. [0200], “UE and/or IAB-node may use SA-mode with core network”. The wireless device is served and communicates with the core network via the IAB-node and the IAB-donor. Figs. 16-22 and Fig. 34 show that the wireless device communicates with the core network via the IAB-node and IAB-donor), and a session established between the base station to which the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are connected and the second communication terminal (Park, [0168], [0197], [0199], [0200], Figs. 16 and 30-34, the communication between the IAB-donor which is connected with IAB-node1 and IAB-node2 are connected and the IAB-node 2).
As to claim 13, Park teaches wherein
a session for the device to perform communication with the core network includes a session established between the first communication terminal and the core network via the base station (Park, [0168], “The wireless device may be served by the radio access network and/or the core network node via the intermediate network node”, [0197], [0199], the IAB-node is connected to a core network node to sustain a PDU session. [0200], “UE and/or IAB-node may use SA-mode with core network”. The wireless device is served and communicates with the core network via the IAB-node and the IAB-donor. Figs. 16-22 and Fig. 34 show that the wireless device communicates with the core network via the IAB-node and IAB-donor), and a session established between the base station to which the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are connected and the second communication terminal (Park, [0168], [0197], [0199], [0200], Figs. 16 and 30-34, the communication between the IAB-donor which is connected with IAB-node1 and IAB-node2 are connected and the IAB-node 2).
Claims 3, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2021/0195674) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Park” in view of Miklos et al. (US 2021/0306946) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Miklos” and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2023/0020567), hereinafter “Huang” and further in view of Damnjanovic et al. (US 2021/0298063), hereinafter “Damnjanovic”.
Park and Miklos teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Park and Miklos do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 3, wherein
a link for direct communication between the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal is established, and
in a case where deterioration of communication quality between the first communication terminal and the device or deterioration of communication quality between the base station and the first communication terminal is detected, the first communication terminal transmits, to the base station via the second communication terminal, a request for switching a path for communication between the device and the core network.
As to claim 3, Huang teaches wherein
a link for direct communication between the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal is established (Huang, Fig. 7, [0116]-[0117], the source relay UE communicates with a neighbor relay UE), and
in a case where deterioration of communication quality between the first communication terminal and the device or deterioration of communication quality between the base station and the first communication terminal is detected (Huang, [0060], relaying UE is used to recover from a failed UE link due to, for example, blockage or fading), the first communication terminal transmits, to the base station, a request for switching a path for communication between the device and the core network (Huang, Fig. 7, [0113], at 714b, the source relay transmits a relay node switch message to the base station 706 informing the base station that the remote UE 702 is performing a relay node switch. [0041], [0046], the base station provides access to a core network for the remote UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park and Miklos to have the features, as taught by Huang, in order to improve the transmission reliability to one or more UEs, and to allow the base station to recover from a failed UE link (Huang, [0060]).
Park, Miklos and Huang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Park, Miklos and Huang do not explicitly teach the following underlined feature: regarding claim 3, the first communication terminal transmits, to the base station via the second communication terminal.
However, Damnjanovic teaches the first communication terminal transmits, to the base station via the second communication terminal (Damnjanovic, Fig. 7, [0104]-[0105], the first relay UE transmits UL to the additional relay UE, and then the additional relay transmits the UL to the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park, Miklos and Huang to have the features, as taught by Damnjanovic, in order to extend base station coverage, improve transmission reliability, and recover failed links due to, for example, blockage or fading (Damnjanovic, [0003]).
As to claim 12, Park teaches wherein
a session for the device to perform communication with the core network includes a session established between the first communication terminal and the core network via the base station (Park, [0168], “The wireless device may be served by the radio access network and/or the core network node via the intermediate network node”, [0197], [0199], the IAB-node is connected to a core network node to sustain a PDU session. [0200], “UE and/or IAB-node may use SA-mode with core network”. The wireless device is served and communicates with the core network via the IAB-node and the IAB-donor. Figs. 16-22 and Fig. 34 show that the wireless device communicates with the core network via the IAB-node and IAB-donor), and a session established between the base station to which the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are connected and the second communication terminal (Park, [0168], [0197], [0199], [0200], Figs. 16 and 30-34, the communication between the IAB-donor which is connected with IAB-node1 and IAB-node2 are connected and the IAB-node 2).
As to claim 15, Park teaches wherein
a session for the device to perform communication with the core network includes a session established between the first communication terminal and the core network via the base station (Park, [0168], “The wireless device may be served by the radio access network and/or the core network node via the intermediate network node”, [0197], [0199], the IAB-node is connected to a core network node to sustain a PDU session. [0200], “UE and/or IAB-node may use SA-mode with core network”. The wireless device is served and communicates with the core network via the IAB-node and the IAB-donor. Figs. 16-22 and Fig. 34 show that the wireless device communicates with the core network via the IAB-node and IAB-donor).
Park, Miklos and Huang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Park, Miklos and Huang do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 15, a link for direct communication between the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal is established, and
a session established between the base station to which the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are connected and the first communication terminal via the second communication terminal and the link.
However, Damnjanovic teaches a link for direct communication between the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal is established (Damnjanovic, Fig. 7, [0104]-[0105], the PC5 between the first relay UE and the additional relay UE), and
a session established between the base station to which the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are connected (Damnjanovic, Fig. 7, [0104]-[0105], the base station is connected to the first relay UE and the additional relay UE) and the first communication terminal via the second communication terminal and the link (Damnjanovic, Fig. 7, [0104]-[0105], the first relay UE transmits UL to the additional relay UE, and then the additional relay transmits the UL to the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park, Miklos and Huang to have the features, as taught by Damnjanovic, in order to extend base station coverage, improve transmission reliability, and recover failed links due to, for example, blockage or fading (Damnjanovic, [0003]).
Claims 5, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2021/0195674) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Park” in view of Miklos et al. (US 2021/0306946) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Miklos” and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2009/0005104), hereinafter “Wang”.
Park and Miklos teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Park and Miklos do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 5, wherein
among the plurality of communication terminals, communication terminals connected to a same base station and to which a same device is connected are grouped under a predetermined condition, and
the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are communication terminals belonging to a same group.
As to claim 5, Wang teaches wherein
among the plurality of communication terminals, communication terminals connected to a same base station and to which a same device is connected are grouped under a predetermined condition (Wang, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0045], a R-group is constructed, which includes relay stations (RSs) in communication with the BS and serving a MS, based on channel conditions between all the MSs and the RSs), and
the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are communication terminals belonging to a same group (Wang, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0045], the RS1 and RS2 belong to the same R-group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park and Miklos to have the features, as taught by Wang, in order to provide a reliable relay-associated transmission scheme with fast recovery and reducing the burden of the BS (Wang, [0015]).
Park and Miklos teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Park and Miklos do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 8, wherein
among the plurality of communication terminals, communication terminals connected to a same base station and to which a same device is connected are grouped under a predetermined condition, and
the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are communication terminals belonging to a same group.
As to claim 8, Wang teaches wherein
among the plurality of communication terminals, communication terminals connected to a same base station and to which a same device is connected are grouped under a predetermined condition (Wang, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0045], a R-group is constructed, which includes relay stations (RSs) in communication with the BS and serving a MS, based on channel conditions between all the MSs and the RSs), and
the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are communication terminals belonging to a same group (Wang, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0045], the RS1 and RS2 belong to the same R-group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park and Miklos to have the features, as taught by Wang, in order to provide a reliable relay-associated transmission scheme with fast recovery and reducing the burden of the BS (Wang, [0015]).
Park and Miklos teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Park and Miklos do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 10, wherein
among the plurality of communication terminals, communication terminals connected to a same base station and to which a same device is connected are grouped under a predetermined condition, and
the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are communication terminals belonging to a same group.
As to claim 10, Wang teaches wherein
among the plurality of communication terminals, communication terminals connected to a same base station and to which a same device is connected are grouped under a predetermined condition (Wang, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0045], a R-group is constructed, which includes relay stations (RSs) in communication with the BS and serving a MS, based on channel conditions between all the MSs and the RSs), and
the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are communication terminals belonging to a same group (Wang, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0045], the RS1 and RS2 belong to the same R-group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park and Miklos to have the features, as taught by Wang, in order to provide a reliable relay-associated transmission scheme with fast recovery and reducing the burden of the BS (Wang, [0015]).
Claims 7, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2021/0195674) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Park” in view of Miklos et al. (US 2021/0306946) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Miklos” and further in view of Damnjanovic et al. (US 2021/0298063), hereinafter “Damnjanovic”.
As to claim 7, Park teaches wherein
a session for the device to perform communication with the core network includes a session established between the first communication terminal and the core network via the base station (Park, [0168], “The wireless device may be served by the radio access network and/or the core network node via the intermediate network node”, [0197], [0199], the IAB-node is connected to a core network node to sustain a PDU session. [0200], “UE and/or IAB-node may use SA-mode with core network”. The wireless device is served and communicates with the core network via the IAB-node and the IAB-donor. Figs. 16-22 and Fig. 34 show that the wireless device communicates with the core network via the IAB-node and IAB-donor).
Park and Miklos teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Park and Miklos do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 7, a link for direct communication between the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal is established, and
a session established between the base station to which the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are connected and the first communication terminal via the second communication terminal and the link.
However, Damnjanovic teaches a link for direct communication between the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal is established (Damnjanovic, Fig. 7, [0104]-[0105], the PC5 between the first relay UE and the additional relay UE), and
a session established between the base station to which the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are connected (Damnjanovic, Fig. 7, [0104]-[0105], the base station is connected to the first relay UE and the additional relay UE) and the first communication terminal via the second communication terminal and the link (Damnjanovic, Fig. 7, [0104]-[0105], the first relay UE transmits UL to the additional relay UE, and then the additional relay transmits the UL to the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park and Miklos to have the features, as taught by Damnjanovic, in order to extend base station coverage, improve transmission reliability, and recover failed links due to, for example, blockage or fading (Damnjanovic, [0003]).
As to claim 14, Park teaches wherein
a session for the device to perform communication with the core network includes a session established between the first communication terminal and the core network via the base station (Park, [0168], “The wireless device may be served by the radio access network and/or the core network node via the intermediate network node”, [0197], [0199], the IAB-node is connected to a core network node to sustain a PDU session. [0200], “UE and/or IAB-node may use SA-mode with core network”. The wireless device is served and communicates with the core network via the IAB-node and the IAB-donor. Figs. 16-22 and Fig. 34 show that the wireless device communicates with the core network via the IAB-node and IAB-donor).
Park and Miklos teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Park and Miklos do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 14, a link for direct communication between the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal is established, and
a session established between the base station to which the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are connected and the first communication terminal via the second communication terminal and the link.
However, Damnjanovic teaches a link for direct communication between the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal is established (Damnjanovic, Fig. 7, [0104]-[0105], the PC5 between the first relay UE and the additional relay UE), and
a session established between the base station to which the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are connected (Damnjanovic, Fig. 7, [0104]-[0105], the base station is connected to the first relay UE and the additional relay UE) and the first communication terminal via the second communication terminal and the link (Damnjanovic, Fig. 7, [0104]-[0105], the first relay UE transmits UL to the additional relay UE, and then the additional relay transmits the UL to the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park and Miklos to have the features, as taught by Damnjanovic, in order to extend base station coverage, improve transmission reliability, and recover failed links due to, for example, blockage or fading (Damnjanovic, [0003]).
As to claim 16, Park teaches wherein
a session for the device to perform communication with the core network includes a session established between the first communication terminal and the core network via the base station (Park, [0168], “The wireless device may be served by the radio access network and/or the core network node via the intermediate network node”, [0197], [0199], the IAB-node is connected to a core network node to sustain a PDU session. [0200], “UE and/or IAB-node may use SA-mode with core network”. The wireless device is served and communicates with the core network via the IAB-node and the IAB-donor. Figs. 16-22 and Fig. 34 show that the wireless device communicates with the core network via the IAB-node and IAB-donor).
Park and Miklos teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Park and Miklos do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 16, a link for direct communication between the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal is established, and
a session established between the base station to which the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are connected and the first communication terminal via the second communication terminal and the link.
However, Damnjanovic teaches a link for direct communication between the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal is established (Damnjanovic, Fig. 7, [0104]-[0105], the PC5 between the first relay UE and the additional relay UE), and
a session established between the base station to which the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are connected (Damnjanovic, Fig. 7, [0104]-[0105], the base station is connected to the first relay UE and the additional relay UE) and the first communication terminal via the second communication terminal and the link (Damnjanovic, Fig. 7, [0104]-[0105], the first relay UE transmits UL to the additional relay UE, and then the additional relay transmits the UL to the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park and Miklos to have the features, as taught by Damnjanovic, in order to extend base station coverage, improve transmission reliability, and recover failed links due to, for example, blockage or fading (Damnjanovic, [0003]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2021/0195674) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Park” in view of Miklos et al. (US 2021/0306946) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Miklos” and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2023/0020567), hereinafter “Huang” and further in view of Damnjanovic et al. (US 2021/0298063), hereinafter “Damnjanovic” and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2009/0005104), hereinafter “Wang”.
Park, Miklos, Huang and Damnjanovic teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Park, Miklos, Huang and Damnjanovic do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 9, wherein
among the plurality of communication terminals, communication terminals connected to a same base station and to which a same device is connected are grouped under a predetermined condition, and
the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are communication terminals belonging to a same group.
As to claim 9, Wang teaches wherein
among the plurality of communication terminals, communication terminals connected to a same base station and to which a same device is connected are grouped under a predetermined condition (Wang, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0045], a R-group is constructed, which includes relay stations (RSs) in communication with the BS and serving a MS, based on channel conditions between all the MSs and the RSs), and
the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal are communication terminals belonging to a same group (Wang, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0045], the RS1 and RS2 belong to the same R-group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park, Miklos, Huang and Damnjanovic to have the features, as taught by Wang, in order to provide a reliable relay-associated transmission scheme with fast recovery and reducing the burden of the BS (Wang, [0015]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Luo et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0172255 – Systems and methods for performing sidelink DRX
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473