DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an acquisition module configured to”, “a first determination module configured to”, “a second determination module configured to”, and “a generation module configured to” in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim recites a computer program product comprising a computer program without a medium.
As the courts' definitions of machines, manufactures and compositions of matter indicate, a product must have a physical or tangible form in order to fall within one of these statutory categories. Digitech, 758 F.3d at 1348, 111 USPQ2d at 1719. Thus, the Federal Circuit has held that a product claim to an intangible collection of information, even if created by human effort, does not fall within any statutory category. Digitech, 758 F.3d at 1350, 111 USPQ2d at 1720 (claimed "device profile" comprising two sets of data did not meet any of the categories because it was neither a process nor a tangible product). Similarly, software expressed as code or a set of instructions detached from any medium is an idea without physical embodiment. See Microsoft Corp. v. AT&T Corp., 550 U.S. 437, 449, 82 USPQ2d 1400, 1407 (2007); see also Benson, 409 U.S. 67, 175 USPQ2d 675 (An "idea" is not patent eligible). Thus, a product claim to a software program that does not also contain at least one structural limitation (such as a "means plus function" limitation) has no physical or tangible form, and thus does not fall within any statutory category. Another example of an intangible product that does not fall within a statutory category is a paradigm or business model for a marketing company. In re Ferguson, 558 F.3d 1359, 1364, 90 USPQ2d 1035, 1039-40 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being disclosed by Kim et al US 2020/0351450(hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim1,Kim discloses a video generation method, comprising: acquiring a plurality of images and music matched with the plurality of images(see fig. 2, fig. 3 background music 310 and video 315, [0075]); determining first feature information of the plurality of images and second feature information of the music(fig. 2, [0075], fig. 3 extract first feature from the background music in oration 320 and second feature from the video 315 in operation 325); determining a target rendering effect combination according to the first feature information, the second feature information and a pre-stored plurality of rendering effects, wherein the rendering effects are animation, special effect or transition(fig. 2, [0076-0077], fig. 3 in operation 330 determine special effect based on the combination of the first feature and second feature); and generating a video according to the plurality of images, the music and the target rendering effect combination(fig. 2, [0049], applying the special effect to the video based on the features ).
Regarding claim13, Kim discloses a video generation apparatus, comprising: an acquisition module configured to acquire a plurality of images and music matched with the plurality of images(see fig. 2, fig. 3 background music 310 and video 315, [0075]); a first determination module configured to determine first feature information of the plurality of images and second feature information of the music(fig. 2, [0075], fig. 3 extract first feature from the background music in oration 320 and second feature from the video 315 in operation 325); a second determination module configured to determine a target rendering effect combination according to the first feature information, the second feature information and a pre-stored plurality of rendering effects(fig. 2, [0076-0077], fig. 3 in operation 330 determine special effect based on the combination of the first feature and second feature); the rendering effects being animation, special effect or transition(fig. 2, [0076-0077], fig. 3 in operation 330 determine special effect based on the combination of the first feature and second feature); and a generation module configured to generate a video according to the plurality of images, the music and the target rendering effect combination(fig. 2, [0049], applying the special effect to the video based on the features ).
Regarding claim14 Kim discloses an electronic device, comprising: a processor, and a memory communicatively connected to the processor; the memory storing computer-executable instructions([0111-0112], methods according to the above-described example embodiments may be recorded in non-transitory computer-readable media including program instructions to implement various operations of the above-described example embodiments); the processor executing the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory to implement the method according to claim 1([0111-0112], methods according to the above-described example embodiments may be recorded in non-transitory computer-readable media including program instructions to implement various operations of the above-described example embodiments).
Regarding claim15, Kim discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having computer-executable instructions stored thereon, which, in response to being executed by a processor, implement the method([0110-0112], methods according to the above-described example embodiments may be recorded in non-transitory computer-readable media including program instructions to implement various operations of the above-described example embodiments), comprising: acquiring a plurality of images and music matched with the plurality of images(see fig. 2, fig. 3 background music 310 and video 315, [0075]); determining first feature information of the plurality of images and second feature information of the music(fig. 2, [0075], fig. 3 extract first feature from the background music in oration 320 and second feature from the video 315 in operation 325); determining a target rendering effect combination according to the first feature information, the second feature information and a pre-stored plurality of rendering effects, wherein the rendering effects are animation, special effect or transition(fig. 2, [0076-0077], fig. 3 in operation 330 determine special effect based on the combination of the first feature and second feature); and generating a video according to the plurality of images, the music and the target rendering effect combination(fig. 2, [0049], applying the special effect to the video based on the features ).
Claim16 is rejected for similar reason as discussed in claim15 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1, 13-16 above, and further in view of Ohishi et al US 2022/0319493(hereinafter Ohishi).
Regarding claim10, Kim teaches all the limitations of claim1 but does not teach and Ohishi teaches the determining first feature information of the plurality of images and second feature information of the music, comprises: performing feature extraction on the plurality of images through a pre-stored image feature extraction model, to obtain the first feature information of the plurality of images; and performing feature extraction on the music through a pre-stored music feature extraction model, to obtain the second feature information([0028], [0069], The image encoder is a model that receives an image and outputs an image feature. The audio encoder is a model that receives a speech in a predetermined language and outputs an audio feature).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use models to extract image/audio feature as in Ohishi in order to associate the audio and video accurately.
Claim11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1, 13-16 above, and further in view of Murray US 2009/0307207.
Regarding claim11,Kim teaches all the limitations of claim1 above but does not teach and Murray teaches the target rendering effect combination comprises the animation, special effect and transition corresponding to each of the plurality of images([0021], [0078], animation, [0083], special effect transition such as fading or dissolving images); the generating a video according to the plurality of images, the music and the target rendering effect combination, comprises: sequentially displaying the plurality of images according to the animation, special effect and transition corresponding to each of the plurality of images in the target rendering effect combination, and playing the music, to generate the video([0078], [0083], video editor creates a multimedia presentation and apply a special effect, transition and animation ).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply special effect, transition and animation on to a multimedia as in Murray in order to make the video visually pleasing to the viewer.
Claim12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1, 13-16 above, and further in view of Zheng et al US 2024/0296870(hereinafter Zheng).
Regarding claim12,Kim teaches all the limitations of claim1 above but does not teach and Zheng teaches in response to a selection operation on a plurality of target images in a plurality of candidate images, determining the plurality of target images as the plurality of images([0038], a determination unit configured to determine, in response to a clicking operation on a button in the video editing interface, a target audio and a target image for video synthesis); and in response to a selection operation on target music in a plurality of candidate music, determining the target music as the music matched with the plurality of images([0038], a determination unit configured to determine, in response to a clicking operation on a button in the video editing interface, a target audio and a target image for video synthesis).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select audio and image for video synthesis as in Zheng in order to improve the efficiency of generating video file ([0087]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims2-9, 18-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
GIRUMSEW WENDMAGEGN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/GIRUMSEW WENDMAGEGN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484