DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/14/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I drawn to claims 1-8 and 13 in the reply filed on 5/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190204490 A1 to Takeda.
Regarding Claim 1. Takeda discloses a wire grid polarizing element comprising: a transparent substrate; and latticed projections arranged at a pitch shorter than a wavelength of light of a usage band on one surface of the transparent substrate, and extending in a predetermined direction (See Fig. 1, para 42 “a pitch shorter than a wavelength of light of a use band and extending in a predetermined direction”), wherein the latticed projection includes, in order from a side of the transparent substrate, a reflection layer (Fig. 1 reflection layer 2), a dielectric layer (Fig. 1 dielectric layer 3) and an absorption layer (Fig. 1 absorption layer 4), and wherein a region dividing the latticed projection is disposed in a predetermined region of the transparent substrate (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 2. Takeda further discloses the transparent substrate is transparent to light of the usage band, and includes glass, crystal, quartz or sapphire (para 53).
Regarding Claim 3. Takeda further discloses reflection layer contains at least one metal selected from the group consisting of Al, Ag, Cu, Mo, Cr, Ti, Ni, W, Fe, Si, Ge, Te and Nd (para 58).
Regarding Claim 4. Takeda further discloses the dielectric layer includes a Si oxide, a Ti oxide, a Zr oxide, an Al oxide, a Nb oxide or a Ta oxide (para 65).
Regarding Claim 5. Takeda further discloses the absorption layer absorbs light of the usage band, and contains a metal, alloy or semiconductor (para 73).
Regarding Claim 7. Takeda further discloses at least part of a surface is covered by a protective film, and wherein the protective film includes a material which is the same as the material included in the dielectric layer (para 80).
Regarding Claim 8. Takeda further discloses at least part of a surface is covered by an organic water-repellent film (para 81).
Regarding Claim 13. Takeda further discloses an optical device comprising the wire grid polarizing element according to claim 1 (as shown in at least Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda as applied to claim 1 in view of US 20180267357 A1 to Ohori et al.
Regarding Claim 6. As stated above Takeda disclose all the limitations of base claim 1.
Takeda does not specifically disclose an antireflection layer on another surface of the transparent substrate.
However, Ohori discloses that an antireflection layer may be formed on any surface of a transparent substrate of a wire grid polarizer (para 42) with the motivation of preventing unwanted reflection on the substrate (See para 42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include an antireflection layer on another surface of the transparent substrate.
Conclusion
/EDMOND C LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871