Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement received 09/14/2026 has been considered.
Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vishnudas (US11,091,447, priority to 01/03/2020) in view of NCI (NIH National Cancer Institute, published 2016, url=https://www.cancer.gov/types/metastatic-cancer, accessed 05/07/2026).
KSR Rationales
The MPEP in section 2143, subsection I gives examples of Rationales for supporting a conclusion of obvious. These rationales are non-exhaustive and include (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 1-2 are drawn to methods of treating gastric cancer comprising administering a compound (structure shown below). Claim 2 specifies metastatic gastric cancer.
Vishnudas in col. 79 teaches the synthesis of compound 126, shown below.
Vishnudas in col. 8, l. 12-35 contemplates treating cancers, including gastric cancer (gastrointestinal cancer), via administering compounds and/or compositions comprising said compound of its invention.
Vishnudas does not contemplate metastatic gastric cancer. This is addressed by the combination of NCI.
NCI in sec. What is Metastatic Cancer? States “Metastatic cancer has the same name as the primary cancer. For example, breast cancer that spreads to the lung is called metastatic breast cancer, not lung cancer. It is treated as stage IV breast cancer, not lung cancer.” This teaching indicates that treatment for non-metastatic cancers would be the same as treatment for metastatic cancers or, more specifically, one of ordinary skill would find it obvious to use compounds that are effective for non-metastatic gastric cancer as treatment for metastatic gastric cancer.
Vishnudas teaches compound 126 and contemplates methods of treating gastric cancer. NCI teaches treatment for metastatic gastric cancer would be the same as non-metastatic gastric cancer.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time of the effective filing date for one of ordinary skill in the art to take compound 126 and use it to treat gastric cancer and metastatic gastric cancer with a reasonable assumption of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would find motivation to use the compound as Vishnudas contemplates treatment for gastric cancer using compound 126.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states “In order to establish a prima facie case of obvious, one of skill in the art reading the prior art, must be motivated to combine the prior art in a manner which would lead to the claim invention…simply because the claimed features are ‘known’, that is not enough to satisfy a motivation to combined.” Applicant points to Virtek Vision International ULC v. Assembly Guidance Systems Inc., 97 F.4th 882 and cites the court stating “[it] does not suffice [for two alternative arrangements] to simply be known. A reason for combining must exist” and “this case involves nothing other than an assertion that because two coordinate system were disclosed in a prior art reference and were therefore ‘known,’ that satisfies the motivation to combine analysis. That is an error as a matter of law. It does not suffice to simply be known. A reason for combining must exist.” Applicant concludes that “Here, no such motivation exists.”
Applicant points to Vishnudas and states that the reference “is directed to chemical compounds which are taught as being useful for treating conditions associated with modulation of UBE2K.” Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would be required to elect one compound out of 140 compounds disclosed in Vishnudas and then “arbitrarily” elect gastrointestinal cancer and/or metastatic gastrointestinal cancer. Applicant argues that “there is no data or evidence in Vishnudas that would have compelled one of skill in the art to arrive at specifically treating gastric cancer using the single compound as claimed. NCI fails to cure this deficiency.”
Applicant then argues that the combination of Vishnudas and NCI would not lead to a reasonable expectation of success and states that “when dealing with technology surrounding the chemical arts…there is a heightened burden on the Office to justify whether a claimed invention would have been predictable.” Applicant also states “ ‘[t]o the extent an art is unpredictable, as the chemical arts often are, KSR’s focus on these ‘identified, predictable solutions’ may present a difficult hurdle because potential solutions are less likely to be genuinely predictable.”
Regarding the gastrointestinal cancer, applicant states “gastrointestinal cancer is one of many cancers described in Vishnudas. Yet, all the biological data in Vishnudas is directed to leukemia. Gastrointestinal cancer and leukemia are completely different tumor types, Leukemia is a liquid blood cancer that states in the bone marrow, while gastrointestinal (GI) cancer is a solid tumor that forms in the digestive tract. Therefore [there] is no expectation that [an] agent that is useful for treating gastrointestinal cancer would also be useful for treating leukemia, and vice versa.”
The arguments regarding the combination of Vishnudas and NCI are not persuasive because the combination is not combining two separate components that are known within the art. Vishnudas contemplates gastrointestinal cancer, a genus, and NCI teaches that metastatic cancers, a species within the genus of gastrointestinal cancer, are treated using the same medication that is used for the parent cancer. NCI is used to show that the application of Vishnudas would also apply to metastatic cancers.
Regarding predictability, applicant has simply stated that there is unpredictability without explaining where unpredictability lies. Vishnudas teaches that the compounds of its invention are “useful for treating conditions associated with modulation of UBE2K”, which then connects to cancers (col. 8, l. 12-13), and, further, gastrointestinal cancer (col. 8, l. 35). Compound 126’s efficacy as a UBE2K modulator is taught in col. 125, Table 11 and in Fig. 3. Compound 126 also stands out as 1 of 5 compounds tested (Fig. 1-3) and one of 2 compounds tested for tumor inhibition (col. 126, Table 11).
Additionally, Vishnuda claims compound 126 in reference claims 1, 2, 4, and 6. One of ordinary skill would be inclined to elect compound 126 as it is 1 of 3 compounds claimed. Essentially, one of ordinary skill would see compound 126 as a preferred embodiment.
Further, the listing of cancers in col. 8, l. 30-35 listed 5 cancers. Similar to the election of compound 126, one of ordinary skill would be inclined to apply the compound 126 to any of the 5 listed cancers which includes gastrointestinal cancer via KSR E. Essentially, one of ordinary skill could elect compound 126 and then administer it to treat gastrointestinal cancer as it would be obvious to try.
Therefore, its election would not be arbitrary and its application as a UBE2K modulator to inhibit a cancer associated with UBE2K (including gastrointestinal cancer) would be predictable.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/JEFFREY H MURRAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1624