DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant amends the claim the recite “the cryptology portion operative to process a result by one or more of emulating and virtualizing, a processing device that is otherwise separate, on the cryptology portion of the first processing device to generate a reply.” Applicant’s reply fails to provide any argument that distinguishes the amended limitations from the applied art. In response, there is no support for the amendment in the specification. Applicant is humbly asked to provide the portions of the specification that provides support for the amendment. Additionally, the amendment merely states that the result is processed by one or more of emulating and virtualizing. This does not alter the broad reasonable interpretation of the previous limitation as the interpretation still applies with this amendment. The secure element is separate from the processor of the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[a][1] as being anticipated by Motika et al. (US-20160234022).
a. Referring to claims 1, 9, 10, 14, 19 and 20:
Regarding claims 1, 9, 10, 14, 19 and 20, Motika teaches a method for data processing, the method comprising: establishing a communicative connection between a first processing device and a second processing device (Para 31…. connection between source device and recipient device); receiving a request at the first processing device, the request sent from the second processing device via the communicative connection (Para 36…. request message to the source device); processing by a cryptology portion of the first processing device, the processing by the cryptology portion of the first processing device including one or more secrets (Para 36 and 39…. the secure element of the source device processing the request, including secrets); processing data associated with the request, by the cryptology portion of the first processing device, the cryptology portion operative to process a result by one or more of emulating and virtualizing, a processing device that is otherwise separate, on the cryptology portion of the first processing device to generate a reply (Para 36 and 41…. the secure element of the source device processing data associated with the request to generate a reply, wherein the secure element is a separate processing device); and sending the reply from the first processing device to the second processing device (Para 36…. sending the reply from the source device to the recipient device).
a. Referring to claim 2:
Regarding claim 2, Motika teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising the second processing device evaluating whether the one or more secrets were used in generating the reply to establish an identity of the cryptology portion of the first processing device (Para 36… the recipient device validating the response message based on an identifier).
a. Referring to claims 3 and 13:
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Motika teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising granting a privilege to a user (Para 36… privilege to user upon authentication).
a. Referring to claims 4 and 18:
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Motika teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the cryptology portion is operative to process a result by emulating a processing device on the cryptology portion (Para 36 and 39… secure element).
a. Referring to claim 5:
Regarding claim 5, Motika teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the request includes an authentication request (Para 36…. authentication request).
a. Referring to claim 6:
Regarding claim 6, Motika teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the cryptology portion of the first processing device is substantially separate from other processors on the first processing device (See Fig. 10…. secure element).
a. Referring to claim 7:
Regarding claim 7, Motika teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more secrets identify the first cryptology portion to the second processing device (Para 33 and 36… unique identifier).
a. Referring to claim 8:
Regarding claim 8, Motika teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first processing device includes a mobile processing device (Para 29…. source device as a smartphone).
a. Referring to claim 11:
Regarding claim 11, Motika teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the one or more secrets are sent from the second processing device to the cryptology portion using a secure channel (Para 39…. transmission between secure elements comprise a secure channel).
a. Referring to claim 12:
Regarding claim 12, Motika teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the cryptology portion includes an embedded universal integrated circuit card (eUICC) (Para 30… secure element).
a. Referring to claim 15:
Regarding claim 15, Motika teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the first processing device is a mobile device and the second processing device is a device operative to identify a user (Para 28 and 29…. source device as a mobile device and recipient device operable to identify a user).
a. Referring to claim 16:
Regarding claim 16, Motika teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the first processing device is further operative to generate a reply identifying an account associated with the first processing device (Para 36…. authentication response).
a. Referring to claim 17:
Regarding claim 17, Motika teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising establishing a second communicative connection between a processor of the first processing device and a processor of the second processing device; and receiving by the processor of the first processing device a request from the second processing device via the second communicative connection (Para 35 and 36…. authentication request from the receiving device to the source device).
a. Referring to claim 21:
Regarding claim 21, Motika teaches a method for data processing, the method comprising: establishing a communicative connection between a first processing device and a second processing device (Para 31…. connection between source device and recipient device); processing a request at the first processing device, the request sent from the second processing device via the communicative connection; processing by a cryptology portion of the first processing device, the processing by the cryptology portion of the first processing device including one or more secrets (Para 36 and 39…. the secure element of the source device processing the request, including secrets); processing the one or more secrets at a cryptology portion of the second processing device; processing data associated with the request, by the cryptology portion of the first processing device, the cryptology portion operative to process a result by one or more of emulating and virtualizing, a processing device that is otherwise separate, on the cryptology portion of the first processing device to generate a response, the response being operative to identify the first processing device, the processing of the reply by the second device includes evaluating whether the one or more secrets were used in generating the reply to establish the identity of the cryptology portion of the first processing device (Para 36 and 41…. the secure element of the source device processing data associated with the request to generate a reply, wherein the secure element is a separate processing device); and sending the response from the first processing device to the second processing device (Para 36…. sending the reply from the source device to the recipient device).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IZUNNA OKEKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497