Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Devoe et al (US 2004/0042156).
Regarding claim 1, Devoe discloses a ceramic capacitor (Fig. 1-20) comprising: a ceramic body (Fig. 9A, 65) in which a plurality of first dielectric layers (Fig. 9A, at 60) are stacked; and first and second bottom electrodes (Fig. 9A, 72/74) disposed on both sides of a lower surface of the ceramic body (Fig. 9A), wherein the ceramic body further comprises a second dielectric layer (Fig. 9A, at 62 at 76) on which a float electrode is disposed (Fig. 9A), wherein the float electrode is disposed on a central part in a length direction of the second dielectric layer (Fig. 9A, center from left to right), is spaced apart from both side surfaces of the second dielectric layer (Fig. 9A), and both ends of the float electrode overlap parts of the first and second bottom electrodes (Fig. 9A), wherein the float electrode forms a capacitance with each of the first and second bottom electrodes (Fig. 9A, thru 66/68), wherein the ceramic body comprises a plurality of dummy electrodes (Fig. 9A, 10/11) disposed on and above the second dielectric layer and exposed to both side surfaces of the ceramic body (Fig. 9A), and wherein an interval between the first and second bottom electrodes and the dummy electrode located at a lowermost part or an interval between the dummy electrodes is an interval at which a solder is able to rise along the dummy electrode during soldering of the first and second bottom electrodes onto a substrate (Fig. 9A, solder can be made to rise as higher or as little as you want when placing it so one would be capable or siring the solder only to the location that would teach this limitation).
Regarding claim 4, Devoe further discloses that the ceramic body further comprises a plurality of third dielectric layers (Fig. 9A, layer above and below 66/68) on which a dummy electrode is disposed (Fig. 9A, 36/66), and wherein the dummy electrode is exposed to both side surfaces of the ceramic body (Fig. 9A).
Regarding claim 8, Devoe further discloses that the ceramic body further comprises a third dielectric layer (Fig. 9A, top layer at 65), and wherein the dummy electrodes are formed on both sides of at least one of upper surfaces and lower surfaces of the second dielectric layer and the third dielectric layer (Fig. 9A), are exposed to both side surfaces thereof, and are shaped to face each other (Fig. 9A).
Regarding claim 10, Devoe further discloses that dummy electrode parts exposed to the both side surfaces of the ceramic body and the first and second bottom electrodes are connected by plating (Fig. 9A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devoe et al (US 2004/0042156) in view of JEONG et al (US 2020/0105467).
Regarding claim 7, Devoe fails to teach the claim limitations.
JEONG teaches that an interval in a height direction between the dummy electrodes is 2 μm to 3 μm ([0090]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of JEONG to the invention of Devoe, in order to improve the reliability of the capacitor (JEONG [0008]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devoe et al (US 2004/0042156) in view of CHO et al (US 2015/0068792).
Regarding claim 9, Devoe fails to teach the claim limitations.
CHO teaches that the dummy electrode is formed in one of a straight shape, a “c” shape (Fig. 4B, 123’/124’ have this shape), and a “T” shape.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of CHO to the invention of Devoe, in order to increase capacitance without allowing for short circuiting (CHO [0009]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devoe et al (US 2004/0042156) in view of PARK et al (US 2016/0133384).
Regarding claim 12, Devoe fails to teach the claim limitations.
PARK teaches that a distance between the dummy electrode located at an uppermost part among the dummy electrodes and the bottom electrode is equal to or less than a half of a height of the ceramic body (Fig. 3, each section of different electrode pairs are less than half the size of the capacitor).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of PARK to the invention of Devoe, in order to allow for multiple capacitor sections in one body (PARK Fig. 2-3).
Additional Relevant Prior Art:
Oakes et al (US 2009/0040687) teaches relevant art in Fig. 4A.
Zuo et al (US 2013/0083044) teaches relevant art in Fig. 12A.
AHN et al (US 2013/0321981) teaches relevant art in Fig. 11-18.
KIM et al (US 2018/0174757) teaches relevant art in Fig. 5.
PARK et al (US 2019/0157004) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Fig. 12A of Devoe fails to teach the claim limitations, the examiner notes that though this is true Fig. 9A of Devoe does teach the new claim limitations as shown above.
In response to applicant's argument that the internal electrodes are not exposed at the side surfaces, the examiner notes that the claims require the electrodes exposed at the side surfaces of the ceramic body, which they are as shown in Fig. 9, not that they are uncovered from external electrodes or exposed to the outer side surface of the capacitor as a whole.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the external electrodes are directly connect to a circuit board) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant therefore does not provide any persuasive evidence that the limitations as claimed are not taught by the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL P MCFADDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848