DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 8-11, 24-26, 29, 31-35, and 48-54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Angel (Publication No.: US 2019/0393832 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 25, 34, 35, 48, Angel teaches A power receiver (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 12), comprising: A beam homogenizer, comprising: a compound lens (reference numeral 2, 705, 740, 719, 720 in Figure 12; e.g. “one compound lens” as in paragraph [0059]) configured to reshape a substantially monochromatic incident laser power beam, the compound lens including: a first optical surface (reference numeral 705 in Figure 12) configured to focus the incident laser power beam into a focused power beam at a focal distance; and a second optical surface (reference numeral 2 in Figure 12) including a plurality of optical elements tiled (e.g. reference numeral 712, 714, 716, 718 as illustrated in Figure 12) to substantially cover the second optical surface, wherein: each optical element of the plurality is configured to expand a respective portion of the focused power beam toward a light-gathering area (reference numeral 722, 724 in Figure 12; e.g. as illustrated in Figure 6 ); and the expanded portions of the focused power beam overlap with one another at the light-gathering area to form a homogenized power beam (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 6; e.g. “overlap” as in paragraph [0061]); and a power converter (reference numeral 722, 724 in Figure 12) positioned to receive the homogenized power beam.
Regarding claim 2, Angel teaches The beam homogenizer of claim 1, wherein the compound lens has a width (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 6 and/or Figure 12), and wherein the compound lens is positioned at a distance from the light-gathering area between about half of the width and about six times the width (e.g. “90 mm” as in paragraph [0069]; “6mm” as in paragraph [0084]; reference numeral 740 in Figure 12).
Regarding claim 5, Angel teaches The beam homogenizer of claim 1, wherein the compound lens has an axis (e.g. any of reference numeral 11, 12, 13 as illustrated in Figure 3); the homogenized power beam has a final width that is less than a width of the compound lens (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 5, Figure 6, and Figure 12); and the light-gathering area is wide enough that the homogenized power beam is positioned within the light-gathering area when the incident laser power beam forms an angle with the axis of less than 2 degrees (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 5 and Figure 6).
Regarding claim 8, Angel teaches The beam homogenizer of claim 1, wherein the incident laser power beam has an unshaped beam irradiance profile and the homogenized power beam has a reshaped beam irradiance profile (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 5 and Figure 6), and wherein the reshaped beam irradiance profile is flatter than the unshaped beam irradiance profile (e.g. by virtue of projection onto a flat surface as illustrated in Figure 5 and Figure 6).
Regarding claim 9, Angel teaches The beam homogenizer of claim 8, wherein the unshaped beam irradiance profile is approximately Gaussian (inherent in the profile of sunlight reference numeral 11, 12, 13 in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, Angel teaches The beam homogenizer of claim 9, wherein the reshaped beam irradiance profile is approximately flat across at least half of the light-gathering area (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3, Figure 5, and Figure 6).
Regarding claim 11, Angel teaches The beam homogenizer of claim 8, wherein the reshaped beam irradiance profile has a normalized deviation that is less than half of a normalized deviation of the unshaped beam irradiance profile (e.g. by virtue of “0th order” light transmission as in paragraph [0015] and illustrated in Figure 6).
Regarding claim 24, Angel inherently teaches The beam homogenizer of claim 1, wherein the first optical surface (e.g. the top side of reference numeral 705 in Figure 12) has a first f-number and the second optical surface (e.g. the bottom side of reference numeral 705 in Figure 12) has a second f-number, and the first f-number and the second f-number have absolute values within 10% of one another (e.g. by virtue of being two sides of the same piece of “glass” as in paragraph [0083]).
Regarding claim 26, 49, 50, 52, Angel teaches The power receiver of claim 25, further comprising a concentrator (reference numeral 719 in Figure 12) positioned to direct at least a portion of the homogenized power beam toward the power converter.
Regarding claim 29, Angel teaches The power receiver of claim 25, further comprising a plurality of concentrators (reference numeral 7141, 7142 in Figure 13) , each concentrator arranged to direct at least a portion of the reshaped power beam towards a particular location in the light-gathering area.
Regarding claim 31, 53, Angel teaches The power receiver of claim 25, wherein the power converter includes a photovoltaic (PV) cell (e.g. “solar PV” as in abstract and throughout).
Regarding claim 32, 54, Angel teaches The power receiver of claim 25, wherein the power converter includes a plurality of PV cells (reference numeral 722, 724 in Figure 12).
Regarding claim 33, Angel teaches The power receiver of claim 32, wherein the power receiver includes a plurality of concentrators (reference numeral 7141, 7142, 7161, 7162 in Figure 13), each positioned to receive at least a portion of the homogenized power beam, and each concentrator is positioned to direct its respective portion of the homogenized power beam toward at least one PV cell (reference numeral 722, 724 in Figure 12).
Regarding claim 51, Angel teaches The method of claim 50, wherein concentrating at least a portion of the power beam includes passing the beam through a concentrator (reference numeral 7141, 7142, 7161, 7162 in Figure 13) having an output angle less than or equal to a maximum acceptance angle of the power converter (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23 and 36-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angel in view of Yang (Publication No.: US 2011/0030765 A1).
Regarding claim 21-23, 36-39, Angel teaches The beam homogenizer of claim 1, but fails to specifically teach that the optical elements are convex, concave, aspheric, or lenslets. However, Yang teaches that utilizing such optical elements is well known in the art (reference numeral 60 in Figure 7). One skilled in the art would have been motivated to utilize such optical elements in order to form a compound type lens for a concentrating solar cell in which chromatic aberrations of a conventional lens are suppressed (e.g. as in paragraph [0131] of Yang). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to utilize optical elements that are convex, concave, or lenslets as taught by Yang in Angel.
Regarding claim 40, the combination of references and Angel in particular inherently teaches The beam homogenizer of claim 1, wherein the first optical surface (e.g. the top side of reference numeral 705 in Figure 12) has a first f-number and the second optical surface (e.g. the bottom side of reference numeral 705 in Figure 12) has a second f-number, and the first f-number and the second f-number have absolute values within 10% of one another (e.g. by virtue of being two sides of the same piece of “glass” as in paragraph [0083]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/07/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the newly added recitation of a substantially monochromatic incident laser power beam distinguishes the claimed invention from the cited prior art, Examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Similarly, "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
In the instant application, Angel clearly meets every structural limitation of the claimed invention, is configured in the same manner claimed, and produces the same results as Applicant’s claimed invention. Furthermore, Applicant’s specification paragraph [0022] makes clear “the light source is intended to encompass all forms of electromagnetic radiation” and Applicant’s term “laser” is used to describe a “light source” for “the sake of readability.” In essence, Applicant’s disclosure of the term “laser” as a generic term for any and all forms of electromagnetic radiation, including single wavelength and multi-wavelength light, undermines Applicant’s arguments that the newly recited limitations pertaining to “substantially monochromatic” “laser” light distinguishes the claimed invention from Angel, for it is apparent the type of light input to the claimed apparatus is of little to no consequence.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AGUSTIN BELLO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635