DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/711,599 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the claim mapping below. Claim 1 of Instant Application is broader than Claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/711,599.
Instant Application
Claim 1. A printed wiring board comprising: a first insulating layer having a first main surface and a second main surface opposite to the first main surface; a first wire pattern, a second wire pattern and a first ground pattern disposed on the second main surface and extending along a first direction in a plan view; a second ground pattern disposed on the first main surface; an adhesive layer disposed on the second main surface so as to cover the first wire pattern, the second wire pattern and the first ground pattern; a second insulating layer disposed on the adhesive layer and having a third main surface facing the adhesive layer side and a fourth main surface opposite to the third main surface; a third ground pattern disposed on the fourth main surface; and a first conductor layer, wherein the first ground pattern is located between the first wire pattern and the second wire pattern in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, and is spaced apart from the first wire pattern and the second wire pattern, a plurality of first through-holes passing through the first insulating layer, the first ground pattern, the second ground pattern, the adhesive layer, and the second insulating layer and the third ground pattern in a thickness direction are formed in the first insulating layer, the first ground pattern, the second ground pattern, the adhesive layer, the second insulating layer, and the third ground pattern, the plurality of first through-holes are spaced apart from each other and arranged to line up along the first direction, the first conductor layer is disposed on an inner wall surface of each of the plurality of first through-holes, and is electrically connected to the first ground pattern, the second ground pattern and the third ground pattern, and a width of each of the plurality of first through-holes in the first direction is greater than a width of each of the plurality of first through-holes in the second direction.
Reference Application 18/711,599
Claim 1. A printed wiring board comprising: a first insulating layer having a first main surface and a second main surface opposite to the first main surface; a first wire pattern, a second wire pattern, and a first ground pattern that are disposed on the second main surface and extend along a first direction in a plan view; a second ground pattern disposed on the first main surface; an adhesive layer disposed on the second main surface so as to cover the first wire pattern, the second wire pattern, and the first ground pattern; a second insulating layer disposed on the adhesive layer and having a third main surface facing the adhesive layer and a fourth main surface opposite to the third main surface; a third ground pattern disposed on the fourth main surface; and a first conductor layer and a second conductor layer, wherein in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, the first ground pattern is located between the first wire pattern and the second wire pattern, and spaced apart from the first wire pattern and the second wire pattern, in the first insulating layer and the second ground pattern, a plurality of first through-holes passing through the first insulating layer and the second ground pattern in a thickness direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction, and overlapping the first ground pattern in a plan view are formed, the plurality of first through-holes are spaced apart from each other and arranged to line up along the first direction, in the adhesive layer, the second insulating layer, and the third ground pattern, a plurality of second through-holes passing through the adhesive layer, the second insulating layer, and the third ground pattern in the thickness direction, and overlapping the first ground pattern in a plan view are formed, the plurality of second through-holes are spaced apart from each other and arranged to line up along the first direction, the first conductor layer is disposed on an inner wall surface of each of the plurality of first through-holes, and electrically connected to the first ground pattern and the second ground pattern, the second conductor layer is disposed on an inner wall surface of each of the plurality of second through-holes, and electrically connected to the first ground pattern and the third ground pattern, and each of the plurality of first through-holes and each of the plurality of second through-holes have a width in the first direction and a width in the second direction, and the width in the first direction is larger than the width in the second direction.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim (s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano (US2020/0015351 A1) in view of Huang et al. (US 2018/0108965 A1) hereinafter Huang.
Regarding claim 1, Takano discloses, in Fig.16-17, a printed wiring board comprising: a first insulating layer (1020) having a first main surface (top surface of 1020) and a second main surface (bottom surface of 1020) opposite to the first main surface; a first wire pattern (2100), a second wire pattern (2200) and a first ground pattern (3200) disposed on the second main surface and extending along a first direction in a plan view (2100,2200 and 3300 extend into the paper) ; a second ground pattern (5000) disposed on the first main surface; an adhesive layer (1030) disposed on the second main surface so as to cover the first wire pattern, the second wire pattern and the first ground pattern (see 1030 cover 2100,2200,2300); a second insulating layer (1010) disposed on the adhesive layer (1030) and having a third main surface (top surface of 1010) facing the adhesive layer side and a fourth main surface (bottom surface of 1010) opposite to the third main surface; a third ground pattern (4000) disposed on the fourth main surface ( bottom surface of 1010); and a first conductor layer (6200), wherein the first ground pattern (3200) is located between the first wire pattern (2100) and the second wire pattern (2200) in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (left right direction), and is spaced apart from the first wire pattern and the second wire pattern (see Fig.17), a plurality of first through-holes (holes 6200;Fig.16) passing through the first insulating layer, the first ground pattern, the second ground pattern, the adhesive layer, and the second insulating layer and the third ground pattern in a thickness direction(see 6200 passing through 5000,1020,1030,1010,4000) are formed in the first insulating layer, the first ground pattern, the second ground pattern, the adhesive layer, the second insulating layer, and the third ground pattern (see 6200 passing through 5000,1020,1030,1010,4000), the plurality of first through-holes are spaced apart from each other and arranged to line up along the first direction (see plurality of 6200 spaced apart from each other Fig.16), the first conductor layer (conductor in 6200) is disposed on an inner wall surface of each of the plurality of first through-holes (see Fig.17), and is electrically connected to the first ground pattern, the second ground pattern and the third ground pattern ( via conductor in 6200 electrically connects 5000,4000 and 3200).
Takano is silent with respect to a width of each of the plurality of first through-holes in the first direction is greater than a width of each of the plurality of first through-holes in the second direction.
Huang discloses a width of each of the plurality of first through-holes (see length of VA VA; Fig.1) in the first direction is greater than a width of each of the plurality of first through-holes in the second direction (see width of VA; Fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Huang to modify the through holes of Takano in order to improve thermal performance by dissipating more heat.
Regarding claim 2, Takano discloses wherein each of the plurality of first through-holes extends along the first direction in a plan view (see plurality of 6200 in Fig.16).
Claim (s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano in view of Huang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jain et al. (US 6133805) hereinafter Jain.
Regarding claim 3, Takano discloses, in Fig.2-4, a second conductor layer (54;Fig.2), wherein a plurality of second through-holes (see 55;Fig.2) passing through the first insulating layer (60;Fig.4), the first ground pattern (35), the second ground pattern (70), the adhesive layer (80), the second insulating layer (10), and the third ground pattern (40) in the thickness direction are formed in the first insulating layer, the first ground pattern, the second ground pattern, the adhesive layer, the second insulating layer, and the third ground pattern (see Fig.4) , a position of each of the plurality of second through-holes (see plurality of 55 in Fig.2) in the first direction is displaced from a position of each of the plurality of first through-holes (see plurality of 54 in Fig.2 ) in the first direction, the second conductor layer (see conductor in 55;Fig.4) is disposed on an inner wall surface of each of the plurality of second through-holes (see inner wall surface of 55) and is electrically connected to the first ground pattern (see 55 electrically connected to 35), the second ground pattern (70) and the third ground pattern (40).
Takano fails to specifically disclose the plurality of second through-holes are spaced apart from each other and arranged to line up along the first direction between a line of the plurality of first through- holes and the second wire pattern and a width of each of the plurality of second through-holes in the first direction is greater than a width of each of the plurality of second through-holes in the second direction.
Huang discloses a width of each of the plurality of first through-holes (see length of VA VA; Fig.1) in the first direction is greater than a width of each of the plurality of first through-holes in the second direction (see width of VA; Fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Huang to modify the plurality of second through holes of Takano in order to improve thermal performance by dissipating more heat.
Jain discloses a plurality of second through-holes (see holes 808 in grounding layer 803;Fig.8) are spaced apart from each other and arranged to line up along the first direction between a line of the plurality of first through- holes (see holes in 805) and the second wire pattern (801;Fig.8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Jian to modify the printed circuit board of Jain in order to improve isolation of signal layers to increase performance.
Regarding claim 4, a modified Takano discloses wherein each of the plurality of first through-holes (see plurality of 54) and each of the plurality of second through-holes (see plurality of 55) extend along the first direction in a plan view.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 5 The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" wherein each of the plurality of first through-holes and each of the plurality of second through-holes have a first portion extending along the first direction in a plan view, and a second portion connected to a central portion of the first portion in the first direction, in each of the plurality of first through-holes, the second portion extends from the first portion along a direction from the first wire pattern side to the second wire pattern side, and in each of the plurality of second through-holes, the second portion extends from the first portion along a direction from the second wire pattern side to the first wire pattern side" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 1 and claim 3.
Regarding claim 5 The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" wherein each of the plurality of first through-holes and each of the plurality of second through-holes have a third portion and a fourth portion extending linearly in a plan view, one end of the third portion and one end of the fourth portion are connected to each other, the one end of the third portion is located on one side in the first direction relative to the other end of the third portion, the one end of the fourth portion is located on the other side in the first direction relative to the other end of the fourth portion, in each of the plurality of first through-holes, the other end of the third portion and the other end of the fourth portion are located on the second wire pattern side relative to the one end of the third portion and the one end of the fourth portion, respectively, and in each of the plurality of second through-holes, the other end of the third portion and the other end of the fourth portion are located on the first wire pattern side relative to the one end of the third portion and the one end of the fourth portion, respectively" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 1 and claim 3.
Therefore, prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the instantapplication claimed invention as a whole either taken alone or in combination.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETE LEE whose telephone number is (571) 270-5921. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday (2nd & 4th Friday Off). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Timothy Dole can be reached at (571) 272-2229 The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/PETE T LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848