DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shenzhen et al (CN102715981A); hereinafter Shenzhen in view of Reis et al (US 20160067521 A1); hereinafter Reis.
Regarding claim 1, Shenzhen teaches A programmable graphic projection light source system for ophthalmology (light therapy apparatus), the system comprising a housing in which a light source (light source 11), a flexible screen (perspective plane), a reflective coating, and a light shielding plate (light shielding plate 12) are arranged, the light shielding plate being located between the light source and a pupil (figure 1). Shenzhen fails to teach the specific mechanics of how the light shielding works. Reis teaches the light source irradiating light in a direction away from the light shielding plate (optical deflecting unit), the flexible screen being located opposite the light shielding plate crossing the light source, the reflective coating being located opposite the light source crossing the flexible screen (claim 28 - optical deflector reflects the therapy beam), the reflective coating comprising a spherical face portion located centrally and a plane portion surrounding the spherical face portion, whereby after the light irradiated by the light source is reflected by the spherical face portion, a part of the light transferring a pattern shown in the flexible screen is blocked by the light shielding plate, and another part of the light irradiates orthographically onto a periphery of the pupil, and after the light irradiated by the light source is reflected by the plane portion, a part of the light transferring the pattern shown in the flexible screen irradiates obliquely onto the pupil (fig. 2a). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention to modify Shanzhen with Reis because there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. Reis teaches that the structure allows the light to be “correctly adjusted and/or positioned with respect to the eye to be treated as soon as the diaphragm holes of the target beams of light are imaged sharply and concentrically around the pupil of the eye to be treated” ([0011]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Shenzhen and Reis teaches the device of claim 1. Reis further teaches the light shielding plate is provided with a diameter adjusting device ([0024] diaphragm diameter which is variably adjustable can be used for this spatial limitation). Shenzhen further teaches it comprises adjusting slide blocks, adjusting press blocks, and a first micro servo motor, the light shielding plate having a cross slide located on a radial surface thereof, the cross slide comprising an intersection portion located centrally and four branch portions distributed along a circumference of the intersection portion, the adjusting slide blocks being in one-to-one correspondence with the branch portions and slidable along the corresponding branch portions, the light shielding plate being axially provided with an adjusting slide that is communicated with the intersection portion and is for the adjusting press blocks to slide therein, the first micro servo motor being fixed to the light shielding plate and serving to drive a first adjusting screw that is in threaded fit with the adjusting press blocks, so that when the first adjusting screw rotates, the adjusting press blocks move along the adjusting slide, the adjusting press blocks having four lateral sides thereof formed with pressing ramps each pressing on one of the adjusting slide blocks, the adjusting slide blocks each being provided with a propping ramp that fits the corresponding pressing ramp and moves along the corresponding branch portion when being pressed, a deformable blocking portion being provided between the lateral sides of the adjacent two adjusting press blocks, the light shielding plate having an outer side provided with a receiving recess for receiving the deformable blocking portions that retract into the light shielding plate, each of the branch portions having a lateral surface provided with a radially extending returning groove, each of the adjusting slide blocks being provided with a returning bulge that moves along the returning groove, and a compression spring being arranged between the returning bulge and the returning groove for returning the adjusting slide block toward the adjusting press block (abstract - the control device adjusts the size of projection area of the light shading device on a projection surface of the light emitted by the light source according to obtained control signals).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Shenzhen and Reis teaches the system of claim 1. Reis further teaches a reflection angle adjusting device, which comprises a second micro servo motor, a screw seat, a screw nut, and adjusting arms, the second micro servo motor being fixed to the housing and abutting against a side of the reflective coating opposite the flexible screen, the second micro servo motor driving a second adjusting screw to move in a direction of light irradiating directly onto the pupil, the screw seat being fixed to the housing and in rotational fit with an end of the second adjusting screw opposite the second micro servo motor, the screw nut being mounted around the second adjusting screw and moving along an axis of the second adjusting screw when the second adjusting screw rotates, the screw nut being peripherally provided with at least four circumferentially distributed links, the adjusting arms being in one-to-one correspondence with the links, and a center of the adjusting arm being pivotally connected to an end portion of the corresponding link, the link having one end pivotally connected to the screw seat and an opposite end pivotally connected to the side of the reflective coating opposite the flexible screen (fig. 1 - parts 22,23,24, 13, [0026] it is capable of sharply focusing the therapy beam 10 on an ocular imaging plane 16, wherein the ocular imaging plane 16 corresponds to a curved focal surface that corresponds to the curved surface 17 of the cornea of the eye 3 to be treated).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Reis and Shenzhen teaches the system of claim 1. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention to modify the combination with a connection between the flexible screen and an image input device in a wired or wireless manner. It would be obvious to try because the image input device has to be transmitted somehow and wired and wireless are identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/D.S.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/CARL H LAYNO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796