DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, and 31 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4 lines 1-2, “the sensing inductance variations” lack antecedent relation and therefore should read “sensing inductance variations.”
In claim 1 line 7 and claim 31 line 4, each instance of “the circuit” should be replaced by “the flexible sensing circuit” for more clear indication of antecedent relation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 23, and 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
In claim 5 line 2, “the non-uniform distribution of baseline inductance density” lacks antecedent relation. For purposes of examination, “the non-uniform distribution of baseline inductance density” is interpreted as “a non-uniform distribution of baseline inductance density.”
In claim 23 lines 3-4, “the measurements of the variable electrical inductance” lacks antecedent basis. For purposes of examination, and based on claim 1 from which claim 23 depends, “the measurements of the variable electrical inductance” is interpreted as “the sensed total inductances.”
In claim 29 line 1, “the provided measurements” lacks antecedent basis. For purposes of examination, and based on based on claim 1 from which claim 29 depends, “the provided measurements” is interpreted to encompass either sensed inductances and/or the determined/sensed magnetic field.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-12, 29, 31-33, and 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo (US 2018/0056039 A1) in view of Nevo (US 2013/0303878 A1).
As to claim 1, Luo teaches “[a] system (FIG. 17 depicting system including catheter 1A and sensing circuit 3A and processing unit 4A) configured to sense” [inductance] “at one or more locations along a sensing region of a flexible and elongated probe body ([0007], [0013], and [0083] sensing circuit for measuring variation of an inductance of a flexible section (one or more locations) caused by deformation of elastic members (inherently entails determining changes in magnetic field along the elastic member as indicated for example in [0083] describing relation of magnetic field to bending measurements relating to inductance determinations); FIG. 17 and [0081] sensing circuit 3A connected to and effectively incorporating elastic members 21A and 22A extending along multi-joint section 11A), the system comprising:
the elongated probe body (FIG. 17 catheter 1A including multi-joint section 11A);
a flexible sensing circuit (FIG. 17 circuit formed by elastic members 22A, 22B and sensing circuit 3A) comprising inductance density along the sensing region (per the inductance variation detection, elastic members 21A and 22A have inductance density); and
a processor (FIG. 17 processor 4A) configured to:
sense total inductances of the flexible sensing circuit (FIG. 17 and [0083] sensing circuits 31A and 32A connected across entire span of elastic members 21A and 22A and measure variations in inductances for elastic members 21A and 22A) for” “electrical current values passed through the circuit (FIG. 17 sensing circuits 31A and 32A electrically connected to elastic members 21A and 22A to sense parameters enabling determination of inductances, which inherently can only be determined by current flowing through elastic members 21A and 22A); and
determine sensed” [inductances] “for the one or more locations along the sensing region ([0083] inductance variations measured for one or more locations along sensing region (elongation of elastic member 21A and contraction of elastic member 22A).”
Luo does not appear to expressly teach the system is configured to sense “a magnetic field” including a processor configured to determine sensed “magnetic field” for the one or more locations along the sensing region. However, Luo further discloses the known direct correspondence between inductance and magnetic fields as relates to magneto-inductive position/shape sensing ([0002] and [0083] describing the direct interrelation between magnetic field and inductance with respect to bend sensing) and Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) further discloses such direct correspondence (page 1, paragraph beginning with “A magneto-inductive sensor measures …” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, in view of Luo’s teaching of determining inductances at one or more locations along the sensing region and magnetic field as being directly related to inductances including variable inductances such that in combination the processor is further configured to determine sensed magnetic field for the one or more locations along the sensing region.
The motivation would have been to acquire a significant magneto-inductive parameters useful for ascertaining magnetic/inductive qualities of the sensing region.
Luo is largely silent regarding the manner in which the sensing circuits determine inductance variations due to deformation/bending of the elastic members and therefore does not teach sensing total inductances of the flexible sensing circuit for “each of a plurality of different” electrical current values passed through the circuit.
Nevo discloses a system/method for determining positioning of a flexible object (e.g., catheter, guidewire) having a sensor coil attached thereto (Abstract; [0014]; FIG. 1 sensor 14 flexibly attached to object 16) and tracking generated signals from the coil ([0091]; FIG. 2A depicting coil signal output as induced by external electromagnetic activation) and in which the activation of the sensor coils includes variations in current ([0096], [0102]-[0104] electromagnetic source excitation signals may be of different amplitudes (current expressly indicated per [0102]), which would result in different induced current levels through the coil(s)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to have applied Nevo’s teaching of using various levels of excitation such as current to a magneto-inductive sensor to the system taught by Luo, which teaches sensing total inductances of the flexible sensing circuit for electrical current values passed through the circuit, such that in combination the system is configured to sense total inductances of the flexible sensing circuit for each of a plurality of different electrical current values passed through the circuit.
The motivation would have been to improve sensing coverage to account for variations in magneto-inductance properties that may result from the different types of excitation as suggested by Nevo.
As to claim 2, the combination of Luo and Nevo teaches “[t]he system of claim 1, wherein the one or more locations along the sensing region comprise locations with respectively different inductance densities (Luo: the deformation of elastic members 21A and 22a such as depicted in FIGS. 19 and 20 results in different inductances that are location dependent (in accordance with particular stretching or compressing at any given point) as described in [0083]) such that the different electrical current values generate different respective internal magnetization field strengths in each said location (Luo and Nevo as combined for claim 1 would inherently result (via magneto-inductive physical principles) in different internal magnetization fields strengths at locations of deformation having different inductance densities).”
As to claim 3, the combination of Luo and Nevo teaches “[t]he system of claim 2, wherein the respectively different internal magnetization field strengths result in different internal inductance density variations in each of the one or more locations along the sensing region (Luo and Nevo as combined for claim 1 would inherently result (via magneto-inductive physical principles) in different internal inductance densities that result from the different internal magnetization field strengths at locations of deformation).”
As to claim 4, the combination of Luo and Nevo teaches “[t]he system of claim 3, wherein the different internal inductance density variations adjust the sensing inductance density variations to different functions of sensed magnetic field strength in each of the one or more locations (Luo and Nevo as combined for claim 1 would inherently result (via magneto-inductive physical principles) in the different internal inductance density variations adjusting the sensing inductance density variations to different functions of sensed magnetic field strength (inductance density translates to magnetic field strength) in at locations of deformation).”
As to claim 10, the combination of Luo and Nevo teaches “[t]he system of claim 1, wherein non-uniformity of a baseline inductance density is provided using a non-uniform density of coil windings along the sensing region (Luo: FIG. 19 depicting deformation of elastic members 21A and 22A while the probe is bending; [0007], [0083]).”
As to claim 11, the combination of Luo and Nevo teaches “[t]he system of claim 10, wherein the non-uniform density of coil windings along the sensing region comprises gradually changing coil spacing along the sensing region (Luo: FIG. 19 depicting stretching and compression of elastic members 21A and 22A that occurs gradually as probe is bending; [0007], [0083]).”
As to claim 12, the combination of Luo and Nevo teaches “[t]he system of claim 10, wherein the non-uniform density of coil windings along the sensing region comprises discrete sections of coil along the sensing region, each section having a different number of coil windings (Luo: FIG. 19 depicting various non-overlapping (discrete) sections of elastic members 21A and 22A having different numbers of coil windings).”
As to claim 29, as best understood and interpreted in view of the grounds for rejecting claim 29 under 112(b), the combination of Luo and Nevo teaches “[t]he system of claim 1, wherein the provided measurements are constrained by criteria requiring one or more of the group consisting of: smoothness of the sensed magnetic field along the sensing region (inductance/magnetic field measurements are inherently affected/constrained by characteristics of the sensed magnetic field along the sensing region such as variations/smoothness), preservation of distances between sensing regions (inductance/magnetic field measurements are inherently affected/constrained by characteristics of the sensed magnetic field that is inherently affected/constrained by distances between sensing regions), and/or preservation of known positions of sensing regions (inductance/magnetic field measurements are inherently affected/constrained by characteristics of the sensed magnetic field that is inherently affected/constrained by known positioning of sensing regions).”
As to claim 31, Luo teaches “[a] method (method implemented by system in FIG. 17 depicting system including catheter 1A and sensing circuit 3A and processing unit 4A) of sensing” [inductance] “at a plurality of locations along a flexible elongated probe body ([0007], [0013], and [0083] sensing circuit for measuring variation of an inductance of a flexible section (one or more locations) caused by deformation of elastic members (inherently entails determining changes in magnetic field along the elastic member as indicated for example in [0083] describing relation of magnetic field to bending measurements relating to inductance determinations); FIG. 17 and [0081] sensing circuit 3A connected to and effectively incorporating elastic members 21A and 22A extending along multi-joint section 11A), the method comprising:
sensing total inductances (FIG. 17 and [0083] sensing circuits 31A and 32A connected across entire span of elastic members 21A and 22A and measure variations in inductances for elastic members 21A and 22A) of a flexible sensing circuit (FIG. 17 circuit formed by elastic members 22A, 22B and sensing circuit 3A) for” “electrical current values passed through the circuit (FIG. 17 sensing circuits 31A and 32A electrically connected to elastic members 21A and 22A to sense parameters enabling determination of inductances, which inherently can only be determined by current flowing through elastic members 21A and 22A), wherein the circuit comprises varying inductance density (the deformation of elastic members 21A and 22a such as depicted in FIGS. 19 and 20 results in different inductances that are location dependent (in accordance with particular stretching or compressing at any given point) as described in [0083]); and
determining the sensed” [inductances] “for a plurality of mutually distinguished inductance density locations along the flexible sensing circuit ([0083] inductance variations measured for multiple locations along sensing circuit (elongation of elastic member 21A and contraction of elastic member 22A).”
Luo does not appear to expressly teach a method of sensing “a magnetic field” including determining the sensed “magnetic field” for a plurality of mutually distinguished inductance density locations. However, Luo further discloses the known direct correspondence between inductance and magnetic fields as relates to magneto-inductive position/shape sensing ([0002] and [0083] describing the direct interrelation between magnetic field and inductance with respect to bend sensing) and Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) further discloses such direct correspondence (page 1, paragraph beginning with “A magneto-inductive sensor measures …” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, in view of Luo’s teaching of determining inductances at multiple locations along the sensing circuit and magnetic field as being directly related to inductances including variable inductances such that in combination the method includes determining sensed magnetic field for a plurality of mutually distinguished inductance density locations along the sensing circuit.
The motivation would have been to acquire a significant magneto-inductive parameters useful for ascertaining magnetic/inductive qualities of the sensing region.
Luo is largely silent regarding the manner in which the sensing circuits determine inductance variations due to deformation/bending of the elastic members and therefore does not teach sensing total inductances of the flexible sensing circuit for “each of a plurality of different” electrical current values passed through the circuit.
Nevo discloses a system/method for determining positioning of a flexible object (e.g., catheter, guidewire) having a sensor coil attached thereto (Abstract; [0014]; FIG. 1 sensor 14 flexibly attached to object 16) and tracking generated signals from the coil ([0091]; FIG. 2A depicting coil signal output as induced by external electromagnetic activation) and in which the activation of the sensor coils includes variations in current ([0096], [0102]-[0104] electromagnetic source excitation signals may be of different amplitudes (current expressly indicated per [0102]), which would result in different induced current levels through the coil(s)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to have applied Nevo’s teaching of using various levels of excitation such as current to a magneto-inductive sensor to the system taught by Luo, which teaches sensing total inductances of the flexible sensing circuit for electrical current values passed through the circuit, such that in combination the method is configured for sensing total inductances of the flexible sensing circuit for each of a plurality of different electrical current values passed through the circuit.
The motivation would have been to improve sensing coverage to account for variations in magneto-inductance properties that may result from the different types of excitation as suggested by Nevo.
As to claim 32, the combination of Luo and Nevo teaches “[t]he method of claim 31, comprising using the sensed magnetic field to determine one or more positions along the flexible elongated probe body (Luo: Abstract and [0007] measurements (inductance/magnetic field as per grounds for rejecting claim 1) used for calculating bending angle (includes shape and relative position information); [0017]).”
As to claim 33, the combination of Luo and Nevo teaches “[t]he method of claim 31, comprising using the sensed magnetic field to determine a shape of the flexible elongated probe body (Luo: Abstract and [0007] measurements (inductance/magnetic field as per grounds for rejecting claim 1) used for calculating bending angle (includes shape and relative position information); [0017]).”
As to claim 44, the combination of Luo and Nevo teaches “[t]he system according to claim 1, wherein the flexible sensing circuit comprises variable inductance density (Luo: [0083] inductance variations measured for multiple locations along sensing circuit (elongation of elastic member 21A and contraction of elastic member 22A).”
As to claim 45, the combination of Luo and Nevo teaches “[t]he system according to claim 1, wherein the locations are a plurality of mutually distinguished inductance density locations along the flexible sensing circuit (Luo: [0083] inductance variations measured for multiple locations along sensing circuit (elongation of elastic member 21A and contraction of elastic member 22A).”
Claims 6 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Nevo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taniguchi (US 6,059,718).
As to claim 6, the combination of Luo and Nevo teaches “[t]he system of claim 1, wherein the flexible sensing circuit comprises inductor coil windings (Luo: FIGS. 16 and 17 depicting elastic members 21A and 22A as coil windings).”
Neither Luo nor Nevo appear to disclose that the coil windings “wrap a magnetic inductor core which changes non-linearly in electromagnetic permeability as a function of total local magnetic field strength.”
Taniguchi discloses a system/method for detecting endoscopic form (Abstract; FIG. 103) that uses a sensor having coil windings that wrap a magnetic inductor core which changes non-linearly in electromagnetic permeability as a function of total local magnetic field strength (col. 74 lines 57-65 coil incorporated within endoscope is wrapped on ferromagnetic core (saturability/non-linearity of permeability as function of local magnetic field strength inherent to ferromagnetic core).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to have applied Taniguchi’s teaching of using a core having non-linear permeability as a function of local magnetic field strength to the system taught by Luo as modified by Nevo, which teaches a coil-type sensor, such that in combination the coil windings wrap a magnetic inductor core which changes non-linearly in electromagnetic permeability as a function of total local magnetic field strength.
Such a combination would amount to selecting a known inductive sensor design option to achieve predictable results.
As to claim 24, the combination of Luo and Nevo teaches “[t]he system of claim 1, comprising a magnetic field generating controller (Luo: FIGS. 6-7, [0072], [0074] external field generated by electromagnets)” but does not appear to teach “a plurality of magnetic field generating transducers generating a respective plurality of magnetic fields.”
Taniguchi discloses a system/method for detecting endoscopic form (Abstract; FIG. 103) that uses a sensor having coil windings that are configured as a plurality of magnetic field generating transducers generating a respective plurality of magnetic fields (FIGS. 113, 114, and 115 depicting distinct coils sections 310, col. 84 lines 11-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to have applied Taniguchi’s teaching of coil windings that are configured as a plurality of magnetic field generating transducers generating a respective plurality of magnetic fields to the system taught by Luo as modified by Nevo, which teaches a coil-type sensor, such that in combination the system includes a plurality of magnetic field generating transducers generating a respective plurality of magnetic fields.
The motivation would have been to provide flexible distribution of various transducer sections that may dynamically conform to potential bending in the contour of the probe as suggested by Taniguchi.
As to claim 25, the combination of Luo, Nevo, and Taniguchi teaches “[t]he system of claim 24,” and Nevo further teaches “wherein the plurality of magnetic fields are generated at different frequencies ([0102] electromagnetic activation need not be identical in repetition rate), and distinguished by a readout controller (FIG. 1 tracking processor 12 and RMNS processor 44 configured to control display 46) that provides the measurements using differences in their frequencies (FIG. 1 tracking processor 12 and RMNS processor 44 configured to provide readout of measurements for display 46, [0091] data from sensor 14 sent by tracking processor 12 to activation processor 44 and then used to show location/orientation of sensor (EM measurements that per [0102] may have different frequencies translated to location/orientation)).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to have applied Nevo’s teaching of the plurality of magnetic fields being generated at different frequencies, and distinguished by a readout controller that provides the measurements using differences in their frequencies to the system taught by Luo as modified by Nevo and Taniguchi such that in combination the system is configured such that the plurality of magnetic fields are generated at different frequencies, and distinguished by a readout controller that provides the measurements using differences in their frequencies.
The motivation would have been to improve sensing coverage to account for variations in magneto-inductance properties that may result from the different excitation frequencies as suggested by Nevo and furthermore to provide a readout that indicates results from such excitation various to extract useful information from such expanded excitation.
As to claim 26, the combination of Luo, Nevo, and Taniguchi teaches “[t]he system of claim 24, comprising a processing unit configured to determine a shape and position of the sensing circuit, using the measurements of sensed magnetic field strengths (Luo: Abstract and [0007] measurements (inductance/magnetic field as per grounds for rejecting claim 1) used for calculating bending angle (includes shape and relative position information); [0017]).”
Claims 13 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Nevo as applied to claims 12 and 10 above, and further in view of Andreason (US 2019/0025040 A1).
As to claim 13, the combination of Luo and Nevo teaches “[t]he system of claim 12,” but neither Luo nor Nevo appears to teach “wherein different numbers of coils windings are provided as coils in different numbers of layers.”
Andreason discloses a system/method for electromagnetic tracking (Abstract) of a flexible medical instrument ([0056]) in which an electromagnet forming part of an overall sensing system (FIG. 1 electromagnet 200 including inductor coil 202 and core 204 part of overall sensing system that includes sensor 104) includes coils wrapped on a core (FIG. 1 inductor coil 202 and core 204) and in which the coils may be configured such that different numbers of coils windings are provided as coils in different numbers of layers (FIG. 2M depicting coils 202M in which different number are provided in different numbers of layers; [0134]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to have applied Andreason’s teaching of configuring the sensing system such that different numbers of coils windings are provided as coils in different numbers of layers to the teachings of Luo as modified by Nevo such that in combination different numbers of coils windings are provided as coils in different numbers of layers.
The motivation would have been to provide a particularized magnetic/inductive distribution that may be helpful for obtaining a desired magnetic field profile as suggested by Andreason.
As to claim 21, the combination of Luo and Nevo teaches “[t]he system of claim 10,” but neither Luo nor Nevo appears to teach “wherein non-uniformity of the baseline inductance density is provided using a range of different diameters between the largest and smallest diameter as diameters of different inductive coil windings contributing to the total inductance.”
Andreason discloses a system/method for electromagnetic tracking (Abstract) of a flexible medical instrument ([0056]) in which an electromagnet forming part of an overall sensing system (FIG. 1 electromagnet 200 including inductor coil 202 and core 204 part of overall sensing system that includes sensor 104) includes coils wrapped on a core (FIG. 1 inductor coil 202 and core 204) and in which the coil is configured to have a range of different diameters between the largest and smallest diameter as diameters of different inductive coil windings contributing to a total inductance (FIG. 2M depicting coils 202M configured a range of different diameters between the largest and smallest diameter as diameters of different inductive coil windings contributing to a total inductance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to have applied Andreason’s teaching of configuring the sensing system such that a range of different diameters between the largest and smallest diameter as diameters of different inductive coil windings contributing to a total inductance to the teachings of Luo as modified by Nevo such that in combination non-uniformity of the baseline inductance density is provided using a range of different diameters between the largest and smallest diameter as diameters of different inductive coil windings contributing to the total inductance.
The motivation would have been to provide a particularized magnetic/inductive distribution that may be helpful for obtaining a desired magnetic field profile as suggested by Andreason.
As to claim 22, the combination of Luo and Nevo teaches “[t]he system of claim 10,” but neither Luo nor Nevo appears to teach “wherein non-uniformity of the baseline inductance density is provided using variations in composition of a magnetic core of the inductor coils contributing to the total inductance.”
Andreason discloses a system/method for electromagnetic tracking (Abstract) of a flexible medical instrument ([0056]) in which an electromagnet forming part of an overall sensing system (FIG. 1 electromagnet 200 including inductor coil 202 and core 204 part of overall sensing system that includes sensor 104) in which the sensor includes coils wrapped on a magnetic core (FIG. 1 inductor coil 202 and core 204; [0017] core is composed at least in part of ferromagnetic material) and in which the coil is wrapped on a magnetic core having variable composition (FIG. 6, [0200] inductor coils wrapped on core having material variations; [0017] core formed at least in part of ferromagnetic material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to have applied Andreason’s teaching of the sensor including coils wrapped on a magnetic core and in which the coil is wrapped on a magnetic core having variable composition to the teachings of Luo as modified by Nevo, such that in combination non-uniformity of the baseline inductance density is provided using variations in composition of a magnetic core of the inductor coils contributing to the total inductance.
The motivation would have been to provide different magneto-inductive responses along the length of the sensing regions via variations in core properties.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Nevo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwok (US 2021/0003644 A1).
As to claim 28, the combination of Luo and Nevo teaches “[t]he system of claim 1, wherein components of the sensing circuit also provide mechanical properties of the elongated probe body at a distal end thereof (Luo: FIGS. 16-17 depicting flexible distal end of catheter; Abstract and [0007] measurements (inductance/magnetic field as per grounds for rejecting claim 1) used for calculating bending angle), the mechanical properties being suitable for advancing the sensing circuit by insertion of the elongated probe body into a body cavity (Luo: flexing/bending of catheter distal end suitable for insertion of catheter (device for entering body cavity per abstract and [0060])).”
Furthermore, Nevo discloses that it is known in the art to use catheters may have an extent of at least 50 mm ([0003] catheters used for a variety of applications including mapping cardiovascular system and correcting heart related conditions using ablation (entails distances greater that 50 mm)) and suggests reaching body conduits regions of at least 5 mm in diameter (cardiovascular system includes medium sized veins/arteries of 5 mm or less). Furthermore, Kwok expressly discloses a catheter having a diameter of less than 5 mm ([0087] 3 mm catheter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to have applied Nevo’s teaching of configuring catheters to have an extent of at least 50 mm to reach body conduits that may have a diameter of 5 mm or less and Kwok’s teaching that a catheter may have a diameter of less than 5 mm to the system taught by Luo as modified by Nevo in which catheters are applied to body cavities such that in combination the system is configured such that the mechanical properties are suitable for insertion of the sensing circuit a distance of at least 50 mm, to reach a body cavity region having an inner diameter of 5 mm or less.”
The motivation would have been to enable the sensing circuit to be positioned at a distance and within a limited diameter cavity to effectuate a given medical procedure within the limited diameter cavity including necessary magneto-inductive navigation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 23, and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
For claim 5, the most pertinent prior arts are represented by Luo (US 2018/0056039 A1), Nevo (US 2013/0303878 A1), and Polonsky (US 2021/0153975 A1).
Regarding claim 5, and as set forth in the grounds for rejecting claims 1-4 under 103 set forth above, the combination of Luo and Nevo teaches all elements of claim 5 except, “receive a model of the non-uniform distribution of baseline inductance density; and calculate strengths of the sensed magnetic field to be consistent with both the internal magnetization field strengths, and the different functions of sensed magnetic field strength in each of the one or more locations along the sensing region.”
Polonsky teaches receiving a model of a distribution of baseline inductance density ([0079]-[0080] baseline inductances may be used to compare with inductance measurements).
The combination of Luo, Nevo, and Polonsky does not teach that the baseline inductance distribution is non-uniform and further does not teach calculating strengths of magnetic field in a manner having consistency with both the internal magnetization field strengths and the different functions of sensed magnetic field strength in each of the one or more locations along the sensing region, such that the prior arts do not teach “receive a model of the non-uniform distribution of baseline inductance density; and calculate strengths of the sensed magnetic field to be consistent with both the internal magnetization field strengths, and the different functions of sensed magnetic field strength in each of the one or more locations along the sensing region” in combination with the other elements of claim 5.
For claim 23, the most pertinent prior arts are represented by Luo (US 2018/0056039 A1), Nevo (US 2013/0303878 A1), and Govari (US 2005/0024043 A1).
Regarding claim 23, as best understood and interpreted in view of the grounds for rejecting claim 23 under 112(b), and as set forth in the grounds for rejecting claim 1 under 103 set forth above, the combination of Luo and Nevo teaches the elements of claim 1 from which claim 23 depends and furthermore Govari discloses that it was known in the art to use a system of non-linear equations to determine coordinate locations based on signal strength inputs. However, the prior arts do not disclose, “calculate strengths of sensed magnetic field for the one or more locations along the sensing region by solving a system of non-linear equations, each respectively defined using the measurements of the variable electrical inductance and their corresponding electrical current values,” in combination with the other elements of claim 23.
For claim 30, the most pertinent prior arts are represented by Luo (US 2018/0056039 A1), Nevo (US 2013/0303878 A1), and Taniguchi (US 6,059,718).
Regarding claim 30, and as set forth in the grounds for rejecting claims 1 and 6 under 103 set forth above, the combination of Luo, Nevo, and Taniguchi teaches the elements of claims 1 and 6 from which claim 30 depends, and further teaches “the inductor coil windings surround an inductor core material (as combined for claim 6 the combination of Luo, Nevo, and Taniguchi teaches inductor coil winding surrounding an inductor core material).
The prior arts do not disclose, “access at least one impedance curve defining changes in inductance density as a function of magnetization of the inductor core material, and calculate the strengths of sensed magnetic field for the one or more locations along the sensing region, using an impedance curve,” in combination with the other elements of claim 30.
Other Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Analogous devices and methods are represented by Blumenthal (US 2025/0331922 A1) and Blumenkranz (US 2017/0367767 A1).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W. BACA/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ALEXANDER SATANOVSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857