DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29-31 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et al. (Rao), U.S. Publication No. 2023/0283424 in view of Balasubramanian et al. (Balasubramanian), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0014872.
Regarding Claim 29, Rao discloses a method of a first radio node for physical
resource conflict avoidance in a resource pool between at least one position reference signal transmitted by the first radio node to at least a second radio node, and a further position reference signal transmitted by either the second radio node, or a further radio node, the method comprising the following steps:
obtaining, at the first radio node, an initial position reference signal including a plurality of resource elements arranged in a predetermined pattern within a position reference signal slot (i.e., a WTRU may be configured to apply a muting pattern of a reference signal depending on a priority level associated with the reference signal (e.g., a PRS or SRSp); see paragraph [0135]);
modifying, at the first radio node, the initial position reference signal to form a modified position reference signal, the modified position reference signal having a reduced probability of conflicting with the further position reference signal transmitted by either the second radio node or the further radio node (i.e., a WTRU changing a present muting pattern of a reference signal (e.g., a PRS) to a different muting pattern in response to deprioritization of the reference signal…the WTRU may determine that the PRS transmission associated with the first muting pattern (e.g., muting pattern 1) is to collide with a control channel (e.g., PDCCH) transmission in a first time resource; see paragraphs [0132] and [0133]); and
transmitting, from the first radio node, the modified position reference signal to the second radio node via at least one channel (i.e., the WTRU may use the second time resource to receive the unmuted PRS transmission and may continue to use the second muting pattern afterwards.; see paragraph [0133]).
Rao fails to disclose side link.
Balasubramanian discloses side link (i.e., a P-UE may communicate with one
or more V-UEs on a sidelink to perform ranging and positioning related measurements (e.g., based on positioning reference signals (PRSs) communicated over the sidelink between the P-UE and the V-UEs); see paragraph [0070]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Balasubramanian’s invention with Rao’s invention for providing network assistance and improving positioning performance as described throughout Balasubramanian.
Regarding Claim 42, Rao discloses a first radio node (i.e., WTRU 102; shown in figure 1B), comprising:
a radio modem (i.e., transceiver 120; see figure 1B);
non-transitory computer readable media including machine readable instructions (i.e., examples of computer-readable storage media include, but are not limited to, a read only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM); see figure 1B and paragraph [0170]); and
a processor (i.e., processor 118; see figure 1B) configured to load and to execute the machine readable instructions, the machine readable instructions being for physical resource conflict avoidance in a resource pool between at least one position reference signal transmitted by the first radio node to at least a second radio node, and a further position reference signal transmitted by either the second radio node, or a further radio node, the machine readable instructions, when executed by the first radio node, causing the first radio node to perform the following steps:
obtaining, at the first radio node, an initial position reference signal including a plurality of resource elements arranged in a predetermined pattern within a position reference signal slot (i.e., a WTRU may be configured to apply a muting pattern of a reference signal depending on a priority level associated with the reference signal (e.g., a PRS or SRSp); see paragraph [0135]),
modifying, at the first radio node, the initial position reference signal to form a modified position reference signal, the modified position reference signal having a reduced probability of conflicting with the further position reference signal transmitted by either the second radio node or the further radio node (i.e., a WTRU changing a present muting pattern of a reference signal (e.g., a PRS) to a different muting pattern in response to deprioritization of the reference signal…the WTRU may determine that the PRS transmission associated with the first muting pattern (e.g., muting pattern 1) is to collide with a control channel (e.g., PDCCH) transmission in a first time resource; see paragraphs [0132] and [0133]), and
transmitting, from the first radio node, the modified position reference signal to the second radio node via at least one channel (i.e., the WTRU may use the second time resource to receive the unmuted PRS transmission and may continue to use the second muting pattern afterwards.; see paragraph [0133]).
Rao fails to disclose side link.
Balasubramanian discloses side link (i.e., a P-UE may communicate with one
or more V-UEs on a sidelink to perform ranging and positioning related measurements (e.g., based on positioning reference signals (PRSs) communicated over the sidelink between the P-UE and the V-UEs); see paragraph [0070]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Balasubramanian’s invention with Rao’s invention for providing network assistance and improving positioning performance as described throughout Balasubramanian.
Regarding Claim 30, Rao and Balasubramanian disclose the method where Balasubramanian has already been shown to teach side link as described above. Rao further discloses wherein the modifying, at the first radio node, of the initial position reference signal to form a modified position reference signal further includes: forming the modified position reference signal based on an implicitly indicated position derived from at least one item of control information corresponding to the position reference signal (see paragraph [0133]).
Regarding Claim 31, Rao and Balasubramanian disclose the method as described above. Rao fails to disclose wherein the modifying, at the first radio node, of the initial position reference signal to form a modified position reference signal further includes: identifying one or more reference coordinates of one or more subchannels in the side link resource pool corresponding to the side link position reference signal slot; and forming the modified position reference signal as a function of the one or more reference coordinates. Balasubramanian discloses wherein the modifying, at the first radio node, of the initial position reference signal to form a modified position reference signal further includes: identifying one or more reference coordinates of one or more subchannels in the side link resource pool corresponding to the side link position reference signal slot; and forming the modified position reference signal as a function of the one or more reference coordinates (see paragraphs [0054]-[0060]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Balasubramanian’s invention with Rao’s invention for providing network assistance and improving positioning performance as described throughout Balasubramanian.
Claim(s) 32-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao and Balasubramanian in view of Gummadi et al. (Gummadi), U.S. Patent No. 11,044,693.
Regarding Claim 32, Rao and Balasubramanian disclose the method where
Balasubramanian has already been shown to teach side link as described above. Rao and Balasubramanian fail to disclose wherein the resource pool is separated into at least a first subset and a second subset of subchannels, wherein the first subset and a second subset have a different, and non-overlapping, frequency coordinates, and the method further comprises: identifying a first reference coordinate of the first subset of subchannels in the resource pool; identifying a second reference coordinate of the second subset of subchannels in the resource pool; forming a first modified position reference signal as a function of the initial position reference signal and the first reference coordinate, and forming a second modified position reference signal as a function of the initial position reference signal and the second reference coordinate; and transmitting the first and second modified position reference signals. Gummadi discloses wherein the resource pool is separated into at least a first subset and a second subset of subchannels, wherein the first subset and a second subset have a different, and non-overlapping, frequency coordinates, and the method further comprises: identifying a first reference coordinate of the first subset of subchannels in the resource pool; identifying a second reference coordinate of the second subset of subchannels in the resource pool; forming a first modified position reference signal as a function of the initial position reference signal and the first reference coordinate, and forming a second modified position reference signal as a function of the initial position reference signal and the second reference coordinate; and transmitting the first and second modified position reference signals (see col. 31, line 35-col. 32, line 26). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gummadi’s invention with Rao’s and Balasubramanian’s invention for increasing positioning accuracy and avoiding interference as described throughout Gummadi.
Regarding Claim 33, Rao and Balasubramanian disclose the method where
Balasubramanian has already been shown to teach side link as described above. Rao and Balasubramanian fail to disclose further comprising the following steps: detecting, at the first radio node, a request from either the second or the further radio node to transmit a preconfigured position reference signal at a preconfigured location of the resource pool, and wherein the modifying, at the first radio node, of the initial position reference signal to form a modified position reference signal further includes: identifying at least one conflicting resource element of the initial position reference signal, wherein the transmission of the least one resource element would conflict with a corresponding resource element of the preconfigured position reference signal to be transmitted by either the second or the further radio node; and removing the at least one conflicting resource element from the initial position reference signal to form the modified position reference signal. Gummadi discloses further comprising the following steps: detecting, at the first radio node, a request from either the second or the further radio node to transmit a preconfigured position reference signal at a preconfigured location of the resource pool, and wherein the modifying, at the first radio node, of the initial position reference signal to form a modified position reference signal (see col. 35, lines 5-7) further includes: identifying at least one conflicting resource element of the initial position reference signal, wherein the transmission of the least one resource element would conflict with a corresponding resource element of the preconfigured position reference signal to be transmitted by either the second or the further radio node; and removing the at least one conflicting resource element from the initial position reference signal to form the modified position reference signal (see col. 35, line 57-col. 36, line 8). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gummadi’s invention with Rao’s and Balasubramanian’s invention for increasing positioning accuracy and avoiding interference as described throughout Gummadi.
Regarding Claim 34, Rao and Balasubramanian disclose the method as
described above. Rao and Balasubramanian fail to disclose further comprising: muting, at the first radio node, at least one of the resource elements in the initial position reference signal. Gummadi discloses further comprising: muting, at the first radio node, at least one of the resource elements in the initial position reference signal (see col. 35, line 57-col. 36, line 8). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gummadi’s invention with Rao’s and Balasubramanian’s invention for increasing positioning accuracy and avoiding interference as described throughout Gummadi.
Regarding Claim 35, Rao and Balasubramanian disclose the method as
described above. Rao and Balasubramanian fail to disclose further comprising the following steps: generating, at the first radio node, an orthogonal code uniquely identifying the first radio node; and modifying, at the first radio node, the initial position reference signal as a function of the orthogonal code identifying the first radio node, to form the modified position reference signal. Gummadi discloses further comprising the following steps: generating, at the first radio node, an orthogonal code uniquely identifying the first radio node; and modifying, at the first radio node, the initial position reference signal as a function of the orthogonal code identifying the first radio node, to form the modified position reference signal (see col. 35, line 57-col. 36, line 8). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gummadi’s invention with Rao’s and Balasubramanian’s invention for increasing positioning accuracy and avoiding interference as described throughout Gummadi.
Regarding Claim 36, Rao and Balasubramanian disclose the method as
described above. Rao and Balasubramanian fail to disclose wherein the orthogonal code uniquely identifying the first radio node is designated at the first radio node using a position reference signal sequence identity. Gummadi discloses wherein the orthogonal code uniquely identifying the first radio node is designated at the first radio node using a position reference signal sequence identity (see col. 28, lines 29-59 and Table 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Gummadi’s invention with Rao’s and Balasubramanian’s invention for increasing positioning accuracy and avoiding interference as described throughout Gummadi.
Claim(s) 38-41 and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gummadi in view of Balasubramanian.
Regarding Claim 38, Gummadi discloses a method of a second radio node for
physical resource conflict avoidance in a resource pool between at least one position reference signal transmitted from a first radio node to at least the second radio node, wherein the second radio node is configured to compute its position relative to at least the first radio node, the method comprising the following steps:
transmitting, from the second radio node to the first radio node (via LMF 120), a position reference signal request (i.e., the method includes receiving a request from a location server (e.g. an LMF 120, E-SMLC 208, SLP 132 or SLP 232) for configuration information for the PRS. The gNB 110-1 and the eNB 202 are examples of means for receiving the request from the location server; see col. 35, lines 5-28. The Gateway Mobile Location Center (GMLC) 125 may support a location request for the UE 105 received from an external client 130 and may forward such a location request to the AMF 115 for forwarding by the AMF 115 to the LMF 120 or may forward the location request directly to the LMF 120.; see col. 10, lines 44-49); and
receiving, at the second radio node from the first radio node via at least one channel, at least one modified position reference signal, the at least one modified position reference signal having a reduced probability of conflicting with a further position reference signal transmitted by either the second radio node or a further radio node, wherein the at least one modified reference signal is based on an initial position reference signal comprising a plurality of resource elements arranged in a predetermined pattern within a position reference signal slot (i.e., the method includes sending the configuration information for the PRS to the location server, wherein the configuration information enables location measurements of the PRS by the mobile device, wherein the location measurements enable determination of a location of the mobile device… The orthogonal characteristics may include a distinct muting pattern, where the PRS is transmitted during PRS positioning occasions in which PRS is not transmitted in at least some first cells of the plurality of neighboring cells, and where the PRS is not transmitted during PRS positioning occasions in which PRS is transmitted in at least some second cells of the plurality of neighboring cells.; see col. 35, line 29-col. 36, line 8).
Gummadi fails to disclose side link.
Balasubramanian discloses side link (i.e., a P-UE may communicate with one
or more V-UEs on a sidelink to perform ranging and positioning related measurements (e.g., based on positioning reference signals (PRSs) communicated over the sidelink between the P-UE and the V-UEs); see paragraph [0070]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Balasubramanian’s invention with Rao’s invention for providing network assistance and improving positioning performance as described throughout Balasubramanian.
Regarding Claim 43, Gummadi discloses a second radio node (i.e., UE 300;
see figure 3), comprising:
a radio modem (i.e., transceiver 315; see figure 3);
non-transitory computer readable media including machine readable instructions
(i.e., memory 311 is a non-transitory storage medium that may include random access memory (RAM), flash memory, disc memory, and/or read-only memory (ROM), etc; see figure 3 and col. 15, lines 1-4); and
a processor (i.e., processor 310; see figure 3) configured to load and to execute the machine readable instructions, the machine readable instructions being for physical resource conflict avoidance in a resource pool between at least one position reference signal transmitted from a first radio node to at least the second radio node, wherein the second radio node is configured to compute its position relative to at least the first radio node, the machine readable instructions, when executed by the second radio node, causing the second radio node to perform the following steps:
transmitting, from the second radio node to the first radio node (via LMF 120), a position reference signal request (i.e., the method includes receiving a request from a location server (e.g. an LMF 120, E-SMLC 208, SLP 132 or SLP 232) for configuration information for the PRS. The gNB 110-1 and the eNB 202 are examples of means for receiving the request from the location server; see col. 35, lines 5-28. The Gateway Mobile Location Center (GMLC) 125 may support a location request for the UE 105 received from an external client 130 and may forward such a location request to the AMF 115 for forwarding by the AMF 115 to the LMF 120 or may forward the location request directly to the LMF 120.; see col. 10, lines 44-49), and
receiving, at the second radio node from the first radio node via at least one channel, at least one modified position reference signal, the at least one modified position reference signal having a reduced probability of conflicting with a further position reference signal transmitted by either the second radio node or a further radio node, wherein the at least one modified reference signal is based on an initial position reference signal comprising a plurality of resource elements arranged in a predetermined pattern within a position reference signal slot (i.e., the method includes sending the configuration information for the PRS to the location server, wherein the configuration information enables location measurements of the PRS by the mobile device, wherein the location measurements enable determination of a location of the mobile device… The orthogonal characteristics may include a distinct muting pattern, where the PRS is transmitted during PRS positioning occasions in which PRS is not transmitted in at least some first cells of the plurality of neighboring cells, and where the PRS is not transmitted during PRS positioning occasions in which PRS is transmitted in at least some second cells of the plurality of neighboring cells.; see col. 35, line 29-col. 36, line 8).
Gummadi fails to disclose side link.
Balasubramanian discloses side link (i.e., a P-UE may communicate with one
or more V-UEs on a sidelink to perform ranging and positioning related measurements (e.g., based on positioning reference signals (PRSs) communicated over the sidelink between the P-UE and the V-UEs); see paragraph [0070]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Balasubramanian’s invention with Rao’s invention for providing network assistance and improving positioning performance as described throughout Balasubramanian.
Regarding Claim 39, Gummadi and Balasubramanian disclose the method where Balasubramanian has already been shown to teach side link as described above. Gummadi further discloses further comprising: calculating the position of the second radio node relative to the first radio node using the modified position reference signal (see col. 35, lines 29-41).
Regarding Claim 40, Gummadi and Balasubramanian disclose the method where Balasubramanian has already been shown to teach side link as described above. Gummadi further discloses further comprising: detecting, at the second radio node, a control information collision; and upon detection of a control information collision, performing successive decoding at the second radio node on the detected control information collision, to thereby detect at least two position reference signal sequences transmitted from first and third radio nodes, respectively (see col. 31, lines 5-25).
Regarding Claim 41, Gummadi and Balasubramanian disclose the method where Balasubramanian has already been shown to teach side link as described above. Gummadi further discloses further comprising: obtaining, from the position reference signal sequences transmitted from first and third radio nodes, a position of the second radio node relative to the first radio node, and a position of the second radio node relative to the third radio node (see figures 5 & 9B).
Conclusion
/SHANTELL L HEIBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645
June 5, 2026