Applicants’ amendment filed 6/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10, 13 and 14 were amended. New claim 20 was added. Claims 1-20 are pending examination.
Withdrawn rejections
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 6/17/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is herein withdrawn.
Applicants amendment has necessitated new rejections.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8, 12-14 and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/789,328 (herein ‘328). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are drawn to a composition comprising antioxidant, fatty alcohol and oil and ‘328 claims a composition comprising 10-95% vegetable oils, 0.1-10% surfactants, 0.1-10% fatty alcohol and 0.1-5% sensorially active agents. The formulations further comprise 1-50% emollients selected from isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl myristate and ethylhexyl palmitate. The claims do not specify cinnamic acid derivatives, however they are encompassed by the scope of the sensorially active agents which are cooling agents (claim 14) and these are defined as including 3,4-methylenedioxycinnamic acid [0083]. Therefore, the present claims are prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of ‘328.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-8, 12, 13 and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,343,411 (herein ‘411) in view of Drovetskaya et al. (US 9,592,187; patented March 14, 2017). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are drawn to a composition comprising antioxidant, fatty alcohol and oil and ‘411 claims a gel comprising cetearyl alcohol, at least one ester of a fatty acid selected from isopropyl myristate, an emulsifier and one fatty compound other than the fatty alcohol which has a lamellar crystalline phase.
‘411 does not include cinnamic acid derivatives. It is for this reason that Drovetskaya et al. is joined. Drovetskaya et al. disclose a baby sunscreen stick comprising 10% castor oil and up to about 30% castor oil to q.s., 3% stearyl alcohol (C18 fatty alcohol) and 0.05% pentaerythrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate (Example 3, column 21, lines 52-62). The preferred antioxidant is pentaerythrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate (column 11, lines 59-62). Therefore, the present claims are prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of ‘411 in view of Drovetskaya et al. because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include cinnamic acids as antioxidants with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1-8, 12, 13, 18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,296,041 (herein ‘041) in view of Drovetskaya et al. (US 9,592,187; patented March 14, 2017). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are drawn to a composition comprising antioxidant, fatty alcohol and oil and ‘041 claims a hair care composition comprising surfactants, C14-22 alcohols, isopropyl myristate and water.
‘041 does not include cinnamic acid derivatives. It is for this reason that Drovetskaya et al. is joined. Drovetskaya et al. disclose a baby sunscreen stick comprising 10% castor oil and up to about 30% castor oil to q.s., 3% stearyl alcohol (C18 fatty alcohol) and 0.05% pentaerythrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate (Example 3, column 21, lines 52-62). The preferred antioxidant is pentaerythrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate (column 11, lines 59-62). Therefore, the present claims are prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of ‘041 in view of Drovetskaya et al. because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include cinnamic acids as antioxidants with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 17/787,508 (herein ‘508) in view of Drovetskaya et al. (US 9,592,187; patented March 14, 2017). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are drawn to a composition comprising cinnamic acid antioxidant, fatty alcohol and oil and ‘508 claims a retinol composition comprising retinol, di-t-butyl pentaerythrityl tetrahydroxy cinnamate and an ethylenediaminedisuccinic acid salt.
‘508 does not include retinol and ethylenediaminedisuccinic acid salt. It is for this reason that Drovetskaya et al. is joined.
With respect to claims 1, 2 and 4-8, Drovetskaya et al. disclose a baby sunscreen stick comprising 10% castor oil and up to about 30% castor oil to q.s., 3% stearyl alcohol (C18 fatty alcohol) and 0.05% pentaerythrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate (Example 3, column 21, lines 52-62). With respect to claims 3, 17 and 18, Drovetskaya et al. teach cosmetically acceptable carriers include aromatic ester oils selected from isopropyl myristate and isopropyl myristate; triglycerides and ethylhexyl palmitate as well as water to form oil-in-water emulsions (column 3, lines 20-40; column 7, lines 20-57). With respect to claims 9-15, Drovetskaya et al. teach the cosmetic formulations include adjuvants selected from surfactants, biogenic active ingredients, antioxidants and preservatives (column 6, lines 11-19). Compositions contain one or more fatty alcohols having C6-C18, selected from cetyl alcohol, stearyl alcohol, cetearyl alcohol and oleyl alcohol (column 6, lines 50-56). The formulations include emulsifiers and surfactants that are zwitterionic, nonionic, cationic and anionic in the range of 1-30% by weight of the formulations (column 8, line 37 through column 10, line 3; column 10, line 21-30). Biogenic active ingredients include vitamins such as tocopherol, panthenol and retinol (column 11, lines 1-7). Antioxidants include chelating agents selected from EDTA, EDDS, phytic acid, citric acid and derivatives thereof in amounts from 0.001-30% by weight (column 11, lines 31-35). A preferred antioxidant is pentaerythrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate (column 11, lines 59-62). Example 2 discloses a sun-care cream comprising 0.1% disodium EDTA (column 20, lines 45-57).
Therefore, the present claims are prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of ‘508 in view of Drovetskaya et al. because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include retinol as a biogenic active ingredient and disodium EDTA as a chelating agent with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant generalizes that the copending applications and patented claims do not teach Hansen parameters of the oil with the requirement that that oil has no unsaturated bonds, the specific ranges, cinnamic acid derivative-based antioxidant, nor a stabilizing ocompositions with a lamellar structured phase. The Examiner is not persuaded by these arguments because the copending applications and patented claims alone or in combination with Drovetskaya et al. teach formulations comprising fatty alcohols selected from cetearyl alcohol and stearyl alcohol, oils with the claimed Hansen parameters selected from isopropyl myristate and an antioxidant selected from cinnamic acid derivatives. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable, therefore since the prior art teaches isopropyl myristate, fatty alcohols selected from cetearyl alcohol and stearyl alcohol and cinnamic acid derivatives. Furthermore, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. The copending and patenting claim are not limited to a specific range. Therefore, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Therefore the double patenting rejections have been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 12, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dahms et al. (EP 0619999A2; published October 19, 1994).
Applicant claims a composition comprising:
2-50 wt.% an oil phase having Hansen Solubility Parameters δd 16-17, δp 1.5-2.1, and δh 4.5-7 and having no unsaturated chemical bonds,
2-25 wt.% at least one fatty alcohol being solid at room temperature, and
0.05-2 wt. % at least one antioxidant selected from cinnamic acid derivatives.
Dahms et al. disclose an emulsion sunscreen formulation comprising 4 wt.% isopropyl myristate, 2 wt.% stearyl alcohol 1 wt.% octyl methoxycinnamate, 6 wt.% Span 60 and 60.58 wt.% water (Example 1, page 5, lines 1-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 7, 9-11, 13-16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dahms et al. (EP 0619999A2; published October 19, 1994) in view of Drovetskaya et al. (US 9,592,187; patented March 14, 2017).
Applicant claims a composition comprising:
2-50 wt.% an oil phase having Hansen Solubility Parameters δd 16-17, δp 1.5-2.1, and δh 4.5-7 and having no unsaturated chemical bonds,
2-25 wt.% at least one fatty alcohol being solid at room temperature, and
0.05-2 wt. % at least one antioxidant selected from cinnamic acid derivatives.
Applicant claims a combination comprising at least one oil-soluble or oil-dispersible active ingredient and the composition of claim 1. (claim 14)
Applicant also claims a method for caring for and/or making up keratin materials comprising applying the combination of claim 14 to the keratin materials. (claim 18)
With respect to claims 4, 6, 7, 9-11, 13-16, 18 and 19, Dahms et al. disclose an emulsion sunscreen formulation comprising 4 wt.% isopropyl myristate, 2 wt.% stearyl alcohol 1 wt.% octyl methoxycinnamate, 6 wt.% Span 60 and 60.58 wt.% water (Example 1, page 5, lines 1-41). With respect to claim 4, Dahms et al. do not exemplify oil in an amount from 5-20wt.%. With respect to claim 6, Dahms et al. do not exemplify fatty alcohol in an amount from 3-25wt.%. With respect to claim 7, Dahms et al. do not teach the cinnamic derivative is pentaerythrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate. With respect to claim 9-11, Dahms et al. do not teach 0.001-1wt.% chelating agent selected from EDTA and EDDS. With respect to claim 13, Dahms et al. do not exemplify 0.05-5wt.% surfactant. With respect to claim 14-16 and 19, Dahms et al. do not teach a combination of oil-soluble or oil-dispersible active, preferably retinol and derivatives thereof with the composition in an amount of 0.01-3wt.% the combination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to optimize the ranges of fatty alcohol, oil and cinnamic acid because manipulation of the ranges is within grasp of one of ordinary skill because Dahms teaches the concentrations may vary.
It is for this reason that Drovetskaya et al. is joined.
Drovetskaya teach sunscreen compositions comprising zinc oxide with carriers selecte from tri-glycerides, castor oil, etc. (column 2, lines 25-67). Drovetskaya et al. teach cosmetically acceptable carriers include aromatic ester oils selected from isopropyl myristate and isopropyl myristate; triglycerides and ethylhexyl palmitate as well as water to form oil-in-water emulsions (column 3, lines 20-40; column 7, lines 20-57). Drovetskaya et al. teach the cosmetic formulations include adjuvants selected from surfactants, biogenic active ingredients, antioxidants and preservatives (column 6, lines 11-19). Compositions contain one or more fatty alcohols having C6-C18, selected from cetyl alcohol, stearyl alcohol, cetearyl alcohol and oleyl alcohol (column 6, lines 50-56). The formulations include emulsifiers and surfactants that are zwitterionic, nonionic, cationic and anionic in the range of 1-30% by weight of the formulations (column 8, line 37 through column 10, line 3; column 10, line 21-30). Biogenic active ingredients include vitamins such as tocopherol, panthenol and retinol (column 11, lines 1-7). Antioxidants include chelating agents selected from EDTA, EDDS, phytic acid, citric acid and derivatives thereof in amounts from 0.001-30% by weight (column 11, lines 31-35). A preferred antioxidant is pentaerythrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate (column 11, lines 59-62). Example 2 discloses a sun-care cream comprising 0.1% disodium EDTA (column 20, lines 45-57). Drovetskaya et al. disclose a baby sunscreen stick comprising 10% castor oil and up to about 30% castor oil to q.s., 3% stearyl alcohol (C18 fatty alcohol) and 0.05% pentaerythrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate (Example 3, column 21, lines 52-62).
With respect to claim 16, Drovetskaya teaches the biogenic active ingredients can constitute 0.75% of the formulation because Example 5 discloses an SPF treatment formulation comprising 0.75% panthenol (column 23, lines 15-24). Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to substitute 0.75% retinol into formulations with a reasonable expectation of success.
With respect to claim 18, Drovetskaya teaches the formulations with high transparency on the skin which comprise cosmetically acceptable carriers suitable for skin contact (column 1, lines 11-12; column 3, lines 38-42).
With respect claims 17 and 19, Drovetskaya teach the formulations are preferably in a carrier selected from oil-in-water emulsions which would inherently possess a lamellar structure.
Dahms et al. and Drovetskaya are both drawn to sunscreen formulations comprising isopropyl myristate, cinnamic acid derivatives and fatty alcohols. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Dahms et al. and Drovetskaya to make a stabilizing formulations comprising 3-10% fatty alcohol, pentaerythrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate as the cinnamic acid derivative and 5-50% oil selected from isopropyl myristate, isopropyl myristate, triglycerides and ethylhexyl palmitate with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before to time of filing to combine the teachings of Dahms et al. and Drovetskaya because Drovetskaya teaches formulating oil-in-water emulsions comprising fatty alcohols selected from cetyl alcohol, stearyl alcohol, cetearyl alcohol and oleyl alcohol, an oil carrier selected from isopropyl myristate, isopropyl myristate, triglycerides and ethylhexyl palmitate, and an antioxidant pentaerythrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate to make sunscreen formulations.
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Dahms et al. and Drovetskaya to make a stabilizing formulations further comprising chelating agents selected from EDTA and EDDS with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before to time of filing to combine the teachings of Dahms et al. and Drovetskaya because Drovetskaya teaches EDTA and EDDS are additional antioxidants which aid in forming sunscreen formulations.
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Dahms et al. and Drovetskaya to make a combination comprising an oil-soluble active ingredient and the stabilizing formulation with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before to time of filing to combine the teachings of Dahms et al. and Drovetskaya because Drovetskaya teaches adding biogenic active ingredients selected from tocopherol, panthenol and retinol in forming sunscreen formulations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Drovetskaya do not teach Hansen parameters of the oil with the requirement that that oil has no unsaturated bonds. The Examiner is not persuaded by these arguments because Drovetskaya et al. teach formulations comprising fatty alcohols selected from cetearyl alcohol and stearyl alcohol, with oils with the claimed Hansen parameters selected from isopropyl myristate and an antioxidant selected from pentaerythrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable, therefore since Drovetskaya teaches isopropyl myristate, fatty alcohols selected from cetearyl alcohol and stearyl alcohol and pentaerythrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DANIELLE D. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 1617
/KYLE A PURDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611