Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that applicant has deleted the word “continuous” (from claim 11) – claim 11 (of claim set filed 3/11/2026) still recites “a continuous seat plane…” and thus remains rejected under 112 1st and 2nd paragraphs as restated below.
In response to applicant’s arguments that “KR ‘719’s two components do not form a single elongated bench seat…” - insomuch as applicant’s “bench” comprises 2 separated seating areas (6, 8 – see figures 1-2), KR ‘719 also comprises a “bench” with 2 seating areas (110, 200). Relatedly, in response to applicant’s previous arguments that “there is no single bench structure that provides both first and second seat areas in a common, continuous seat plane” – it does not appear that applicant’s “bench” meets this limitation, as explained below with respect to the 112 rejections below. As such, it appears KR ‘719 meets this limitation insomuch as applicant’s invention.
In response to applicant’s arguments that KR ‘719 does not disclose that at least one wall element in the seat position forms a unitary seat surface of the second seat area that is coplanar with the first seat area – similar to above (with respect to “continuous seat plane”), the originally filed disclosure fails to provide support for this limitation. As such, and as best understood, KR ‘719 teaches this limitation (see below annotated figure 1 of KR ‘719) – at least one of KR ‘719’s wall elements in the seat position forms a unitary seat surface (definition of unitary: “of or relating to a unit”) of the second seat area that is coplanar with the first seat area (i.e. they lie within the same [seat] plane).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually (Collins nor Gomolski teach an elongated bench seat with a receiving unit integrated therein comprising at least two mutually opposing wall elements, wherein at least one wall element in the seat position forms a unitary seat surface of a second seat area coplanar with a first seat area), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The originally filed disclosure does not provide support for “an elongated bench seat defining a continuous seat plane..”. The originally filed disclosure supports a “seat plane” but does not support a continuous seat plane – figures 1 -2 show a gap between the first seat area and the second seat area (comprising the bench). Therefore, the bench does not comprise a continuous set plane. Thus, this limitation is considered new matter. Appropriate correction is required.
The originally filed disclosure also does not provide support for claim 11’s recitation of “…forms a unitary seat surface of the second seat area that is coplanar with the first seat area…” The originally filed drawings do not show the first seat area (6) coplanar with the second seat area (8) – figures 3-5 which are sectional views of the second seat area, do not show the first area, and thus cannot show the first and second seat areas being coplanar; additionally, figures 1-2 show both seat areas, but are top views and therefore cannot show the coplanar relationship. Similarly, there is no language in the originally filed disclosure that supports said limitation “…second seat area that is coplanar with the first seat area.” Therefore, this limitation is considered new matter. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 11-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “an elongated bench seat defining a continuous seat plane..”. As shown in figures1 -2, a gap between the first seat area and the second seat area (comprising the bench). It is unclear what is meant by “a continuous seat plane”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites “…forms a unitary seat surface of the second seat area that is coplanar with the first seat area”. As noted above with respect to the 112 1st paragraph rejection, it is unclear how the first and second seat areas are coplanar with each other, as this limitation is not supported by the originally filed disclosure. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-15, 17-18, and 21 (as best understood) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR200445719, herein KR ‘719. KR ‘719 discloses a seat assembly for a tilting vehicle, comprising: an elongated bench seat defining a continuous seat plane (see below figure) comprising a first seat area (110) on which a rider is seatable for riding and operating the tilting vehicle, and a second seat area (200) rearward of the first seat area in which a passenger is seatable; a receiving unit integrated into the elongated bench seat comprising at least two mutually opposing wall elements which are movable from a seat position to a receiving position; wherein in the seat position, at least one of the at least two wall elements forms a seat surface (figure 4), extending in the seat plane, of the second seat area of the bench; and wherein at least one of the at least two wall elements in the seat position forms a unitary seat surface of the second seat area that is coplanar with the first seat area (see below annotated figure 1), and wherein in the receiving position, the at least two wall elements extend substantially transversely or obliquely to the seat plane, spaced apart from one another in a contactless manner, and define a receiving area on at least two sides, the receiving area being configured to receive at least one object (figures 5-6).
In regards to claim 12, at least one of the at least two all wall elements comprises a cushion body (260) on a side where the passenger is seatable, and at least one of the at least two wall elements comprises a hard-shell planar body on a side facing the receiving area in the receiving position (figures 5-6).
With regards to claim 13, at least two of the at least two wall elements are arranged overlapping one another in the seat position, or at least two of the at least two wall elements abut one another with their end faces extending transversely to the seat plane in the seat position, continuing with each other and together forming the seat surface of the second seat area (figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, the receiving unit further comprises at least two transverse walls extending transversely to the at least two wall elements, the at least two transverse walls arranged parallel to the at least one wall element forming the seat surface in the seat position, and arranged transversely or diagonally to the seat plane and transversely to the wall element in the receiving position, wherein the two transverse walls along with the wall elements, enclose the receiving area entirely in a framed manner (figures 5-6).
Regarding claim 21, the receiving unit further comprises a recess in the bench below the second seat area of the bench, in which recess at least one of the at least two wall elements and/or at least one of the at least two transverse wall is arranged in the seat position (figures 3-6).
With regards to claim 15, the receiving unit further comprises at least one fixing unit (270), by which the transverse walls and the wall elements are detachably fixable to one another at least in the receiving position.
With regards to claim 17, the wall elements in the receiving position extend substantially parallel or diagonally to a plane spanned by vertical and longitudinal axes of the tilting vehicle, and the transverse walls in the receiving position extend substantially parallel or diagonally to a plane spanned by the vertical axis and transverse axis of the tilting vehicle (figures 5-6).
In regards to claim 18, at least one of the at least two wall elements and at least one of the at least two transverse walls are rotatably movable from the seat position into the receiving position and are detachably fixed therein against movement via a fixing device (270)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR200445719, herein KR ‘719, in view of Collins et al. (US 20200384840) or Gomolski (US 10150602). KR ‘719 discloses the invention of claim 11. However, KR ‘719 does not teach a cover. Collins et al. teach a vehicle comprising a receiving unit with a cover (56) that is movably fixed to a wall element or a transverse wall and is movable from a storage position, in which the cover is arranged parallel to and alongside the wall element or transverse wall, to a covering position in which the cover extends parallel or diagonally to the seat plane and transversely or diagonally to the wall element or transverse wall and covers the receiving area (14) against access from outside entirely or at least partially. Similarly, Gomolski teaches a cover (10) to protect cargo (col. 3, lines 12-16). KR ‘719, Collins et al. and Gomolski are analogous because they are from the same problem solving area, i.e. cargo compartments. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a cover with the invention to KR ‘719. The motivation would have been to protect the cargo from the elements (weather). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the invention to KR ‘719 as specified in claim 19.
With regards to claim 20, the cover is foldable in the storage position, at least partially flexibly bendable or is capable of being wound onto a drum body.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3631