DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The applicant’s priority to foreign application JP2022-006576 filed on January 19th, 2022 has been accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on August 19th, 2024 and February 5th, 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: biasing part in claim 7. “Biasing part” is interpreted as a tension coil spring (P0044, L1-2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boyd et al. (US 10036138), hereafter Boyd.
With regards to claim 1 Boyd discloses a front loader (Abstract) comprising: a stand (21) provided on a boom and rockable to a support position where the front loader can be supported (Fig. 4), a link mechanism (bending/stretching link 22) that couples the boom and the stand and is movable in conjunction with rocking of the stand; and a lock member (holding member 24) that is rockably provided on the boom and holds the stand at the support position by locking the link mechanism at a predetermined position.
With regards to claim 2, Boyd discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Boyd further discloses wherein the link mechanism includes: a first link member coupled to the boom (boom side arm 22a); and a second link member coupled to the stand (stand-side arm 22b), and the lock member locks the link mechanism in a state where the first link member and the second link member are overcentered (Fig. 3).
With regards to claim 6, Boyd discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Boyd further discloses wherein the stand includes: a main body rockably supported by the boom (21a); and a grounding part (21c) that is rockable with respect to the main body and is in contact with a ground when supporting the front loader(Fig. 4) and a rocking shaft of the grounding part is movable to an engagement position capable of engaging with the boom and a release position capable of releasing the engagement with the boom by moving with respect to the main body (Fig. 3).
With regards to claim 7, Boyd discloses all the elements of claim 6 as outlined above. Boyd further discloses wherein the stand further includes a biasing part (spring 32) that biases the grounding part such that the grounding part rocks in one direction in a rocking direction and the rocking shaft of the grounding part moves toward the engagement position.
With regards to claim 8, Boyd discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Boyd further discloses wherein the boom and the stand are disposed such that outer edge portions of the boom and the stand are continuous in a straight line in a side view in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position (Fig. 3; a continuous straight line can be in any direction, top to bottom or left to right).
With regards to claim 20, Boyd discloses all the elements of claim 2 as outlined above. Boyd further discloses wherein the stand includes: a main body rockably supported by the boom (21a); and a grounding part (21c) that is rockable with respect to the main body and is in contact with a ground when supporting the front loader(Fig. 4) and a rocking shaft of the grounding part is movable to an engagement position capable of engaging with the boom and a release position capable of releasing the engagement with the boom by moving with respect to the main body (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyd.
With regards to claim 3, Boyd discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Boyd does not directly disclose wherein a rocking shaft of the lock member is disposed on a same axis as a rocking shaft of the stand.
However, this is considered a simple rearrangement of part and is therefore considered obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to avoid any interference with other components (MPEP 2144.04.VI.C).
With regards to claim 9, Boyd discloses all the elements of claim 2 as outlined above. Boyd does not directly disclose wherein a rocking shaft of the lock member is disposed on a same axis as a rocking shaft of the stand.
However, this is considered a simple rearrangement of part and is therefore considered obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to avoid any interference with other components (MPEP 2144.04.VI.C).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 10-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyd as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Martinez et al. (US 9650754), hereafter Martinez.
With regards to claim 4, Boyd discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Boyd does not disclose wherein at least a part of the link mechanism and the lock member is stored in the stand and the boom in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position.
However, Martinez discloses a front loader (Abstract) where wherein at least a part of the link mechanism (strut 42) and the lock member (locking mechanism 52) is stored in the stand and the boom in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position(empty space seen best in Fig. 4; not shown in Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to structure the stand and boom to store the lock mechanism in the manner disclosed by Martinez in order to facilitate automatic deployment of the stand.
With regards to claim 10, Boyd discloses all the elements of claim 2 as outlined above. Boyd does not disclose wherein at least a part of the link mechanism and the lock member is stored in the stand and the boom in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position.
However, Martinez discloses a front loader (Abstract) where wherein at least a part of the link mechanism (strut 42) and the lock member (locking mechanism 52) is stored in the stand and the boom in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position(empty space seen best in Fig. 4; not shown in Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to structure the stand and boom to store the lock mechanism in the manner disclosed by Martinez in order to facilitate automatic deployment of the stand.
With regards to claim 11, Boyd discloses all the elements of claim 3 as outlined above. Boyd does not disclose wherein at least a part of the link mechanism and the lock member is stored in the stand and the boom in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position.
However, Martinez discloses a front loader (Abstract) where wherein at least a part of the link mechanism (strut 42) and the lock member (locking mechanism 52) is stored in the stand and the boom in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position(empty space seen best in Fig. 4; not shown in Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to structure the stand and boom to store the lock mechanism in the manner disclosed by Martinez in order to facilitate automatic deployment of the stand.
With regards to claim 12, Boyd discloses all the elements of claim 9 as outlined above. Boyd does not disclose wherein at least a part of the link mechanism and the lock member is stored in the stand and the boom in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position.
However, Martinez discloses a front loader (Abstract) where wherein at least a part of the link mechanism (strut 42) and the lock member (locking mechanism 52) is stored in the stand and the boom in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position(empty space seen best in Fig. 4; not shown in Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to structure the stand and boom to store the lock mechanism in the manner disclosed by Martinez in order to facilitate automatic deployment of the stand.
With regards to claim 5, Boyd discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Boyd does not disclose wherein the lock member is formed in a shape capable of storing at least a part of the link mechanism in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position.
However, Martinez discloses a front loader (Abstract) wherein the lock member is formed in a shape capable of storing at least a part of the link mechanism in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position (empty space seen best in Fig. 4; not shown in Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to choose an appropriate shape in order to facilitate automatic deployment of the stand.
With regards to claim 13, Boyd discloses all the elements of claim 2 as outlined above. Boyd does not disclose wherein the lock member is formed in a shape capable of storing at least a part of the link mechanism in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position.
However, Martinez discloses a front loader (Abstract) wherein the lock member is formed in a shape capable of storing at least a part of the link mechanism in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position (empty space seen best in Fig. 4; not shown in Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to choose an appropriate shape in order to facilitate automatic deployment of the stand.
With regards to claim 14, Boyd discloses all the elements of claim 3 as outlined above. Boyd does not disclose wherein the lock member is formed in a shape capable of storing at least a part of the link mechanism in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position.
However, Martinez discloses a front loader (Abstract) wherein the lock member is formed in a shape capable of storing at least a part of the link mechanism in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position (empty space seen best in Fig. 4; not shown in Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to choose an appropriate shape in order to facilitate automatic deployment of the stand.
With regards to claim 15, Boyd discloses all the elements of claim 4 as outlined above. Boyd does not disclose wherein the lock member is formed in a shape capable of storing at least a part of the link mechanism in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position.
However, Martinez discloses a front loader (Abstract) wherein the lock member is formed in a shape capable of storing at least a part of the link mechanism in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position (empty space seen best in Fig. 4; not shown in Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to choose an appropriate shape in order to facilitate automatic deployment of the stand.
With regards to claim 16, Boyd discloses all the elements of claim 9 as outlined above. Boyd does not disclose wherein the lock member is formed in a shape capable of storing at least a part of the link mechanism in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position.
However, Martinez discloses a front loader (Abstract) wherein the lock member is formed in a shape capable of storing at least a part of the link mechanism in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position (empty space seen best in Fig. 4; not shown in Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to choose an appropriate shape in order to facilitate automatic deployment of the stand.
With regards to claim 17, Boyd discloses all the elements of claim 10 as outlined above. Boyd does not disclose wherein the lock member is formed in a shape capable of storing at least a part of the link mechanism in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position.
However, Martinez discloses a front loader (Abstract) wherein the lock member is formed in a shape capable of storing at least a part of the link mechanism in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position (empty space seen best in Fig. 4; not shown in Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to choose an appropriate shape in order to facilitate automatic deployment of the stand.
With regards to claim 18, Boyd discloses all the elements of claim 11 as outlined above. Boyd does not disclose wherein the lock member is formed in a shape capable of storing at least a part of the link mechanism in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position.
However, Martinez discloses a front loader (Abstract) wherein the lock member is formed in a shape capable of storing at least a part of the link mechanism in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position (empty space seen best in Fig. 4; not shown in Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to choose an appropriate shape in order to facilitate automatic deployment of the stand.
With regards to claim 19, Boyd discloses all the elements of claim 12 as outlined above. Boyd does not disclose wherein the lock member is formed in a shape capable of storing at least a part of the link mechanism in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position.
However, Martinez discloses a front loader (Abstract) wherein the lock member is formed in a shape capable of storing at least a part of the link mechanism in a state where the stand is rocked to the storage position (empty space seen best in Fig. 4; not shown in Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to choose an appropriate shape in order to facilitate automatic deployment of the stand.
Conclusion
/J.L.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653