DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Westendorf et al. (US 2005/0172795 A1, hereafter Westendorf).
Regarding Claim 1, Westendorf discloses a front loader comprising: a boom (Figure 1: 20);
and a side frame (Westendorf, Figure 1: tower 28) rockably supporting the boom (Westendorf, Paragraph 33) and formed with a first opening through which a tube portion forming a flow path for hydraulic oil can be inserted (Westendorf, Figure 2: shows the hydraulic line 46 configuration through the machine, Paragraph 35: the tower and loader arm are enclosed structures and they include an interior area through which the hydraulic lines can extend, Paragraph 38: “The lift cylinder extension line 47 and the lift cylinder retraction line 48 pass through the left bracket assembly 40 and into the tower 28 and through the lift arm 30”, there must be a first opening on the enclosed tower to allow the hydraulic lines to go from the bracket assembly to the tower).
Regarding Claim 4, Westendorf discloses the limitations of claim 1 in addition to disclosing the boom is formed with: a third opening that is formed on a surface facing the side frame and through which the tube portion can be inserted (Westendorf, Figure 2, Paragraphs 35 and 38: there must be a third opening on the enclosed boom to allow the hydraulic lines to exit the tower and enter the boom);
and a fourth opening different from the third opening (Westendorf, Figure 2, Paragraphs 35 and 38: there must be a fourth opening on the enclosed boom to allow the hydraulic lines to exit the boom and enter the stabilizing arm).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5, and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westendorf et al. (US 2005/0172795 A1, hereafter Westendorf) in view of Fukutome et al. (JP 2008/025193 A, hereafter Fukutome).
Regarding Claim 2, Westendorf discloses the limitations of claim 1 and additionally discloses the first opening is formed on one side surface of the side frame. Westendorf does not disclose the opening is formed in a left-right direction.
Fukutome discloses a loader working device that has a boom (Figure 3: 55R), a side frame (Figure 3: 55R) and multiple openings on one side surface of the side frame with one in a left-right direction (Figure 3 and 5: 45) and two in the direction perpendicular to left-right (Figure 3 and 5: 52 and 53) for the purpose of allowing hydraulic hoses to come in or out of the frame (Paragraph 26).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling
date to modify the invention of Westendorf by including the opening formed in the left-right direction disclosed by Fukutome for the purpose of allowing hydraulic hoses to come in or out of the frame.
Regarding Claim 3, Westendorf in view of Fukutome disclose the limitations of claim 2. Westendorf additionally discloses a second opening through which the tube portion can be inserted is formed on a surface of the side frame facing the boom (Westendorf, Figure 2, Paragraphs 35 and 38: there must be a second opening on the enclosed tower to allow the hydraulic lines to go from the tower to the boom).
Regarding Claim 5, Westendorf discloses the limitations of claim 4 in addition to disclosing a coupling frame (Westendorf, Figures 1 and 2: stabilizing arm 24) that couples the boom on a right side and the boom on a left side (Westendorf, Paragraph 29: “the left and right boom arms are attached together by the stabilizing arms 24 and 26”),
wherein the tube portion is led out from an inside of the boom to the coupling frame (Westendorf, Paragraphs 37 and 38: the hydraulic lines travel through the stabilizing arm so the stabilizing arm has the same function as a tube for the hydraulic lines) through the fourth opening (Westendorf, Paragraph 38) and connected to left and right boom cylinders and left and right bucket cylinders (Westendorf, Paragraphs 37 and 38). The hydraulic lines are fed through the stabilizing arm for the purpose of allowing the hydraulic lines to communicate between the left and right boom (Westendorf, Paragraph 37).
Westendorf does not disclose the tube portion is branched on the coupling frame.
Fukutome discloses a loader working device that uses a connecting pipe between a left and right boom with branched hydraulic hoses that run along the pipe connected by a piping member (Figure 9: pipe 58, right boom 55R, left boom 55L, hydraulic hoses 78, piping member 79, Paragraph 28). The pipes placed in this configuration to prevent collision or rubbing with obstacles (Paragraph 33) and branched for the purpose of to allow the cylinders to be driven synchronously (Paragraph 33).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling
date to modify the invention of Westendorf by placing the hydraulic lines along the outside of the coupling frame as disclosed by Fukutome for the purpose of preventing collisions or rubbing with obstacles and making them branched as disclosed by Fukutome for the purpose of to allow the cylinders to be driven synchronously.
Regarding Claim 10, Westendorf in view of Fukutome disclose the limitations of claim 2. Westendorf additionally discloses the boom is formed with: a third opening that is formed on a surface facing the side frame and through which the tube portion can be inserted (Westendorf, Figure 2, Paragraphs 35 and 38: there must be a third opening on the enclosed boom to allow the hydraulic lines to exit the tower and enter the boom);
and a fourth opening different from the third opening (Westendorf, Figure 2, Paragraphs 35 and 38: there must be a fourth opening on the enclosed boom to allow the hydraulic lines to exit the boom and enter the stabilizing arm).
Regarding Claim 11, Westendorf in view of Fukutome disclose the limitations of claim 3. Westendorf additionally discloses the boom is formed with: a third opening that is formed on a surface facing the side frame and through which the tube portion can be inserted (Westendorf, Figure 2, Paragraphs 35 and 38: there must be a third opening on the enclosed boom to allow the hydraulic lines to exit the tower and enter the boom);
and a fourth opening different from the third opening (Westendorf, Figure 2, Paragraphs 35 and 38: there must be a fourth opening on the enclosed boom to allow the hydraulic lines to exit the boom and enter the stabilizing arm).
Regarding Claim 12, Westendorf in view of Fukutome disclose the limitations of claim 10. Westendorf additionally discloses a coupling frame (Westendorf, Figures 1 and 2: stabilizing arm 24) that couples the boom on a right side and the boom on a left side (Westendorf, Paragraph 29: “the left and right boom arms are attached together by the stabilizing arms 24 and 26”),
wherein the tube portion is led out from an inside of the boom to the coupling frame (Westendorf, Paragraphs 37 and 38: the hydraulic lines travel through the stabilizing arm so the stabilizing arm has the same function as a tube for the hydraulic lines) through the fourth opening (Westendorf, Paragraph 38) and connected to left and right boom cylinders and left and right bucket cylinders (Westendorf, Paragraphs 37 and 38). The hydraulic lines are fed through the stabilizing arm for the purpose of allowing the hydraulic lines to communicate between the left and right boom (Paragraph 37).
Westendorf does not disclose the tube portion is branched on the coupling frame.
Fukutome discloses a loader working device that uses a connecting pipe between a left and right boom with branched hydraulic hoses that run along the pipe connected by a piping member (Figure 9: pipe 58, right boom 55R, left boom 55L, hydraulic hoses 78, piping member 79, Paragraph 28). The pipes placed in this configuration to prevent collision or rubbing with obstacles (Paragraph 33) and branched for the purpose of to allow the cylinders to be driven synchronously (Paragraph 33).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling
date to modify the invention of Westendorf by placing the hydraulic lines along the outside of the coupling frame as disclosed by Fukutome for the purpose of preventing collisions or rubbing with obstacles and making them branched as disclosed by Fukutome for the purpose of to allow the cylinders to be driven synchronously.
Regarding Claim 13, Westendorf in view of Fukutome disclose the limitations of claim 11. Westendorf additionally discloses a coupling frame (Westendorf, Figures 1 and 2: stabilizing arm 24) that couples the boom on a right side and the boom on a left side (Westendorf, Paragraph 29: “the left and right boom arms are attached together by the stabilizing arms 24 and 26”),
wherein the tube portion is led out from an inside of the boom to the coupling frame (Westendorf, Paragraphs 37 and 38: the hydraulic lines travel through the stabilizing arm so the stabilizing arm has the same function as a tube for the hydraulic lines) through the fourth opening (Westendorf, Paragraph 38) and connected to left and right boom cylinders and left and right bucket cylinders (Westendorf, Paragraphs 37 and 38). The hydraulic lines are fed through the stabilizing arm for the purpose of allowing the hydraulic lines to communicate between the left and right boom (Paragraph 37).
Westendorf does not disclose the tube portion is branched on the coupling frame.
Fukutome discloses a loader working device that uses a connecting pipe between a left and right boom with branched hydraulic hoses that run along the pipe connected by a piping member (Figure 9: pipe 58, right boom 55R, left boom 55L, hydraulic hoses 78, piping member 79, Paragraph 28). The pipes placed in this configuration to prevent collision or rubbing with obstacles (Paragraph 33) and branched for the purpose of to allow the cylinders to be driven synchronously (Paragraph 33).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling
date to modify the invention of Westendorf by placing the hydraulic lines along the outside of the coupling frame as disclosed by Fukutome for the purpose of preventing collisions or rubbing with obstacles and making them branched as disclosed by Fukutome for the purpose of to allow the cylinders to be driven synchronously.
Claim(s) 6, 7, and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westendorf et al. (US 2005/0172795 A1, hereafter Westendorf) in view of Fukutome et al. (JP 2008/025193 A, hereafter Fukutome) and Ogawara et al. (JP 2016017338 A, hereafter Ogawara).
Regarding Claim 6, Westendorf in view of Fukutome disclose the limitations of claim 5. The combination as applied in claim 5 does not disclose a first cover that covers the tube portion on the coupling frame.
Ogawara discloses using a connection member with hydraulic lines running through covered by a cover plate with a takeout port (Figure 7B: connection member 40, hydraulic lines T, cover plate 40g, take out port 40g3). The cover plate is used for the purpose of covering the hydraulic lines and the takeout port is used for the purpose of pulling out the hydraulic lines (Paragraph 50).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the combination as applied in claim 5 by including the cover plate with a takeout port disclosed by Ogawara for the purpose of covering the hydraulic lines and being able to pull out the hydraulic lines.
Regarding Claim 7, Westendorf in view of Fukutome and Ogawara disclose the limitations of claim 6. The combination as applied in claim 6 discloses an opening is formed in the first cover (Ogawara, Figure 7B: cover plate 40g, take out port 40g3).
Regarding Claim 14, Westendorf in view of Fukutome disclose the limitations of claim 12. The combination as applied in claim 12 does not disclose a first cover that covers the tube portion on the coupling frame.
Ogawara discloses using a connection member with hydraulic lines running through covered by a cover plate with a takeout port (Figure 7B: connection member 40, hydraulic lines T, cover plate 40g, take out port 40g3). The cover plate is used for the purpose of covering the hydraulic lines and the takeout port is used for the purpose of pulling out the hydraulic lines (Paragraph 50).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the combination as applied in claim 12 by including the cover plate with a takeout port disclosed by Ogawara for the purpose of covering the hydraulic lines and being able to pull out the hydraulic lines.
Regarding Claim 15, Westendorf in view of Fukutome and Ogawara disclose the limitations of claim 13. The combination as applied in claim 13 does not disclose a first cover that covers the tube portion on the coupling frame.
Ogawara discloses using a connection member with hydraulic lines running through covered by a cover plate with a takeout port (Figure 7B: connection member 40, hydraulic lines T, cover plate 40g, take out port 40g3). The cover plate is used for the purpose of covering the hydraulic lines and the takeout port is used for the purpose of pulling out the hydraulic lines (Paragraph 50).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the combination as applied in claim 13 by including the cover plate with a takeout port disclosed by Ogawara for the purpose of covering the hydraulic lines and being able to pull out the hydraulic lines.
Regarding Claim 16, Westendorf in view of Fukutome and Ogawara disclose the limitations of claim 14. The combination as applied in claim 14 discloses an opening is formed in the first cover (Ogawara, Figure 7B: cover plate 40g, take out port 40g3).
Regarding Claim 17, Westendorf in view of Fukutome and Ogawara disclose the limitations of claim 15. The combination as applied in claim 14 discloses an opening is formed in the first cover (Ogawara, Figure 7B: cover plate 40g, take out port 40g3).
Claim(s) 8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westendorf et al. (US 2005/0172795 A1, hereafter Westendorf) in view of Fukutome et al. (JP 2008/025193 A, hereafter Fukutome) in further view of Webb et al (US 2010/0158653 A1, hereafter Webb)
Regarding Claim 8, Westendorf in view of Fukutome disclose the limitations of claim 5. The combination as applied in claim 5 does not disclose a second cover that covers the fourth opening.
Webb discloses a construction boom assembly that uses a plate assembly to join a crossbar to boom arms (Figures 1, 2, and 4: cross bar 24, boom arms 14, plate assembly 30) for the purpose of strengthening the connection between the cross bar and booms while providing a means for a hose to pass through (Paragraph 8).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the combination as applied in claim 5 by including the plate assembly disclosed by Webb over the fourth opening for the purpose of strengthening connections and providing means for the hydraulic lines to pass through.
Regarding Claim 20, Westendorf in view of Fukutome disclose the limitations of claim 7. The combination as applied in claim 12 does not disclose a second cover that covers the fourth opening.
Webb discloses a construction boom assembly that uses a plate assembly to join a crossbar to boom arms (Figures 1, 2, and 4: cross bar 24, boom arms 14, plate assembly 30) for the purpose of strengthening the connection between the cross bar and booms while providing a means for a hose to pass through (Paragraph 8).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the combination as applied in claim 12 by including the plate assembly disclosed by Webb over the fourth opening for the purpose of strengthening connections and providing means for the hydraulic lines to pass through.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westendorf et al. (US 2005/0172795 A1, hereafter Westendorf) in view of Oyama et al. (US 9528242 B2, hereafter Oyama) and Takagi et al. (JP 2011/017204 A, hereafter Takagi).
Regarding Claim 9, Westendorf disclose the limitations of claim 4. Westendorf does not disclose an attitude maintenance mechanism can be attached to the boom, the attitude maintenance mechanism being configured to maintain an attitude of a working tool coupled to the boom by operating in accordance with rocking of the boom, and the boom includes:
an attachment portion at least a part of which is disposed inside the boom and that attaches the attitude maintenance mechanism;
and a guide portion at least a part of which is disposed inside the boom and that guides the tube portion so as to avoid the attachment portion.
Oyama discloses a front loader with a mechanical posture maintaining mechanism (Figures 2 and 4: posture maintaining mechanism 16, swing link members 28, base end link members 30, drive cylinders 31, Column 16 Lines 1-4: the listed components are part of the posture maintaining mechanism), which acts as an attitude maintenance mechanism, configured to configured to maintain an attitude of a working tool coupled to the boom by operating in accordance with rocking of the boom (Column 2 Lines 22-24), and the boom includes:
an attachment portion at least a part of which is disposed inside the boom and that attaches the attitude maintenance mechanism (Figure 5: the first coupling shaft 32 of the posture maintaining mechanism is located inside of the boom 12K and 12L, and the end link member 30 of the posture maintaining mechanism 16 is connected to the first coupling shaft, Colum 16 Lines 42-45)
The posture maintaining mechanism is used for the purpose of maintaining the posture of the implement regardless of the swing displacement of the boom (Column 2 Lines 22-24)
Takagi discloses a front loader that has an internal guide member used with a hydraulic hose (Figure 4: 82 guide member, 80 hydraulic hose) for the purpose of having the guide member restrict the hydraulic hose so it does not interfere with other components (Paragraph 22).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the invention of Westendorf by including the posture maintaining mechanism disclosed by Oyama for the purpose of maintaining the posture of the implement regardless of the swing displacement of the boom and the internal guide member disclosed by Takagi into the boom for the purpose of having the guide member restrict the hydraulic hose so it does not interfere with other components.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westendorf et al. (US 2005/0172795 A1, hereafter Westendorf) in view of Fukutome et al. (JP 2008/025193 A, hereafter Fukutome) and Ogawara et al. (JP 2016017338 A, hereafter Ogawara) further view of Webb et al. (US 2010/0158653 A1, hereafter Webb)
Regarding Claim 18, Westendorf in view of Fukutome and Ogawara disclose the limitations of claim 6. The combination as applied in claim 5 does not disclose a second cover that covers the fourth opening.
Webb discloses a construction boom assembly that uses a plate assembly to join a crossbar to boom arms (Figures 1, 2, and 4: cross bar 24, boom arms 14, plate assembly 30) for the purpose of strengthening the connection between the cross bar and booms while providing a means for a hose to pass through (Paragraph 8).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the combination as applied in claim 6 by including the plate assembly disclosed by Webb over the fourth opening for the purpose of strengthening connections and providing means for the hydraulic lines to pass through.
Regarding Claim 19, Westendorf in view of Fukutome and Ogawara disclose the limitations of claim 7. The combination as applied in claim 7 does not disclose a second cover that covers the fourth opening.
Webb discloses a construction boom assembly that uses a plate assembly to join a crossbar to boom arms (Figures 1, 2, and 4: cross bar 24, boom arms 14, plate assembly 30) for the purpose of strengthening the connection between the cross bar and booms while providing a means for a hose to pass through (Paragraph 8).
It would It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the combination as applied in claim 7 by including the plate assembly disclosed by Webb over the fourth opening for the purpose of strengthening connections and providing means for the hydraulic lines to pass through.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sakata et al. (US 7735248 B2) discloses a work machine with openings in the left right direction.
/J.K.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653