Detailed Action
The filing receipt mailed 10/07/2024 states that the instant application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/050689 filed 11/22/2022 which claims benefit of 63/281,785, filed 11/22/2021.
The specification of the provisional application supports the instant claims. Therefore the effective filing date is 11/22/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted 08/20/2024 has been considered.
NPL entry 12, to a Loren, has not been considered because the entry lacks a date.
Numbering of claims
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Currently, there are two claims numbered as claim 25.
For the purpose of examination, they are being treated as claims 25 and 26. Instant claim 26 is renumbered to be claim 27.
Restriction/Species Election
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-13 and 16-25,is acknowledged. Applicant’s election of DMSO as solvent is also acknowledged.
At examiner’s discretion, examination has bene broadened to include “methanol” (MeOH in the claims).
Claims 14-15 and 27 are withdrawn being drawn to a non-elected invention.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Objections
Claim 1 states “substantially free of impurities” in l. 2 and in l. 12-13 (bullet e). The second use of “substantially free of impurities” is redundant. Examiner recommends amending to remove either instance.
Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
KSR Rationales
The MPEP in section 2143, subsection I gives examples of Rationales for supporting a conclusion of obvious. These rationales are non-exhaustive and include (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-13 and 16-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parish (Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA, vol. 95, pp. 14609-14613, 1998) in view of Watts (Journal of Chemical Research, 2012, April, 181-193), Martin (Angew. Chem. Internat. Edit. Vol. 6, 1967, No. 4).
Claim 1 is drawn to a process for the production of N-retinylidene-N-retinylethanolamine (A2E) comprising steps a-e (see claim for detailed steps).
Claim 2 is drawn to the process of claim 1 wherein a mixture of all-trans-retinol (ATR) in a first solvent (first solution) and a mixture of ethanolamine in a second solvent (second solution) are mixed together prior to being introduced into a continuous flow reactor.
Claims 3-5 and claims 16-18 specify solvents (methanol and/or dimethyl sulfoxide, DMSO).
Claims 6 and 19 specify ratios of ATR to ethanolamine and ATR to acetic acid.
Claims 7-8 and 20-21 specify Tr times.
Claims 9-10 and 22-23 specify temperatures.
Claims 11 and 24 specify methods of purifying the desired product using medium pressure liquid chromatography and/or preparative high pressure liquid chromatography.
Claims 12 and 25 specify characterization data of the product which is that the desired product displays a ratio of UV absorbance at 339 nm to UV absorbance at 439 nm of about 1.39 when dissolved in alcohol.
Claims 13 and 26 specify that the product is substantially free of oxidized A2E, ATR, the enamine of ATR and ethanolamine, and dihydro A2E.
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 19, Parish on p. 14609, sec. Materials and Methods further details a synthesis of A2E comprising a mixture of all-trans-retinal (100 mg, 352 μmol), ethanolamine (9.5 mg, 155μmol) in ethanol. However, Parish does not teach continuous flow reactor. This is addressed by the combination of Watts.
Watts is drawn to microreactors, flow reactors, and continuous flow synthesis (title).
Regarding claim 1, Watts on p. 181, sec. Introduction states “More recently, the chemistry community has introduced ‘continuous flow’ synthesis as an alternative to batch processing…A key advantage of flow reactor technology for the organic chemist is the ability to control reaction parameters very accurately. For instance, the regulation of temperature and concentration is crucial in maintain control over a reaction, not only to ensure selective product formation, but also from a safety perspective. Due to excellent heat and mass transfer, and predictable flow properties exhibited by flow reactors a high degree of reaction control is attainable.”
Watts beginning on p. 186, sec. Meso and flow reactors states “As discussed, one advantage of microreactors is that heat transfer is several orders of magnitude more efficient than that in batch reactors. Although this is clearly advantageous for many reactions this level of process intensification is not always necessary for every reaction and as a result as significant number of companies are now marketing laboratory apparatus containing tubular reactors having millimeter-sized reaction channels with volumes typically ranging from 1-20 mL…”.
This teaching indicates that flow synthesis using continuous flow reactors is well known within the chemical arts. Additionally, Watts in sec. 3 teaches a number of synthetic reactions that make use of flow reactors (schemes 11-17). Watts on p. 187-188 points to Riva and states “Employing a commercially available tubular reactor (Vapourtec), Riva et al demonstrated the reaction of a series of carbonyl containing compounds with Grignard reagents as a means of synthesizing substituted alcohols. Using the developed methodology, the authors extended their investigation to evaluate the synthesis of (rac)-Tramadol 52 (Scheme 19). Use the reactor, the authors reacted ketone 53 with Grignard reactant at room temperature for a period of 33 min. Under these conditions, the author were able to isolate the target compound in 96% yield as a diastereoisomeric mixture (8:2). The high degree of reaction control obtained under flow conditions has been shown to be advantageous in particular for the Grignard reaction, as a means of suppressing side reactions and increasing product purity whilst decreasing reaction times.”
Regarding claims 11 and 24, Watts on p. 182, right col., para. 3 teaches that researchers Fang utilized a capillary-based micro reactor interfaced to an ultra-high performance liquid chromatography system to develop a high-throughput screening system. This teaching indicates that continuous flow reactors can be combined with chromatography machines, which are known for their purification purposes and that this combination is a technique that is known within the art.
Regarding claims 3-5 and 16-18, as stated above, Parish teaches ethanol as the solvent used. Where the instant claims require either DMSO or methanol, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the method to instead use methanol and/or DMSO as methanol and DMSO are well-known solvents within the synthetic arts. Ethanol and methanol are related solvents as they are both polar, protic solvents. Ethanol and methanol are also both alcohol solvents. The only distinction between the two is that methanol contains only one carbon (methyl) where ethanol has two (ethyl). The MPEP section 2144.05 states:
The adjustment of particular conventional working conditions (e.g., determining result effective amounts of the ingredients beneficially taught by the cited references), is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical.
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Accordingly, this type of modification would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan and no more than an effort to optimize results.
DMSO, as a solvent, is discussed in Martin. Martin states in its introduction “Among the dipolar aprotic solvents, dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO) has become increasingly important in recent years. This importance is due not only to its high solvent power for many inorganic and organic compounds and its compatibility with many container materials, but also to its ease of production and its pharmacological harmlessness.”
Regarding claim 2, where the first solution is mixed with the second solution prior to introducing the mixed solution into a flow reactor, the timing of the steps within a synthetic method is a method that would be within the skillset of one of ordinary skill in the art. Applicant has not indicated that the mixture of the two solutions prior to introduction into a flow reactor leads to any distinct improvement over the alternative method, which is separate introduction into flow reactor. Therefore the claim is obvious as one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the synthetic method in order to determine which reactions conditions best optimize the synthesis.
Similarly, regarding claims 9-10 and 22-23, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the temperature to be within the range of 25o-50o C. Parish on p. 14609, sec. Materials and Methods states that the reaction “stirred in the presence of acetic acid…at room temperature”. “Room temperature” is known within the synthetic arts to be approximately 23o C which is only 2o C lower from the claimed temperature range. However, even with this difference, the instant specification on p. 10, Scheme 1 teaches that the Parish method proceeded at a temperature of 25o C. Therefore, the Parish teaching makes the claimed temperature range obvious.
Regarding claims 13 and 26, Parish on [. 14610 reports their synthesis “gave A2E…which contained ≈ 5% iso-A2E as estimated by 1H-NMR.” The instant specification on p. 6 states “In the present disclosure, ‘substantially free of X’ indicates that a compound or material substantially free of X has less than about 5%....of X in the material.”
Regarding claims 7-8, 12, 20-21, and 25, which are drawn to characterized properties of the synthesized A2E compound, because the properties are inherent features to the A2E compound, the claims are obvious in view of the teachings of Parish in combination with Watts.
The compound A2E and methods to synthesize A2E are known within the art as discussed in Parish. Watts teaches to the use of flow reactors and/or continuous flow synthesis to achieve efficient synthesis of other organic compounds. The instant claims are drawn to the application of continuous flow synthesis to a known compound with a known method of preparation. Therefore, the instant claims would be obvious over Parish and Watts. The addition of Martin teaches the common use of DMSO as a solvent.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time of the effective filing date for one of ordinary skill in the art to take the flow reactors and continuous flow synthesis of Watts and apply it to the synthesis of A2E as described in Parish to arrive at the instant claims with a reasonable assumption of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would find motivation to make the modification as the art teaches that continuous flow chemistry allows for better reaction control. See KSR rationale F.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/LUISALBERTO GONZALEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1624